Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essential Orthopaedics and Trauma by New edition of a classic textbook on orthopaedics and trauma for medical students and junior doctors now available with StudentConsult access [an on-line student learning facility available from Elsevier] New edition of a classic student text now available in full colour! Clear writing style and full artwork programme makes learning easy and enjoyable Learning objectives at the start of each chapter enables the reader to assess his or her learning progress Additional case studies provides practical examples of patient management to bring the subject to life Common conditions are given more discussion to reflect frequency with which the student or practitioner will encounter them Extensive update on trauma management reflects recent changes in the field - for instance, the use of locking plates in osteoporotic fractures Contains additional clinical images including new X-rays and MRI scans Chapter learning objectives help guide self-study Includes new topics covered such as biological treatments and gene therapies Chapter summaries aid retention of key facts Now available on StudentConsult- the unique online learning facility that provides fully searchable text on-line, image downloads and further valuable self-study aids!
Call Number: 616.7 DAN
Publication Date: 2009
Ear, Nose and Throat and Head and Neck Surgery by A textbook in the Illustrated Colour Text series on ENT, aimed at medical students and junior doctors. Concise presentation of ENT in the attractive ICT format - clear line diagrams, colour photos of clinical conditions, summary boxes etc. Covers a topic which is important in primary care - medical students and junior doctors are motivated to buy a book in this area. Basic anatomy and physiology is reviewed - useful revision for students in clinical years. Comprehensive coverage of both presenting symptoms and specific diseases, with more detail on the commoner conditions. Clear description of examination and investigation techniques.
Call Number: 617.50519 DHI
Publication Date: 2013
Lecture Notes: General Surgery by The 12th edition of General Surgery Lecture Notes introduces the student to the principles of common surgical operations and systematically covers all clinical problems where surgical intervention is indicated. Now in full colour throughout and fully-supported by a website of self-assessment questions and answers, this popular and classic text will appeal to all medical students and junior doctors who want a concise introduction to the fundamental aspects of general surgery and will provide the core knowledge needed for Finals and the MRCS examination. Key features include: Offers a comprehensive overview of surgical techniques Contains a wide range of colour illustrations Fully supported by hundreds of self-assessment questions and answers at www.testgeneralsurgery.com Whether you need to develop or refresh your knowledge of surgery, General Surgery Lecture Notes presents 'need to know' information for all those carrying out general surgical procedures.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Trauma Care Manual by The Trauma Care Manual was first published in 2000, and was the first evidence-based manual of best trauma practice. Now in its second edition, it continues to offer clear and practical guidelines for the management of victims of major trauma, reflecting current practice in the United Kingdom and Europe. The second edition benefits from an increase in illustrative material, and is further enhanced by the addition of at least one case study for every topic in the book. 'Objectives' and 'Summary' boxes ensure a user-friendly approach, and are supplemented by key points, highlighted throughout the text. New to the second edition are 'Global Perspectives' boxes at the end of most of the chapters, which highlight techniques and practices from around the world. Written by members of Trauma Care and invited experts, the Trauma Care Manual offers a nationally accepted set of standards for good practice which provide a benchmark for all those involved in the care of the trauma patient. It is a unique reference for all professionals involved in the care of victims of trauma and an invaluable addition to every Accident and Emergency Department.
Call Number: 617.1 GRE
Publication Date: 2008
The Complete Recovery Room Book by The care that a patient receives in the first hours after surgery is crucial to minimizing the risk of complications such as heart attacks, pneumonia, and blood clots. As the patient awakes from their drug-induced coma, it takes time for them to metabolize and excrete these drugs, during which period they remain unable to care for themselves, and at increased risk of harm. The recovery room staff must manage both comatose and physiologically unstable patients, anddeal with the immediate post-operative care of surgical patients. The fifth edition of this popular book provides nurses, surgeons and anaesthetists with clear guidance on how tomanage day-to-day problems and how to make difficult decisions. Previous editions of this book have established it as the definitive guide to setting-up, equipping, staffing, and administering this acute care unit. It includes basic science such as physiology and pharmacology, specific symptoms including pain and vomiting, and has chapters devoted to the unique post-operative needs of individual types of surgery. This new edition brings this important text up to date inlight of the most recent literature and new drugs and techniques for monitoring are described. A new section looks ahead to the future development and design of recovery rooms and how they can contributeto patient well being.
