Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Abnormal Psychology reading list. Here you will find the resources to help you on this module.
Abnormal and Clinical Psychology by "This book provided an invaluable orientation to the grounding theoretical principles of clinical health psychology, how this knowledge can be applied by psychologists in healthcare settings, particular assessment and intervention approaches and issues associated with working with patients in healthcare settings ... I would highly recommend this as a key text for clinical psychology trainees and postgraduates working or researching in medical settings across the lifespan, both as a general orientation tool and a resource to refer to with reference to specific presenting issues. Fleur-Michelle Coiffait, Doctoral student, University of Edinburgh, UK "The tone of this volume is well pitched; it is written in clear English yet without being over-simplified. New vocabulary is collated into 'key terms' boxes for easy reference at the end of the chapter - a useful device for the new student. Also proffered at chapter end are 'For Discussion' boxes, encouraging the reader to critically assess and compare the contents of the chapter, along with useful suggestions for further reading. With a good level of detail without swamping the reader, this volume is an excellent introduction to students of abnormal psychology." Hayley Burgess, Psychology Graduate Extensively updated, this popular textbook includes the latest research and therapeutic approaches, including third wave cognitive behavioural therapies, as well as developments in clinical practice. The book introduces and evaluates the conceptual models of mental health problems and their treatment, and provides valuable analyses of various disorders, such as schizophrenia and paedophilia. Each disorder is considered from a psychological, social and biological perspective and different intervention types are thoroughly investigated. The new edition also features NEW case formulations to illustrate discussion of clinical work NEW chapter on recent developments in cognitive behaviour therapy NEW Key Terms boxes at the end of chapters Updated Stop and Think boxes Further reading extended with web links Abnormal and Clinical Psychology 3rd edition is an indispensable guide for undergraduate students in psychology and health allied professions.
Call Number: 616.89 BEN + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Psychology, Mental Health and Distress by Is depression simply the result of chemical imbalances, or Schizophrenia a wholly biological disorder? What role do the broader circumstances of an individual's social, cultural and heuristic world play in the wider scheme of their psychological wellbeing? In this ground-breaking and highly innovative text, Cromby et al deliver an introduction to the the biopsychosocial paradigm for understanding and treating psychological distress, taking into consideration the wider contexts that engender the onset of mental illness and critiquing the limitations in the sole use of the biomedical model in psychological practice. Rather than biologically determined or clinically measurable, readers are encouraged to consider mental illness as a subjective experience that is expressed according to the individual experiences of the sufferer rather than the rigidity of diagnostic categories. Similarly, approaches to recovery expand beyond psychiatric medication to consider the fundamental function of methods such as psychotherapy, community psychology and service-user movements in the recovery process. Offering a holistic account of the experience of psychological distress, this text draws upon not only statistical evidence but places an integral emphasis on the service-user experience; anecdotal accounts of which feature throughout in order to provide readers with the perspective of the mental health sufferer. Taking an integrative approach to the psychology of mental health, the authors draw from a wealth of experience, examples and approaches to present this student-friendly and engaging text. This is core reading for anyone serious about understanding mental health issues and is suitable for undergraduate students taking introductory courses in psychology and abnormal psychology.
Call Number: 152.46 CRO
Publication Date: 2013
Abnormal Psychology by Abnormal Psychology 12th Edition, continues the tradition of giving students the opportunity to explore the latest theories and research in the field. It has been adapted to take into account UK/European examples in diagnosis and classifcation of mental illness, statistics on misuse of drugs and treatment as well as a fully revised chapter with European examples on legal and ethical issues. As distinguished scholars and leaders in the field of Psychology, our author team continues to emphasize recent and comprehensive research coverage that has been the hallmark of the text. Significant new material correlated to the forthcoming Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 5 (DSM-5), included in every chapter. Abnormal Psychology emphasizes an integrated approach, showing how psychopathology is best understood by considering multiple perspectives, and how these varying perspectives can provide us with the clearest accounting of the causes of these disorders as well as the best possible treatments. Created for the 11th edition, we continue to offer a powerful video series for your Abnormal Psychology course with 7-10 minute clips to show in class or for students to review outside of class to help understand the patients experience. Unlike other videos, these feature real patients' and their families, in the context of their lives, describing symptoms from their own perspective. Each video provides concise information about the available treatment options.
