Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Managing Strategic Change reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Exploring Strategic Change by 'Exploring Strategic Change is by far the most useful and relevant book available on the vital topic of change management. Written in an accessible style yet drawing on solid theoretical foundations, this latest edition includes up-to-date case examples and new insights in topical areas such as employee engagement. I would thoroughly recommend this book to anyone who wants to know more about the realities of managing change.' Professor Katie Bailey (née Truss), University of Sussex 'It's wonderful to have a new edition of this definitive text on strategic change. Refreshed with new examples and contemporary concepts, this classic continues as the most complete and accessible resource in its domain.' Richard Whittington, Professor of Strategic Management, University of Oxford Exploring Strategic Change engages with the dynamic and complex process of developing and delivering strategic and organisational change, from the analysis of context through to the formulation and implementation of effective strategies and solutions. Change management has become a highly sought after managerial competence for senior executives and middle managers. This book is written to help both students and practising managers develop skills relevant to change management, with the focus on enabling executives to implement their strategic agenda through attention to the practice of strategic change. Using the unique and innovative framework of the change kaleidoscope, the reader will not only develop valuable insights into the practice of managing strategic change, but will also learn to appreciate the need for change approaches tailored to context. Frequent examples encourage both critical reflection and application of theory. A focus on the delivery of change, as well as its design, enables students to supplement their skills in analysis with judgement, translation and implementation skills. This fourth edition of Exploring Strategic Change provides A wide range of short illustrations from both the private and public sectors. More attention to the concept of the change path as a critical design choice. More coverage of leadership, change agency skills and enabling conditions for change. An emphasis on exercising judgement and reading and rewriting the context as key change competences. Two new long case studies to explore the complexity of managing change. Exploring Strategic Change is written for undergraduate and postgraduate students, practising managers and change agents on Strategy, HR and OB-related modules on the management of change. Julia Balogun is Professor of Strategic Management at the School of Management, University of Bath. Veronica Hope Hailey is Professor of Management Studies and Dean of the School of Management, University of Bath. Stefanie Gustafsson is a lecturer and Prize Fellow in HRM at the School of Management, University of Bath.
Call Number: 658.4012 BAL + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Power, Politics, and Organizational Change by Organization politics can be seen as a game in which players compete for different kinds of territory such as status, power, and influence. In Power, Politics and Organizational Change, David Buchanan and Richard Badham ask: What's the relevance of politics to change and innovation? What kind of game is this? What, if any, are the rules? How is the game played? What ethical issues arise? Should one play this game to win, and if so, how? How can you develop political expertise? The third edition has been thoroughly updated and revised. This includes discussion of current trends heightening the importance of developing political will and skill in a post-truth era, the rise of 'new power', the role of 'BS busting', the power of storytelling, and the politics of speaking up.
Call Number: 658.406 BUC
Publication Date: 2020
Managing and Leading People Through Organizational Change by Tremendous forces for change are radically reshaping the world of work. Disruptive innovations, radical thinking, new business models and resource scarcity are impacting every sector. Although the scale of expected change is not unprecedented, what is unique is the pervasive nature of the change and its accelerating pace which people in organizations have to cope with. Structures, systems, processes and strategies are relatively simple to understand and even fix. People, however, are more complex. Change can have a different impact on each of them, all of which can cause different attitudes and reactions. Managing and Leading People Through Organizational Change is written for leaders with the key responsibility of managing people through transitions. Managing and Leading People through Organizational Change provides a critical analysis of change and transformation in organizations from a theoretical and practical perspective. It addresses the individual, team and organizational issues of leading and managing people before, during and after change, using case studies and interviews with people from organizations in different sectors across the globe. This book demonstrates how theory can be applied in practice through practical examples and recommendations, focusing on the importance of understanding the impact of the nature of change on individuals and engaging them collaboratively throughout the transformation journey.
Call Number: 658.4 HOD + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
The Politics of Organizational Change by Politics is an aspect of everyday life within organizations, and is a force that inhibits individual and collective behaviour. If not fully understood, it can impede organizational change and development. In order to minimise the political aspects of organizational dynamics there is a need to understand the extent to which organizational culture brings about politicised conformance and how individuals shape their behaviour through self-interest to conform--sense-giving and sense-making nexus--thus moderating the degree of change initiatives. The Politics of Organizational Changeexplores the relationship between self-interest, power, politics and managing organizational change from a theoretical perspective. It encourages the fundamental questioning of the relationship between self-interest, power and control inherent within organizational change, and discusses the attendant implications for managing change. It will be of value to those who require a text that goes beyond set patterns of coverage found in textbooks dealing with managing change. t goes beyond set patterns of coverage found in textbooks dealing with managing change.
