Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Leadership in Health Care by The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resources for both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions.
Call Number: 362.1068 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Patient Safety and Managing Risk in Nursing by Patient safety is a predominant feature of quality healthcare and something that every patient has the right to expect. As a nurse, you must consider the safety of the patient as paramount in every aspect of your ro≤ and it is now an increasingly important topic in pre-registration nursing programmes. This book aims to provide you with a greater understanding of how to manage patient safety and risk in your practice. The book focuses on the essentials that you need to know, and therefore provides a clear pathway through what can sometimes seem an overwhelmingly complex mass of rules, procedures and possible options. Key features: · A practical introduction to patient safety and risk management written specifically for nurses and nursing students · Case studies and scenarios help you to apply patient safety and risk management principles to actual practice · Each chapter is mapped to the relevant NMC standards and Essential Skills Clusters so that you can see how you are meeting the professional requirements · Activities throughout help you to think critically and reflect on practice.
Call Number: 610.89 FIS + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
An Introduction to Clinical Governance and Patient Safety by Clinical Governance is integral to healthcare and all doctors must have an understanding of both basic principles, and how to apply them in daily practice. Within the Clinical Governance framework, patient safety is the top priority for all healthcare organisations, with the prevention ofavoidable harm a key goal. Traditionally medical training has concentrated on the acquisition of knowledge and skills related to diagnostic intervention and therapeutic procedures. The need to focus on non-technical aspects of clinical practice, including communication and team working, is nowevident; ensuring tomorrow's staff are competent to function effectively in any healthcare facility.This book provides a guide to how healthcare systems work; their structure, regulation and inspection, and key areas including risk management, resource effectiveness and wider aspects of knowledge management. Changing curricula at undergraduate level reflect this, but post-graduate training islagging behind and does not always equip trainees appropriately for a hectic clinical environment. An Introduction to Clinical Governance and Patient Safety presents a simple overview of clinical governance in context, highlighting important principles required to function effectively in apressurised healthcare environment. It is presented in short sections based on the original seven pillars of clinical governance. These have been expanded to include the fundamental principles of systems, team working, leadership, accountability, and ownership in healthcare, with examples fromeveryday practice. This format is designed to facilitate use as a 'pocket guide' which can be dipped into during the working day, as well as for general reading. Examples from all branches of medicine are presented to facilitate understanding. Contributors are taken from a broad base - from juniordoctors to internationally recognised experts - ensuring issues are addressed from all perspectives.
Call Number: 362.10941 HAX
Publication Date: 2010
The Theory and Practice of Change Management by A best-selling core adoptable textbook for undergraduate, postgraduate and MBA modules/courses in change management, and could also be used by practitioners (change agents). It is a theoretically grounded textbook with a strong practical orientation, discussing all of the key theories of organisational change and demonstrating how they can be used to devise and employ strategies to bring about change in an organisational setting. It takes a managerial approach, with means it is aligned with the way most change management modules are taught around the world. The defining feature of the book is its unique underpinning framework which is based on a process model of change, that is, a model that views change as a purposeful and constructed sequence of events (albeit with some flexibility along the way), rather than something chaotic and unmanageable. The book chapters follow this process model sequence right through from recognising the need for change to sustaining the change once implemented
Call Number: 658.406 HAY
Publication Date: 2018
Practical Leadership in Nursing and Health Care by This multidisciplinary text is an essential introduction to leadership in health care, combining the underpinning theory with a practical approach to help you come to decisions and solutions in everyday practice. * Written in an accessible and easy to understand style by an international team of practitioners who will engage, inspire and empower you to really make a difference in practice * Evidence based and with a focus on patient care and service delivery to ensure best practice * Includes case studies from a range of disciplines as well as questions and reflective activities to help you apply theory to practice * Provides practical tools from a number of disciplines including NLP, positive psychology, coaching and transactional analysis * Free HodderPlus website provides PowerPoints, case studies, questions, reflection activities and annotated web links This practical guide is an invaluable tool for all students and professionals in nursing and allied health, including radiographers, physical therapists, occupational therapists, dieticians and paramedics.