Call Number: 616.89 KRI
Publication Date: 2012
Personality and Individual Differences by Personality and Individual Differences is a state-of-the-art undergraduate textbook that covers the salient and recent literature on personality, intellectual ability, motivation, and other individual differences such as creativity, emotional intelligence, leadership, and vocational interests. As well as introducing all topics relating to individual differences this book examines and discusses many important underlying issues, such as the psychometric approach to latent variables, validity, reliability, and correlations between constructs. An essential textbook for first-time as well as more advanced students of the discipline, Personality and Individual Differences provides grounding in all the major aspects of differential psychology. Accompanying website featuring instructor material, further web resources and electronic versions of chapters Covers BPS syllabus for differential psychology Written by a rising star in the field of individual differences New full colour page design More real-life (and informal) examples 20% more figures and tables to use as study-tools and summaries Expanded sections on validity, temperament, creativity and hot intelligence New material on protective and non-psychometric tests
Call Number: 155.2 CHA
Publication Date: 2011
Abnormal Psychology by An award-winning teacher, accomplished researcher, and experienced therapist, Ron Comer knows how to communicate the complexities of the abnormal psychology, to speak to the concerns of students, and to portray the real human impact of psychological disorders. With its signature integrated coverage of theory, diagnosis, and treatment, and remarkably inclusive cross-cultural perspective, this new edition of Comer's widely adopted textbook shows students where the study and treatment of psychological disorders stand today. In addition to a thorough updating, the new edition employs some extraordinary interactive tools to bring students face to face with the realities of psychological dysfunction, organized for easy access and assignability in LaunchPad, Worth Publishers' breakthrough online course space. What's in the LaunchPad
Call Number: 616.89 COM
Publication Date: 2015
Clashing Views in Abnormal Psychology by Taking Sides volumes present current controversial issues in a debate-style format designed to stimulate student interest and develop critical thinking skills. Each issue is thoughtfully framed with Learning Outcomes, an Issue Summary, an Introduction, and an Exploring the Issue section featuring Critical Thinking and Reflection, Is There Common Ground?, and Additional Resources. Taking Sides readers also offer a Topic Guide and an annotated listing of Internet References for further consideration of the issues. An online Instructor’s Resource Guide with testing material is available for each volume. Using Taking Sides in the Classroom is also an excellent instructor resource. Visit www.mhhe.com/takingsides for more details.
Call Number: 616.89 HAL
Publication Date: 2012
Personality Theories by Personality Theories: Critical Perspectives is the groundbreaking, final text written by Albert Ellis, long considered the founder of cognitive behavioral therapies. The book provides students with supporting and contradictory evidence for the development of personality theories through time. Without condemning the founding theorists who came before him, Ellis builds on more than a century of psychological research to re-examine the theories of Freud, Jung, and Adler while taking an equally critical look at modern, research-based theories, including his own.
Call Number: 155.2 ELL + eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Schema Therapy for Borderline Personality Disorder by The book was first published in Dutch by Uitgeverij Nieuwezijds - this book is an English language translation, translated from the original Dutch Language version by Jolijn Drost. The book offers a conceptual model of BPD, a treatment model and an array of methods and techniques for treating BPD clients. It covers treatment planning, the therapeutic relationships, cognitive and behavioural techniques, specific strategies, behavioural pattern breaking and the termination of therapy. The appendices contain handouts for patients including a biographical diary, forms for homework assignments and problem solving and a positive self statement log.
Call Number: 616.85852 ARN + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Voices of Experience by Voices of Experience contains a wide range of stories written by mental health survivors. The narratives illustrate how survivors have developed self-management techniques and strategies for living which, together, offer a guide to anybody struggling with 21st century life. Explores a wide variety of mental distress experiences, underpinned by many different explanations and beliefs Narrative has been central to the recovery approach and this book presents stories of recovery as well as an appraisal of the concept Challenges simplistic explanations of recovery and offers a critical angle to our understanding of what it means to experience mental health problems Offers guidance for mental health workers and professionals within the context of current mental health policies in the UK
Call Number: 616.89 BAS
Publication Date: 2010
Schizophrenia by Our understanding of schizophrenia has advanced considerably over the last 10 years, particularly with regard to neurobiological and psychological factors. This book brings together disparate literature into an accessible resource.
