Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Strategic Marketing reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Marketing Communications by This seventh edition of Marketing Communications provides both a rich source of theory and an invaluable insight into how brands create communications and engage audiences in brand conversations. With contributions from brand owners and their advertising agencies from around the world, the book provides a unique blend of the theory and practice of brand communications. Sarah Turnbull joins Chris Fill as co-author on the seventh edition and together their passion for marketing communications comes alive in this book as they share their expertise and experience. Its strong theoretical underpinning and selection of contemporary case studies makes this the definitive text for undergraduate and postgraduate students in marketing, marketing with psychology, advertising, business studies and other marketing-related programmes. It is recognised as the authoritative text for professional courses such as The Chartered Institute of Marketing and is supported by the Institute of Practitioners in Advertising.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Marketing 4. 0 by Marketing has changed forever'this is what comes next Marketing 4.0: Moving from Traditional to Digital is the much-needed handbook for next-generation marketing. Written by the world's leading marketing authorities, this book helps you navigate the increasingly connected world and changing consumer landscape to reach more customers, more effectively. Today's customers have less time and attention to devote to your brand'and they are surrounded by alternatives every step of the way. You need to stand up, get their attention, and deliver the message they want to hear. This book examines the marketplace's shifting power dynamics, the paradoxes wrought by connectivity, and the increasing sub-culture splintering that will shape tomorrow's consumer; this foundation shows why Marketing 4.0 is becoming imperative for productivity, and this book shows you how to apply it to your brand today. Marketing 4.0 takes advantage of the shifting consumer mood to reach more customers and engage them more fully than ever before. Exploit the changes that are tripping up traditional approaches, and make them an integral part of your methodology. This book gives you the world-class insight you need to make it happen. Discover the new rules of marketing Stand out and create WOW moments Build a loyal and vocal customer base Learn who will shape the future of customer choice Every few years brings a "new" marketing movement, but experienced marketers know that this time its different; it's not just the rules that have changed, it's the customers themselves. Marketing 4.0 provides a solid framework based on a real-world vision of the consumer as they are today, and as they will be tomorrow. Marketing 4.0 gives you the edge you need to reach them more effectively than ever before.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Dickson, P.R., Ginter J.L. (1987) "Market segmentation, product differentiation, and marketing strategy", The Journal of Marketing, 58.2: 1-10.
Grönroos, C. (1994) "From marketing mix to relationship marketing: towards a paradigm shift in marketing”, Management decision, 32.2: 4-20.
Ozimek, J. (2010) "The disloyalty ladder - Two rungs further down", Journal of Direct, Data and Digital Marketing Practice, 11.3: 207-218.
IBISWorld are the global leading provider of industry & market sector research and analysis. With instant access to 450 regularly updated UK industry reports, students have instant data they can refer to on any area of the UK market. IBISWorld reports incorporate SWOT and PESTLE analysis as well as Porter’s 5 forces so it’s a fantastic reference points for assignments and dissertations.
Marketing Graffiti by Radical and unique in its approach and presentation, Marketing Graffititurns the traditional marketing introduction on its head by helping students to understand the part they already play as 'consumers' in the marketing process. Most marketing textbooks tackle the subject as a business function - i.e. how to "do" marketing in companies and other organizations. Marketing Graffitishows how marketing is not just a business function but a part of our culture, and one in which we are all active as part-time marketers. By rejecting managerially-driven structures in this way, Saren's approach makes marketing immediate and instantly recognizable as a process and a phenomenon in which we are already complicit. It helps readers to become aware of what they already know. Critically examining a wide range of products, businesses, technologies, information, services, ads, packaging and branding, Saren utilizes everyday images and phenomena to draw out the conceptual foundations of marketing from a social science and cultural studies perspective as something that we all experience in everyday life. This new edition of the first critical marketing textbook discusses the role new technologies (such as social media) play in marketing culture and how this can potentially place more power in the clicks of the consumer. It includes new, updated or expanded sections on market exclusion, the role of the consumer in innovation, space and place, pricing, consumer communities, collaborative consumption and social media marketing. Leading experts in these fields of research and marketing practice also contribute additional sections on these topics. This essential marketing guide is supported by a range of teaching support materials including the latest journal and online references, guides to further reading, teaching slides and test bank questions
Call Number: 658.8 SAR
Publication Date: 2017
Marketing Theory by Lecturers/Instructors - Request a free digital inspection copy hereUniquely providing a comprehensive overview in one place, Marketing Theoryintroduces and explains the role of theory in marketing by uncovering its histories, disciplinary underpinnings, subfields, discourses and debates. From strategy and ethics to digital marketing and consumer behaviour, leading marketing experts shine a light on what can be a challenging perspective of marketing. In this new Third Edition there are up-to-date examples from global companies such as Pepsi, Amazon and H&M; entirely new chapters on Digital and Social Media Marketing, and Service-Dominant Logic (SD-L) and contributions from Global Specialists including Bob Lusch, Patrick Murphy and Susan Hart.Ideal for Upper level undergraduate and postgraduate marketing students studying marketing theory, critical marketing, and the history of marketing modules.
Call Number: 658.8001 BAK
Publication Date: 2016
The SAGE Handbook of Marketing Theory by This exciting new Handbook brings together the latest in debates concerning the development of marketing theory, featuring original contributions from a selection of leading international authors. The collection aims to give greater conceptual cohesion to the field, by drawing together the many disparate perspectives and presenting them in one volume. The contributors are all leading international scholars, chosen to represent the intellectual diversity within marketing theory.The Handbook is divided into six Parts: Part I: The Historical Development of Marketing TheoryPart II: The Philosophical Underpinnings of TheoryPart III: Major Theoretical DebatesPart IV: The Impact of Theory on Representations of the ConsumerPart V: The Impact of Theory on Representations of the Marketing OrganizationPart VI: Contemporary Issues in Marketing Theory
Call Number: 658.8001 MAC + eBook
Publication Date: 2013