Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Children's Mental Health Care reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
A Multidisciplinary Handbook of Child and Adolescent Mental Health for Front-Line Professionals, Third Edition by This handbook provides a succinct introduction to child mental health, covering the nature, prevalence, treatment and management of mental health problems in children and young people. The authors explore a range of issues surrounding the emotional needs of young people, showing how specific problems such as ADHD and learning difficulties can be targeted, while also recognising diversity issues and paying particular attention to at-risk groups. This edition is updated to reflect current direction in services, cutting edge approaches to interventions in primary health care, teaching and social service settings, as well as incorporating children's views on what mental health means to them and the impact of social media. Setting out ways in which young people can be supported by all practitioners in primary care, and covering early years through to late adolescence, the authors have created an invaluable resource for any front-line practitioner working in this area.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-11-21
Child and Adolescent Mental Health by This textbook provides an overview of child and adolescent mental health. The text covers all core aspects on the subject, from the importance of knowing why mental health in children is important, to how to assess, formulate and treat a variety of presentations seen in children and young people. Beginning with an overview of conditions and the background to emotional and behavioural problems, the book examines the different models and tools used to assess and treat children and young people and provides an outline of the practitioners working to help this population. Chapters consider the many diverse identities and groups within the population, addressing specific problems encountered in children, young people and their families from different cultural backgrounds. This revised edition addresses issues of current public debate such as gender identity and the role of social media in children's and young people's development and behaviour. Featuring authors from a variety of clinical and research backgrounds, this fully revised third edition is an important resource for all professionals working with children, young people and their families, including student and practitioner psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, mental health nurses and social care specialists.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2021-05-12
Dibs in Search of Self by The classic of child therapy. Dibs will not talk. He will not play. He has locked himself in a very special prison. And he is alone. This is the true story of how he learned to reach out for the sunshine, for life . . . how he came to the breathless discovery of himself that brought him back to the world of other children.
Call Number: 618.928916 AXL
Publication Date: 1986-06-12
Teen Mental Health in an Online World by This essential book shows practitioners how they can engage with teens' online lives to support their mental health. Drawing on interviews with young people it discusses how adults can have open and inquiring conversations with teens about both the positive and negative aspects of their use of online spaces. For most young people there is no longer a barrier between their 'real' and 'online' lives. This book reviews the latest research around this topic to investigate how those working with teenagers can use their insights into digital technologies to promote wellbeing in young people. It draws extensively on interviews with young people aged 12-16 throughout, who share their views about social media and reveal their online habits. Chapters delve into how teens harness online spaces such as YouTube, Instagram and gaming platforms for creative expression and participation in public life to improve their mental health and wellbeing. It also provides a framework for practitioners to start conversations with teens to help them develop resilience in respect of their internet use. The book also explores key risks such as bullying and online hate, social currency and the quest for 'likes', sexting, and online addiction. This is essential reading for teachers, school counsellors, social workers, and CAMHS professionals (from psychiatrists to mental health nurses) - in short, any practitioner working with teenagers around mental health.
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
An Introduction to Child and Adolescent Mental Health by Anyone who works within children and adolescent mental health services will tell you what a challenging and complex world it is. To help prepare you, the authors have produced a clear introduction to child and adolescent mental health that takes you step-by-step on a journey through the subject. Beginning with the foundations, the book explores the common mental health concepts and influences that you can expect to encounter examining topics like the difference between emotional and mental health issues and how mental health problems develop. It then moves on to explore the vital skills that you will need to develop like effective communication and basic counselling skills, and introduces some of the common interventions like Cognitive Behavioural Therapy, Psychodynamic theory and Family work. Written by a multi-disciplinary team of passionate and experienced experts, the book strikes an effective balance between introducing the relevant theory and showing how this can be applied in the real world. It is an essential starting point to the subject of child and adolescent mental health and suitable for any students planning to support this group.
