Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Introduction to Health Sciences reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
There are no essential texts for this module. Students may use the relevant webpages to supplement any resources
Human Nutrition by The book presents a comprehensive introduction to the basic principles of nutrition, together with its application through the life cycle and in a variety of life situations. The application of nutrition in the protection of health and its promotion is also discussed throughout. The book involves the reader in thinking about their own nutrition, to facilitate learning. Topics covered are relevant to students on a variety of courses that include nutrition. This includes students on health related courses who need to understand how nutrition is related to the development of diseases that afflict Western populations, and what can be done to minimize the risks of developing such diseases. Students on food and catering- related courses will also find this book of relevance. The informed layperson who wishes to understand more of the nutrition information available in the media will find explanation in the book. Topical issues such as food allergy, fluid intakes, sports nutrition, functional foods and nutrients that occur as supplements are covered in a clear and readable style. The text is interspersed with study questions and diagrams to engage and maintain the reader's attention. Scientific explanations are provided in an accessible manner to help understanding and clarify principles. The flow of the information builds up from methods of studying nutrition and essential principles about the structure of the diet, through an exploration of the functions of all the nutrients. The basic knowledge can then be applied in a study of the major life stages, and the challenges that might threaten nutritional status. Issues related to major diseases in the West such as coronary heart disease and cancer are focussed on, in relation to the links with nutrition. Finally, the concept of optimizing nutrition is considered, together with a discussion of nutrition policy and related health promotion issues. Features: *Fully revised and updated content which allows for changes in WHO and UK policy *Covers a wide range of issues *Readable text with clear explanations of issues and useful summary diagrams of key points *Involvement of the reader with exercises and study questions *The popular features of the previous edition have been retained: chapters summaries, learning objectives, activity boxes and study questions
Call Number: 613.2 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Human Biology. 3rd edn. by Building on the success of the second edition, this truly accessible textbook comprehensively covers the 2008 AS and A2 level Human Biology specifications for all the main UK exam boards.The book also has a companion website which is free to book users providing extra resources. Written by authors with many years' experience of teaching, examining and writing, this is an ideal resource for class or independent study. The book includes the following features: * How Science Works feature boxes focus on this key element of the new specifications. * Stretch and Challenge boxes challenge more able students, enabling them to achieve the highest grades. * Science in Context boxes encourage students to relate their learning to the world around them. * Summaries at the end of every chapter help students with revision. * Test Yourself questions throughout the text enable students to monitor their own progress in preparation for their exams. * Remember This boxes highlight the key facts. The website provides the following additional resources: * Practice questions (and answers) allow students to test their understanding of the material just covered. * How Science Works assignments allow students to prepare for the How Science Works element of the new AS and A2 Human Biology exams.
Call Number: 612 BOY
Publication Date: 2008
Nutrition: science and applications. 4th edn. by Integration of health and disease relationships fuels student interest and continuously reinforces the applicability of nutrition science to the students' lives, helping them appreciate how and why their diet affects their health Critical thinking approach gives students the tools they need to bring nutrition out of the classroom and apply the logic of science to their own nutrition concerns Integrated metabolism reinforces understanding of one of the most challenging topics for students, making metabolism more manageable and memorable by presenting the material in smaller chunks relevant to the nutrient being discussed The total diet, not individual foods, is the focus and the overall dietary pattern is stressed as the factor that determines the healthfulness of your diet
Call Number: 613.2 SMO
Publication Date: 2015
Life: the science of biology. 11th edn. by PLEASE NOTE: This title is distributed and sold by W. H. Freeman/Macmillan Learning. With roots 10 editions deep, Life: The Science of Biology blends carefully reviewed content and an emphasis on experiments with a contemporary approach to active learning in the classroom. Throughout, we focus on three driving themes: Life is ENGAGING We want students to come away from the introductory biology course with a sense of wonder and an ability to pursue biological questions. To that end, we keep the writing lively, the examples modern and exciting, and the emphasis on how we know what we know. To help students engage with the course, an Investigating Life thread weaves through each chapter. Each individual part of the thread appeals to students, inspires them to ask questions, and keeps them wanting to know, "What next?" The beauty of the thread is that it gives students an authentic scientific experience beyond just reading about someone's research results. Life is ACTIVE With the help of the Advisory Board, we've developed a series of pedagogical features that integrate tools for instructors with those for student independent study. Students work their way toward real understanding of biological principles. We don't just ask them to memorize information--we invite them to actively participate in the process of discovery. For instructors wanting to make active learning a part of their classroom, we've created an Active Learning Guide, with start-up material, ideas, and a complete guide to all the Life activities that are ready to add to your in-class repertoire. Life is FOCUSED ON SKILLS We want students to feel comfortable as they learn to manipulate and interpret data. The various types of problem-solving exercises in Life help them develop practical, analytical, and quantitative skills--skills that will benefit them whether they continue in biology or not. Exercises vary in skill level, type, and approach, with answers in the back of the book. The response to our Work with the Data boxes has been so consistently positive that we now include at least one in every chapter. This feature asks students to analyze data from original scientific experiments, and includes questions in the text plus, now, a corresponding set of alternative exercises online in LaunchPad. We also provide an appendix, Making Sense of Data: A Statistics Primer, to help students prepare for the quantitative work they'll be doing. Experience Life through LAUNCHPAD With this edition's LaunchPad, Life is more than ever a truly integrated text/media resource. LaunchPad gives students everything they need to prepare for class and exams, while giving instructors everything they need to set up a course, customize the content, craft presentations, assign homework, assess students, and guide the progress of individuals and the class as a whole.
Call Number: 570 SAD
Publication Date: 2016
No specific journals have been recommended for this module, however, you can access useful journals and databases for Science through your Subject Guide.
Use the Discovery search tool to search our collections.
Try some of the following searches
Health AND Sciences