Call Number: 616.898 BIR
Publication Date: 2001
Stories and Analogies in Cognitive Behaviour Therapy by An accessible guide to employing stories and metaphors within cognitive behaviour therapy, which will aid clinicians in providing effective treatment for their clients Provides therapists with a range of metaphors that can be employed as a tool to enable clients to gain a new perspective on their problem, and reinforce their clients' motivation for change CBT (Cognitive Behaviour Therapy) continues to grow in popularity, and is strongly recommended as an effective intervention by the National Institute of Clinical Excellence Written in an engaging style that is accessible to both established practitioners and trainees in clinical psychology
Call Number: 616.891425 BLE
Publication Date: 2010
Therapeutic Approaches in Psychology by An introduction to the many psychological therapies in use today, including cognitive-behavioural, humanistic and psychodynamic approaches.
Call Number: 616.894 CAV + eBook
Publication Date: 1999
Existential Therapies by `This book achieves what it sets out to do: "to introduce readers to the rich tapestry of existential therapeutic approaches". I found it concise and easy to read, despite the fact that it deals with some fairly complex ideas′ - CounsellingResource.com `One can only applaud the bravery of an author who gently send up Kierkegaard′s wilful obscurantism and cleans out the acrid smoke of Gauloises from the room. With welcome clarity and sanity, Mick Cooper efficiently lays out the concepts, techniques and directions adopted by several key figures in the broad field of existentially informed psychotherapy. In an excellent first chapter, Mick Cooper pointed out my `ontic′ from my `ontological′; and I could see, behind the long-words-with-dashes, the true resonance of these ideas with real human and therapeutic issues, dilemmas and goals′ - Clinical Psychology `This book proves to be a real treasure chest: what you always wanted to know about existential psychotherapy but failed to find anywhere else in such a comprehensive, clear and concise manner. In that sense, this publication provides a missing link. One merit of the book is its systematic structure. As extensive, and in part as heterogeneous as existential philosophy and therapy also maybe, Mick Cooper had nevertheless been able to build convincing clusters with, on the one hand, an enormous understanding of details and, on the other, a far-sightedness that, like a map, provides orientation in the diversity of existential therapy. I really appreciate this publication and can recommend it very strongly′ - Person-Centred and Experiential Psychotherapies `Existential Therapies will I suspect, suddenly make "existentialism" come alive. The author, Mick Cooper loves his subject, it fascinates and enthrals him, and we get to experience some of that, even though the book is "academic". The connections and overlaps with person-centred psychology are there for us to be, but so are the differences′ - Person-Centred Practice `As an overview of a number of different existential therapies the book is extremely welcome and manages in a relatively short space to cover a wide arena. Overall I rate the book highly. To pull together a large and somewhat disparate literature, then make sense of it and finally retains the reader′s interest, is difficult′ - Existential Analysis `Mick Cooper has done an impressive job in writing a much needed, current and user friendly survey of the field of existential therapies. If I were to teach this course, I would use this book. I applaud Mick Cooper for having admirably achieved the aim he set out to achieve. All this makes Mick Cooper′s book a must-read for anyone wishing to explore the topic of existential therapy′ - Society for Laingian Studies Website `What makes this book unique is that all the different strands of Existential philosophy are always clearly linked to practice′ - Counselling and Psychotherapy Journal `This is a very fresh book, not treading well-worn paths and genuinely informing us about a small but important field. This is really an indispensable book for anyone who wants to understand existentialist approaches to therapy′ - Self and Society `This publication marks a milestone providing an excellent, clear and critical overview of the contrasting forms of the approach as it is currently practised′ - Emmy van Deurzen, New School of Psychotherapy and Counselling, Schiller University, London `This is a book of superb thoroughness and scholarship - an unprecedented guide to existential therapy′s chief positions and controversies′ - Kirk J Schneider, President of the Existential-Humanistic Institute, USA `Combines scholarship with a writing style that makes difficult concepts accessible. This book should be required reading on any course where the existential tradition plays a part, and that includes person-centred courses and all sympathetic to the idea that psychotherapy is, in essence, a human encounter where warmth, understanding and a deep respect for the individual are key values′ - Tony Merry, University of East London `the concepts stand out like lightning in a night sky′ - Jim Bruce, librarian, Canada What does it mean to practice in an existential way? What are the different existential approaches? What are their strengths and limitations? Existential Therapies addresses these key questions, and more, by providing students and practitioners with an invaluable introduction to the diverse and multifaceted world of existential therapeutic practices. Focusing on practical, face-to-face work with clients, the book: #65533; introduces readers to six key existential therapies #65533; discusses key figures and their contributions, including Irvin Yalom, Emmy van Deurzen, Ernesto Spinelli, Viktor Frankl and R D Laing #65533; compares and contrasts the various approaches, highlighting areas of commonality and difference #65533; outlines key debates within the existential therapy field #65533; provides detailed suggestions for further reading Existential Therapies offers students and practitioners of all orientations much that they can incorporate into their own therapeutic work, and each approach is vividly brought to life through therapist-client dialogues and case studies. Written in an accessible, warm, and engaging manner, Existential Therapies is an essential introduction to this rich, vibrant and stimulating field.