Call Number: 362.2083 BUR
Publication Date: 2014-05-16
The Nature of Adolescence by The fourth edition of this successful textbook provides an up-to-date introduction to all of the key features of adolescent development. While drawing on the North American literature on adolescence, it highlights European perspectives and also provides unique coverage of the topic by summarising and reviewing what is known about adolescence from a British viewpoint. Comprehensively updated and rewritten, this edition includes material on new topics such as: The development of the adolescent brain Sleep patterns in adolescence Parenting programmes for parents of teenagers Health, including sport and exercise, nutrition and obesity, and mental health Education and schooling Young people's use of digital technologies New approaches to resilience and coping. The book places a particular emphasis on a positive view of adolescence, and the author develops a new theoretical perspective which looks at how young people themselves construct and shape their own developmental pathways. Interview material taken from discussions with adolescents is included throughout the book, and there are sample essay questions and PowerPoint lecture slides available online. This is an essential text for anyone studying human development at undergraduate and postgraduate level, as well as on postgraduate courses for professionals including teachers, social workers, health workers, counsellors, and youth workers.
Call Number: 305.235 COL + eBook
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Nursing in Child and Adolescent Mental Health by "This book considers the range of skills and roles that nurse's now undertake within specialist CAMHS, it provides a good basic introduction for nurses and clinicians from other disciplines. Discussion around medication management as part of a nurse's extended role is timely and will be of particular use to those considering this option within their practice. The text is easily accessible, utilising case studies to enhance learning. The inclusion of research and audit helps raise the need not only for nurses to be more involved in research but also the need for clinicians to evaluate their practice. I would recommend this text to clinicians new to CAMHS." Sharon Pagett, Senior Lecturer, Mental Health (CAMHS), Department of Nursing, University of Central Lancashire "Nurses have a key role to play within the Child and Adolescent Mental Health Team. Yet there are few textbooks devoted to the specialist and advanced roles which many undertake within this field of practice. This text will fill the void addressing legal and ethical issues while focusing upon clinical practice and the application of theoretical concepts." Fiona Smith, Adviser in Children's and Young People's Nursing, Royal College of Nursing This book focuses on child and adolescent mental health (CAMH) for nurses training and working in this field. The authors explore the various roles CAMH nurses fulfil and consider how these roles might be undertaken with confidence. Drawing upon both the academic evidence available, and grounded in the reality of clinical practice, the book looks at how to assess the different issues and the various interventions used in practice. The authors consider the effect of child and family development on mental health, as well as broader factors influencing mental health and well-being. Among the core issues considered are: Definitions and consequences of mental health, illness and stigma Child development Legislative frameworks Assessment skills Therapeutic work: individual counselling, cognitive behavioural therapy, family work and medication Clinical governance and supervision Research Chapters include case scenarios, clinical applications and boxes highlighting the key context issues. Nursing in Child and Adolescent Mental Health is relevant to nurses at all levels, but is especially useful to postgraduate nurses and nurses in specialist child and adolescent mental health services (SCAMHS). Other professional staff will also find it useful. Contributors: Laurence Baldwin, P. Mani Das Gupta, Clay Frake, Neil Hemstock, Michael Hodgkinson, Sarah Hogan, Cath Kitchen, Peter Nolan, Theresa Norris, Ged Rogers, Noreen Ryan, Mervyn Townley, Panos Vostanis and Richard Williams.
Call Number: 618.9289 DOG + eBook
Publication Date: 2009-01-10
Meeting the Needs of Ethnic Minority Children - Including Refugee, Black and Mixed Parentage Children by Experts from a variety of disciplines contribute to this substantially revised edition of this popular handbook - new chapters are included on identity work, refugee children, and the work of the Asian Project. The book also examines the central importance for professionals of the Lawrence Enquiry; the move to include more public services in the Race Relations Act; increased awareness of institutional racism; and the specific inclusion of ethnic minority children in health improvement programmes. Offering practical guidance based on sound research and practice, the book provides a focus on some of the most difficult and topical aspects of this field of work.
