Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing by Supported by relevant theory, research, policy, and philosophy, this second edition of Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing: The craft of caringprovides a comprehensive overview of the practice of psychiatric and mental health nursing. The concept of "the craft of caring" dictates that the basis of good nursing practice is a combination of both art and science, encouraging nurses to take a holistic approach to the practice of psychiatric and mental health nursing. Reflecting current developments in nursing practice and the understanding of mental health disorders, this edition includes twelve additional chapters, placing more emphasis on specific groups such as children and young people, women, older people, asylum seekers, and refugees. Case studies include patients with anxiety, schizophrenia, and bipolar disorder as well as victims of sexual abuse, those with an eating disorder, homeless patients, and those with dementia and autism. The book also examines specialist services such as psychiatric liaison and spiritual care and includes discussion on psychiatric diagnosis and mental health legislation in relation to human rights. This is an essential text for all psychiatric and mental health nurses at the diploma and degree level, as well as qualified mental health nurses seeking to update their knowledge. It will also be a useful reference for professionals in other disciplines such as social work, medicine, and psychology.
Assessment in Psychiatric and Mental Health Nursing by 
Recovery an Alien Concept by Extensively extended, revised and updated by Ron Coleman and edited by Eleanor Longden, with a new index and reference section. An exploration of the concept of recovery by Ron Coleman, including how he gave up being a "chronic schizophrenic" and went back to being Ron.
Psychiatric Drugs Explained by Now in its sixth edition, and written by an author internationally recognised in his field, Psychiatric Drugs Explained offers a wealth of information in a handy easy-to-use format. Organised by disorder, and providing a comprehensive review of drug effects, action and side-effects, this fully updated new edition covers the latest drugs on the market, and explores changes in prescribing practice. The author's approach is distinctive and reader-friendly, to help guide mental health professionals through the benefits and impacts of psychotropic drugs. Additional topics include management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders. Includes management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders Gives particular focus on areas that are of major concern to mental health practitioners including management of dependence and withdrawal and issues of consent, abuse and liability 'User Issues' boxes highlight the most crucial aspects of drug effects and their implications Key references point the reader to the most up-to-date research and literature in the field Fresh design and updated artwork gives added appeal to the volume Organised by disorder this new edition now covers the latest drugs on the market and explores changes in prescribing practice Includes updated references pointing the reader to the most recent research and literature in the field
Mental Health Nursing by This package provides you with the book plus the eBook - giving you the printed book, plus access to the complete book content electronically. Evolve eBooks allows you to quickly search the entire book, make notes, add highlights, and study more efficiently. Buying other Evolve eBooks titles makes your learning experience even better: all of the eBooks will work together on your electronic "bookshelf", so that you can search across your entire library of nursing eBooks. This new edition of Mental Health Nursing: an evidence-based approach has been fully updated to include the latest research-based guidance. A wide variety of client problems is covered with , so that students are assured that what they learn is underpinned by a sound evidence base for treatment, and qualified mental health nurses can be confident that their practice is informed by the most up-to-date research. Skills acquisition is emphasised and experiential exercises encourage connections between theory and practice. Based on up-to-date, evidence-based information Emphasises skills acquisition Puts the nurse's role central to mental health care Contributors and editors are national and international experts in their fields Uses experiential exercises to reinforce learning and encourage connections from theory to practice
The Art and Science of Mental Health Nursing by 
Social Inclusion and Recovery by Although it is widely agreed that the experiences of service users have much to offer mental health professionals, the majority of books for this group focus on either conditions or different types of service provision (acute, community). This book is different. It takes as its starting point the lived experience of recovery which is the process whereby individuals can be helped to understand and come to terms with their illness. The role and actions of mental health professionals is explored as part of the process of recovery. The major part of the book will focus on ways in which direct care staff can assist people with mental health problems, reflecting the accounts of the nature and type of assistance which have been valuable, and the ways in which such help can best be offered. It addresses two key components of recovery accessand inclusion to life opportunities and acceptance. Each chapter of the book looks at an aspect of recovery and clearly shows how practitioners must accept the individuals needs and work with them towards this goal Based on users' experiences Focus on recovery as both a personal journey and goal and the basis for care and interventions Addresses key issues - access and social inclusion Practical guidance in implementing a new model of mental health practice.