Call Number: 616.894 COO + eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Atypical Child Development in Context by Have you ever considered what atypical development looks like in practice? Or how it occurs? Would you like to know which children are most at risk and why? In this new and fully updated edition, Janet M. Empson explores what is 'normal' and what is 'atypical' or 'unusual' in children's development. Combining key research with insightful case studies and examples, she examines the processes, circumstances, and conditions associated with developing atypically. This is invaluable reading for both students and professionals involved in child development.
Call Number: 306.9 EMP
Publication Date: 2015
The Handbook of Life-Span Development by In the past fifty years, scholars of human development have been moving from studying change in humans within sharply defined periods, to seeing many more of these phenomenon as more profitably studied over time and in relation to other processes. The Handbook of Life-Span Development, Volume 2: Social and Emotional Development presents the study of human development conducted by the best scholars in the 21st century. Social workers, counselors and public health workers will receive coverage of the social and emotional aspects of human change across the lifespan.
Call Number: 155 LER
Publication Date: 2010
The Person by Experience the story of a lifetime When you want to truly get to know a person, dates and facts about their life will only tell you so much. You need to look at the stories that define that person's life, as well as their individual traits and characteristics, as defined by human nature and culture. When it comes to studying personality, the larger story matters most of all. In The Person: An Integrated Introduction to Personality Psychology, Fourth Edition, Dan McAdams presents a bold and integrative vision for personality psychology that puts many different ideas into a meaningful structure. With this text, you can understand the larger story, and discover how powerful and useful studying personality psychology is today. The text begins with fundamental evolutionary, social, and cultural contexts for understanding personality, followed by an examination of the three different levels of an individual's personality: - Dispositional traits, a person's general tendencies. - Characteristic adaptations, a person's desires, beliefs, concerns, and coping mechanisms. - Life stories, the stories that give a life a sense of unity, meaning, and purpose. Key Features: * New streamlined paperback format. * Updated with recent research findings to engage professors and students alike. * Presents a clear unifying vision for the field of personality psychology. * Brings together the best from traditional personality theories and contemporary research. * Addresses the most important questions that people can ask about their own lives and about human life in general.
Call Number: 155.2 MCA
Publication Date: 2005
Abnormal Psychology in a Changing World by Puts a human face on the study of Abnormal Psychology, now with DSM-5 coverage throughout. Abnormal Psychology in a Changing World, 9/e uses first-person narratives from people struggling with psychological disorders as a pedagogical framework. Updated to reflect the revision of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-5), the authors endeavor to bring research developments and advancements in abnormal psychology to students. Through illustrative case examples drawn from the authors'' own experiences, they recognize there is a human dimension to the study of abnormal psychology. The 9th edition includes coverage of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual (DSM-5), with updated text references and examples throughout. MyPsychLab is an integral part of the Nevid / Rathus / Greene program. Key learning applications include MyPsychLab video series with new virtual case studies. Teaching & Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience - for you and your students. Here''s how: Personalize Learning - MyPsychLab is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program. It helps students prepare for class and instructor gauge individual and class performance. Explore Theory -- Integrating Theoretical Perspectives -- The authors examine the many different theoretical perspectives that inform contemporary understanding of abnormal psychology and help students integrate these diverse viewpoints in the Tying it Togetherfeature. Improve Critical Thinking -- Controversies in Abnormal Psychology-- Spotlighting controversies encourages students to think critically about these important issues and examine different points of view. The Controversies in Abnormal Psychology feature includes several critical thinking questions that challenge students to think further about the issues discussed in the text. Understand Diversity -- Integrating Diversity -- The authors examine abnormal behavior patterns in relation to factors of diversity such as ethnicity, culture, gender, sexual orientation, and socioeconomic status. Students need to understand how issues of diversity affect the conceptualization of abnormal behavior as well as the diagnosis and treatment of psychological disorders. Engage Students -- A Closer Look-- Provides opportunities for further exploration of selected topics that reflect contemporary issues and concerns. Many of these enable students to apply information in the text to their own lives. Support Instructors -- A full set of supplements, including MyPsychLab, provides instructors with all the resources and support they need. 0205965016 / 9780205965014 Abnormal Psychology in a Changing World Plus NEW MyPsychLab with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0205206514 / 9780205206513 NEW MyPsychLab with Pearson eText -- Valuepack Access Card 0205961711 / 9780205961719 Abnormal Psychology in a Changing World
Call Number: 616.89 NEV
Publication Date: 2013
Personality Disorders by Personality Disorders: Toward the DSM-V offers a scientifically balanced evaluation of competing theoretical perspectives and nosological systems for personality disorders. Editors William T. O'Donohue, Scott O. Lilienfeld, and Katherine A. Fowler have brought together recognized authorities in the field to offer a synthesis of competing perspectives that provide readers with the richest and most nuanced assessment possible for each disorder. The result is a comprehensive, current, and critical summary of research and practice guidelines related to the personality disorders.
