Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Clinical Nutrition reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no essential readings for this module
Clinical Nutrition. 2nd edn. by This second edition of Clinical Nutrition, in the acclaimed textbook series by the Nutrition Society, has been revised and updated in order to: Provide students with the required scientific basis in nutrition, in the context of a systems and health approach. Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. Each chapter identifies the key areas of knowledge that must be understood and also the key points of critical thought that must accompany the acquisition of this knowledge. Are fully peer reviewed to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective and is applicable for use by nutritionists and on nutrition courses throughout the world. Ground breaking in scope and approach, with an additional chapter on nutritional screening and a student companion website, this second edition is designed for use on nutrition courses throughout the world and is intended for those with an interest in nutrition in a clinical setting. Covering the scientific basis underlying nutritional support, medical ethics and nutritional counselling, it focuses solely on the sick and metabolically compromised patient, dealing with clinical nutrition on a system by system basis making the information more accessible to the students. This is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food sciences, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find this an important resource. Libraries in universities, medical schools and establishments teaching and researching in the area of nutrition will find Clinical Nutrition a valuable addition to their shelves.
Call Number: 615.854 ELI + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
The Biology of Human Longevity by Written by Caleb Finch, one of the leading scientists of our time, The Biology of Human Longevity - Inflammation, Nutrition, and Aging in the Evolution of Lifespans synthesizes several decades of top research on the topic of human aging and longevity particularly on the recent theories of inflammation and its effects on human health. The book expands a number of existing major theories, including the Barker theory of fetal origins of adult disease to consider the role of inflammation and Harmon's free radical theory of aging to include inflammatory damage. Future increases in lifespan are challenged by the obesity epidemic and spreading global infections which may reverse the gains made in lowering inflammatory exposure. This timely and topical book will be of interest to anyone studying aging from any scientific angle. * Author Caleb Finch is a highly influential and respected scientist, ranked in the top half of the 1% most cited scientists * Provides a novel synthesis of existing ideas about the biology of longevity and aging * Incorporates important research findings from several disciplines, including Gerontology, Genomics, Neuroscience, Immunology, Nutrition
Call Number: 612.68 FIN
Publication Date: 2007
Introduction to Human Nutrition by In this second edition of the introductory text in the acclaimed Nutrition Society Textbook Series, Introduction to Human Nutrition has been revised and updated to meet the needs of the contemporary student. Introduction to Human Nutrition is an essential purchase for students of nutrition and dietetics, and also for those students who major in other subjects that have a nutrition component, such as food science, medicine, pharmacy and nursing. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food science, medicine, health sciences and many related areas will also find much of great value within its covers.
Call Number: 612.3 GIB
Publication Date: 2009
Public Health Nutrition. 2nd edn. by As an academic subject, nutrition has grown enormously in recent years and with it the need for specialist textbooks on the subject. In response to this need, a decision was taken by The Nutrition Society to produce a ground-breaking series of four textbooks, of which Public Health Nutrition is the third. The books in the series: Provide students with the required scientific basis in nutrition, in the context of a systems and health approach. Enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. Each chapter identifies the key areas of knowledge that must be understood and also the key points of critical thought that must accompany the acquisition of this knowledge. Are fully peer reviewed to ensure completeness and clarity of content, as well as to ensure that each book takes a global perspective and is applicable for use by nutritionists and on nutrition courses throughout the world. Public Health Nutrition is an essential purchase for students majoring in nutrition and dietetics. Public health nutrition as a subject is growing immensely in importance, taking into account the real potential to reduce the burden of non-communicable chronic disease through diet. Professionals in nutrition, dietetics, food science, medicine, community health care and many related health care areas will all find much of great use within the book's covers. Libraries in all universities, medical schools and establishments teaching and researching in these subject areas should have several copies on their shelves. OTHER BOOKS IN THE NUTRITION SOCIETY TEXT BOOK SERIES: Introduction to Human Nutrition: ISBN 0 632 05624 X Nutrition & Metabolism: ISBN 0 632 05625 8 Clinical Nutrition: ISBN 0 632 05626 6
Call Number: 616.39 GIB
Publication Date: 2012
Nutrition by Traditionally, nutrition textbooks have divided human nutrition into basic science, public health and clinical nutrition, however in this exciting new textbook, Professor Simon Langley-Evans spans these divisions, bringing together the full range of disciplines into one accessible book through the lifespan approach. Taking the reader through how the body?s demand for nutrients continues to change across the many stages of life, such an approach allows full consideration of how diet relates to health, wellbeing and disease and provides an excellent vehicle to illustrate the key concepts in nutrition science. Carefully structured with the student?s needs in mind, each chapter includes: Learning objectives Research highlights, clearly displayed in boxes Suggested further reading Summary boxes Brief self-assessment tests Additional resources are published on the book?s website: www.wiley.com/go/langleyevans Nutrition: A Lifespan Approach will provide the undergraduate student of nutrition with an excellent learning resource. The book will also be a valuable tool for those studying areas such as human biology, health studies and sports science, where an understanding of human nutrition is required. Professionals working in nutrition, dietetics and related health sciences will also find much of value within this book. Libraries in all universities and research establishments where nutrition, dietetics, health and medical sciences are studied and taught should have copies of this book available on their shelves.