Psychological Interventions in Mental Health Nursing by 
Theories for Mental Health Nursing: A Guide for Practice by 
Recovery in Mental Health Nursing by 
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by The most comprehensive of its kind, Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 8th Edition provides an in-depth look at 39 theorists of historical, international, and significant importance. Each chapter features a clear, consistent presentation of a key nursing philosophy or theory. Case studies, critical thinking activities, and in-depth objective critiques of nursing theories help bridge the gap between theory and application. Critical Thinking Activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you to process the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical practice situations. A case study at the end of each theorist chapter puts the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. A Brief Summary in each theorist chapter helps you review for tests and confirm your comprehension. A Major Concepts & Definitions box included in each theorist chapter outlines the theory's most significant ideas and clarifies content-specific vocabulary. Each theorist chapter is written by a scholar specializing in that particular theorist's work, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information possible. Beginning chapters provide a strong foundation on the history and philosophy of science, logical reasoning, and the theory development process. Diagrams for theories help you visualize and better understand inherently abstract concepts. Pictures of theorists, as well as a listing of contact information for each individual, enables you to contact the source of information directly. Theorist chapters have been reviewed and edited by the theorist, validating the accounts set forth in the text for currency and accuracy. An extensive bibliography at the conclusion of each theorist chapter outlines numerous primary and secondary sources of information, ideal for both undergraduate and graduate research projects. NEW! Quotes from the theorist make each complex theory more memorable. NEW! Chapter on Afaf Meleis profiles a theorist who has shaped theoretical development in nursing and explores her "transition theory." NEW! Need to Know Information is highlighted to streamline long, complex passages and help you review key concepts. NEW! Points for Further Study at the end of each chapter direct you to assets available for additional information.
Essentials of Pharmacology for Nurses by 
Madness Explained by Is madness purely a medical condition that can be treated with drugs? Is there really a clear dividing line between mental health and mental illness - or is it not so easy to classify who is sane and who is insane? In Madness Explainedleading clinical psychologist Richard Bentall shatters the modern myths that surround psychosis. This groundbreaking work argues that we cannot define madness as an illness to be cured like any other; that labels such as 'schizophrenia' and 'manic depression' are meaningless, based on nineteenth-century classifications; and that experiences such as delusions and hearing voices are in fact exaggerations of the mental foibles to which we are all vulnerable. We need, Bentall argues, a radically new way of thinking about psychiatric problems - one that does not reduce madness to brain chemistry, but understands and accepts it as part of human nature.
Mental Health Law in England and Wales by 
Managing Madness by Psychiatry regularly comes under attack as a way of caring for and controlling the mentally ill. Originally published in 1986, this title explores the history and theory of psychiatry to illuminate current practice at the time, and shows why mental health services had developed in particular ways. The book was invaluable for all those who needed to understand the problems and processes behind current psychiatric practice at the time ¿ sociologists and psychologists, psychiatrists and doctors, social workers, and health service planners and administrators ¿ and will still be of historical interest today.
Mental Illness by Mental illness is a highly controversial and contested field, informed by the ideas and research of academics and practitioners working in psychiatry, psychology, pharmacology, sociology, genetics and the neurosciences. This book brings clarity to a complex field, exploring core issues ranging from debates about the way the concept has been developed and expanded over time to controversies over the causes of mental illness. The author evaluates critiques of the concept of mental illness and of the way its expanding boundaries now define a far wider range of mental states, experiences and activities as pathological. Arguing that these boundaries need to be restricted, the author contends that many of the phenomena identified as mental illness are normal reactions to life's difficulties and that, while individuals may need support, it is not appropriate or helpful for such phenomena to be treated as indicative of mental disorder. Other important topics covered include the way mental illness is measured, its distribution across populations and over time, and the different types of care provided for those with identified mental illness. Mental Illness will prove invaluable for intending practitioners in medicine, psychiatry, mental health nursing, social work, and clinical and health psychology, as well as for students in psychology, sociology and the health sciences.
Excellence in Dementia Care: Research into practice by 
Working with Serious Mental Illness by 
Integrated Care Pathways in Mental Health by 
Emerging Perspectives on Substance Misuse by Copy Web Catalog: Emerging Perspectives on Substance Misuse addresses theoretical, practice and policy issues with regard to the problematic use of alcohol and illegal drugs. Comprises chapters from some of the most internationally well-known academics and practitioners representing a range of different specializations and perspectives in the field Presents a wide range of emerging evidence-based perspectives Includes content relevant for researchers, practitioners, and policy makers who work with individuals or policy related to drug and alcohol misuse Areas covered include - gender and substance use, working with children and families of substance misusers and the emerging recovery movement
Straight Talking Introduction to Psychiatric Drugs by Psychiatric drugs and their use are amongst the most hotly debated issues in the 21st century. How they work, whether they are effective, how to understand the evidence, and explanations of the major categories of psychiatric drugs are all covered in this clearly written guide. The competing theories of drug action are also explained in easy-to-understand terms.