Call Number: 616.8581 ODO
Publication Date: 2007
Emotion-Focused Cognitive Therapy by Emotion Focused Cognitive Therapy argues that it is time for a new focus in psychotherapy based on emotion, and presents an innovative approach to the treatment of clients with emotional disorders. Features an approach based on the latest work in cognition and emotion Offers psychologists an innovative way of working in therapy Draws on the strengths evidence-based cognitive behavioural and interpersonal approaches to psychotherapy Provides relevant case examples throughout the text Additional resources for the book available online here
Call Number: 616.891425 POW
Publication Date: 2010
Models of Madness by Models of Madness shows that hallucinations and delusions are understandable reactions to life events and circumstances rather than symptoms of a supposed genetic predisposition or biological disturbance. International contributors: * critique the 'medical model' of madness * examine the dominance of the 'illness' approach to understanding madness from historical and economic perspectives * document the role of drug companies * outline the alternative to drug based solutions * identify the urgency and possibility of prevention of madness. Models of Madness promotes a more humane and effective response to treating severely distressed people that will prove essential reading for psychiatrists and clinical psychologists and of great interest to all those who work in the mental health service. This book forms part of the International Society for the Psychological Treatment of Psychoses series edited by Brian Martindale.
Call Number: 616.898 REA
Publication Date: 2004
What Works for Whom? by This acclaimed work provides a systematic, comprehensive, and balanced evaluation of the current status of all major psychotherapeutic approaches. With a primary focus on adults, detailed evidence is presented for the efficacy of widely used interventions for frequently encountered mental disorders and specific populations. The book also explains the concepts that underpin psychotherapy research, examines methodological challenges in translating research into practice, and considers the impact on outcome of factors common to all therapies, such as therapist and patient characteristics.
Call Number: 618.92891 ROT
Publication Date: 2005
Depression and Physical Illness by Depression and physical illness are intimately related. Depressed mood is thought to contribute to the development and progression of some illnesses, while physical illness can in turn increase the risk of depression. This book provides a critical overview of the evidence linking depression with several major health conditions, including coronary heart disease, diabetes, cancer, chronic pain, disability, chronic fatigue and obesity. It also explores the biological and behavioural processes underlying the association, discussing the role of neuroendocrine, immunological and inflammatory pathways, and the relationship between depression and health behaviours such as smoking, physical activity and adherence to medical advice. It combines a thorough analysis of the clinical, biological and epidemiological data with guidance to health professionals and patients on how to manage depression in people suffering from physical illness, pointing the way to an integrated approach to health care.
Call Number: 616.8527 STE + eBook
Publication Date: 2006
Brief Person-Centred Therapies by Can the person-centred approach work in time-limited counselling and psychotherapy? This is a question that many practitioners grapple with as demand for brief therapy increases - particularly in the public sector. Brief Person-Centred Therapies is the first book to tackle the subject, bringing together the experience and insights of a leading international team of person-centred specialists. The book examines the "theoretical fit" between the person-centred approach and brief therapy. It also explores the issues which arise when working briefly in a range of different settings, including primary care, higher education and business. Brief Person-Centred Therapies is essential reading for all person-centered trainees and for practitioners who want to work in services where brief work is called for.
Call Number: 616.8914 TUD + eBook
Publication Date: 2008