Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your ERASMUS Independently Negotiated Study reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
The Craft of Research by With more than 200,000 copies in print, The Craft of Research is the unrivaled resource for researchers at every level, from first-year undergraduates to research reporters at corporations and government offices. Now, seasoned researchers an
Call Number: STSK 001.42 BOO + eBooks
Publication Date: 2009
Handbook of Health Research Methods: Investigation, Measurement and Analysis by "an ideal set text" Angela Scriven, Course Leader, Brunel University Which research method should I use to evaluate services? How do I design a questionnaire? How do I conduct a systematic review of research? This handbook helps researchers to plan, carry out, and analyse health research, and evaluate the quality of research studies. The book takes a multidisciplinary approach to enable researchers from different disciplines to work side-by-side in the investigation of population health, the evaluation of health care, and in health care delivery. Handbook of Health Research Methods is an essential tool for researchers and postgraduate students taking masters courses, or undertaking doctoral programmes, in health services evaluation, health sciences, health management, public health, nursing, sociology, socio-biology, medicine and epidemiology. However, the book also appeals to health professionals who wish to broaden their knowledge of research methods in order to make effective policy and practice decisions. Contributors: Joy Adamson, Geraldine Barrett, Jane P. Biddulph, Ann Bowling, Sara Brookes, Jackie Brown, Simon Carter, Michel P. Coleman, Paul Cullinan, George Davey Smith, Paul Dieppe, Jenny Donovan, Craig Duncan, Shah Ebrahim, Vikki Entwistle, Clare Harries, Lesley Henderson, Kelvyn Jones, Olga Kostopoulou, Sarah J. Lewis, Richard Martin, Martin McKee, Graham Moon, Ellen Nolte, Alan O'Rourke, Ann Oakley, Tim Peters, Tina Ramkalawan, Caroline Sanders, Mary Shaw, Andrew Steptoe, Jonathan Sterne, Anne Stiggelbout, S.V. Subramanian, Kate Tilling, Liz Twigg, Suzanne Wait.
Call Number: 610.73072 BOW + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
Research into Practice by The need for all health care professionals to develop research appreciation skills has been recognized and emphasized. Otherwise, research remains irrelevant and unrelated to practice. Traditional research textbooks have used the format of the research process which makes research seem even more difficult and remote. This book is different. Because the purpose of research appreciation is to enable practitioners to use research to develop and improve practice, it focuses instead on the skills of research appreciation and application which are distinct from the skills necessary to undertake research. It prepares you to access, critically evaluate, understand and use research-based literature within the multi-disciplinary context of today's health services, and emphasises: The range of sources of knowledge which inform nursing practice Contemporary research and the context in which health care research and development takes place Critical evaluation of research reports and research-based literature, examining the implication of project design and conduct The range of skills needed for the application of research findings and innovation within practice Attractively designed to encourage reflection on practice Text highlights the relevance of research appreciation and application to practice The context for health and social care practice is continually developing and new material has been included within certain chapters in order to reflect this. Consistent with world-wide developments in health care and to set the scene for subsequent chapters, Chapter 1 has been revised to give more attention to the relationship between lay and professional knowledge. Chapter 2 which describes the context for nursing and health care research has been rewritten, with greater emphasis on the relationship between research and social policy. Computerised resources and techniques for systematic literature searching have developed apace and receive more detailed consideration within this edition. Increased emphasis is also placed on the contribution of research design to decisions about the appropriate interpretation and application of research findings. As a consequence the chapter providing an overview of research design (Chapter 6) has been rewritten and chapters on research methods (Chapters 7 and 8) have been extensively restructured. New chapters on information retrieval (Chapter 4) and the conduct and critique of systematic reviews (Chapter 12) have been added. Finally, all references and examples have been updated.
