Skip to main content

Finding Library Resources - A Glossary: Home

Glossary

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z   
  

A

Abstracts

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more 

Annual reports

See Company reports 

Articles

Find articles:
Include File

 

Back to top

B

Books

University of Suffolk Bury:
Include File

 

University of Suffolk Great Yarmouth:
Click here to search

 

University of Suffolk Ipswich: 
Include File

 

University of Suffolk Lowestoft:
Include File

University of Suffolk Otley:
Include File

Book reviews

Find Book reviews:
Include File


Back to top

C

 

Case studies

Intute Case Studies includes a large number of case studies covering many different subject areas. This link takes you to the full list which you can then narrow to look at a particular area of interest. 

Census

England and Wales:

Northern Ireland:

Scotland:

Historical Census Data:

Citations

 

Company reports

CAROL (Company Annual Reports on-line) - offers direct access to companies’ balance sheets, profit & loss statements, financial highlights etc.  Access is free of charge, but you need to register to use the site.  Click the ‘Registration’ link in the main menu to do this.

 

Hoover's Company Profiles - users can integrate business information from one of the world’s leading electronic distributors of information about companies, industries, and the people who lead them.
 

Conference papers

 

Back to top

D

 

Databases

Browse all databases from our A-Z of databases or look at our subject guides to find key databases for your subject.   

Dictionaries

Dictionaries available at:

Online:

Dissertations (see also University of Suffolk dissertations)

Find dissertations:
Include File

DVDs 

S ee eStream and Films

Back to top

E

 

eBooks

Find eBooks:
Include File
 

eJournals

Browse all journals from our A-Z of journals page or look at our Subject guides to find key journals for your subject

eStream video recordings

The majority of eStream and video recordings can found on Summon but you can also search eStream directly 

Exam papers

There is no central location for exam paper. Please check with your course lecturer to see if past papers are available.

Back to top

F

 

Films (Also see eStream

Find films:
Include File

Film Archives 

Black and white movies provides access to free-to-view classic film genres, many out of copyright.

 

Screenonline encyclopaedia of British film and television featuring hundreds of hours of film and television clips 

 

Screen Search - a catalogue of films from the Screen Archive South East collection  

Back to top

G

 

Government information 

http://www.legislation.gov.uk includes original and amended versions of both primary and secondary legislation (Acts, SIs and revised/IF legislation), from 1988 onwards, and material still in force from 1297.

Command Papers

House of Commons Papers

Back to top

J

 

Journals

Browse all journals from our A-Z of journals page or look at our Subject guides to find key journals for your subject

Back to top

L

 

Law cases

LexisLibrary - Law database the UK’s most authoritative and comprehensive collection of annotated legislation, cases, forms, precedents and commentary from Butterworths and Tolley. 

Legislation See Government information 
Back to top

M

 
Market research  
Back to top

N

 
News clips  
Newspaper articles (current and historic)

View all Newspapers resources

 

Newsstand - this database enables you to quickly search access to national and regional newspapers.

 

NewsVault - definitive cross-searching experience for exploring Gale’s range of historical newspaper and periodical collections

 

Newspaper article search: Include File

Please note this doesn't include historical newspapers

 
Back to top

P

 
Peer review articles (also see Articles) Find peer reviewed articles:
Include File

Plays Find plays:
Include File
Primary Literature and Primary Research What is Primary Literature? 
Print books See Books 
Back to top

R

 
Referencing guides

The following guides are available online:

  • University of Suffolk APA
  • University of Suffolk Footnotes (MHRA)
  • University of Suffolk Harvard
  • RefWorks
Research papers  
Reviews  See Book reviews
Back to top

S

 
Scientific articles  
Secondary Literature and Secondary Research What is Secondary Literature? 
Statistics Histpop - The Online Historical Population Reports Website  provides online access to the complete British population reports for Britain and Ireland from 1801 to 1937, including census reports.

 

Office for National Statistics (ONS) UK Government body responsible for producing of a wide range of economic and social data and statistics for the UK. They also provide access to statistics from other UK government departments. Statistics for the regions and local areas are available in a separate section.

 

OFFSTATS: Official Statistics on the Web a database provided by the University of Auckland, giving access to free statistics from official (government and IGO) sources. You can search by subject, country or region of the world. Note that some specialised databases are only available to University of Auckland staff and students.

 

UK official statistics at UK Statistics Authority  - view many datasets free of charge relating to Britain's economy, population and society at national and local level.

 

International statistics at the

United Nations Statistics Division statistics issued by bodies such as professional organisations, charities and trade associations.
Statutes, Statutory Instruments, Law Reports Available from Lexis Nexis
Subject guides Complete list of subject guides available
Systematic reviews
Help and advice on Systematic reviews
Back to top

T

 
Technical reports Office of Scientific & Technical Information

access to scientific and technical research and development information from the US Department of Energy.

 

NASA Technical Reports NASA's current and historical technical literature since 1994.

 

NTIS – National Technical Information Service approximately 3 million US Federal Government technical reports

Theses British Library Ethos service doctoral theses from UK universities

TV and radio programmes Available from eStream 
Back to top

U

 
University of Suffolk Dissertations Browse all University of Suffolk Dissertations
Back to top