Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Individual Differences reading list! Here you will find the resources to help you on this module.
Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence by A comprehensive and accessible fourth edition of a market leading text on personality, individual differences and intelligence that offers up-to-date research and a wealth of pedagogical features. The fourth edition of the marketing leading Personality, Individual Differences and Intelligence continues to offer a comprehensive, accessible and thoroughly up to date introduction to this fascinating field. A thoughtfully developed pedagogical approach guides you from the foundations to the more advanced topics, employing a range of features to encourage reflection, critical thinking and thereby a deeper understanding.
Call Number: 155.2 MAL
Publication Date: 2017
Clinical Personality Assessment by Clinical Personality Assessment, 2/e, is the revised edition of an acclaimed comprehensive clinical personality assessment text. In this updated volume, contributors from a diverse range of psychological disciplines address a number of central issues in personality assessment in clinical andforensic settings. Focusing on key problem areas in the field, the authors emphasize practical issues in their chapters. The result is a work of outstanding variety and depth of coverage with a useful, hands-on focus. The second edition has been updated to include several new topics, such aspsychophysiological methods in assessing emotions, assessment of clients' marital satisfaction, behavior genetic considerations in personality assessment, and assessment of suicide risk. Other topics include ethical considerations in clinical personality assessment, assessment of racial and ethnicminorities, sources of personality information, and problems in personality assessment. A practical, context-based approach is maintained throughout, and a helpful appendix listing psychological assessment tests and procedures concludes the book. A definitive text in its field, Clinical PersonalityAssessment, 2/e, is ideal for both students and practicing clinical psychologists.
Call Number: 155.28 BUT
Publication Date: 2002
Personality and Individual Differences by Personality and Individual Differences is a state-of-the-art undergraduate textbook that covers the salient and recent literature on personality, intellectual ability, motivation, and other individual differences such as creativity, emotional intelligence, leadership, and vocational interests. As well as introducing all topics relating to individual differences this book examines and discusses many important underlying issues, such as the psychometric approach to latent variables, validity, reliability, and correlations between constructs. An essential textbook for first-time as well as more advanced students of the discipline, Personality and Individual Differences provides grounding in all the major aspects of differential psychology. Accompanying website featuring instructor material, further web resources and electronic versions of chapters Covers BPS syllabus for differential psychology Written by a rising star in the field of individual differences New full colour page design More real-life (and informal) examples 20% more figures and tables to use as study-tools and summaries Expanded sections on validity, temperament, creativity and hot intelligence New material on protective and non-psychometric tests
Call Number: 155.2 CHA
Publication Date: 2011
Individual Differences and Personality by Colin Cooper's 'Individual Differences' has been a favourite among lecturers and students of differential psychology since it was published in 1997. It is unique in its comprehensive coverage of both personality theories and the methodological issues associated with personality and psychometric testing. This new edition has been fully revised and expanded to include recent developments in the field. There is also a new chapter on Emotional Intelligence and expanded coverage of the Big 5 model of personality and positive psychology. Cooper also discusses influential new fields such as cognitive epidemiology and a new chapter on practical applications demonstrates how what has been learned can be applied to everyday life from recruitment to predicting whether psychopaths will reoffend. The accompanying website provides comprehensive support for both students and lecturers, including MCQs, sample exam questions, PowerPoint presentations, revision flashcards, interactive glossary, and revision summaries. An informative and enjoyable trip through personality and psychometrics, this book is essential reading for all students wishing to gain a broad understanding of this fascinating field.
Call Number: 155.22 COO
Publication Date: 2010
Introduction to Personality and Intelligence by Nick Haslam's highly-anticipated new text is a thoroughly engaging introduction to the psychology of personality and, crucially, intelligence. The book is fully tailored to the British Psychological Society's guidelines regarding the teaching of Individual Differences. The author's writing style, use of pedagogy, and incorporation of the latest empirical research findings makes Introduction to Personality and Intelligence an essential textbook for all Psychology students taking a Personality or Individual Differences course.