Call Number: 362.1068 HEN + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Clinical governance : improving the quality of healthcare for patients and service users by This new text is an accessible and practical guide to clinical governance in healthcare, designed to help practitioners and students deliver quality care to patients and improve the patient experience at every level. Grounded in the application of clinical governance, it explains in detail what it looks like in practice.
Using common examples of clinical governance challenges, this book gives real and practical insights into how individuals can contribute to clinical governance in a range of healthcare settings.
Each chapter includes case studies, reflective activities, tips and real experiences to help readers apply the theory to practice, and identify areas in which they can improve the patient experience.
Call Number: 362.10941 GOT
Publication Date: 2014
Practical Leadership and Management by This is the definitive 'how to' guide for leadership and management in nursing and healthcare. Now in its second edition, it provides you with a comprehensive analysis of the theories, models, and skills of leading and managing needed by UK healthcare professionals, and provides a basis for developing knowledge, skills, and behaviours needed for effective leadership and management.
Call Number: 362.173068 SUL
Publication Date: 2013
Law, Ethics and Professional Issues for Nursing by This comprehensive new textbook covers core ethical and legal content for pre-registration nursing students. It provides readers with a sound understanding of the interrelationships between the NMC's code of conduct, standards and competencies, ethics and relevant sections of the English legal system. The only truly integrated text in the field, it opens with overviews of law and nursing, and ethical theories and nursing. It goes on to explore key areas of contention - such as negligence, confidentiality and consent - from legal and ethical perspectives, mapping the discussion onto the NMC code of conduct. The chapters include objectives, patient-focused case scenarios, key points, activities, questions, areas for reflection, further reading and a summary. Case law and statutes and ethical theories are presented where appropriate. Written by an experienced nurse-lecturer with a law and ethics teaching background, Law, Ethics and Professional Issues for Nursing is essential reading for all pre-registration nursing students, as well as students of other healthcare professions.
Call Number: 344.410414 WHE + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Organisational Behaviour by Ian Brooks presents a succinct, focused and rigorous introduction to organisational behaviour, offering coverage of the main theories, and linking these theories to the practicalities of organisational problems.
Call Number: 302.35 BRO + eBooks
Publication Date: 2009
Reflective Practice in Nursing. 3rd edn. by Would you like to develop some strategies to manage knowledge deficits, near misses and mistakes in practice? Are you looking to improve your reflective writing for your portfolio, essays or assignments? Reflective practice enables us to make sense of, and learn from, the experiences we have each day and if nurtured properly can provide skills that will you come to rely on throughout your nursing career. Using clear language and insightful examples, scenarios and case studies the third edition of this popular and bestselling book shows you what reflection is, why it is so important and how you can use it to improve your nursing practice. Key features: #65533; Clear and straightforward introduction to reflection directly written for nursing students and new nurses #65533; Full of activities designed to build confidence when using reflective practice #65533; Each chapter is linked to relevant NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Call Number: 610.73 HOW
Publication Date: 2016
Core Topics in Operating Department Practice by Recent changes in medical roles and responsibilities have raised the profile of Operating Department Practitioners (ODPs). The level of knowledge is vast, and exams must be taken working towards statutory registration. This is the first in a series of three books providing comprehensive information for healthcare staff working in the operating department. Topics covered include anaesthesia, critical care, post-interventional care, enhancing care delivery, professional practice, leadership and resource management. The clear and concise format is ideally suited to study, qualification and for continued reference during practice. Written by specialists with a wealth of knowledge and experience, and incorporating problem-based learning using case studies, this book will be essential reading for ODPs and theatre nurses throughout the UK, in Australia where the same structures have been adopted, and worldwide for all professionals working in operating departments.
Call Number: 617.96 SMI + eBook
Publication Date: 2007