Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Return to Practice reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
You may find the following texts and time lines useful as a refresher into the UK healthcare system and an overview of expectations of nursing in the 21st century.
Whilst there is no specific text to guide you through your return to practice journey the following series maybe of help to you.
Evidence Based Practice Reading
Psychiatric Drugs Explained. 6th edn. by Now in its sixth edition, and written by an author internationally recognised in his field, Psychiatric Drugs Explained offers a wealth of information in a handy easy-to-use format. Organised by disorder, and providing a comprehensive review of drug effects, action and side-effects, this fully updated new edition covers the latest drugs on the market, and explores changes in prescribing practice. The author's approach is distinctive and reader-friendly, to help guide mental health professionals through the benefits and impacts of psychotropic drugs. Additional topics include management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders. Includes management of disorders including stimulants and drugs for children, cognitive impairment and sleep disorders Gives particular focus on areas that are of major concern to mental health practitioners including management of dependence and withdrawal and issues of consent, abuse and liability 'User Issues' boxes highlight the most crucial aspects of drug effects and their implications Key references point the reader to the most up-to-date research and literature in the field Fresh design and updated artwork gives added appeal to the volume Organised by disorder this new edition now covers the latest drugs on the market and explores changes in prescribing practice Includes updated references pointing the reader to the most recent research and literature in the field
Call Number: 615.78 HEA
Publication Date: 2016
Medicine Management for Nurses by Medicine management is an important and demanding aspect of nursing practice. It requires both clinical knowledge and the use of professional judgement. This accessible book is designed to help both practising and student nurses prepare to deal with the challenges of medicine management. It covers the principles and skills involved in a range of common medicine management scenarios and will help nursing students integrate their knowledge of physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology and nursing care. This handy book: Is based on 21 practical case studies, which help you learn about effective medicine management and test your understanding of essential drug groups. Helps you gain confidence in your knowledge of pharmacology Highlights the nurse's role in identifying the therapeutic and adverse effects of medicines on a patient Part of the Case Book series, Medicine Management for Nurses Case Book offers a unique way of relating theory to practice. The cases are ideal for preparing for exams, tests and working in practice, as each one includes self-test questions and answers. Whether you are preparing to qualify or studying medicine management after qualification, this case book is the ideal practical tool for you. Contributors: Diane Blundell, Abe Ginourie, Joy Parkes, Ruth Sadik, Pat Talbot, Janine Upton, Traci Whitfield, Christine Whitney-Cooper, Debbie Wyatt. "The book offers a unique and engaging approach to an important subject that most students find daunting. Realistic case scenarios are used as a catalyst to introduce information and concepts that underpin practice. The presentation style supports the active participation of the student with the inclusion of questions at the beginning of each topic offering a platform to explore key areas whilst referring to the scenario. I highly recommend it to pre-registered student nurses." Kris Paget, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Health, Social Work and Education, Kingston University, UK "This collection of case studies provides a unique and user friendly guide to commonly seen pharmacological therapies and treatment options across the lifespan. The case studies have been carefully selected to provide the diverse care needs of complex disease processes in a person centred way. Each case study is relevant to the role of the Nurse and will provide essential and core information whether nurses are working in either a medical or surgical clinical setting. Government Health Care Directives provide the essential clinical evidence based theory necessary to promote medicine adherence and each chapter provides the relevant pathophysiology which is essential to underpin the safe administration of medication therapies. The role of the nurse in medicine management with respect to patient education and the professional responsibilities of monitoring and evaluating complex medication therapies is presented in each case study. This provides an holistic approach to the care of patients receiving complex medication therapies." Barry Ricketts, Senior Lecturer, Adult Nursing, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Call Number: 615.1 BAR
Publication Date: 2013
Cite Them Right Online
The site will help you to reference just about any source, and understand how to avoid plagiarism.
Access the site here, or access basic guidance here.
If you access the site whilst on-campus in Ipswich you will gain access without needing to login. If you are accessing away from the Ipswich campus you will need to login with your University username and password once you have located the the University (currently listed as University Campus Suffolk) in the list of organiations.