Call Number: 155.2 HAS
Publication Date: 2007
The Handbook of Psychological Testing by This handbook provides a guide to all aspects of psychological testing - psychometric theory and its application in the construction of tests, applied psychometrics in the vocational, educational, occupational and clinical fields, and an evaluative list of the best psychological tests. The author includes accounts of classical test theory including factor analysis and item characteristic curve theories. This description of the different types of test reveals their strengths and weaknesses for test users, and the author discusses their applications in various practical fields of psychology. Finally he provides a description and evaluation of the best tests so far produced.
Call Number: 150.72 KLI + eBook
Publication Date: 1993
IQ and Human Intelligence by The question 'What is intelligence?' may seem simple to answer, but the study and measurement of human intelligence is one of the most controversial subjects in psychology. For much of its history, the focus has been on differences between people, on what it means for one person to be moreintelligent than another, and how such differences might have arisen, obscuring efforts to understand the general nature of intelligence. These are obviously fundamental questions, still widely debated and misunderstood. New definitions of intelligence and new factors affecting intelligence arefrequently being described, while psychometric testing is applied in most large industries.IQ and Human Intelligence provides a clear, authoritative overview of the main issues surrounding this fascinating area, including the development of IQ tests, the heritability of intelligence, theories of intelligence, environmental effects on IQ, factor analysis, relationship of cognitivepsychology to measuring IQ, and intelligence in the social context. The clear, accessible style and numerous explanatory boxes make this the ideal text for advanced undergraduate and graduate students in psychology.
Call Number: 153.9 MAC
Publication Date: 2011
Personality Traits by Now in its third edition, this dynamic textbook analyses the traits fundamental to human personality: what they are, why they matter, their biological and social foundations, how they play out in human life and their consequences for cognition, stress and physical and mental health. The text also considers the applications of personality assessment in clinical, educational and occupational settings, providing the reader with a detailed understanding of the whole field of personality traits. This edition, now with improved student features, includes the latest research from behavioural genetics, neuroscience, social psychology and cognitive science, assesses the impact of new research techniques like brain imagery, and provides additional content on positive aspects of traits and practical uses of personality assessment. This is an essential textbook for students taking courses in personality and individual differences and also provides researchers and practitioners with a coherent, up-to-date survey of this significant area.
Call Number: 155.23 MAT + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Essentials of Psychological Testing by An easy-to-understand overview of the key concepts of psychological testing Fully updated and revised, the second edition of Essentials of Psychological Testing surveys the basic principles of psychometrics, succinctly presents the information needed to understand and evaluate tests, and introduces readers to the major contemporary reference works in the field. This engaging, practical overview of the most relevant psychometric concepts and techniques provides the foundation necessary for advanced study in the field of psychological assessment. Each clear, well-organized chapter includes new examples and references, featuring callout boxes highlighting key concepts, bulleted points, and extensive illustrative material, as well as ?Test Yourself? questions that help gauge and reinforce readers? grasp of the information covered. The author's extensive experience and deep understanding of the concepts presented are evident throughout the book, particularly when readers are reminded that tests are tools and that, like all tools, they have limitations. Starting with a basic introduction to psychological tests, their historical development, and their uses, the book also covers the statistical procedures most frequently used in testing, the frames of reference for score interpretation, reliability, validity and test item considerations, as well as the latest guidelines for test selection, administration, scoring and reporting test results. Whether as an orientation for those new to the field, a refresher for those already acquainted with it, or as reference for seasoned clinicians, this book is an invaluable resource. SUSANA URBINA, PHD, is Professor Emeritus of Psychology at the University of North Florida, where she taught courses in psychological testing and assessment. A Diplomate of the American Board of Assessment Psychology and a licensed psychologist, Dr. Urbina practiced in the field of psychological assessment for over a decade. She coauthored the seventh edition of Psychological Testing with Anne Anastasi and has published numerous articles and reviews in the area of psychological testing.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014