Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Level 4 Introduction to Anaesthetic and Surgical Care of the Patient reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module
Oxford Handbook Anaesthesia. 4th edn. by Now on its fourth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia provides authoritative, concise guidance on all aspects of anaesthesia. Evidence-based, up-to-date, and clinically-focused, it is indispensable for both anaesthetic trainees and experienced practitioners.Building on the award-winning success of previous editions, the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia is as relevant and important as ever. Fully revised to follow the latest guidelines, drugs, and procedures, this book ensures readers have the most up-to-date knowledge easily to hand. Now including brandnew content on obesity surgery, colloids vs crystalloids, enhanced recovery and intraoperative fluid management, new anticoagulants, BIS updates, pulse contour analysis, and much more.Whether you are studying, just starting out in practice, or an experienced practitioner in need of a revision tool, this handbook is your essential companion.
Call Number: 617.96 ALL + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Fundamentals of Operating Department Practice by Fundamentals of Operating Department Practice seeks to embrace the knowledge needed for the generic theatre worker, be they nurse or anaesthetic assistant, as envisaged in the Bevan Report. It clarifies the underlying principles needed for an understanding of anaesthetic and surgical practice. It both defines the level of knowledge required for the ODP Level III qualification and covers the practical aspects of operating department practice, wherever relevant. The book also serves as a comprehensive reference to the principles and practice of modern operating department practice and is essential reading for anyone involved in care of the patient in the operating department environment, both in training and in practice.
Call Number: 617.91 DAV
Publication Date: 2010
Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice by The Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice offers readers practical, easily accessible, concise and up-to-date evidence-based information on the essential elements of perioperative practice. It provides a thorough introduction to the principles and practice of anaesthetics, intraoperativecare and recovery nursing, focussing on the patients' journey before, during and after surgery.Containing many helpful illustrations and diagrams to guide the reader, along with references to national and international guidelines, the Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice assists practitioners in meeting the individual needs of surgical patients while ensuring safe and efficient caredelivery. It enables readers to easily locate information about essential skills, patients' medical conditions, and perioperative and surgical patient management. It covers all steps of the perioperative process, and also contains an extensive section on pharmacology, as well as a section onperioperative emergencies.The book is clearly laid out, and written in an easily readable note-based style. Blank pages are included for the reader, so that notes, observations, and local protocols can be included, thereby individualising the Handbook.Written by teaching staff and clinicians from the fields of nursing, operating department practice and pharmacy, the Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice offers an inter-disciplinary and inter-professional approach to perioperative practice for those studying the subject and those practisingwithin the perioperative environment.
Call Number: 617.919 HUG +eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Physics in Anaesthesia by From reviews: "Its warm and familiar style of writing makes it accessible for all. Throughout each of the 29 chapters, there was a real feel that the authors knew what was needed of you... Many of the questions I spent hours flicking through appendices in other books for were clearly answered here.... There is a nice feel to this book. It is as if someone has sat down and really thought about each chapter. It feels more like your clever friend than a textbook. Current curriculums have been considered, as have common themes and questions... In conclusion, although I have always believed that examination topics, with all randomness and occasional obscurity, can and never will be fully covered by a solo text, this book comes close. It is an excellent core text for anyone needing to learn physics in anaesthesia." European Journal of Anaesthesiology, April 2014 "Overall, Physics in Anaesthesiasucceeds in providing a concise and easy to read review text covering what has historically been a dry and difficult to present topic. The book is easy to understand and sufficiently covers most topics one would expect from such a book. It seems well suited for those studying for exams, but it can also serve as a good reference text for all levels of anesthesia providers." Anesthesiology, September 2013 "This is an excellent refreshing and practical text whencompared with various older textbooks on physics for anesthesia.... The text iswritten in a concise, uncomplicated, and easily understood manner, andrepresentative clinical scenarios are often used.... In my view, this is a superbteaching textbook on basic physics.... I would recommend this textbook to ourAnesthesia Post-Graduate Program!" Canadian Journal of Anesthesia(2012) 59: 1161-1162 "...a refreshing change from the more traditional textbooks with their pages of derivations and small, bland, obscure figures..." Technic: The Journal of Operating Department Practice,May 2012 Volume Issue 3 "...this text provides a fantastic resource for those wishing to consolidate their learning... A major strength of this book is its clear writing style. The well organised text is supported by excellent diagrams and highlighted key terms. There are clear learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter, with a short summary and a multiple choice question test at the end... Overall, this is an excellent resource and essential revision tool." Nursing Standard, June 2012,30:vol. 26 no. 41 "This is a book specifically for anesthesia professionals written by Anesthetists, Physicists and Perfusionists. After reading the book cover to cover I can say without reservation, it is most certainly the easiest book on physics I have ever read. The simple and intuitive layout, easy to understand diagrams, relevant objectives and the quizzes at the end of each chapter help me expand my understanding of topics I was already a master of. That is saying something. This book is not just a ''must have'' for students of anesthesia and any prospective anesthesia students looking to brush up before training but also for the working Nurse Anesthetists as a quick and easy to use reference." www.nurse-anesthesia.org, June 2012 Physics in Anaesthesiacaters especially for those who consider themselves non-physicists. It covers the FRCA syllabus in an informative and accessible way from the very basics, and provides an important link between theory and practice. Worked examples highlight the relevance to clinical practice, and along with graphs and charts, make the basics of physics understandable not only to doctors, but also to operating department practitioners and students. It does not assume that readers will have A level physics. Two different types of self-assessment questions at the end of each chapter will test understanding of the key concepts, while a summary section for each topic is ideal as a rapid refresher, highlighting any problem areas.