Call Number: 612.3 LAN + e-Book
Publication Date: 2009
Sport and Exercise Nutrition by Now widely adopted on courses throughout the world, the prestigious Nutrition Society Textbook series provides students with the scientific basics in nutrition in the context of a systems and disease approach rather than on a nutrient by nutrient basis. In addition books provide a means to enable teachers and students to explore the core principles of nutrition and to apply these throughout their training to foster critical thinking at all times. This NS Textbook on Sport and Exercise Nutrition has been written to cover the latest information on the science and practice of sport and exercise nutrition. A key concept behind this textbook is that it aims to combine the viewpoints of world leading nutrition experts from both academia/research and a practical stand point. Plus where necessary there are additional practitioner based authors to ensure theory is translated into practice for each chapter in the form of either 'practice tips' or 'information sheets' at the end of relevant chapters. The textbook in essence can be divided into three distinct but integrated parts: Part 1: covers the key components of the science that supports the practice of sport and exercise nutrition including comprehensive reviews on: nutrients both in general and as exercise fuels; exercise physiology; hydration, micronutrients; and supplements. Part 2: moves into focusing on specific nutrition strategies to support different types of training including: resistance; power/sprint; middle distance/speed endurance; endurance; technical/skill, team; and specific competition nutrition needs. The unique format of this textbook is that it breaks down nutrition support into training specific as opposed to the traditional sport specific support. This reflects the majority of current sport and exercise requirements of the need to undertake concurrent training and therefore facilitating targeted nutrition support to the different training components through the various macro and micro training cycles. Part 3: explores some of the practical issues encountered in working in the sport and exercise nutrition field and includes key sport related topics such as: disability sport; weight management; eating disorders; bone and gut health; immunity; injury; travel; and special populations and situations. READERSHIP: Students of nutrition and dietetics at both undergraduate and postgraduate level. All those working in the field of nutrition and related health sciences.
Call Number: 612.044 LAN + e-Book
Publication Date: 2011
Fox and Cameron's Food Science, Nutrition and Health. 8th edn. by This popular textbook is thoroughly updated to ensure that it remains up to date and relevant to todays students: *Some of the complex science (eg. chemical formulae) has been simplified * All chapters incorporate new evidence, technologies and current issues with greater analysis, reflection and focus on current issues * Chapters are reorganised in functional sub-units, grouping together 1) biochemical basics and facts 2) elements relevant to food science, including tests and measurements 3) elements relevant to health and nutrition * More diagrams and photos to aid understanding * More text boxes with extra salient information * Introduction of case studies and Q&As to add interest and stimulate learning * A brand new web conponent with a series of public debate type questions integrating the two fields: food science and nutrition; as well as model exam questions to encourage learning.
Call Number: 613.2 LEA
Publication Date: 2014
Nutrition: science and applications. 4th edn. by Integration of health and disease relationships fuels student interest and continuously reinforces the applicability of nutrition science to the students' lives, helping them appreciate how and why their diet affects their health Critical thinking approach gives students the tools they need to bring nutrition out of the classroom and apply the logic of science to their own nutrition concerns Integrated metabolism reinforces understanding of one of the most challenging topics for students, making metabolism more manageable and memorable by presenting the material in smaller chunks relevant to the nutrient being discussed The total diet, not individual foods, is the focus and the overall dietary pattern is stressed as the factor that determines the healthfulness of your diet
Call Number: 613.2 SMO
Publication Date: 2015
Healthy Ageing by Year on year, countries across the world continue to see an increase in life expectancy, largely attributed to the impact of modern medicine and disease eradication. There is now increasing evidence that environmental factors such as diet and lifestyle also have a significant role to play. However with this increase in years there often comes an unfortunate rise in chronic morbidity, with the quality of later life severely compromised by ill health. With age being the single greatest risk factor for a large proportion of common medical conditions, this latest report from the British Nutrition Foundation looks in detail at the role nutrition and physical activity can play in ensuring that the older adults of tomorrow can lead not only longer, but healthier lives. Written by a team of well known and respected experts Describes the role of diet and lifestyle in the ageing process of the major body organs and tissues including the brain, heart, gastrointestinal tract, musculoskeletal tissues, eyes, teeth and skin, as well as immune and endocrine systems Provides essential information for anyone involved in promoting health and quality of life for older people Each chapter includes a summary of the key points, as well as important recommendations to help identify long-term strategies for healthy ageing An overview of the main messages of the report are provided in a practical question and answer format suitable for lay readers Full of invaluable information on a subject which is set to increase in importance as the average age of populations rise worldwide, this book is crucial reading for students of nutrition, dietetics and food science, clinical nutritionists, public health nutritionists and policy makers. It will also provide an excellent reference for those working in the food industry and for nutritional supplement manufacturers and pharmaceutical companies.
Call Number: 613.0438 + eBook
Publication Date: 2009 STA