Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Design Studio 3 reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Siteless by Some may call it the first manifesto of the twenty-first century, for it lays down a new way to think about architecture. Others may think of it as the last architectural treatise, for it provides a discursive container for ideas that would otherwise be lost. Whatever genre it belongs to, SITELESS is a new kind of architecture book that seems to have come out of nowhere. Its author, a young French architect practicing in Tokyo, admits he "didn't do this out of reverence toward architecture, but rather out of a profound boredom with the discipline, as a sort of compulsive reaction." What would happen if architects liberated their minds from the constraints of site, program, and budget? he asks. The result is a book that is saturated with forms, and as free of words as any architecture book the MIT Press has ever published. The 1001 building forms in SITELESS include structural parasites, chain link towers, ball bearing floors, corrugated corners, exponential balconies, radial facades, crawling frames, forensic housing -- and other architectural ideas that may require construction techniques not yet developed and a relation to gravity not yet achieved. SITELESS presents an open-ended compendium of visual ideas for the architectural imagination to draw from. The forms, drawn freehand (to avoid software-specific shapes) but from a constant viewing angle, are presented twelve to a page, with no scale, order, or end to the series. After setting down 1001 forms in siteless conditions and embryonic stages, Blanciak takes one of the forms and performs a "scale test," showing what happens when one of these fantastic ideas is subjected to the actual constraints of a site in central Tokyo. The book ends by illustrating the potential of these shapes to morph into actual building proportions.
Call Number: 721 BLA
Publication Date: 2008
The Architecture Reference and Specification Book by Most architectural standards references contain thousands of pages of details--overwhelmingly more than architects need to know to know on any given day. The Architecture Reference & Specification Book contains vital information that's essential to planning and executing architectural projects of all shapes and sizes, in a format that is small enough to carry anywhere. It distills the data provided in standard architectural volumes and is an easy-to-use reference for the most indispensable--and most requested--types of architectural information.
Call Number: 720 MCM + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Interior Spaces by This bestselling "In Detail" volume examines the use of materials, lighting and color in creating ambiance.
Call Number: 729 SCH + eBook
Publication Date: 2002
Architecture in Existing Fabric by Architectural work on existing structures has become enormously important in recent years. For the majority of architects, this is where future market opportunities will lie. This book provides a comprehensive introduction to the field and is thus addressed to all practitioners, students, and building sponsors whose interest goes beyond an initial encounter with this wideranging field of activity. Contradicting the conventional view that creative design work is the exclusive province of new building design, the authors offer a nuanced account of active and creative strategies for planning, design, and execution. Subjects considered range from town planning issues through the overall project cycle and its individual phases all the way to building management. Special focuses are the "grammar of design" as well as the issues arising through collaboration of different experts. In order to illuminate this broad and complex spectrum of topics, the book incorporates thirty examples of projects from Europe and North America, in which buildings from a huge variety of periods - from the Middle Ages to the 1960s - are transferred into the present.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Healing Architecture by This title presents the fundamental principals behind the conception and design of built space and their effect on coping with illness. One of the key questions to be answered is how architecture can contribute to healing. Put another way, how does the environment, both built and unbuilt, influence the perception of healthy human beings, in order for them to remain healthy? What makes this title a valuable reference is the direct insight into the planning process of two professional and highly successful hospital architects. The approach of the work of Christine Nickl-Weller and Hans Nickl is to utilize a perspective in which the human being enjoys the focus of all reflections and planning. Whether it be hospitals or retirement homes over and beyond the simple fulfilment of technical standards and functions, the architects always look for surroundings which support people to allow them to heal and then stay well.
