Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Dissertation reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Statistical Methods for Organizational Research by This clearly written textbook clarifies the concepts underpinning descriptive and inferential statistics in organizational research. Acting as much more than a theoretical reference tool, step-by-step it guides readers through the various key stages of successful data analysis.
Covering everything from introductory descriptive statistics to advanced inferential techniques such as ANOVA, multiple and logistic regression and factor analysis, this is one of the most comprehensive textbooks available. Using examples directly relevant to organizational research it includes practical advice on such topics as the size of samples required in research studies, using and interpreting SPSS, and writing up results.
In helping readers to develop a sound understanding of statistical methods, rather than focusing on complex formulas and computations, this outstanding textbook is as appropriate for those who wish to refresh their knowledge as those new to the subject area.
Call Number: 302.35 DEW + eBook
Publication Date: 2004
Research Methods in Business Studies by This accessible guide provides clear, practical explanations of key research methods in business studies, presenting a step-by-step approach to data collection, analysis and problem solving. Readers will learn how to formulate a research question, choose an appropriate research method, argue and motivate, collect and analyse data, and present findings in a logical and convincing manner. The authors evaluate various qualitative and quantitative methods and their consequences, guiding readers to the most appropriate research design for particular questions. Furthermore, the authors provide instructions on how to write reports and dissertations in a clearly structured and concise style. Now in its fifth edition, this popular textbook includes new and dedicated chapters on data collection for qualitative research, qualitative data analysis, data collection for quantitative research, multiple regression, and additional methods of quantitative analysis. Cases and examples have been updated throughout, increasing the applicability of these research methods across various situations.
Call Number: 658 GHA
Publication Date: 2020
Doing and Writing Qualitative Research by With a strong focus on using less traditional forms of data, Doing & Writing Qualitative Research provides a new perspective on issues such as the role of the researcher and the impact they have on data, and also considers the impact of social, cultural, and political complexities across a range of disciplines.Approachable and logically structured, the new Third Edition expertly sets out the many roles of writing in research. From the more theoretical subjects (e.g. research strategies, data types, and writing styles) to the nitty gritty practicalities (e.g. conventions, taking notes, and writing questions), each chapter covers many common concerns writers face when attempting to transform complex data and real world research experiences into textual products. With fully updated examples and case studies as well as a strong focus on using less traditional forms of data like photographs, personal narrative, and creative non-fiction, Doing & Writing Qualitative Research introduces students to modern opportunities in data collection and sourcing that adds depth to their research. Find out how to: - Establish and construct research questions, frameworks, and paradigms - Engage with different styles and media of data - Present ideas clearly and persuasively - Approach sensitive issues of identity and avoid reductive judgements - Discover your individual writing voice Through its accessible advice and its exploration of social, cultural, and political complexities across disciplines, this book is appropriate for both novices and more experienced researchers and forms an essential tool for students engaging in qualitative research across a variety of fields.
Call Number: STSK 001.4 HOL
Publication Date: 2016
No specific journals have been recommended for this module, however, you can access useful journals for Business Management through your Subject Guide.
Call Number: 305.8 FET
Publication Date: 2009
Doing a Literature Review by The ultimate guide to the "what," "how," and "why" of literature reviewing, the Second Edition of the classic text shows how the literature review will unlock the full potential of one's research with: A thorough exploration of the literature review process from start to finish Two brand new chapters explaining the different types of review and evidence and evaluation Extended examples that show you how to apply key techniques and procedures A new "core skills" framework to help you turn your research experience into employability A critical thinking focus that will help you construct convincing arguments and improve your research decisions In combining a critical, philosophical approach with an expertly selected body of practical examples, the Second Edition of Chris Hart's landmark text provides both the intellectual understanding and the technical skills required to produce sophisticated, robust literature reviews of the very highest standard. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, resources and videos on study success!
Call Number: 808.066378 HAR
Publication Date: 2018
IBISWorld are the global leading provider of industry & market sector research and analysis. With instant access to 450 regularly updated UK industry reports, students have instant data they can refer to on any area of the UK market. IBISWorld reports incorporate SWOT and PESTLE analysis as well as Porter’s 5 forces so it’s a fantastic reference points for assignments and dissertations.
No specific websites have been recommended for this module, however, you can access useful websites for Business Management through your Subject Guide.