Call Number: 658.406 PRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
The Personality of the Organisation by This text argues that current theories about organizational culture fail because they concentrate on simple surface issues. Taking concepts from psychoanalysis, the author uses them to explain collective feelings of members of organizations and to emphasize the role of the unconscious processes.
Call Number: 658.406 STA
Publication Date: 1996
IBISWorld are the global leading provider of industry & market sector research and analysis. With instant access to 450 regularly updated UK industry reports, students have instant data they can refer to on any area of the UK market. IBISWorld reports incorporate SWOT and PESTLE analysis as well as Porter’s 5 forces so it’s a fantastic reference points for assignments and dissertations.
The SAGE Handbook of Leadership by Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here Leadership pervades every aspect of organizational and social life, and its study has never been more diverse, nor more fertile. With contributions from those who have defined that territory, this volume is not only a key point of reference for researchers, students and practitioners, but also an agenda-setting prospective and retrospective look at the state of leadership in the twenty-first century. It evaluates the domain and stretches it further by considering leadership scholarship from every angle, concluding with an optimistic look at the future of leaders, followers and their place in organizations and society at large. Each section represents a distinctive slant on leadership: - Macro perspectives - including strategic leadership, organization theory, charismatic leadership, complexity leadership, and networks. - Political and philosophical perspectives - including distributed leadership, critical leadership, ethics, the military and cults. - Psychological perspectives - including personality, leadership style and contingency theories, transformational leadership, exchange relationships, shared leadership, cognition, leadership development, gender, trust, identity and the 'dark side' of leadership. - Cultural perspectives - including spirituality, aesthetics, and creativity. - Contemporary and emergent perspectives - followership, historical methods, virtual leadership, emotions, image, celebrity, and the quest for a general theory of leadership
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Managing Change by
Call Number: 658.406 BUR + eBook (2017)
Publication Date: 2009
Organizational Change Explained by The best way to learn how to navigate change successfully is to look at practical examples of change management programmes. Organizational Change Explained shares stories and insights from experienced change practitioners so professionals can reflect on their own work, respond critically to what others have done, and take away new tools and techniques to apply to their own change management practice. The book includes a range of cases from different sectors and countries including GlaxoSmithKline and the NHS to offer insights no matter the scale of the change management programme. Organized around central themes such as shaping and design, change leadership, and communication and engagement, Organizational Change Explained presents each case alongside an introduction, conclusion, list of key learning points, questions for reflection and sources of further reading. The book is invaluable to anyone tasked with leading or managing change within their teams, projects, departments or divisions, whether at local level or across geographic locations, countries and cultures.
Call Number: 658.406 COL
Publication Date: 2017
The Leadership Experience by Master the critical leadership skills and solid understanding of today's theory needed to become an effective business leader in today's turbulent times with Daft's THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE, 6E. Acclaimed author Richard Daft helps you explore the latest thinking in leadership theory and contemporary practices at work within organizations throughout the world. You will examine emerging topics, including enhancement of emotional intelligence, leadership vision and courage, leadership of virtual teams, and open innovation, and will connect those topics to recent world events such as ethical scandals and political turmoil.Packed with memorable examples and unique insights into actual leadership decisions, this full-color text includes crisp, clear visuals to reinforce the book's engaging presentation. This edition's proven applications, specifically designed for today's leadership theory and applications course, and a solid foundation grounded in established scholarly research make the topic of leadership come alive. In addition, THE LEADERSHIP EXPERIENCE is available with CengageNOW for the first time. CengageNOW provides an integrated text and online learning solution that enhances understanding of course content and offers opportunities to extend learning.
Call Number: 658.4092 DAF
Publication Date: 2014
Managing Change, Creativity and Innovation 3rd edn,. by A fresh approach to managing organizational change by looking at it as complex, dynamic, and messy as opposed to a series of neat, linear stages and processes leading to success. Key to the approach is the idea that change, creativity and innovation all overlap and interconnect rather than being three separate areas of study and that managing the three together is central to organizations having the competitive edge in developing new technologies and techniques, products and services. Managing Change, Creativity and Innovation continues to offer practical guidelines as well as a theoretical understanding of change, creativity and innovation. It delivers an equal balance of critical perspectives and sound ideas for organizational change and development and presents the idea that change can be proactive, driven by creativity and innovation. The Third Edition includes additional change management content including learning, personal change, managing the self, employability, developments in conventional Organizational Development and new emergent forms including appreciative inquiry. Along with a series of rich international case studies, including TNT Australia, Amazon, Leeds Rhinos, Jerusalem Paints, Alpha Pro Pump and KPMG. It is supported by a range of learning and revision aids including reflective exercises, review and discussion questions and hands-on research tasks. All of which help students to reflect on the material covered and provide a source for more open group discussion and debate. A companion website accompanies the book, with additional material including PowerPoint slides for lecturers and video links and access to SAGE journal articles for students. Suitable for upper-level undergraduates and postgraduate students.
