Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music Production Subject Guide: Databases

Introduction

Academic Databases

There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google. 

Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.

 

Access Using Summon

The fastest way to access databases is to search using Summon (below):

Looking for something?

Find: Everything  Books  Articles  Books & DVDs at Ipswich 

A-Z of databases|  |  A-Z of journals|  |  A-Z of searches|  |  Advanced search|

A-Z eResources List

In addition to using Summon, you can browse our A-Z of eResources list of you want to access a particular database.
Go to A-Z List

Useful Databases

The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:

Communication and Mass Media
Full text journal articles covering all aspects of communication & mass media
 
Entertainment Industry Magazine
(1880-2000) Full-text articles.
 
International Index to Music Periodicals
(1874-to date)  Indexing, abstracts and full-text from a range of music journals.
 
Full-text journals including titles for Music and performing arts.  Use for history of music.
 
Proquest Arts Collections
Search across Proquest arts collections
 
Proquest Central
A multidisciplinary databases with citations and full-text articles
 
e-journals collection (some are full text)
 
Wiley Online Library
E-journals collection (some are full text)

Structuring your Search

You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.

Consider the following:

  • Which database(s) to search
  • Keywords- what will you search for?
  • How to link the keywords together
  • Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)

For more information about searching, take a look at our Searching for Information page

You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.

Attribution

All images included in this guide are available from Flickr through Creative Commons licensing CC-BY-2.0