Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Handbook Anaesthesia. 4th edn. by Now on its fourth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia provides authoritative, concise guidance on all aspects of anaesthesia. Evidence-based, up-to-date, and clinically-focused, it is indispensable for both anaesthetic trainees and experienced practitioners.Building on the award-winning success of previous editions, the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia is as relevant and important as ever. Fully revised to follow the latest guidelines, drugs, and procedures, this book ensures readers have the most up-to-date knowledge easily to hand. Now including brandnew content on obesity surgery, colloids vs crystalloids, enhanced recovery and intraoperative fluid management, new anticoagulants, BIS updates, pulse contour analysis, and much more.Whether you are studying, just starting out in practice, or an experienced practitioner in need of a revision tool, this handbook is your essential companion.
Call Number: 617.96 ALL + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Essentials of Anaesthetic Equipment by Prepared by authors based in the UK, this highly practical, illustrated guide continues to provide an up-to-date, practical introduction to anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical practice. An invaluable resource for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetists studying for the FRCA examinations, nurses and operating department practitioners, this new edition has been completely updated to reflect current equipment and training requirements. Lavishly illustrated throughout with colour photos and clearly-drawn line illustrations plus fully revised self-assessment sections, Essentials of Anaesthetic Equipment, fourth edition, retains the superbly organized and easy-to-read format that has made previous editions such a success. The same portable size is retained for the new edition An ideal book for the busy trainee or practitioner to carry around the hospital and 'dip into' when the opportunity presents A selection of MCQs is included at the end of each chapter providing an opportunity for the reader to test their knowledge - an ideal aid to exam preparation Highly illustrated with colour photographs and diagrams throughout to aid recognition in the clinical environment and demonstrates essential points Standardised format used for each piece of equipment: components, mechanism of action, problems in practice and safety features Summary boxes in every chapter highlighting key points and safety considerations help the reader remember key information and breaks down the text into manageable chunks. Especially helpful when preparing for exams Equipment checklists include essential information that all users of anaesthetic equipment need to know New colour images and artwork throughout References updated with relevant links to NICE, NSPA and MHRA Updated self-assessment sections (in SBA format) to check understanding and aid exam preparation
Call Number: 617.96 ALS
Publication Date: 2013
Perioperative Medicine by Perioperative Medicine uses a concise, highly practical, bulleted format designed to ensure rapid comprehension of key concepts and reinforce the reader's understanding of complex topics in perioperative medicine. It contains authoritative, up-to-date coverage of the most essential concepts in perioperative care from preoperative risk assessment to postoperative follow-up. The Editor and his contributors use their expert insight and experience to provide an in-depth review of comorbid conditions, patient and surgery-specific risk assessment, and common postoperative complications. This new book reviews recent developments in the field, including published guidelines, and emphasizes an evidence-based, cost-effective approach designed to ensure quality, patient safety, and optimal outcomes. It is intended for use by hospitalists, general internists and subspecialists as well as anesthesiologists, surgeons, and residents in training who are caring for patients before and after surgery.
Call Number: 617.91 COH + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
The ECG Made Easy 9th edn. by For over forty years The ECG Made Easy has been regarded as the best introductory guide to the ECG, with sales of over half a million copies as well as being translated into more than a dozen languages. Hailed by the British Medical Journal as a "medical classic", it has been a favourite of generations of medical and health care staff who require clear, basic knowledge about the ECG. This famous book encourages the reader to accept that the ECG is easy to understand and that its use is just a natural extension of taking the patient's history and performing a physical examination. It directs users of the electrocardiogram to straightforward and accurate identification of normal and abnormal ECG patterns. A practical and highly informative guide to a difficult subject. Provides a full understanding of the ECG in the diagnosis and management of abnormal cardiac rhythms. Emphasises the role of the full 12 lead ECG with realistic reproduction of recordings. The unique page size allows presentation of 12-lead ECGs across a single page for clarity. A new opening chapter entitled 'The ECG made very easy' distils the bare essentials of using an ECG in clinical practice with minimal theory and maximum practicality. The second part explains the theory underpinning the recording of an ECG in order to start basic interpretation of the 12 leads. The third part looks at the clinical interpretation of individual ECGs in patients with chest pain, breathlessness, palpitations and syncope as well as understanding the normal variations in ECGs recorded from healthy subjects.
Call Number: 616.120754 HAM + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Operating Department Practice A-Z by Like many parts of the world, the UK is witnessing significant changes to Operating Department Practice (ODP) education, a change that is bringing with it the need for new publications aimed specifically at the operating department practitioner. The Operating Department Practice A-Z follows a familiar 'dictionary-like' format to present alphabetically the key topics of interest to ODPs in training and in practice. Each entry has its own detailed explanation and the book has a user-friendly format to allow rapid access to information. It is an essential purchase for ODPs, as well as being a handy quick reference for medical students and a useful information source for recovery/theatre nurses.