Call Number: 617.919 HAT
Publication Date: 2014
Obstetrics and Gynaecology by Praise for the previous edition: "...this textbook is a useful resource for medical students ... it will provide them with the basic information they need to survive clinics and to pass exams ... Clear, concise and colourful; perfect for easy learning and revision." --Times Higher Education Obstetrics and Gynaecology by Impey and Child continues to be an invaluable and authoritative resource for healthcare and medical students. This comprehensive guide provides the perfect level of detail on history and examination, investigations and diagnosis, as well as common diseases, abnormalities, and complications in gynaecology and obstetrics. Fully updated in accordance with NICE and other national guidelines, this fifth edition now includes: New sections on FGM and influenza Expanded areas in medical disorders in pregnancy and mental illness Improvements to the popular 'management' section along with a new section on sepsis Colour coded sections on obstetrics and gynaecology for ease of use This new edition of Obstetrics and Gynaecology will be an indispensable support to help not only students to revise for exams, especially OSCEs, but also healthcare practitioners and practising doctors to structure their knowledge and improve their practice.
Call Number: 618 IMP + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Basic Surgical Techniques by The Sixth Edition of this highly regarded title for surgical trainees gives clear, concise guidance on all aspects of acquiring surgical skills to ensure operative success. The full range of surgical procedures is comprehensively reviewed in a clear 'how-to-do-it' style, which consolidates the skills learnt both in theatre and on training courses. This new edition has been completely updated throughout, with all the illustrations redrawn in full colour. Each chapter is introduced with a key points box, which briefly summarises the major issues that are covered. International experts from the Middle East, Australia, Asia, North America and Europe have reviewed and added their comments to the text. Provides guidance on the full range of surgical techniques required by all trainee surgeons. Concentrates on the main principles behind the use of the surgical techniques "Key Points" boxes throughout provide hints and tips to reinforce the main aspects of each technique. Now presented in full colour with all illustrations redrawn to add detail and clarity and to bring all the information fully up to date. A comprehensively updated text takes account of new developments in surgical techniques and equipment. A new final chapter on surgical craftsmanship brings the skills all together for the surgeon in the operating theatre, uniting and applying the relevant factors in the correct sequence and focussing on getting it right first time.
Call Number: 617.91 KIR
Publication Date: 2010
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique by For over 50 years, Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique, 13th Edition has been the text of choice for understanding basic surgical principles and techniques. Highly readable, accurate, and comprehensive, it clearly covers the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format that makes it easy to effectively apply basic principles to clinical practice. Expert author Nancymarie Phillips emphasizes the importance of teamwork throughout, with practical strategies and examples of how cooperation among perioperative caregivers contributes to positive patient care outcomes. With a strong focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients, this updated and expanded new edition gives students the knowledge they need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Detailed information on the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles enhances your understanding of basic surgical principles and techniques. Emphasis on teamwork among perioperative caregivers encourages cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help you learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care parameters of all patients. Focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients gives you the knowledge you need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Content on perioperative patient care for both inpatient and ambulatory procedures highlights key considerations for each setting, as well as for individual surgical procedures. Chapter outlines with page numbers, chapter objectives, and key terms and definitions help you quickly find important information and focus your study time. New illustrations reflect new and changing perioperative procedures, and provide you with key safety information like how to maintain a sterile field, gown, and glove. Enhanced TEACH manual and extensive Evolve resources maximize classroom learning. All Evolve materials are highlighted within the text. Step-by-step coverage of the foundations of surgical techniques enables you to effectively apply basic principles to practice. Additional and updated tables and boxes call attention to the most important concepts from the text. References highlight the evidence-based practice approach used throughout the text. Enhanced! A strong safety focus includes increased coverage of malignant hyperthermia, bullying and zero-tolerance policies, airway fire, verbal orders, medications, patient identification, pharmacology for bariatric patients, calculating blood loss, National Patient Safety Goals, and more. NEW! "Pros and Cons" boxes provide the positive and negative aspects of specific perioperative practices, allowing nurses to better understand their choices in patient care. Improved! Emphasis on quality gives you the most current information on magnet status, performing an effective 5-minute assessment, the nurse practitioner as first assistant, accurately marking specimens, patient positioning, surgical conscience, and working with outsiders inside the OR environment. NEW! Coverage of new equipment, including: sponge-counting machines, Lapra-TY, silver-infused dressings, neat suture books, and more. NEW! Body Spectrum added to Evolve site to help you review anatomy and physiology.
