Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How Drugs Work by This fourth edition of How Drugs Work equips readers with a set of clear concepts for matching the pharmacology to the diagnosis, and has been completely revised and updated to reflect the latest knowledge and terminology. Rather than providing overwhelmingly comprehensive information, it condenses the aspects of pharmacology directly relevant to everyday practice into a concise, accessible volume, including material on the half life of drugs, patient non-compliance and severe chronic inflammation.
Call Number: 615.1 MCG
Publication Date: 2015
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by Comprehensive yet easy to use, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has been providing core basic and clinical science information to students and healthcare practitioners worldwide for more than 25 years. The fully revised 9th Edition keeps you up to date with all that's new in the field, including new and emerging drugs and recent studies. From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Keeps you up-to-date with new information in this fast-changing field, including significantly revised coverage of CNS drugs, cognitive enhancers, anti-infectives, biologicals/biopharmaceuticals, lifestyle drugs, and more. Includes access to unique features online, including more than 100 brand new chapter-specific multiple-choice questions and 6 new cases for immediate self-assessment. Features a color-coded layout for faster navigation and cross-referencing. Clarifies complex concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: 615.1 RIT
Publication Date: 2019
Pharmacology for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care by The fourth edition of this market-leading anaesthetic book has been fully updated to include novel oral anticoagulants and neuromuscular reversal agents. Numerous other sections have been expanded or updated to reflect new research and current best practice, and the antibiotics chapter now includes information about commonly encountered pathogens and the drugs used to target them. Basic pharmacological principles, vital to understanding the effects of individual drugs, are dealt with methodically, and the essential physiology is described alongside the relevant pharmacology. This has become the core pharmacology book for the FRCA, covering all the relevant kinetics and dynamics in a compact and easy to navigate format, including clear diagrams and tables. This is an ideal aid to study and practice for junior and trainee anaesthetists. Theatre practitioners, ICU nurses and physicians working in areas that demand a solid foundation of pharmacological knowledge will also find this an invaluable resource.
Call Number: 6151 PEC
Publication Date: 2014
Drugs Handbook 2012-2013 by The Drugs Handbook 2012-2013 is a reader-friendly text perfect for nursing, health and prescribing courses. Fully updated, it is a concise guide to the mechanism of action, therapeutic indications and chief unwanted effects of medicines available in the United Kingdom, including registered herbal medicines.
Call Number: 615.1141 VOL
Publication Date: 2011
Psychiatric Drugs Explained. 6th edn. by Now in its sixth edition, and written by an author internationally recognised in his field, Psychiatric Drugs Explained offers a wealth of information in a handy easy-to-use format. Organised by disorder, and providing a comprehensive review of drug effects, action and side-effects, this fully updated new edition covers the latest drugs on the market, and explores changes in prescribing practice. The author's approach is distinctive and reader-friendly, to help guide mental health professionals through the benefits and impacts of psychotropic drugs. Additional topics include management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders. Includes management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders Gives particular focus on areas that are of major concern to mental health practitioners including management of dependence and withdrawal and issues of consent, abuse and liability 'User Issues' boxes highlight the most crucial aspects of drug effects and their implications Key references point the reader to the most up-to-date research and literature in the field Fresh design and updated artwork gives added appeal to the volume Organised by disorder this new edition now covers the latest drugs on the market and explores changes in prescribing practice Includes updated references pointing the reader to the most recent research and literature in the field
Call Number: 615.78 HEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Bnf 78 (British National Formulary) September 2019 by Compiled with the advice of clinical experts and continually updated to reflect the latest evidence from credible sources worldwide, the new edition of the British National Formulary 78 (BNF) provides up-to-date guidance on prescribing, dispensing, and administering medicines. Access to the latest edition of the BNF is vital for healthcare professionals, as it reflects current best practice as well as legal and professional guidelines relating to the uses of medicines. NICE has accredited the editorial process used by the British National Formulary to produce its resources.
Call Number: 615.13 BRI
Publication Date: 2019