Call Number: 362.7 DWI + eBook
Publication Date: 2000-02-15
Improving the Psychological Wellbeing of Children and Young People by Written for professionals spanning children's services, this must-read guide provides an authoritative overview of what shapes the psychological wellbeing of children and young people - from perinatal care and adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) through to their socioeconomic circumstances, schools and the wider community. Contributors provide a concise overview of the evidence base, identifying current barriers to good mental health in policy and service provision, and highlighting examples of initiatives proven to be successful. Examples are drawn from health, social care, youth justice and education settings with a focus on preventative and early intervention measures. This book is a rich resource for all professionals concerned with child wellbeing, including service providers, commissioners, professionals and students. It should serve as essential reading for students on mental health training courses.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018-10-18
Deliberate Self-Harm in Adolescence by Self-harm in adolescence and late teens is known to be increasing, though it is difficult to detect and inconsistently recorded. This thorough, practical and evidence-based book provides guidance for professionals and parents caring for children and young people at risk of self-harm and suicide. Claudine Fox and Keith Hawton discuss risk factors for self-harm, including depression, substance abuse and antisocial behaviour, and critically examine key screening instruments that can be used to assess risk. They describe how suicidal behaviour can be managed and prevented, and look at the effectiveness of aftercare treatment for those who self-harm, including school-based suicide-prevention programs and family therapy. Also addressed are common myths about self-harm and the problem of varying definitions in this field. Deliberate Self-Harm in Adolescence clearly summarizes and evaluates current research into suicidal behaviour - it is essential reading for social workers, mental health professionals, GPs, teachers and parents.
Call Number: 616.8582 FOX + eBook
Publication Date: 2004-06-15
Children and Young People's Mental Health by Children and Young People's Mental Health equips nurses and healthcare professionals with the essential skills and competencies needed to deliver effective assessment, treatment and support to children and young people with mental health problems and disorders, and their families. Drawing on McDougall's Child and Adolescent Mental Health Nursing and taking the Cavendish Report and Willis Commission into account, this new textbook has been designed to ensure those working in CAMHS can continue to provide a high quality, evidence-based service. The book explores best practice in a variety of settings and addresses issues such as eating disorders, self-harm, ADHD, forensic mental health issues and misuse of drugs and alcohol in children and young people, as well as child protection, clinical governance, safeguarding and legal requirements. Furthermore, with young people contributing directly to several chapters, the book reflects the importance of involving them in planning, delivering and evaluating CAMHS services. It is essential reading for all health and social care professionals and students working with children and young people, particularly those working in specialist child and adolescent mental health settings.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-10-04
Mental Health Services for Minority Ethnic Children and Adolescents by Bringing together current research on mental health services for children from minority ethnic backgrounds, this much-needed resource provides guidance for both practice and policy. In the light of their interviews with child and adolescent mental health managers about their approaches to service development, the authors argue that the delivery of effective services can be achieved only by recognizing the diversity of cultures and individual needs of minority groups and encouraging more communication between service providers. They consider how ethnicity is defined, and how the field of mental health has developed in the West according to Western concepts of health and well-being, and show how an understanding of the key practice issues and policy and academic debates can enable professionals to develop and fine-tune their cultural competence. With details of a number of projects and services, as well as a list of resources and organizations, policy makers, service managers and commissioners, as well as professionals at the front-line, will find this an essential guide to recognizing and engaging with the diversity of children's backgrounds and needs. Child and Adolescent Mental Health Series Written for professionals, and parents, these accessible, evidence-based resources are essential reading for anyone seeking to understand and promote children and young people's mental health. Drawing on the work of FOCUS, a multidisciplinary project based at the Royal College of Psychiatrists' Research Unit, each title in the series brings together practical and policy-level suggestions with up-to-the-minute analysis of research.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2004-03-15
Adolescent Mental Health Care and the Law by The law relating to the mental health care of children and young people aged under 18 ( adolescents ) is renowned for its complexity. This is unsurprising given that in relation to admission to hospital and treatment for mental disorder, it raises issues of uncertainty such as the limits of the decision-making powers as between parents and their children and the developing law on deprivation of liberty.
Call Number: 344.044 PAR
Publication Date: 2020
Youth Mental Health by This book highlights the field of youth mental health and why it is a specialty distinct from both child and adolescent and adult mental health. Youth Mental Health: Approaches to Emerging Mental Ill-Health in Young People examines issues such as mental health literacy, e-Health, family, psychological, vocational and pharmacological interventions. The authors also discuss issues that are particularly pertinent to young people, such as suicidality, substance abuse, gender identity and sexuality, attention deficit disorder and eating disorders. Taking a preventative focus, this book presents evidence for youth mental health as an important and growing field, makes the case for the reform of existing service structures to better serve this group and outlines the latest specialised approaches to treatment. Drawing on the knowledge and expertise of leading thinkers in youth mental health, this book is instrumental for mental health professionals who wish to design new specialised mental health systems for young people.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2020-12-29