Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care by This bestselling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review in health and social care. It is vital reading for all those undertaking their undergraduate or postgraduate dissertation or any research module which involves a literature review. The book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This third edition includes: Even more examples of real life research scenarios More emphasis on how to ask the right question New and updated advice on following a clear search strategy Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools More coverage of how to write up your results Doing a Literature Review in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is essential reading for students at all levels within the health and social care field and a useful text for anyone new to reviewing and appraising evidence. Amazon reviews for the 2nd edition: "This really helped me complete my dissertation. Well set out, easy to understand and for literature review beginners a very good place to start." "This book has really helped me understand what a literature review is, and gives great insight into what is expected from your literature review." "Buy this book: it's a God send!" Over 25,000 copies sold "This deceptively small book provides a comprehensive, user-friendly, step-by-step guide to the development of a literature review. Key strengths are the clarity of expression and the logical flow of information. Chapters match the stages of a literature review, from start to finish. Useful examples and key questions will help to keep the reader on track. With this book as your guide, developing a literature review need not be a daunting or overwhelming task." Dr Merryl E Harvey, Senior Academic, Faculty of Health, Birmingham City University, UK
Call Number: 610.72 AVE + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Searching Skills Toolkit by The distinguishing feature of this pocket-sized searching skills book, like all the Toolkit series titles, is its user-friendliness. The guiding principle is that readers do not want to become librarians, but they are faced with practical difficulties when searching for evidence, such as lack of skills, lack of time and information overload. They need to learn simple search skills, and be directed towards the right resources to find the best evidence to support their decision-making. A user-friendly, Hands-On guide to literature searching, which is an essential skill for all involved in health care research and development, researchers, and students from all disciplines.
Call Number: 616.00722 DEB + e-Book
Publication Date: 2009
Critical Thinking Skills for Healthcare by Thinking critically is an essential skill, both for students and for the modern, evidence-based, healthcare practitioner. You need to be able to find, understand and evaluate the evidence that underpins your assignments, clinical decision making and practice. The good news is that you use all of these skills in everyday life. You don't believe every advert you see or respond to every spam email. It's just a question of taking these critical skills and having the confidence to apply them to your academic work. This book will help you do just that. It will enable you to: - recognise your existing ability to be a critical thinker - spot logical flaws and inconsistencies in arguments - consider health issues from multiple perspectives, weighing up the strengths and weaknesses of a case - build a convincing argument in assessments - develop a range of critical skills for successful study and healthcare practice. Critical Thinking Skills for Healthcare is an essential resource for all health professionals in training.
Call Number: 616.MCK + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions by Healthcare providers, consumers, researchers and policy makers are inundated with unmanageable amounts of information, including evidence from healthcare research. It has become impossible for all to have the time and resources to find, appraise and interpret this evidence and incorporate it into healthcare decisions. Cochrane Reviews respond to this challenge by identifying, appraising and synthesizing research-based evidence and presenting it in a standardized format, published in The Cochrane Library (www.thecochranelibrary.com). The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions contains methodological guidance for the preparation and maintenance of Cochrane intervention reviews. Written in a clear and accessible format, it is the essential manual for all those preparing, maintaining and reading Cochrane reviews. Many of the principles and methods described here are appropriate for systematic reviews applied to other types of research and to systematic reviews of interventions undertaken by others. It is hoped therefore that this book will be invaluable to all those who want to understand the role of systematic reviews, critically appraise published reviews or perform reviews themselves. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Call Number: 610.72 HIG + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Your Undergraduate Dissertation by Lecturers, request your electronic inspection copy here 'This is a refreshing and inspiring book, of equal value to both the anxious and the ambitious student' - Lucinda Becker, Department of English Literature, University of Reading In the second edition of this best-selling guide, Nicholas Walliman provides expert, step-by-step advice on managing and developing a successful undergraduate project. This book takes you through each stage of your dissertation, answering questions including: How do I choose an appropriate topic for my dissertation? How do I write a research proposal? What's a literature review, how do I conduct it and how do I write it up? How can I ensure I'm an ethical researcher? What methods of data collection are appropriate for my research question? Once I have collected my data, what do I do? What's the best structure for my dissertation? Full of examples from real student projects, interdisciplinary case studies and illustrated with cartoons to make you smile along the way, this book will tell you all you need to know to write a brilliant dissertation. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!
Call Number: STSK 808.066362 WAL
Publication Date: 2013
Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students. 3rd edn. by This book is a practical and readable guide that will show you how to successfully complete a research project plan or literature review as part of your final year assessment. It guides you through all the necessary stages from start to finish, beginning with preparation and planning, using and critiquing research and finally writing up and completing your project. The authors also explore the crucial challenge of translating evidence into practice and how this can lead to improved decision-making, better practice and improved services.
Call Number: 610.7 WILL
Publication Date: 2017
Doing a Successful Research Project by This straightforward, student-friendly guide contains all the practical advice for successfully undertaking a research project, leading students through all the stages of the research process. The second edition of this no-nonsense textbook supports students in conducting their own research projects, whatever discipline they are from. Describing processes, tools and strategies in a simple, succinct way, it supports the reader carefully through the planning and design stages, to implementation, analysis and completion. Doing a Successful Research Project is suitable for an interdisciplinary audience all over the world. It is aimed at undergraduate and postgraduate students undertaking a research project or dissertation across the Social Sciences, Applied Social Sciences, Education, Health and Business Studies. It can also be used as essential or complimentary reading on modules on Qualitative and Quantitative Research and Research Design.
Call Number: STSK 001.42 DAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
How to Read a Paper by Required reading in many medical and healthcare institutions, How to Read a Paper is a clear and wide-ranging introduction to evidence-based medicine and healthcare, helping readers to understand its central principles, critically evaluate published data, and implement the results in practical settings. Author Trisha Greenhalgh guides readers through each fundamental step of inquiry, from searching the literature to assessing methodological quality and appraising statistics. How to Read a Paper addresses the common criticisms of evidence-based healthcare, dispelling many of its myths and misconceptions, while providing a pragmatic framework for testing the validity of healthcare literature. Now in its sixth edition, this informative text includes new and expanded discussions of study bias, political interference in published reports, medical statistics, big data and more. Offers user-friendly guidance on evidence-based healthcare that is applicable to both experienced and novice readers Authored by an internationally recognised practitioner and researcher in evidence-based healthcare and primary care Includes updated references, additional figures, improved checklists and more How to Read a Paper is an ideal resource for healthcare students, practitioners and anyone seeking an accessible introduction to evidence-based healthcare.
Call Number: 610.72 GRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Research Handbook for Health Care Professionals by The Research Handbook for Health Care Professionals is theessential guide to the entire research process for students andpractitioners alike. From conceiving an idea for a project towriting up the findings for publication, the book offers anoverview of each stage plus hints and tips, recommendations forfurther reading and examples spanning a wide range of healthprofessions. The book comprises three sections: Getting Started,Doing Your Research and Writing Up and Dissemination,and includes chapters on key topics such as formulating yourresearch question, writing the initial research protocol,application for ethical approval, research governance, collectingyour data, research methods and preparing a poster for aconference.
Call Number: 610.73072 HIC + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Nursing Research by Learning about research can be a daunting task. This best-selling core text book offers a comprehensive introduction to important research concepts, processes and issues. The author guides readers who are new to research but also introduces new debates and perspectives to those with some experience wanting to develop their skills further. This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo's accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.
Call Number: 610.73072 PAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014