Key Topics in Public Health by "This book provides a 'starting at square one' essential briefing on the 'must do' key public health topics: those which are at the forefront of national and local policy. The book provides a sound platform from which to launch off into further reading of evidence briefings, policy documents and other resources."--Jacket.
Teaching for Health by "This new edition of Teaching for Health offers a comprehensive coverage of the basic elements of teaching in relation to the promotion of health. Practical aspects of the process are backed up by enhanced treatment of learning theories and other theoretical underpinnings. This fully updated edition is aimed at both pre- and post-registration students of nursing and midwifery."--Jacket.
Health Promotion Practice by Explains an approach that has been used by health promoters to build and evaluate empowerment. This book provides a focus on communities and is illustrated throughout with field experiences in the United Kingdom, Asia, North America, the Pacific region and Africa. It gives an understanding of the key concepts of power and empowerment.
Public Health and Health Promotion by "Public Health and Health Promotion: Developing Practice is a thoroughly revised new edition of Naidoo & Wills' Practising Health Promotion: Dilemmas and Challenges, and a complementary and challenging accompaniment to their best-selling introductory book, Health Promotion: Foundations for Practice." "Many different practitioners, professionals and specialists contribute to public health and health promotion. This book helps clarify the scope, direction and skills of current practice. It is an essential text for all practitioners whose role includes public health and who wish to reflect upon and develop their practice."--Jacket.
Health Psychology by Thoroughly revised to reflect recent research, theory and practice in health psychology, this textbook includes new coverage of topical issues such as behaviour change strategies, health inequalities, exercise dependence, caffeine use and men's health.
Promoting Health by For the sixth edition, this popular text has been fully revised and updated to reflect developments in the context and practice of health promotion.
Health Promotion by "Beginning with a critical appraisal of the concept itself, the second edition of Health Promotion: Planning and Strategies outlines models for defining 'health promotion' and sets out the factors involved in planning health promotion programmes that work. Locating the principles and strategies of health promotion within an emerging sphere of multidisciplinary public health, the authors show how these can be applied within a range of contexts and settings. In an attempt to bridge the gap that persists between ideological perspectives and practical implementation, they delve beyond the rhetoric of empowerment and show how it can be incorporated into practice." "Focusing particularly on the synergistic relationship between policy and education, the book are-appraises the notion of health education - an idea which has become marginalised in recent years - and shows the fundamental importance of education in creating individual choice and generating effective advocacy for social change. The question of 'evidence' is central to the text and the book examines methods of evaluation and the role it plays in creating more effective health promotion programmes." "The new edition offers coverage of values and ethics; working with communities; the settings approach, and social marketing. Internationally relevant and multidisciplinary, this is an essential text for students of health studies, health promotion, public health, health studies, interprofessional social care courses, and all healthcare professionals."--Jacket.
Health Promotion by 'In short, Lloyd and Lucas' approach is challenging in its emphasis on a 'positive' and holistic orientation to health and always humane in its emphasis on quality of life and, in the authors' words, 'the indivisibility of the individual from society' -Professor Keith Tones Health Promotion is a major focus of government policy and an expanding area of practice involving a range of public health professionals. At the same time, there is much debate about what is meant by "health" and the best strategies for improving, developing and promoting it. In light of these debates, Health Promotion offers a major reappraisal of health promotion activity, examining the evidence for what actually works and highlighting issues for improving efficacy. The field of health promotion has traditionally drawn from diverse fields including health psychology, epidemiology, political science and educational theory. The authors argue that the effect of this has often been an unhelpfully fragmented view of people and their health. They propose an alternative, more integrated view as means of better understanding people and for making public health strategies more effective. Health Promotion: Evidence and Experience makes thought-provoking reading for all those involved in public health and those with an interest in finding new ways to improve health outcomes.