Call Number: 610.73072 CRO
Publication Date: 2004
The Good Research Guide by "The Good Research Guide" is a best-selling introductory book on the basics of social research. It provides practical and straightforward guidance for those who need to conduct small-scale research projects as part of their undergraduate, postgraduate or professional studies. It covers all the major issues and concerns from start to finish. It is a valuable resource for anyone conducting social research including those in applied areas such as business studies, health studies, nursing, education, social work, policy studies, marketing, media studies and criminology. The book provides: A clear, straightforward introduction to data collection methods and data analysis Jargon-free coverage of the key issues An attractive layout and user-friendly presentation Checklists to guide good practice The fourth edition has been extensively updated and includes features such as: New material on qualitative data and narrative analysis Good Practice boxes in every chapter Four new appendices on key topics: Ethics, Data Protection, Triangulation and Focus Groups New examples and illustrations on Surveys and Sampling Additional topics in the Frequently Asked Questions section
Call Number: STSK 001.42 DEN
Publication Date: 2010
Using Evidence in Health and Social Care by This wide-ranging text on research methods in health and social care introduces readers to different kinds of evidence and helps them to evaluate the unique contributions of each. It acknowledges the variety of contexts in which practitioners work and the challenges of putting research into practice. The book introduces readers to research of different kinds - the randomised controlled trial, the survey, qualitative research and action research - and highlights the underlying logic and value of each. It also addresses economic appraisal, and ethical issues in research. The text goes on to consider how there can be a much more active and dynamic interplay between practice and research, and using examples from health and social care shows that applying evidence is a complex process requiring the active participation of those on the receiving end. Those who seek to develop and improve their practice will welcome this approach to evidence-based health. The text supports evidence-based practice but seeks to ensure that the interpretations and uses of it are broad, thoughtful and informed. As such, Using Evidence in Health and Social Care will be an essential text for research methods courses in health, social work and nursing. It is a textbook for the Open University course K302 Critical Practice in Health and Social Care.
Call Number: 362.1 GOM
Publication Date: 2000
How to Read a Paper by The best-selling introduction to evidence-based medicine In a clear and engaging style, How to Read a Paper demystifies evidence-based medicine and explains how to critically appraise published research and also put the findings into practice. An ideal introduction to evidence-based medicine, How to Read a Paper explains what to look for in different types of papers and how best to evaluate the literature and then implement the findings in an evidence-based, patient-centred way. Helpful checklist summaries of the key points in each chapter provide a useful framework for applying the principles of evidence-based medicine in everyday practice. This fifth edition has been fully updated with new examples and references to reflect recent developments and current practice. It also includes two new chapters on applying evidence-based medicine with patients and on the common criticisms of evidence-based medicine and responses. How to Read a Paper is a standard text for medical and nursing schools as well as a friendly guide for everyone wanting to teach or learn the basics of evidence-based medicine.
Call Number: 610.73072 GRE + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Research for Evidence-Based Practice in Healthcare by This is an essential, accessible introduction to thepracticalities of research and evidence-based practice aimed at allpre-registration nursing and healthcare students. It placesresearch and evidence in the context of clinical practice,introduces the main methodological approaches in qualitative andquantitative research, and describes the processes of researchappraisal, dissemination and implementation. The new edition of Research for Evidence-Based Practicein Healthcare has been updated to include information for abroader health care audience. It engages students with the researchand evidence agenda, demonstrates the relevance of research andevidence to nursing practice, and provides the skills needed toexplore these areas in greater detail. Special features: · Apractical guide to research methods and evidence-based practice · Newedition of a successful student textbook · Includesa glossary of common research terms · Providescase studies, key points, further reading, and activitiesthroughout · Accompanying website with links to further reading
Call Number: 610.73072 NEW + eBooks
Publication Date: 2010
The Student's Guide to Research Ethics by Why should every researcher consider the ethical implications of their work? What constitutes ethical research? How can best practice be maintained throughout a research project? This reader-friendly book examines the ethical issues and questions that occur in university and professional research and will help both beginning and experienced researchers to identify ethical issues when they are conducting research. The book thoroughly examines the broader ethical issues that arise throughout research, from the design stage through to data collection and analysis. It also investigates topical issues such as content, confidentiality and ethical questions in the dissemination of research. There are also discussions of ethical theories as well as case studies that highlight dilemmas and how they can be avoided or resolved. This new edition is thoroughly updated to reflect the greater emphasis researchers must now place on ethics and includes information on: Ethical concerns of the internet and technology Regulatory frameworks and research governance Ethical requirements of funding bodies The involvement of research participants in research design Codes of ethics within different disciplines 'Ethical Dialogue' and 'Ethical Dilemmas' boxes feature throughout the book in order to highlight key issues. There are also further reading sections at the end of each chapter as well as expanded coverage of plagiarism. The Student's Guide to Research Ethics is an invaluable tool for both undergraduate and postgraduate students as well as professionals who research as part of their jobs.
Call Number: 174 OLI + eBook
Publication Date: 2010