The Bitterest Pills by A challenging reappraisal of the history of antipsychotics, revealing how they were transformed from neurological poisons into magical cures, their benefits exaggerated and their toxic effects minimized or ignored.
Recovery and Mental Health by For most of us, the term 'recovery' in mental health implies hope and normality for those suffering from emotional distress. It is understandable why recovery has therefore become a significant goal for mental health services. But what does recovery mean for those who are struggling to see it through? Is the emphasis on recovery always a positive thing. This book takes a critical sociological look at personal and public assumptions and understandings. In particular:* It explores what the recovery movement signifies today, offering readers a critical, reflexive view of its scientific, policy and political consequences.* It considers what recovery means from social, medical and patient perspectives, and the implications of these conflicting views.* It reveals some of the risks and benefits for people with mental health problems encountering a system that expects them to recover.Offering a comprehensive and thought-provoking overview of the concept of recovery from mental illness, this book is a must-have for students studying mental health across a range of subjects, including Sociology, Social Work, Psychology and Nursing.
Mental Health Nursing by Do you want to know how to help people with mental health problems? This book introduces you to the core skills and essential knowledge you need to deliver high-quality care. Mental Health Nursing is a practical, values- and evidence-based resource which will guide and support you through your pre-registration mental health nursing programme and into your own practice. Dedicated chapters focus on the major mental health problems, and are clearly structured so that you can quickly and easily identify what you want learn about helping people with, for example, depression, anxiety, psychosis, or acute mental health problems. The most up-to-date theories, as well as mental health policies and law from all four countries of the UK, are explained accessibly by experienced lecturers and nurse practitioners who show you through real-life case scenarios how you can use your newly-acquired knowledge and skills to deliver high-quality care yourself. You will also be encouraged - through regular reflection and discussion points - to see things with a critical eye and to engage in and drive on the debates that make mental health nursing such an exciting field to be studying and working in. Set within a framework which emphasises and makes clear the core skills, values and knowledge-base you need to become capable mental health nurse, you will find this book a vital companion as you progress through your studies and onto helping people confidently in everyday life.
Models of Madness by Models of Madness shows that hallucinations and delusions are understandable reactions to life events and circumstances rather than symptoms of a supposed genetic predisposition or biological disturbance. International contributors: * critique the 'medical model' of madness * examine the dominance of the 'illness' approach to understanding madness from historical and economic perspectives * document the role of drug companies * outline the alternative to drug based solutions * identify the urgency and possibility of prevention of madness. Models of Madness promotes a more humane and effective response to treating severely distressed people that will prove essential reading for psychiatrists and clinical psychologists and of great interest to all those who work in the mental health service. This book forms part of the International Society for the Psychological Treatment of Psychoses series edited by Brian Martindale.
Living with Voices by This book is a groundbreaking development in modern mental health because it recognises the importance of the first hand experience and argues that hearing voices is not a sign of madness but a reaction to serious problems in life. Must-read book for all concerned with mental health issues.
Madness in civilisation: A cultural history of insanity from the Bible to Freud by 
Essentials of Anatomy and Physiology by Like its predecessors, this new edition offers a balanced introduction to the human body especially developed to meet the needs of the one-semester course. It provides an effective blend of stunning art and clearly written text to illuminate the complexities of the human body. Class-tested pedagogy is woven into the narrative and figures to ensure that students gain a solid understanding of the material.
Modern Mental Health by The World Health Organisation recently confirmed that mental Illness was set to become the biggest threat to human well-being in the twenty first century. Mental illness accounts for more disability adjusted life years lost per year than any other health condition in the UK. No other health condition matches mental ill health in the combined extent of prevalence, persistence and breadth of impact. Modern Mental Health offers an alternative and thought-provoking perspective to the conventional and orthodox understanding of mental health and how to help those suffering with mental illness. The individual contributors to this book share a passion for needs-informed person-centred care for those people affected by mental ill- health and a deep scepticism about the way help and support is organised and provided to the 1 in 4 people in the population who at some time will suffer mental health problems. The chapters include a diverse and rich mixture of stark personal testimony, reflective narrative, case studies in user-informed care, alternative models of intervention and support, rigorous empirical research and a forensic analysis of mental health law-making. Although the overarching philosophy of this book is critical of contemporary psychiatric care, each chapter offers an individual perspective on an aspect of provision. This book will appeal to social workers in mental health contexts as well as students on post qualifying courses and the Masters Degree in Social Work. Doctors, psychologists, psychotherapists, counsellors and nurses will also find much of value.