Call Number: 617.0231 PHI
Publication Date: 2016
Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control by Reviews of first edition: "This book tells every healthcare professional all they need to know about infection control... A user-friendly, valuable source of knowledge on a subject that can be confusing and complicated." Nursing Standard "A valuable contribution within any health or social environment." Journal of Community Nursing Infection prevention and control is an essential component of nursing care, and a crucially important subject area for both nursing students and qualified nurses. Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control gives readers a firm grasp of the principles of infection control, how they relate to clinical practice and the key issues surrounding the subject. It provides a comprehensive guide to the prevention, management and control of healthcare associated infections, and the basic elements of microbiology, immunology and epidemiology that underpin them. Thoroughly revised in line with current policy, this new edition contains brand-new chapters on a range of topics including the role of the Infection Prevention and Control Team, audit and surveillance, and the management of outbreaks. Also incorporating a range of case studies and examples as well as additional online content, it is essential reading for all nursing students as well as qualified nursing and healthcare professionals. Explores both principles and practice of a crucial subject area Accessible and user-friendly, with a range of features to help study including key definitions, links back to clinical practice, and chapter learning outcomes and summaries Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring MCQs, weblinks, case scenarios and downloadable fact sheets Features an increased clinical focus, with more application to practice This title is also available: as a Wiley E-Text, powered by VitalSource: an interactive digital version of the book featuring downloadable text and images, highlighting and note-taking facilities, book-marking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and glossary terms instantly on CourseSmart at www.coursesmart.co.uk/9781118306659. CourseSmart offers extra functionality, as well as an immediate way to review the text. For more details, visit www.coursesmart.com/instructors or www.coursesmart.com/students
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Assisting at Surgical Operations by There are many superb books on how to do operations but there are few or none on how to assist at them, and none written either by or for medical students or doctors. Therefore, the skills that make an expert surgical assistant are difficult to acquire. Normally, they can only be learnt in a haphazard way, by spending years in the operating theatre. This book describes those skills in a concise and systematic way, in surgery in general, and in ten different speciality areas. Although intended mainly for clinical-level medical students and junior doctors, other people who assist at surgical operations, including general practitioners, nurse assistants and surgical technologists, will also find it useful. Whether planning a career in surgery, or simply aiming for high marks in a surgical rotation, there are few better ways to impress a surgeon than by skilfully assisting at surgical operations.
Call Number: 617.023 WHA + eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Legal Aspects of Nursing. 7th edn. by Now in its seventh edition, Bridgit Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is the definitive guide to the essential law that nurses and healthcare professionals need to know. Written in an engaging style, the book shows the application of the law to everyday nursing situations showing the relevance and importance of legal considerations to nursing practice. The book covers the legal system and legal issues relating to medicine in general, before examining more specific areas, such as children and the elderly.
Call Number: 344.041 DIM + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Understanding Interprofessional Working in Health and Social Care by Using real-life interview extracts, this insightful book presents a contemporary picture of interprofessional collaborative practice in a wide range of settings. Encouraging readers to think critically about their own practice and learning, itdemonstrates how important effective teamwork is in modern the health and social care context.
Call Number: 362.1 POL + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking by The Tenth Edition of this classic text provides the best foundation for performing physical examinations and taking patient history. The book features a beautiful full-color art program and a clear, simple two-column format, with highly visual step-by-step examination techniques on the left and abnormalities with differential diagnoses on the right. This edition's health promotion sections have been extensively updated and expanded in all chapters, with new and revised national guidelines, pertinent screening tools, and more information about ways to help patients prevent disease and optimize their health across all settings and age groups. Detailed information on pain assessment is now included in the general survey, vital signs, and pain chapter. A new chapter presents assessment of mental health status and behavior to encompass the psychosocial dimensions of care. Evidence-based content has been increased, with pertinent findings, avenues for research, and references/suggested readings added across the entire book. More than 50 new line drawings and photos have been added. A bound-in CD-ROM and companion Website include 5 Approach to Patient videos, 15 Head-to-Toe Examination videos, 25 Assessment videos, heart and breath sounds, the Center for Disease Control's pediatric growth chart, journal articles, Nursing Professional Roles and Responsibilities, and the fully searchable text. An Instructor's Resource DVD-ROM and online instructor resources are also available.
Call Number: 616.0754 BIC
Publication Date: 2008
Text, Cases and Materials on Medical Law and Ethics by Text, Cases and Materials on Medical Law and Ethics presents a valuable collection of materials relating to often controversial areas of the law. Comprising extracts from statutes, cases and scholarly articles alongside expert author commentary and guidance which signposts the key issues and principles, this book is an ideal companion to this increasingly popular subject. Fully revised, this new edition incorporates expanded content, including: updated coverage of consent and decision-making, including the the Montgomery v Lanarkshire Health Board (2015) judgment; the impacts of the EC directive for clinical trials and GDPR on the research use of patient data; and discussion of other recent developments in the case law, including the 2017 Charlie Gard litigation, the 2016 Privy Council decision in Williams v Bermuda on negligence causation, and the UK Supreme Court judgment in A & B v SS for Health (2017) on funding for patients seeking terminations from Northern Ireland. Providing a comprehensive and up-to-date resource on this topical area of the law, this textbook is an invaluable reference tool for students of medical law as well as those studying medicine.
Call Number: 344.42041 STA
Publication Date: 2015