Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the “Recommended Reading” selection, based on their personal preferences for textbooks.
Physics. 3rd edn. by This accessible, student-friendly text provides a course in Physics. Assuming no prior knowledge and focusing on the basics, the text offers ways into the core aspects of the subject. This 3rd edition includes new sections on fluid flow and wave mechanics, with a thoroughly updated companion website.
Call Number: 530 BRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Chemistry for the Biosciences 3rd edn. by Chemistry pervades our life. It moulds our climate, fuels our transport, gives food its taste and smell. Most of all, chemistry powers life itself. Chemistry for the Biosciences leads students through the essential concepts of chemistry that are central to understanding biological systems, using everyday examples and analogies to help them get to grips with the subject. With an emphasis on clear, straightforward explanations, it features biological examples throughout to illustrate just how integral chemistry is to the biosciences. With topics drawn from organic, physical and inorganic chemistry, students will encounter a broad range of essential concepts to master. Chemistry for the Biosciences includes many learning features - both in print and online - to help students grasp these concepts as quickly and thoroughly as possible. From the self-check questions throughout each chapter to help consolidate learning, to the Chemical Toolkits and Maths Tools that help students explore terminology, methods, and numerical skills that may be unfamiliar, the book is written to be a true course companion for students on biological and biomedical science degrees - one that will help them not only remember the essentials, but really understand them, setting students up for success in their later studies.
Call Number: 572 CRO + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Chemistry for the Biosciences by Chemistry enables our eyes to detect the world around us; it determines whether something tastes sweet or sour; it helps genetic information pass accurately from one generation to the next. Ultimately, chemistry powers life itself. We don't need to dig very deep to answer the question: why dobiologists need chemistry?Building on the success of the first three editions, Chemistry for the Biosciences introduces students to all the chemistry they need to understand the biological world. Renowned for its clear and straightforward explanations, the book uses everyday examples and analogies throughout to help studentsget to grips with chemical concepts, and presents them in context of biological systems wherever possible so they can see how chemistry relates to their wider studies.With topics drawn from organic, physical, and inorganic chemistry, students will encounter a broad range of essential concepts. Chemistry for the Biosciences includes many learning features - both in print and online - to help students grasp these concepts as quickly and thoroughly as possible. Fromthe self-check questions throughout each chapter to help consolidate learning, to the Chemical Toolkits and Maths Tools that help students explore terminology, methods, and numerical skills that may be unfamiliar, the book is written to be a true course companion for students on biological andbiomedical science degrees - one that will help them not only remember the essentials, but really understand them, setting students up for success in their later studies.Digital formats and resourcesThe fourth edition is available for students and institutions to purchase in a variety of formats, and is supported by online resources.- The ebook offers a mobile experience and convenient access along with functionality tools, navigation features, and links that offer extra learning support: www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/ebooks- The extensive online resources feature:For registered adopters:Figures from the book in electronic format, ready to download;A test bank of questions, with feedback linked to the text.Multiple-choice questions to aid exam preparation and revision;Full solutions to self-check questions;Data analysis and numerical practice worksheets;Links to YouTube video tutorials that provide fuller explanations of a range of numerical concepts.
Call Number: 541 CRO
Publication Date: 2021
Physics by Assuming no prior knowledge, this established textbook provides a complete course in physics for beginners and includes coverage on seven core areas of physics, including mechanics, materials, waves and electricity. Readers will develop a solid understanding of topics such as fields, electromagnetism, electronics, atomic and nuclear physics and thermodynamics, and are encouraged to engage with the text through exercises and revision questions. Illustrations are used extensively to complement theoretical explanations and help readers understand the fundamentals of physics. This book is aimed at students on access or foundation programmes in physics, but is also ideal for non-specialist students on degree courses such as biological sciences, chemical sciences, engineering, mathematics and geology, for whom physics is a subsidiary subject. It is also suitable for trainee science teachers and medical students who need to develop a solid background in physics. New to this Edition: - Brand-new unit on Rotational Dynamics - Attractive new layout and design, with more illustrations and use of colour - Expanded companion website with case studies on applications of physics, resources to develop essential mathematical skills, practical experiments and much more
Call Number: 530 BRE
Publication Date: 2015
New Physics for You. 2nd edn. by This edition has been updated to offer comprehensive coverage of the revised GCSE specifications. It provides full coverage of key skills requirements and a wide range of support for ideas and evidence in science.
Call Number: 530 JOH
Publication Date: 2011
Chemistry by Chemistry, Fourth Edition, by Julia Burdge offers a clear writing style written with the students in mind. Julia uses her experience of teaching hundreds of general chemistry students per year and creates content to offer more in-depth explanation in areas where she knows they have problems. Continuing in the Burdge tradition, the fourth edition maintains an outstanding art program, a consistent problem-solving approach, interesting applications woven throughout the chapters, and a wide range of end-of-chapter problems.
Call Number: 540 BUR
Publication Date: 2016
Chemistry by The fifth edition of this engaging and established textbook provides students with a complete course in chemical literacy and assumes minimal prior experience of science and maths. Written in an accessible and succinct style, this book offers comprehensive coverage of all the core topics in organic, inorganic and physical chemistry. Topics covered include bonding, moles, solutions and solubility, energy changes, equilibrium, organic compounds and spectroscopy. Each unit contains in-text exercises and revision questions to consolidate learning at every step, and is richly illustrated with diagrams and images to aid understanding. This popular text is an essential resource for students who are looking for an accessible introductory textbook. It is also ideal for non-specialists on courses such as general science, engineering, environmental, health or life sciences. New to this Edition: - A foreword by Professor Sir John Meurig Thomas FRS, former Director of the Royal Institution - Three additional units on Gibbs Energy Changes, Organic Mechanisms and Fire and Flame
Call Number: 540 LEW
Publication Date: 2018
Welcome to your Fundamentals of Biochemistry and Biophysics reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.