Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Consultancy Management with International Business reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Global Marketing by "All good marketing is local. Global companies know this and are going "glocal".There is also a trend towards the 'Internet of Everything', which revolutionizes the whole marketing discipline. Svend Hollensen has captured all the latest trends very well with the new cases in his seventh edition of Global Marketing." Philip Kotler, S. C. Johnson & Son Distinguished Professor of International Marketing, Kellogg School of Management, Northwestern University In this era of increased globalisation, if there's one textbook that today's students and tomorrow's marketers need to read, it's Svend Hollensen's world renowned text. For over fifteen years Global Marketing has been the definitive, truly international guide to marketing. During that time, borders have become ever more transient and this book more central to the work of marketers all around the world. Now into its seventh edition, Global Marketing continues to be the most up-to-date and thorough text of its kind, with cutting-edge case studies and a focus on the impact of new technologies and perspectives on international marketing. This seventh edition expands on a number of new topics, including: shared economy solutions, social media, e-services and smartwatch app marketing, as well as many more. It is ideal for undergraduate and postgraduate students studying international marketing, and for any practitioners who want to take their global marketing strategies to the next level. "The world today truly is flat, and a sound global perspective is an absolute must for all students. Svend Hollensen's Global Marketing provides a thorough and comprehensive treatment that delivers on this need." Michael R. Solomon, Professor of Marketing, Haub School of Business, Saint Joseph's University, USA, and Professor of Consumer Behaviour, University of Manchester, UK "The best textbook on global marketing I have come across! The case studies, many of them available online, provide an excellent basis for class discussion." Elisabeth Götze, Vienna University of Economics and Business "Excellent level of detail in each chapter to support learning around strategic global marketing decisions. The video case studies are a huge bonus and really help to bring the subject alive. " Giovanna Battiston, Senior Lecturer in Marketing, Sheffield Hallam University Key Features include: A clear part structure, organised around the five main decisions that marketing people in companies face in connection to the global marketing process End of part and end of chapter case studies helping students to understand how the theory relates to real world application Video case studies (available at www.pearsoned.co.uk/hollensen), showing how practitioners are using Global Marketing in their work About the author Svend Hollensen is Associate Professor of International Marketing at the University of Southern Denmark and has worked as a marketing consultant for several international companies and organizations. As well as this book, he is the author of other Pearson texts, including Marketing Management and Essentials of Global Marketing. Student resources specifically written to complement this textbook are at www.pearsoned.co.uk/hollensen
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Global Culture by In this book leading social scientists from many countries analyze the extent to which we are seeing a globalization of culture. Is a unified world culture emerging? And if so, how does this relate to existing cultural divisions and to the autonomy of the nation state? Differing explanations are offered for trends towards global unification and their relation to an economic world-system. Will the intensification of global contact produce increasing tolerance of other cultures? Or will an integrating culture produce sharper reactions in the form of fundamentalist and nationalist movements? The contributors explore the emergence of `third cultures′, such as international law, the financial markets and media conglomerates, as elements which transcend the boundaries of the nation state. As well as examining the extent, causation and consequences of global homogenization, the authors consider its implication for the social sciences. Global Culture was published simultaneously as Volume 7, issues 2-3 of Theory, Culture & Society.
Call Number: 306 FEA + eBook
Publication Date: 1990
Living with Globalization by This book provides a lively discussion of one of the most used and abused concepts in the 21st century globalization. If globalization is a valid construct it manifests itself in lived experience, not abstract theories. Examining the ways in which globalization is contributing to patterns of conflict, Living with Globalization explores a range of case studies, from 9/11 to identity formation. The book reveals the complex ramifications of globalization on society, government and everyday lives.
