A Nurse's Survival Guide to Mentoring by
Are you mentoring students? This is an indispensable handbook for: both new and experienced mentors seeking practical advice, academic staff who deliver mentorship programmes and link lecturers who support mentors in practice.
Mentoring and Supervision in Healthcare by
This practical and accessible book examines the knowledge base, skills and attitudes required for mentoring in the context of healthcare.
Revised and updated to take account of the latest developments in healthcare, the text explores theories and research on mentoring by analysing their strengths and weaknesses. To complement his analytical style, Neil Gopee has introduced more interactive features to emphasise the application of theories and principles to various clinical settings. He also draws on the most recent standards and competencies for mentors and supervisors, and examines how they can be applied in day-to-day mentoring and clinical practice activities.
Mentoring in Nursing and Healthcare by
Mentoring in Nursing and Healthcare is a practical, interactive resource that promotes active participation and enhances a deeper level of understanding of mentorship. It explores what is meant by the process of mentoring, addresses what a mentor is, what the role entails, and gives practical help on teaching and assessing students in clinical practice. Written primarily for mentors, this book offers a range of theoretical and practical activities and resources that are enhanced by online learning resources. Each chapter focuses on a different aspect of mentorship, including: The role of mentorship The mentor-student relationship The mentor as teacher Experiential learning and reflective practice Learning styles and teaching theories The mentor as assessor Competence and capability Health improvement Career development A core text for mentor preparation and mentor update courses in nursing and allied health, Mentoring in Nursing and Healthcare is an essential guide that supports learning and ongoing professional development. Key Features: Includes not only the latest and most up-to-date NMC standards, but also the Health and Care Professions Council's standards of proficiency Accessible and practice-oriented, with case studies, reflective exercises and activities throughout Has a strong focus on assessment skills Supported by interactive online resources that include test-yourself questions, multiple choice questions, web-links, PowerPoint slides, case studies, and activities at www.wiley.com/go/mentoring
Mentoring Nursing and Healthcare Students by
"This key text offers mentors and students an insight into the relationship between mentorship theory, policy and practice." - Diane Tofts, Kings College London
What does effective mentoring mean in actual practice? How can I be a good mentor?
This book answers these questions and is designed to offer nursing and healthcare students a foundation in effective mentoring. Chapters examine the roles and responsibilities of the mentor, and how they enhance the process of mentorship. By examining the relevant competencies and knowledge base, the book provides an essential framework for developing the practice skills needed for successful mentoring.
Quinn's principles and practice of nurse education by
Maintaining the comprehensive coverage offered by the previous editions, this highly regarded text, now in its sixth edition and 32nd year of publication, is considered to be an indispensable resource for nurses and health care professionals engaged in the business of teaching and learning.Retaining the balance between theoretical issues and practical application, the text has been fully revised to reflect the most recent changes in nursing and nurse education including updated content on developments in teaching and learning, the introduction of the new NMC standards in the UK; developments in the NHS and the growing role of eLearning and technology.
Assessment, Supervision and Support in Clinical Practice by
This title is directed primarily towards health care professionals outside of the United States. It is a practice-centred book based on solid theory and evidence for the clinical learning and assessment strategies it provides. Critical discussions focus on how supervision, upport and valid assessment nurture the development and achievemeny of competence. The new edition contains up-to-date references to educational theory and recent work on the support of learning and assessment of clinical practice. It places greater emphasis on assessment to achieve 'fitness to practice', how to avoid 'failure to fail', and how to work and learn as a member of the multi-professional team.
Mentorship and Clinical Supervision Skills in Health Care by
This fully revised and highly accessible second edition of Mentorship and Clinical Supervision Skills in Health Care: Learning Through Practice, from the Nursing and Health Care Practice series, provides all the background, theory and practical knowledge required to be an effective mentor within nursing and health care. The text explores mentorship from the stance of a student and from that of a qualified health care professional, to encourage critical understanding and securing its appeal to professionals and trainees in the field. Completely up-to-date, this text is written in line with the new NMC requirements and provides coverage of key developments in the field including: the role of technologies and e-portfolios in nursing and health care education; the growing importance of experiential learning and the role of reflection; recent changes in assessment techniques and the conceptualisation of validity, reliability and discriminatory power.