Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Level 4 Midwifery Practice 1 reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Skills for Midwifery Practice by The new edition of this highly acclaimed step-by-step guide continues to offer readers with the relevant physiology, evidence-base and rationale for the key midwifery skills. Authored by experienced practitioners and educationalists, Skills for Midwifery Practice 4e will be ideal for all midwifery students, both from within the UK and worldwide. Presents over 150 essential midwifery procedures in an easy-to-read, quick reference format 'Learning Objectives' and 'end-of-chapter' self-assessment exercises allow readers to monitor their progress Refers to the latest evidence and research, including current national and international guidelines Explains the underlying physiology associated with pregnancy and childbirth Over 150 artworks help explain physiological processes and clinical procedures 'Roles and Responsibilities' boxes define the nature and extent of current practice Ideal for use as a basis for teaching and assessment New format - now with colour - makes learning even easier! Explores the use and significance of the Modified Early Obstetric Warning Scoring Chart Discusses advances in equipment usage including the application of sequential compression devices, temporal artery thermometers, and pulse oximetry in the early detection of critical congenital heart disease Contains advances in microbiology and infection control including the application and removal of gloves and the use of ANTT for each relevant procedure Physiology updates include an expanded section on normal and abnormal breathing patterns, the structure of the stratum corneum at birth and the factors that affect its barrier function, and neonatal reflexes present at birth Updated information regarding the use of the automated external defibrillator during maternal resuscitation, and the use of blended air and oxygen and pulse oximetry during neonatal resuscitation Care of the traumatised perineum - including expanded discussion of modern suture materials Recognition and management of complications associated with infusion therapy and epidural analgesia
Call Number: 618.2 JOH
Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Handbook of Midwifery 3rd edn. by Now in its third edition the Oxford Handbook of Midwifery continues to be the essential one-stop guide to the key principles of the care and management of pregnancy, birth and beyond. Concise yet comprehensive, with its recognisable and easy-to-use Oxford Handbook format, midwives will findthis a treasure trove of clear, practical guidance. Whether you are a student needing a helping hand through the subject, or an experienced practitioner needing to refresh your knowledge in an emergency, you can be sure that this handbook will be there for you. Written by experienced midwives, and following the latest guidelines and key care protocols, this is handbook is up-to-date and authoritative, with sections on sexual health, contraception, neonatal care and infant feeding. Each chapter includes assessment, diagnosis and management of care withtreatment interventions. Now including new information on initiation of breast feeding with biological nurturing as well as a highlighted section on how to manage obstetric emergencies. Important psychosocial care issues are also addressed. This edition provides concise, practical and accessibleinformation in a logical sequence, as the layout follows the woman's journey through pregnancy, birth and early motherhood.
Call Number: 618.2 MED
Publication Date: 2017