Call Number: 617.917 SMI
Publication Date: 2004
Clinical Anaesthesia by Clinical Anaesthesia Lecture Notes provides a comprehensive introduction to the modern principles and practices of anaesthesia for medical students, trainee doctors, anaesthetic nurses and other health professionals working with anaesthetists. This fifth edition has been fully updated to reflect changes in clinical practice, guidelines, equipment and drugs. Key features include: * A new chapter on the roles of the anaesthetist * Increased coverage of the peri-operative management of the overweight and obese patient, as well as an introduction to the fundamental aspects of paediatric anaesthesia * Coverage of recent developments within the specialty, including the rapidly growing recognition of the importance of non-technical skills (NTS), and the management of some of the most common peri-operative medical emergencies * Links to further online resources * A companion website at www.lecturenoteseries.com/anaesthesia featuring interactive true/false questions, SAQs, and a list of further reading and resources Full-colour diagrams, photographs, as well as learning objectives at the start of each chapter, support easy understanding of the knowledge and skills of anaesthesia, allowing confident transfer of information into clinical practice.
Call Number: 617.96 GWI + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Regional Anaesthesia by Regional Anaesthesia: A Pocket Guide is an essential companion to the practice of regional anaesthesia for consultants and trainees in the specialty. Filled with practical advice and carefully designed for ease of use, this book is the helpful aid to practice that anaesthetists have beenwaiting for.The book covers all the major blocks by anatomical region, from the head and upper extremities, to the lower extremities and para-axial region. The technique for each procedure is prefaced by information on its difficulty, indications, contraindications, and potential side-effects. Every procedureis also accompanied by a range of high-quality clinical photographs and anatomical drawings that demonstrate the importance of applying anatomical knowledge in practical anaesthetic procedures.Regional anaesthesia is a fast-moving specialty, and this book takes into account recent advances in ultrasound-guided techniques with a strong focus on real-time observation of needle placement. Landmark-placed blocks have are also covered for clinicians without access to ultrasound technology.Regional Anaesthesia: A Pocket Guide is a unique compilation of anaesthetic techniques that offers support and guidance for any trainee or specialist in their every day practice.
Call Number: 617.964 CHA + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice by The Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice offers readers practical, easily accessible, concise and up-to-date evidence-based information on the essential elements of perioperative practice. It provides a thorough introduction to the principles and practice of anaesthetics, intraoperativecare and recovery nursing, focussing on the patients' journey before, during and after surgery.Containing many helpful illustrations and diagrams to guide the reader, along with references to national and international guidelines, the Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice assists practitioners in meeting the individual needs of surgical patients while ensuring safe and efficient caredelivery. It enables readers to easily locate information about essential skills, patients' medical conditions, and perioperative and surgical patient management. It covers all steps of the perioperative process, and also contains an extensive section on pharmacology, as well as a section onperioperative emergencies.The book is clearly laid out, and written in an easily readable note-based style. Blank pages are included for the reader, so that notes, observations, and local protocols can be included, thereby individualising the Handbook.Written by teaching staff and clinicians from the fields of nursing, operating department practice and pharmacy, the Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice offers an inter-disciplinary and inter-professional approach to perioperative practice for those studying the subject and those practisingwithin the perioperative environment.
Call Number: 617.919 HUG + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control by Reviews of first edition: "This book tells every healthcare professional all they need to know about infection control... A user-friendly, valuable source of knowledge on a subject that can be confusing and complicated." Nursing Standard "A valuable contribution within any health or social environment." Journal of Community Nursing Infection prevention and control is an essential component of nursing care, and a crucially important subject area for both nursing students and qualified nurses. Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control gives readers a firm grasp of the principles of infection control, how they relate to clinical practice and the key issues surrounding the subject. It provides a comprehensive guide to the prevention, management and control of healthcare associated infections, and the basic elements of microbiology, immunology and epidemiology that underpin them. Thoroughly revised in line with current policy, this new edition contains brand-new chapters on a range of topics including the role of the Infection Prevention and Control Team, audit and surveillance, and the management of outbreaks. Also incorporating a range of case studies and examples as well as additional online content, it is essential reading for all nursing students as well as qualified nursing and healthcare professionals. Explores both principles and practice of a crucial subject area Accessible and user-friendly, with a range of features to help study including key definitions, links back to clinical practice, and chapter learning outcomes and summaries Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring MCQs, weblinks, case scenarios and downloadable fact sheets Features an increased clinical focus, with more application to practice This title is also available: as a Wiley E-Text, powered by VitalSource: an interactive digital version of the book featuring downloadable text and images, highlighting and note-taking facilities, book-marking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and glossary terms instantly on CourseSmart at www.coursesmart.co.uk/9781118306659. CourseSmart offers extra functionality, as well as an immediate way to review the text. For more details, visit www.coursesmart.com/instructors or www.coursesmart.com/students
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Brunner & Suddarth's textbook of medical-surgical nursing 14th edition. International edition. by Prepare for medical-surgical nursing practice and success on the NCLEX with Brunner & Suddarth's Textbook of Medical-Surgical Nursing, 14th Edition . A favorite resource for students and practicing nurses for over a half-century, this book provides comprehensive yet accessible coverage of a broad range of medical conditions while focusing on the nursing process and the nurse's role in caring for and educating patients and families within today's complex health care delivery system
Call Number: 617.023 HIN
Publication Date: 2018