Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Investigative Project reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Now thoroughly updated and expanded, this new edition of a classic guide offers practical advice on preparing and publishing journal articles as well as succeeding in other communication-related aspects of a scientific career. * Provides practical, easy-to-read, and immediately applicable guidance on preparing each part of a scientific paper: from the title and abstract, through each section of the main text, to the acknowledgments and references * Explains step by step how to decide to which journal to submit a paper, what happens to a paper after submission, and how to work effectively with a journal throughout the publication process * Includes key advice on other communication important to success in scientific careers, such as giving presentations and writing proposals * Presents an insightful insider's view of how journals actually work--and describes how best to work with them
Call Number: 808.0665 GAS
Publication Date: 2016
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by From reading technical literature, to writing scientific papers and lab reports, gain practical advice in communicating specifically for biology with the Student Handbook for Writing in Biology.
Call Number: 808.06657 KNI
Publication Date: 2017
Successful Scientific Writing by Thoroughly revised and updated, the new edition of this acclaimed and best-selling guide offers a rich blend of practical advice and real-life examples. The authors draw on fifty years of experience, providing detailed step-by-step guidance designed to help students and researchers write and present scientific manuscripts more successfully through knowledge, practice, and an efficient approach. Retaining the user-friendly style of the previous editions, this fourth edition has been broadened to include detailed information relevant to today's digital world. It covers all aspects of the writing process, from first drafts, literature retrieval, and authorship to final drafts and electronic publication. A new section provides extensive coverage of ethical issues, from plagiarism and dual publication to honesty in reporting statistics. Both the text and 30 hands-on exercises include abundant examples applicable to a variety of writing contexts, making this a powerful tool for researchers and students across a range of disciplines.
Call Number: STSK 808.06661 MAT
Publication Date: 2014
Practical Skills in Biomolecular Sciences by If you are a studying within the biomolecular sciences (including biochemistry, biomedical sciences, biotechnology, genetics, microbiology and molecular biology) then this book will be an indispensable companion throughout the whole of your degree programme. It provides effective support for the development of the laboratory and data analysis skills that you will draw on time and again for the practical aspects of your studies, and also gives you a solid grounding in the broader transferable skills which are increasingly necessary to achieve a high level of academic success. Now in its fourth edition, Practical Skills in Biomolecular Sciences has been enhanced and updated throughout to provide a complete and easy-to-read guide to developing all of the skills you need from your first day through to graduation, establishing its reputation as the practical resource for students of the biomolecular sciences.
Call Number: 572.8 REE
Publication Date: 2013
Practical Skills in Biology by If you are a student of biology then this book will be an indispensable companion throughout your entire degree programme. It clearly explains the laboratory and field skills that you will draw on time and again for the practical aspects of your studies, and also gives you a solid grounding in those wider transferable skills which are increasingly necessary to achieve a higher level of academic success.
Call Number: 570.28 JON + eBook
Publication Date: 2016-04-30
Experimental Design for the Life Sciences by The careful design of experiments lies at the core of good research. Experimental Design for the Life Sciences equips you with the skills you need to effectively design experiments, making this essential aspect of the research process readily understandable. It demonstrates how goodexperimental design relies on clear thinking and biological understanding, not mathematical or statistical complexity.With a refreshingly approachable and articulate style, the book walks you through the considerations that go into designing an experiment in clear, practical terms. Using examples drawn from across the life sciences - from ecology, biochemistry, molecular biology, genetics, and health sciences - theauthors illustrate how these concepts are applied within the broad context of real biological research.Online Resource Centre:The Online Resource centre to accompany Experimental Design for the Life Sciences features:For students:* Self-test questions and answers* Additional examples* Supplementary sections discuss complex concepts and statistical issues in more depth* Links to useful websites and free softwareFor lecturers:* Suggested course structures, complete with practical exercises* Figures from the book, available to download
Call Number: 570.724 RUX
Publication Date: 2017
Practical Skills in Environmental Science by Field and laboratory studies are essential components of undergraduate training in Environmental Science alongside transferable skills such as computing and study skills. Practical work must be fully understood and effectively presented, but many students under-perform as they aim to acquire complex skills across a range of disciplines with limited opportunities for practice. Practical Skills in Environmental Science provides students with easy-to-read guidance for fieldwork, sampling, laboratory studies, project work and computing and communication skills, building on the strong reputation of the Practical Skills series as essential texts for those who wish to succeed.
Call Number: 333.7 PRA
Publication Date: 1999
How to Do Your Research Project by How to Do Your Research Project continues to lead the way as an essential guide for anyone undertaking a research project in the applied social sciences. The new Third Edition of this best-selling title now includes further advice on concluding, writing, and presenting research, using social media and digital methods, and understanding how to effectively work with supervisors. Setting out a clear and detailed road map, author Gary Thomas guides the reader through the different stages of a research project, explaining key steps, and processes at each level in refreshingly jargon-free terms. Readers will learn: How to choose your research question Project management and study skills Effective literature reviews Methodology, theory, and research design frames Ethics and access Data collection tools Effective data analysis Discussing findings, concluding, and writing up Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: 300.72 THO
Publication Date: 2017