Introduction
Academic Databases
There are numerous databases available to you which provide access to high-quality information you won't find on Google.
Most of the databases enable you to find full-text journal articles and references, but we also have newspaper, image and
media databases that you can use.
Access Using Summon
The fastest way to access databases is to search using Summon (below):
Looking for something?
Find: Everything Books Articles Books & DVDs at Ipswich
A-Z of databases | A-Z of journals | A-Z of searches | Advanced search
A-Z eResources List
In addition to using Summon, you can browse our A-Z of eResources list of you want to access a particular database.
Go to A-Z List
Structuring your Search
You can save yourself time by spending a few minutes planning how you want to search the databases before you begin.
Consider the following:
- Which database(s) to search
- Keywords- what will you search for?
- How to link the keywords together
- Will you apply any limits to your search? (date of publication, full-text, format)
For more information about searching, take a look at our Searching for Information page.
You can also look at our pages in the Assignment Toolkit related to searching for information.
Useful Databases
The following databases / journal collections will be useful for your area of study:
- ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The ABI/INFORM collection contains thousands of business resources worldwide. It includes a wide range of resources, including full-text articles, dissertations, conference papers, reports, and newspapers.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
- US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
US Newsstream allows you to search content across multiple US news databases. The coverage runs from 1980-present day, and includes access to major publications such as the Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery.
Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk. Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library provides an international mix of scholarly, professional, and consumer periodicals that cover over 150 subjects, including business, the sciences, medical, technology, literature, the arts, and history.
The content of this collection is searchable in Discovery. Access to this collection is provided by the University of Suffolk.
Users may be redirected to the standard UoS authentication screen after clicking the above link; please enter your S number (e.g., S123456) and password.
- TRIP Medical Database This link opens in a new window
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence.
The content on this collection is not searchable in Discovery.
You can access free content without an account but you can create a free account to save searches and sign up for email alerts.