Call Number: 658.406 DAW
Publication Date: 2017
The Theory and Practice of Change Management by A best-selling core adoptable textbook for undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA modules/courses in change management, and could also be used by practitioners (change agents). It is a theoretically grounded textbook with a strong practical orientation, discussing all of the key theories of organisational change and demonstrating how they can be used to devise and employ strategies to bring about change in an organisational setting. It takes a managerial approach, with means it is aligned with the way most change management modules are taught around the world. The defining feature of the book is its unique underpinning framework which is based on a process model of change, that is, a model that views change as a purposeful and constructed sequence of events (albeit with some flexibility along the way), rather than something chaotic and unmanageable. The book chapters follow this process model sequence right through from recognising the need for change to sustaining the change once implemented
Call Number: 658.406 HAY
Publication Date: 2018
Neuroscience for Organizational Change by Understanding how employees' brains work has lasting impact in terms of meeting business objectives and becoming an employer of choice. Neuroscience for Organizational Change helps businesses understand why employees find organizational change difficult and what they need from work relationships to perform at their best. Providing practical examples of how to apply these insights, the book enables organizations to improve performance as well as support the mental and emotional well-being of employees.Drawing on examples from big-name organizations such as Lloyds Banking Group, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills, Orbit Housing Group and BAE Systems, Neuroscience for Organizational Change looks at the need for social connection at work, the essential role that leaders and managers play, how best to manage emotions and reduce bias to avoid making flawed decisions, and why we need communication, involvement and storytelling to help us through change. It also sets out a new science-based planning tool, SPACES, to enhance motivation.
Call Number: 658.406 HIL
Publication Date: 2016
Managing Change by Managing Change: A Critical Perspective explores how and why change occurs in organizations and how the change process can be managed effectively. Complete with an appendix featuring twenty popular change management techniques, it is an ideal core textbook for change modules on HR and business degree programmes at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. It offers a critical perspective, challenging the main assumptions and ensuring that the complexity of the subject is understood and appreciated. This fully updated 2nd edition of Managing Change: A Critical Perspective includes new chapters on perspectives, power and politics, ethics, agents and agency, HRM and evaluation. Its revised structure reflects strategic, group and individual change, and a revised final chapter evaluates the practice and theory of change management. Online supporting resources include annotated weblinks for students, an instructor's manual complete with commentary on questions and cases in the book and lecture slides and additional case studies for tutors.
Call Number: 658.406 HUG
Publication Date: 2010
Appreciative Inquiry for Change Management by Appreciative Inquiry (AI) is one of the most exciting and increasingly recognized concepts in facilitating organizational change. This book studies AI in depth, illustrating the method of asking particular questions and envisioning the future, encouraging staff to consider both the positive and negative systems in place and to recognize the need to implement change. It demonstrates how AI can be practically applied through positive psychology, understanding various perspectives and trialling tested approaches to create change through conversation. Case studies from organizations that have already integrated conversational methods into their change management practice show the value and effectiveness of the processes and how to promote, create and generate such conversations yourself. Written in jargon-free language, this is an excellent resource for you to discover the benefits that conversational techniques can bring to your organization and its performance. Appreciative Inquiry for Change Management explains the theory and practice of AI, World Cafe, Open Space and other conversational approaches for facilitating organizational development (OD).
Call Number: 658.406 LEW + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Strategy Process by Strategic Management at all levels. Also courses in strategic marketing, organization theory, decision theory, public administration, and political science departments. Breaking away from the traditional formulation, - implementation approach that dominates strategy textbooks, this text sees strategy analysis as taking place in a wider organizational and managerial context. This Global edition retains the basic readings and cases approach of the US and European editions and now introduces a truly international perspective to present an up-to-date look at how actual companies act strategically and the research driving them.
Call Number: 658.401 MIN
Publication Date: 2002