Call Number: 725.51 NIC
Publication Date: 2013
Archigram by In the 1960s, the architects of Britain's Archigram group and Archigram magazine turned away from conventional architecture to propose cities that move and houses worn like suits of clothes. In drawings inspired by pop art and psychedelia, architecture floated away, tethered by wires, gantries, tubes, and trucks. In Archigram: Architecture without Architecture, Simon Sadler argues that Archigram's sense of fun takes its place beside the other cultural agitants of the 1960s, originating attitudes and techniques that became standard for architects rethinking social space and building technology. The Archigram style was assembled from the Apollo missions, constructivism, biology, manufacturing, electronics, and popular culture, inspiring an architectural movement -- High Tech -- and influencing the postmodern and deconstructivist trends of the late twentieth century.Although most Archigram projects were at the limits of possibility and remained unbuilt, the six architects at the center of the movement, Warren Chalk, Peter Cook, Dennis Crompton, David Greene, Ron Herron, and Michael Webb, became a focal point for the architectural avant-garde, because they redefined the purpose of architecture. Countering the habitual building practice of setting walls and spaces in place, Archigram architects wanted to provide the equipment for amplified living, and they welcomed any cultural rearrangements that would ensue. Archigram: Architecture without Architecture -- the first full-length critical and historical account of the Archigram phenomenon -- traces Archigram from its rediscovery of early modernist verve through its courting of students, to its ascent to international notoriety for advocating the "disappearance of architecture."
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2005
Building in Existing Fabric by This publication examines a wide range of unconventional concepts for reusing existing buildings, highlighting successful and innovative solutions, from the reuse of a gothic monastery or the former industrial buildings of Fiat Lingotto to the renovation of structures made of pre-cast concrete panels.
Call Number: 724.6 SCH
Publication Date: 2003
Innovative Houses by Housing is rapidly having to adapt to the global changes of the twenty first century. These include the transformation of the family and the rise of the nontraditional household, increases in construction costs, and concerns over climate change and the depletion of natural resources. Designing residential environments that address these issues is an urgent priority. This book examines the latest residential design trends that have arisen in response to these challenges. Divided into four broad areas, tightly focused thematic chapters look at twenty discrete topics, such as live/work; adaptable housing; prefabrication; water efficiency; green roofs; innovative landscaping. Each chapter includes an essay that lays out principles, methods, and practices. Using text, drawings, and photos from a variety of contemporary international practices, the book demonstrates how these ideas can be applied by architects. It offers a comprehensive collection of strategies and examples that will inspire a much needed housing revolution.
Call Number: 728.047 FRI
Publication Date: 2013
Designing with Light by A comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of lighting design Designing With Light: The Art, Science, and Practice of Architectural Lighting Design is a comprehensive introduction to the intelligent use of lighting to define and enhance a space. The book explores all aspects of the process, including aesthetics, technology, and practicalities, in a clear, concise manner designed to provide the reader with a full working knowledge of lighting design. Color illustrations throughout demonstrate the real-world effects of the concepts presented, and the companion website offers video animations and exercises to better illuminate the art and science of lighting. The book addresses the considerations that should be a part of any designer's process, and provides thorough guidance on meeting the various demands with smarter design. Lighting is an essential element of interior design, and despite its ubiquity, is difficult to truly master. A designer with a fundamental and conceptual understanding of light is empowered to create simple, typical spaces, or work intelligently with lighting consultants on more complex projects. Designing With Light contains special discussions on color, light, and health, as well as the latest information on energy efficient lighting, control systems, and other technologies. Topics include: Physics, psychology, and perception of light Current and future lighting technology Communication, documentation, and the design process Sustainability, daylighting, and energy efficiency The book also contains an entire chapter on building and energy codes, as well as practical guidance on photometrics and calculations. Lighting can make or break an otherwise well-designed space, so designers need the background to be able to think intelligently about illumination factors during all stages of the process. With comprehensive coverage and thorough explanation, Designing With Light is a complete resource for students and professionals alike.
Call Number: 729.28 LIV
Publication Date: 2014
Experiencing Architecture by Profusely illustrated with fine instances of architectural experimentation through the centuries, Experiencing Architecture manages to convey the intellectual excitement of superb design. From teacups, riding boots, golf balls, and underwater sculpture to the villas of Palladio and the fish-feeding pavilion of the Peking Winter Palace, the author ranges over the less-familiar byways of designing excellence. At one time, writes Rasmussen, "the entire community tool part in forming the dwellings and implements they used. The individual was in fruitful contact with these things; the anonymous houses were built with a natural feeling for place, materials and use and the result was a remarkably suitable comeliness. Today, in our highly civilized society, the houses which ordinary people are doomed to live in and gaze upon are on the whole without quality. We cannot, however, go back to the old method of personally supervised handicrafts. We must strive to advance by arousing interest in and understanding of the work the architect does. The basis of competent professionalism is a sympathetic and knowledgeable group of amateurs, of non-professional art lovers."
Call Number: 720 RAS
Publication Date: 1964