Complementary and Alternative Treatments in Mental Health Care by 
Nursing Models, Theories and Practice by Vital Notes for Nurses: Nursing Models, Theories and Practice provides a concise, accessible introduction to the development, application and evaluation of nursing theories and clearly outlines their relevance to everyday nursing practice. It encourages the reader to view theories from a broader conceptual base, enabling them to be more objective when it comes to clinical practice. Suitable for nursing students and newly qualified nurses, the authors explore the relationship between nursing theories and practice, specifically analysing their origins, development, selection and use. It discusses how nursing theories evolve, how they relate to nursing roles, how to select a nursing theory relevant to your practice, and how to evaluate theories critically. Key Features: - Clearly examines the relationship between nursing theory, clinical practice and nursing roles - Written in a clear, accessible style which assumes no prior knowledge - Useful to all nursing students on the common foundation programme as well as newly qualified nurses. - Each chapter includes features such as activities, case studies and learning objectives - In the Vital Notes for Nurses series
Social Inclusion of People with Mental Illness by 
Applying the Roper-Logan-Tierney Model in Practice by This is a new edition of the highly successful textbook which explores the use of the Roper, Logan and Tierney Model of Nursing in practice. It underpins nursing care for patients with a variety of health care problems. The main focus is on nursing adult patients in acute and community-based settings. Applying the RLT Model in Practice has been written to enable students and their teachers in both Higher Education and clinical practice to explore the different dimensions of the model through a variety of case studies and exercises .The case studies can be viewed as 'triggers' for student problem-solving skills in using the Model. Many of the exercises are aimed at enabling readers to find evidence to support nursing activities. The authors have incorporated an international perspective throughout the text. Based on the most popular model used in general nursing care throughout the world Explicitly demonstrates how the RLT model can be used to assess, plan, deliver and evaluate individualised nursing care Applies the RLT model in the context of today's health services and links it to clinical governance and the multi-disciplinary context of care Uses a problem solving approach with extensive use of exercises and case studies Attractive two-colour design using boxes, tables and summaries Fully updated throughout in line with changes in practice, developments in the evidence base, changes in the NHS e.g. modern matrons, Modernisation Agency etc More material on how to apply the model in an inter disciplinary context Updated infection control section More on discharge planning More material relating to primary care
Essential of Human Anatomy and Physiology by 
A Practical Guide to Care Planning in Health and Social Care by "A valuable resource which will capture the interest of all those involved in planning high quality care." C.Dickie, Lecturer of Adult Nursing, University of the West of Scotland, UK "This is an excellent book for anyone starting out on the Common Foundation year of their nursing degree, and as a reference to those further into their degree, on placement, or newly qualified. The care planning process is very well introduced using models and frameworks of care, with thorough explanations and visual aids ... I would have no hesitation in recommending this book to fellow students and colleagues, and I will use it through the remainder of my degree and beyond." Conor Hamilton, Student Nurse, Queens University Belfast, UK "A highly useful and concise book that is also a practical size to carry around to lectures. This book is accurately planned and is a straight forward easy to read student guide to care planning. I found it informative and well structured in supporting how the theory and knowledge behind the care plan approach and how to implement the care plan in practice ... Marjorie Lloyd has done a wonderful job in providing the theory and practical knowledge alongside excellent examples of this often confusing process." Sandra Costall, Student Nurse, University of Chester, UK This accessible guide takes the mystery and fear out of care planning and will help you to develop a person centred approach to delivering good quality nursing care in all clinical settings. The book explores each part of the care planning process in detail and provides opportunities for you to reflect upon practice and to develop effective skills through: Interprofessional working Risk management Communication and listening skills Reflection Supervision Practical examples demonstrate how best to complete care planning documents and samples are provided in the appendix for you to practice with. Useful websites and checklists are included to help you become more confident with the care planning process. A Practical Guide to Care Planning in Health and Social Care is essential reading for all health and social care students involved in planning good quality care. A structured plan is the essential foundation for the delivery of safe and effective care. This publication successfully guides the reader through the stages of care planning using a simple yet systematic approach. Its strength lies in the carefully designed format which gives consideration to the evidence base as well as providing guidance for the practical application of care plans.
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by 
Handbook of Psychosocial Interventions with Older Adults by 
Introduction to Health Psychology by 
