Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Unicaf: MSc Public Health: Databases, Journals and Specialist Websites

Full list of eJournals the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List
Full list of eResources the library subscribes to, including trial access.
Go to A-Z List

Databases

British Nursing Database (Proquest)
From Proquest, the UK nursing and midwifery database, covering over 270 UK journals and other English language titles, including international nursing and midwifery journals, as well as selective content from medical, allied health and management titles
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
The world’s most comprehensive nursing and allied health research database, CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides full text for hundreds of journals indexed in the CINAHL database, and includes a higher number of records, additional journals, records dating back to 1937 and expanded content.
Cochrane Library
Independent high quality evidence for healthcare decision making.
e-Anatomy
We strongly recommend that you use Chrome.
is an interactive human anatomy atlas with medical imaging and illustrations. (Not included in Summon) You will receive a certificate error that you will need to confirm or add an exception for when accessing this resource off-campus.
Family Health Database (Proquest)
Proquest Family Health database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines

Healthcare Administration Database (Proquest)
Proquest. This database is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics

Health & Medical Collection (Proquest)
​Proquest has combined the clinical research titles available in ProQuest Medical Library™ with hundreds of additional consumer and health administration titles. ProQuest Health and Medical Complete provides in-depth coverage from over 1,950 publications with more than 1,660 available in full text and of these, over 910 include MEDLINE® indexing
MEDLINE 
(We would highly recommend using the latest versions of either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox browsers to access this site as we have encountered problems when using Internet Explorer) 
contains over 12 million journal citations and abstracts with authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Coverage from 1950 until present day.
NICE (NHS) Evidence Search (Quick Search) 
Our guidance, advice, quality standards and information services for health, public health and social care. Also contains resources to help maximise use of evidence and guidance.
Nursing & Allied Health Database (Proquest)
​Proquest database offering reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more
PubMed Central
A free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
ScienceDirect 
A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
 

Non Medical Databases

Education Databse (Proquest)
ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Emerald Management Plus
a portfolio of over 280 journals full -text management journals published from 1994 onwards. Titles include International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management; International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research; International Journal of Event and Festival Management; Tourism Review
Proquest Central
provides access to 27 of ProQuest's most highly used databases, with a variety of content types across over 160 subjects, making this the broadest single research resource in the world
Psychology Database (Proquest)
Proquest provides abstracts and indexing for more than 640 titles, with over 540 titles available in full text. Coverage ranges from behavioral, clinical, cognitive, developmental, experimental, industrial and social psychology, along with personality, psychobiology and psychometrics.

Database, Journal and Specialist Websites (correct lists)

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

Anatomy Database:

Non Health related databases:

The Cochrane Organisation

The Cochrane Organsiation produces and publishes high quality information including systematic reviews in health and health related disciplines, this information can be used to facilitate evidence based decision making. 

READ-it
Aims to improve evidence based decision making and make research more visible to low and middle income countries.  The site is co-ordinated by the Cochrane Infectious Diseases group. 

 

Useful websites 

ISRCTN Registry
A Register of clinical trials compiled by WHO and ICMJE (International Clinical Trials Registry Platform).  Gives location and status of the trial 

Reliefweb 
Information about global crises and disasters, provides reliable and timely information including maps (health updates), reports and infographics 

Wellcome Centre Infectious Diseases Research in Africa 
Research to combat infection, communicable and non-communicable diseases and antiretroviral therapies 

World Health Organisation 
Website of this global orgnisation, provides publications, videos and news

World Health Organisation - Africa 
Includes a wealth of information about health in Africa, including news, data, statistics, situational analysis.  Includes the Journal of African Health Monitor and access to the Atlas of African Health Statistics.