Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice by The Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice offers readers practical, easily accessible, concise and up-to-date evidence-based information on the essential elements of perioperative practice. It provides a thorough introduction to the principles and practice of anaesthetics, intraoperativecare and recovery nursing, focussing on the patients' journey before, during and after surgery.Containing many helpful illustrations and diagrams to guide the reader, along with references to national and international guidelines, the Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice assists practitioners in meeting the individual needs of surgical patients while ensuring safe and efficient caredelivery. It enables readers to easily locate information about essential skills, patients' medical conditions, and perioperative and surgical patient management. It covers all steps of the perioperative process, and also contains an extensive section on pharmacology, as well as a section onperioperative emergencies.The book is clearly laid out, and written in an easily readable note-based style. Blank pages are included for the reader, so that notes, observations, and local protocols can be included, thereby individualising the Handbook.Written by teaching staff and clinicians from the fields of nursing, operating department practice and pharmacy, the Oxford Handbook of Perioperative Practice offers an inter-disciplinary and inter-professional approach to perioperative practice for those studying the subject and those practisingwithin the perioperative environment.
Call Number: 617.919 HUG + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Positioning Patients for Surgery by This volume is a practical, procedure-by-procedure guide to patient positioning for about 50 of the most common surgical procedures, written by a multidisciplinary team of surgeons, nurses, ODAs and anaesthetists. Positioning for each procedure is described in detail and points of interest or potential hazards discussed where appropriate. Each procedure is clearly illustrated using photographs and explanatory line diagrams. Positioning Patients for Surgery is an invaluable guide for all theatre-based healthcare professionals.
Call Number: 617.91 SER
Publication Date: 2009
Instrumentation for the Operating Room by A must-have manual for anyone working with instruments in the clinical environment! Instrumentation for the Operating Room: A Photographic Manual, 9th Edition provides a practical, true-color guide to today's most commonly used surgical instruments. A reader-friendly format includes clear instructions on preparation, sterilization, and setup, and goes beyond other books in showing not only individual instruments but also instruments in sets according to surgical procedure. This edition includes 13 new chapters as well as many new photographs throughout the book. Written by an experienced perioperative nurse, Shirley Tighe, this resource includes more than 1,000 photographs of instruments and instrument tips in the book and on the Evolve companion website - that's more than any other manual! Over 800 photographs in the book show both individual and sets of instruments, including whole instruments and instrument tips, to help in distinguishing between similar types. Instrument Preparation for Surgery unit discusses the importance of proper instrument handling and sterilization, including proper placement within sterilization trays. Entire unit on female reproductive surgery focuses on a key area not well covered in other books. Excellent quality of photos is enhanced by a consistent background to show the detail and true color of the instruments. A logical organization covers instruments by surgical procedures, beginning with simpler surgeries and progressing to more specialized instruments and their setups. Coverage of instrumentation addresses a single surgery in each chapter, showing instruments first as a set, then displaying them individually, and featuring instrument tips as appropriate. Spiral-bound format allows the book to lay flat for easier access while on the job. Six NEW chapters are included in the updated Genitourinary Surgery unit. NEW photographs are added to the Neurosurgery unit. NEW! Evolve companion website includes photographs and images of less common procedures.
Call Number: 617.9178 TIG + eBooks
Publication Date: 2015
Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control by Reviews of first edition: "This book tells every healthcare professional all they need to know about infection control... A user-friendly, valuable source of knowledge on a subject that can be confusing and complicated." Nursing Standard "A valuable contribution within any health or social environment." Journal of Community Nursing Infection prevention and control is an essential component of nursing care, and a crucially important subject area for both nursing students and qualified nurses. Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control gives readers a firm grasp of the principles of infection control, how they relate to clinical practice and the key issues surrounding the subject. It provides a comprehensive guide to the prevention, management and control of healthcare associated infections, and the basic elements of microbiology, immunology and epidemiology that underpin them. Thoroughly revised in line with current policy, this new edition contains brand-new chapters on a range of topics including the role of the Infection Prevention and Control Team, audit and surveillance, and the management of outbreaks. Also incorporating a range of case studies and examples as well as additional online content, it is essential reading for all nursing students as well as qualified nursing and healthcare professionals. Explores both principles and practice of a crucial subject area Accessible and user-friendly, with a range of features to help study including key definitions, links back to clinical practice, and chapter learning outcomes and summaries Accompanied by an online resource centre featuring MCQs, weblinks, case scenarios and downloadable fact sheets Features an increased clinical focus, with more application to practice This title is also available: as a Wiley E-Text, powered by VitalSource: an interactive digital version of the book featuring downloadable text and images, highlighting and note-taking facilities, book-marking, cross-referencing, in-text searching, and linking to references and glossary terms instantly on CourseSmart at www.coursesmart.co.uk/9781118306659. CourseSmart offers extra functionality, as well as an immediate way to review the text. For more details, visit www.coursesmart.com/instructors or www.coursesmart.com/students
Call Number: 362.1969 WES + eBooks
Publication Date: 2013
Assisting at Surgical Operations by There are many superb books on how to do operations but there are few or none on how to assist at them, and none written either by or for medical students or doctors. Therefore, the skills that make an expert surgical assistant are difficult to acquire. Normally, they can only be learnt in a haphazard way, by spending years in the operating theatre. This book describes those skills in a concise and systematic way, in surgery in general, and in ten different speciality areas. Although intended mainly for clinical-level medical students and junior doctors, other people who assist at surgical operations, including general practitioners, nurse assistants and surgical technologists, will also find it useful. Whether planning a career in surgery, or simply aiming for high marks in a surgical rotation, there are few better ways to impress a surgeon than by skilfully assisting at surgical operations.
Call Number: 617.023 WHA + eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Manual of Perioperative Care by Manual of Perioperative Care is a comprehensive manual ofprinciples of care designed to support the clinical practice ofperioperative practitioners, whether they are nurses or operatingdepartment practitioners. This book meets the needs of thosestudying perioperative practice as well as those who would like anup-to-date comprehensive reference on their bookshelf. It coversthe fundamentals of perioperative practice, placing them within thewider context of modern surgical care. With a practical, accessible focus, aided by full colourillustrations, this book follows the journey that the patient makesthrough their surgical care, with sections on: The foundation for safe and effective perioperative care Infection prevention and control Patient safety and managing risks Different patient care groups Approaches to surgery This book is essential reading for all students onperioperative courses, as well as newly qualifiedperioperative nurses and operating department practitioners.
Call Number: 617.91 WOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2012