Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Promoting Maternal and Infant Health reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Health for All Children by Since publication of the fourth edition of this highly successful book, there have been a number of Government initiatives, reports and policies on how the health of children can best be protected and promoted. This revised fourth edition incorporates recent material on the National ServiceFramework, 'Every Child Matters', the public health report 'Choosing Health', and the Children Act. It has also been informed by new research on a variety of topics including Sure Start, obesity, Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) and language acquisition. Health for all Children 4/e (revised) continues the themes of previous editions, in particular highlighting the growing evidence that behavioural problems and educational failure are not inevitable, and can be prevented. Thus the role of screening for developmental problems, while not ignored, isset in the context of what can be done to promote language development, reading, and enthusiasm for learning. Changes made to the fourth edition, and continued in this revised edition, include dealing with the health care needs of children of school age as well as pre-school children. It also outlines the needs of special groups of children, including those who are vulnerable or disabled and those livingin unusual circumstances. The legislative framework is outlined and hallmarks of good practice described. Promoting children's health is a key focus, with updated information on nutrition and injury prevention, and emphasis on the importance of parent education and support, language, and literacyskills, with a review of behavioural management programmes for parents. It also describes the duties laid on PCTs with regard to education and social services support. This established and successful book continues to be essential reading for all health professionals who work with children, whether in the community or at the receiving end of referrals. It will also provide vital background knowledge for those charged with the responsibility of planning,commissioning and monitoring. This revised fourth edition provides the most up to date evidence in a rapidly changing field.
Call Number: 362.7 HAL
Publication Date: 2006
Obstetrics and Gynaecology 3rd edn. by Now in its 3rd edition, Lecture Notes: Obstetrics and Gynaecology has been extensively revised and updated to provide a concise and practical introduction to obstetrics and gynaecology for medical students and junior doctors. Starting with a section on basic science, the text is divided into six sections that explain female health needs and their management from the early years to old age. The self-assessment section is now a separate chapter, and includes Extended Matching Questions (EMQs), scenarios for practical history taking for the Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) and Multiple Choice Questions (MCQs). Part 1 looks at female reproductive anatomy and physiology. Part 2 covers the puberty and menstrual problems of young women, sub-fertility, pregnancy prevention, and sexual problems. Part 3 examines the reproductive years including pregnancy and childbirth. Part 4 covers the mature woman including menstrual problems of the older woman and pelvic pain. Part 5 discusses the older woman including the menopause, incontinence and malignancy including breast cancer. Part 6 demonstrates the importance of public health statistics on the provision of services in obstetrics and gynaecology. Now in two-colour throughout, with a new colour plate section, Lecture Notes: Obstetrics and Gynaecology covers the core material needed for O&G courses, written specifically for medical students, nursing students, junior doctors on the Foundation Programme and the first two years of specialist training, midwives, and GPs.
Call Number: 618 HAM
Publication Date: 2008
Maternity and Women's Health Care, 11th ed. by The #1 maternity book in the market is getting even better. Maternity and Women's Health Care, 11th Edition provides evidence-based coverage of everything you need to know about caring for women of childbearing age. Not only does this text emphasize childbearing concerns like newborn care, it also addresses wellness promotion and management of women's health problems. In describing the continuum of care, it integrates the importance of understanding family, culture, and community-based care. Boasting new medication alerts and updated content throughout, this edition covers the new maternal levels of care, and the revised AAP policy on breastfeeding and infant sleep. Expert authors of the market-leading maternity nursing textbook deliver the most accurate, up-to-date content. Clinical reasoning case studies provide you with opportunities to test and develop your analytical skills and to apply knowledge in various settings. Community Activity boxes focus on maternal and newborn activities that can be pursued in local community settings and illustrate nursing care in a variety of settings. Cultural Considerations stress the importance of considering the beliefs and health practices of patients from various cultures when providing care. Emergency boxes provide information about various emergency situations and offer a quick reference in critical situations. Family-Centered Care boxes highlight the needs and concerns of families that you should consider to provide family-centered care. Medication guides provide an important reference of drugs and their interactions. Nursing care plans include rationales for interventions and provide you with an overview of, and specific guidelines for, delivering effective nursing care. Safety alerts highlighted and integrated within the content draw attention to developing competencies related to safe nursing practice. Signs of potential complications highlight vital concerns, alerting you to signs and symptoms of complications and the immediate interventions to provide. Teaching for Self-Management boxes highlight important information that nurses need to communicate to patients and families for follow-up care. NEW! Content updates throughout give you the most current practice guidelines to promote quality care. Chapter 1 covers interprofessional education, accountable care organizations, and expanded content of TeamSTEPPS. Chapter 5 includes human trafficking and the implications on women's health. Chapter 8 includes the most current forms of emergency contraception. Chapter 15 covers the March of Dimes initiative to eliminate elective births before 39 weeks of gestation. Chapter 19 covers the new maternal levels of care in the hospital setting. Chapter 24 will reflect the updated AAP policy on newborn circumcision. Chapter 25 will include the revised AAP policy on breastfeeding and infant sleep. NEW! Updated evidence-based practice boxes focus your attention on current research to improve patient outcomes. NEW! Medication alerts highlighted and integrated within the content alert you to critical drug information that you must consider to provide safe patient care.
Call Number: 618.20231 LOW
Publication Date: 2016
Midwifery and Public Health by An up-to-date discussion of community and public health care in relation to midwifery practice, using real life scenarios in a range of hot topic areas. Explores the role the midwife can play in providing and improving public health Reflects current policy on public health issues Clear focus on practice and implementation of public health initiatives The first book to integrate public health with midwifery
Call Number: 618.2 OLU
Publication Date: 2005