Call for Abstracts
The call for abstracts for our conference is now open. We welcome abstracts which relate to one (or more!) of the following themes:
Block and Intensive Pedagogies: This stream focuses on the design, delivery, and impact of block and intensive learning models in higher education. Papers are encouraged on topics such as curriculum innovation, pedagogical approaches, student engagement strategies, and the role of technology in enhancing intensive learning experiences. We also welcome research and case studies examining the effectiveness of accelerated learning models in diverse disciplines, their impact on student learning outcomes, and how institutions can scale and sustain block teaching in an evolving higher education landscape.
Strategies for Student Success: Supporting student success requires a holistic approach that goes beyond traditional teaching methods. This stream invites contributions on innovative strategies that improve student engagement, retention, and outcomes, particularly within block and intensive learning contexts. Topics may include academic support models, inclusive teaching practices, digital and AI-enhanced learning tools, student wellbeing initiatives, and interventions designed to reduce barriers to learning. Submissions exploring the intersection of student success with widening participation, employability, and lifelong learning are also welcome.
Civic Universities as Agents of Change: This stream examines the role of civic universities in fostering community engagement and addressing societal challenges. Civic-minded universities bridge the gap between academic knowledge and societal needs by integrating community engagement into their curricula, fostering practical learning experiences, and equipping students with the critical skills and perspectives to contribute meaningfully to society. We invite abstracts exploring innovative teaching models that link students to local and global challenges, as well as partnerships that enhance learning by connecting classrooms with the wider world. Submissions that critically reflect on the role of universities in contributing toward regional development, social mobility, sustainability, and public good initiatives are also encouraged.
We particularly welcome abstracts which are co-designed with students, or even co-designed across institutions. If accepted you can choose to have your abstract included in the Journal of Block and Intensive Learning and Teaching Conference special edition.
The Closing date for abstracts is Monday 17th March 2025 (4pm GMT, midnight AWDT)
Submitting your abstract
Full details on accepted presentation types, and how to submit your abstract are provided below.
Presentation formats
Our final programme will include a range of activities. Your proposal should be in line with one of the following formats. Full audio-visual equipment will be available for your session. We will ask you to send slides and / or materials ahead of the conference, so that the organising committee are able to ensure everything is ready for your session.
Our interactive workshops will last for up to 45 minutes, and should provide opportunity for exploring, discussing, and even playing with concepts and practices associated with the conference themes, while allowing delegates who attend the chance to learn and share their own practices. Workshops should epitomise the experience of learning in block, think active, blended, problem-based, flipped.
Lightning talks will be arranged into themed sessions across a 45 minute period. Each session will include up to 6 talks. Each talk must be no more than 5 minutes long (you will be timed!) with time for questions to all presenters at the end of the session.
Poster presentation should be 10 minutes in length. All posters will also be displayed in the foyer of the building so that they can be reviewed by delegates throughout the event. If you want to ensure those who can't attend the live session can still hear about your work, consider embedding a podcast or vodcast of your talk.
Presentation-based sessions will run for about 45 minutes, and include 2-3 presentations. We ask that each presentation lasts no more than 15 minutes.
At this conference, all authors will be encouraged to include a hard copy poster. The formatting should be for A0, and portrait (poster must not exceed 841mm wide x 1189 mm high). If you would like to be able to showcase your work, but would prefer not to speak about it live to audience, you may consider embedding a podcast, vodcast or just web links to further information.
Onsite posters will be available for viewing during a dedicated interactive poster session, where authors can discuss their poster with other delegates. Prizes will be awarded for the best poster in the printed onsite format, and voted for by the conference delegates.
Details of how to submit your electronic poster file for printing at suffolk will be sent to you on acceptance
Abstract Submission and Session Guidelines
The following is intended to support you in drafting your proposals. If you have any further questions, please contact the conference team
All submitted abstracts will be double peer reviewed by individuals who work in block, or intensive pedagogies. All abstract submissions will be anonymised prior to review. Through the review process reviewers will be asked to consider how well the proposal and its concepts are articulated, alignment to conference themes, currency of the topic, and the extent to which the proposal might further understanding and / or practice of delegates.
The abstract will be published in the conference program, which will be uploaded to the IBILTA 2025 conference website for delegates and for public view. You can also choose whether to include your submission to the Journal of Block and intensive Learning and Teaching (JBILT). JBILT is a new open access journal of IBILTA. JBILT publishes articles that enhance scholarly practice and expand theoretical, methodological, and substantive understanding relevant to higher education teaching in block and intensive delivery modes. Its mission is to share research that informs contemporary, evidence-based approaches to curriculum design, student learning, and teaching in higher education. The journal invites contributions that employ conceptual, qualitative, quantitative, or mixed methodologies, and are tailored for an international audience. It also encourages innovative research presentation and embraces non-traditional forms of academic communication.
You should receive an email confirmation with a copy of your abstract once your submission has been completed. You can amend or add to your abstract anytime before the form closing date of Sunday 2nd February 2025 by accessing the form.
Please ensure you have reviewed all the guidelines and prepare your abstract accordingly prior to submission
Abstracts will be grounded in evidence, highlighting the research, initiative, or practice being featured while providing clear and compelling evidence of its outcomes or effectiveness. Both quantitative and qualitative evidence of effectiveness are equally valued and encouraged, An abstract (maximum 300 words( must be submitted for review for all presentation formats. The abstract should be submitted as text and typed directly into the text box provided in the submission portal and NOT contain any information that might idenitfy the author/s
The below format is recommended for abstract submission:
- Background / context including relevant literature
- Description of the research, initiative, or practice
- Methods of data collection and analysis
- Evidence of outcomes and effectiveness
- Contribution to scholarship and / or practice.
Formatting guidelines
- Abstracts must be typed directly into the text box provided in the submission portal and not exceed 300 words.
- Do not include the author names and affiliations in the abstract (these details will be captured during the online submission process in a separate text box.)
- Do not include the abstract title in the abstract (this will be captured during the online submission process.)
- All text should be entered in sentence case (do not type in CAPITAL LETTERS!).
- Do not include any tables or images in the abstract.
- APA 7 referencing is required and must be typed directly into the text box provided and not exceed 300 words.