Call Number: 617.96 MID
Publication Date: 2012
Perioperative Practice at a Glance by From the publishers of the market-leading at a Glance series comes this new title on all aspects of caring for patients in the perioperative environment. From pre-operative care, through the anaesthetic and surgical phases to post-operation and recovery, this easy-to-read, quick-reference resource uses the unique at a Glance format to quickly convey need-to-know information in both images and text, allowing vital knowledge to be revised promptly and efficiently. Brings together all aspects of perioperative practice in one easy-to-read book Moves through the patient journey, providing support to perioperative practitioners in all aspects of their role Covers key information on perioperative emergencies Includes material on advanced skills to support Advanced Practitioners Each topic is covered in two pages, allowing for easy revision and reference This is a must-have resource for operating department practitioners and students, theatre nurses and nursing students, and trainee surgeons and anaesthetists.
Call Number: 617.0231 WIC + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Caring for the Perioperative Patient by Caring for the Perioperative Patient is a practical, evidence-basedand innovative book that identifies and discusses the essentialcore skills and knowledge required by perioperative practitionersto care for their patients. Divided into two sections, thefirst explores core perioperative issues, such as pharmacology,communication, homeostasis, and equipment. The second part ofthe book looks at more specific perioperative practice issues,including enhanced competence, patient preparation, and care of thepatient during anaesthesia, surgery, and recovery. This updated new edition is skills-focused and uses examples oftechniques or procedures to illustrate how skills can be applied inperioperative practice. It is essential reading for nurses oroperating department practitioners (ODPs) who perform scrub,circulating, anaesthetic and recovery roles whilst caring forperioperative patients, as well as nursing and ODP students workingin perioperative care. New edition of a successful text for perioperativepractitioners and students Emphasises holistic patient centred care Focused on key skills and knowledge required bypractitioners Explores the evidence-base for safe and effective practice
Call Number: 617.917 WIC + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Manual of Perioperative Care by Manual of Perioperative Care is a comprehensive manual ofprinciples of care designed to support the clinical practice ofperioperative practitioners, whether they are nurses or operatingdepartment practitioners. This book meets the needs of thosestudying perioperative practice as well as those who would like anup-to-date comprehensive reference on their bookshelf. It coversthe fundamentals of perioperative practice, placing them within thewider context of modern surgical care. With a practical, accessible focus, aided by full colourillustrations, this book follows the journey that the patient makesthrough their surgical care, with sections on: The foundation for safe and effective perioperative care Infection prevention and control Patient safety and managing risks Different patient care groups Approaches to surgery This book is essential reading for all students onperioperative courses, as well as newly qualifiedperioperative nurses and operating department practitioners.
