Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to you Applications of Exercise Psychology reading list. here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
The Psychology of Exercise by Now in its fifth edition, The Psychology of Exercise: Integrating Theory and Practice is the ideal resource for undergraduate courses devoted to the study of exercise behavior. Following the success of previous editions, this book successfully integrates theoretical principles and the latest research with intervention strategies that students can apply in real-world settings. Students will find multiple forms of presentation throughout including graphics and models, questionnaires and other instruments, focus boxes highlighting research on the impact of physical activity on specific populations, and review questions and activities to enhance learning. This edition includes a substantial revision of the theory and intervention chapters, with a focus on the most popular theories currently thriving in the field, a discussion of environmental and policy influences on behavior, and an expanded presentation of intervention components, design, and evaluation. Separate chapters are also dedicated to popular topics such as personality, self-perceptions, stress, anxiety, depression, emotional well-being, cognitive function, and health-related quality of life. For those seeking to learn more about exercise behavior, The Psychology of Exercise: Integrating Theory and Practice is a must-have resource.
Call Number: 613.71019 LOX + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Doing Exercise Psychology by According to the President's Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition, "If exercise could be packaged into a pill, it would be the single most widely prescribed and beneficial medicine in the nation." Yet the incorporation of physical activity into a regular routine proves difficult for many. Bringing together a field of experts, Doing Exercise Psychology uses applied theories alongside authentic client interactions to address the challenging psychological components of physical activity. Doing Exercise Psychology helps students understand how to build connections with individual clients, strengthen the professional relationship through listening, and understand clients' needs. The text features diverse topics, bridging health psychology and exercise psychology and demonstrating the increasingly important role of physical activity in overall wellness and health. The first chapter is devoted to the development of mindfulness as a practitioner, while another addresses the difficulties professionals encounter with their own inactivity, encouraging self-reflection in order to be more helpful and open with clients. A key feature of many chapters in Doing Exercise Psychology is the in-the-trenches dialogue between practitioner and client, accompanied by follow-up commentary on what went right and what went wrong in particular sessions. Through these real-world scenarios, students will witness firsthand the methods that are most effective in communicating with clients. The text also explores complex questions such as these: * What are the implications and consequences of using exercise as a component of psychological therapies? * How can practitioners help clients with impaired movement abilities as a result of chronic conditions or illness embrace physical activity as part of their therapy or their lives? * How can exercise be incorporated in therapies to change nutrition, smoking, and alcohol habits? * Why are some exercise protocols that are extremely effective for some but not for others? * How can relationships, interrelatedness, and attunement to others be vehicles for healthy change in whatever kind of therapy is being done? The book is arranged so that information flows progressively, covering major themes early and then applying them to the field. Part I introduces the relationship-building motif by covering the variety of relationships that one might find in exercise and physical activity settings. Part II addresses specific conditions and behavior change, with suggestions for encouraging activity in those who are also working to quit smoking, reduce alcohol consumption, or modify their nutrition habits. Part III deals directly with chronic and major medical conditions that professionals will contend with on a regular basis, including cancer, heart disease, and multiple sclerosis. Part IV delves into the dark side of exercise, such as overtraining, exercise dependence, and eating disorders. A growing and exciting area of study, exercise psychology covers all the psychosocial, intra- and interpersonal, and cultural variables that come into play when people get together and exercise. Students and practitioners who work with individuals in exercise settings will find Doing Exercise Psychology a vital resource to refer to repeatedly in their practice.
Call Number: 613.71 AND
Publication Date: 2015
The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, Fifth Edition by This revised and updated fifth edition of the highly acclaimed "gold standard" textbook continues to provide a foundational review of health behavior change theories, research methodologies, and intervention strategies across a range of populations, age groups, and health conditions. It examines numerous, complex, and often co-occurring factors that can both positively and negatively influence people's ability to change behaviors to enhance their health including intrapersonal, interpersonal, sociocultural, environmental, systems, and policy factors, in the context of leading theoretical frameworks. Beyond understanding predictors and barriers to achieving meaningful health behavior change, the Handbook provides an updated review of the evidence base for novel and well-supported behavioral interventions and offers recommendations for future research. New content includes chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior Change. Throughout the textbook, updated reviews emphasize mobile health technologies and electronic health data capture and transmission and a focus on implementation science. And the fifth edition, like the previous edition, provides learning objectives to facilitate use by course instructors in health psychology, behavioral medicine, and public health. The Handbook of Health Behavior Change, Fifth Edition, is a valuable resource for students at the graduate and advanced undergraduate level in the fields of public or population health, medicine, behavioral science, health communications, medical sociology and anthropology, preventive medicine, and health psychology. It also is a great reference for clinical investigators, behavioral and social scientists, and healthcare practitioners who grapple with the challenges of supporting individuals, families, and systems when trying to make impactful health behavior change. NEW TO THE FIFTH EDITION: Revised and updated to encompass the most current research and empirical evidence in health behavior changeIncludes new chapters on Sun Protection, Interventions With the Family System, and the Role of Technology in Behavior ChangeIncreased focus on innovations in technology in relation to health behavior change research and interventions KEY FEATURES: The most comprehensive review of behavior change interventionsProvides practical, empirically based information and tools for behavior changeFocuses on robust behavior theories, multiple contexts of health behaviors, and the role of technology in health behavior changeApplicable to a wide variety of courses including public health, behavior change, preventive medicine, and health psychologyOrganized to facilitate curriculum development and includes tools to assist course instructors, including learning objectives for each chapter
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2018