Call Number: 303.482 HOP
Publication Date: 2006
No Logo by
Call Number: 659.111 KLE
Publication Date: 2010
Global Marketing and Advertising 4th edn. by Packed with cultural, company, and country examples that help explain the paradoxes international marketers are likely to encounter, Global Marketing and Advertising, Fourth Edition, offers a mix of theory and practical applications as it covers globalization, global branding strategies, classification models of culture, and the consequences of culture for all aspects of marketing communications. Author Marieke de Mooij includes new topics and updated information and findings from recent studies and helps readers apply global marketing concepts to the management of global branding and marketing communications. Features Includes coverage of topics such as global public relations, culture and the media, and culture and the Internet, along with extensive coverage of consumer behavior Helps companies define cross cultural segments to better target consumers across cultures Shows how culture affects strategic issues, such as the company′s mission statement, brand positioning strategy, and marketing communications strategy Includes both recent and classic advertising examples from various parts of the world Demonstrates the centrality of value paradoxes to cross cultural marketing communications Uses the Hofstede model to help readers see how their understanding of cultural relationships in one country/region can be extended to other countries/regions Global Marketing and Advertising is intended for use in courses in International or Global Marketing and International or Global Advertising, and is also a valuable resource for practitioners in global marketing departments of global companies and advertising agencies.
Call Number: 658.802 MOO
Publication Date: 2013
Case Interview Secrets by In Case Interview Secrets, you'll discover step-by-step instructions on how to dominate what many consider to be the most complex, most difficult, and most intimidating corporate job interview in the world--the infamous case interview. Victor Cheng, a former McKinsey management consultant, reveals his proven, insider's method for acing the case interview. Having personally secured job offers from McKinsey, Bain & Company, Monitor, L.E.K, Oliver Wyman, and A.T. Kearney, he has also been a McKinsey case interviewer--providing you with a hands-on, real-world perspective on what it really takes to land job offers. Cheng's prot g es work in all the major strategy management consulting firms, including McKinsey, The Boston Consulting Group, Bain & Company, Monitor Company, A.T. Kearny, Oliver Wyman, L.E.K, Roland Berger, Accenture, and Deloitte, as well as in the strategic planning departments of numerous Fortune 500 companies. Whether you're an undergraduate, MBA, PhD, or experienced-hire applicant candidate, you'll discover: * What case interviewers really say about you behind closed doors but wouldn't dare tell you--until now * The subtle yet specific performance differences that separate those who get management consulting offers from those who don't * The 10 biggest mistakes candidates make in case interviews (and how to avoid them) * The 3 specific things interviewers expect in the first 5 minutes of a case that often decide the outcome on the spot * An insider's take on what interviewers really look for and why--and how to give them what they want Praise for Victor Cheng and Case Interview Secrets "With Victor's help, I went from not knowing anything about consulting to securing offers from McKinsey and BCG." --Mihnea Munteanu, University of Michigan "I received six offers--from McKinsey, BCG, Booz, Deloitte, A.T. Kearney, and Marakon. Everything Victor said was right " --Michael Yang, Northwestern University "Despite having a liberal arts degree from a state school, I landed a dream job with L.E.K. Consulting. Thanks, Victor." --Jackson Boyar, Indiana University "Victor has put me in a very difficult position--now I have to decide between offers from two of the top three consultancies " --Christopher Perez, The Wharton School "In my first attempt to break into consulting, I failed every one of my interviews with McKinsey, Bain, BCG, Oliver Wyman, Monitor, Booz and probably a few others. On my second attempt two years later, I followed everything Victor Cheng suggested and took advantage of every resource he provided ... and received an offer from McKinsey " --Daniel Suo, Business Analyst (Offer Recipient), McKinsey, Stamford "Without Victor's help, I never would have gotten an offer from BCG. What he teaches really makes the difference between getting an offer and not." --Puttipath Tasnavites, Boston Consulting Group, Thailand "After following Victor's guidance, I had a complete breakthrough in my case interview performance and got an offer from Monitor." --Marine Serres, Monitor & Company "As a PhD candidate in engineering, I had an academic background that left me completely unprepared for the case interview process. That's when I found Victor Cheng and ended up getting my dream job. Thank you, Victor " --Zach Jacobson, McKinsey, New York About the Author As a former McKinsey consultant, r sum screener, and case interviewer, Victor Cheng mentors thousands of aspiring consultants via his articles and video tutorials at www.caseinterview.com. As a candidate, he passed 60 cases and received job offers from McKinsey, Bain, Monitor, LEK, AT Kearney, and Oliver Wyman. At McKinsey, he was rated in the top 10 percent of consultants worldwide in his cohort. Today he advises Inc. 500 CEOs.
Call Number: 650.14 CHE
Publication Date: 2012