Call Number: 617.91 WOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Berry and Kohn's Operating Room Technique by For over 50 years, Berry & Kohn's Operating Room Technique, 13th Edition has been the text of choice for understanding basic surgical principles and techniques. Highly readable, accurate, and comprehensive, it clearly covers the "nuts and bolts" of surgical techniques in a step-by-step format that makes it easy to effectively apply basic principles to clinical practice. Expert author Nancymarie Phillips emphasizes the importance of teamwork throughout, with practical strategies and examples of how cooperation among perioperative caregivers contributes to positive patient care outcomes. With a strong focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients, this updated and expanded new edition gives students the knowledge they need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Detailed information on the fundamentals of perioperative nursing and surgical technology roles enhances your understanding of basic surgical principles and techniques. Emphasis on teamwork among perioperative caregivers encourages cooperation in attaining positive patient care outcomes. In-depth discussions of patients with special needs related to age or health status help you learn how to develop a plan of care tailored to the unique care parameters of all patients. Focus on the physiologic, psychologic, and spiritual considerations of perioperative patients gives you the knowledge you need to plan and implement comprehensive, individualized care. Content on perioperative patient care for both inpatient and ambulatory procedures highlights key considerations for each setting, as well as for individual surgical procedures. Chapter outlines with page numbers, chapter objectives, and key terms and definitions help you quickly find important information and focus your study time. New illustrations reflect new and changing perioperative procedures, and provide you with key safety information like how to maintain a sterile field, gown, and glove. Enhanced TEACH manual and extensive Evolve resources maximize classroom learning. All Evolve materials are highlighted within the text. Step-by-step coverage of the foundations of surgical techniques enables you to effectively apply basic principles to practice. Additional and updated tables and boxes call attention to the most important concepts from the text. References highlight the evidence-based practice approach used throughout the text. Enhanced! A strong safety focus includes increased coverage of malignant hyperthermia, bullying and zero-tolerance policies, airway fire, verbal orders, medications, patient identification, pharmacology for bariatric patients, calculating blood loss, National Patient Safety Goals, and more. NEW! "Pros and Cons" boxes provide the positive and negative aspects of specific perioperative practices, allowing nurses to better understand their choices in patient care. Improved! Emphasis on quality gives you the most current information on magnet status, performing an effective 5-minute assessment, the nurse practitioner as first assistant, accurately marking specimens, patient positioning, surgical conscience, and working with outsiders inside the OR environment. NEW! Coverage of new equipment, including: sponge-counting machines, Lapra-TY, silver-infused dressings, neat suture books, and more. NEW! Body Spectrum added to Evolve site to help you review anatomy and physiology.
Call Number: 617.0231 PHI
Publication Date: 2016
Handbook of Clinical Anaesthesia, Fourth Edition by Written and edited by experts in the field, the Handbook of Clinical Anaesthesia provides all the essential practical knowledge required by anaesthetists on co-existing medical conditions, operative procedures, and techniques. The fourth edition retains the concise and comprehensive nature of the third, giving readers all they need to know about each part of the FRCA syllabus in short, digestible, practical entries. The first part covers Patient Conditions; the second Surgical Procedures; and the third Anaesthetic Factors. Each part is subdivided into chapter on each organ system, and each chapter is divided into bite-sized entries. These are in alphabetical order, and cover all common and rare conditions that anaesthetists will encounter within their practice. Avoiding prolonged discussion and multiple references, this is the ideal book to 'dip into' either for specific advice or general education, providing quick and reliable information. This is the most thorough handbook to cover the entire FRCA syllabus in a consistent and instructive manner. It continues to be accessible and relevant to all anaesthetists from middle grade trainee up to consultant/specialist.
Call Number: 617.96 POL + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery by Prepare for success on your CNOR certification exam and in perioperative nursing! Alexander's Care of the Patient in Surgery, 16th Edition is the definitive resource for nurses and surgical technologists training to assist in the operating room. Illustrated, step-by-step instructions cover patient care in more than 400 surgical interventions, including positioning, instrumentation, and postoperative care. New to this edition is additional coverage of robotic surgery and of cultural awareness, along with the latest standards of practice. From well-known educator Jane C. Rothrock - and with every chapter authored by an expert surgeon/nurse writing team - Alexander's gives you the tools you need to provide safe, high-quality care in the surgical setting. Over 400 general and specialty surgical interventions are covered, as well as many minimally invasive surgical procedures, whether performed in a hospital, outpatient clinic, or in a doctor's office. 900 full-color photos and illustrations show surgical anatomy, procedures, and methods. Comprehensive coverage includes basic perioperative nursing principles, such as patient and environmental safety, infection prevention and control, positioning, anesthesia and pain management, the unique needs of special populations such as pediatric and geriatric patients, and more. Comprehensive practice exams on the Evolve companion website include 300 exam-style questions with rationales. Perioperative nursing considerations include assessment, nursing diagnosis, outcome identification, planning, implementation, evaluation, discharge planning, and patient and family education. Sample plans of care include nursing diagnoses, outcomes, and interventions. Surgical Pharmacology tables summarize the drugs most commonly used for each surgical procedure, including generic and trade names, indications, and pharmacokinetics. Patient and Family Education boxes include specific guidelines for preprocedural and postprocedural care, side effects and complications, home care, discharge instructions, and psychosocial care. Patient Safety boxes highlight Joint Commission initiatives for patient and staff safety in the surgical setting. Best Practice and Research Highlight boxes apply the latest scientific research to patient care. Critical thinking questions at the end of each chapter let you assess your understanding of important material. NEW! Robotic-Assisted Surgery boxes highlight a rapidly expanding surgical modality. NEW! Enhanced Recovery After Surgery boxes promote review of protocols for early recovery for patients undergoing major surgery. NEW! Patient Engagement Exemplar boxes optimize surgical outcomes by addressing AORN guidelines on the issues of patient care and involvement of the patient's family. NEW standards and AORN toolkits cover topics ranging from enhanced post-surgical recovery to prevention of pressure ulcers.
Call Number: 617.0231 ROT + e Book
Publication Date: 2018