Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Dissertation Project reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
There are no essential texts for this module. Instead, students may choose one or more texts from the “Recommended Reading” selection, based on their personal preferences for textbook style and presentation.
The Dissertation Supervisor can advice the students on the relevance of selected peer-reviewed research publications.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper. 8th edn. by Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. * Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references * Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process * Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals * Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work—and describes how best to work with them
Call Number: STSK 808.0665 DAY
Publication Date: 2016
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology. 5th edn. by Karin Knisely's indispensible handbook provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology, covering everything from reading technical literature and writing scientific papers, to preparing lab reports and making oral presentations of scientific findings. Since scientific communication requires unique competencies on the computer (for example, producing Greek letters and mathematical symbols), almost half of the handbook is devoted familiarizing students with helpful features in Microsoft Word, Excel, and PowerPoint--features that are essential to professional quality scientific communication.
Call Number: STSK 808.06657 KNI
Publication Date: 2017
Successful Scientific Writing: a step by step guide for the biological and medical sciences. 4th edn. by Thoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of this acclaimed and best-selling guide offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples. The authors draw on fifty years of experience, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. Retaining the user-friendly style of the previous editions, this fourth edition has been broadened to include detailed information relevant to today's digital world. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts, making this a powerful tool for researchers and students across a range of disciplines.
Call Number: STSK 808.06661 MAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2014