Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks - Reference Management: Using Write-N-Cite for Microsoft Word to Write and Format Your Paper

Welcome to the RefWorks guide. This page will help you with using Write-N-Cite to write and format your paper.

Need help?

Have questions regarding RefWorks?

Answers to questions about referencing can be found here.  If you need further help please book an appointment with an appropriated adviser here.

Support hours are:

Monday – Friday: 8:30 am – 5:00 pm

You can also contact learning services by email learningservices@uos.ac.uk

Installing Write-N-Cite

Instructions for Installing Write-N-Cite:

Note can only installed on users own PCs or Laptops

Using Write-N-Cite to Write and Format Your Paper 

Write-N-Cite is a utility that allows users to run an abbreviated version of  RefWorks in Microsoft Word. You can access your references by folder (or sub-folder), by quick search or by all references with the ability to sort by author, title or year.

With Write-N-Cite, you can cite references in a manuscript with just a click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography.  The utility installs a RefWorks tab in the MS Word ribbon or you can access it from the References tab in Microsoft Word.

Working online or offline is seamless – no need to be connected to the internet – and you can share documents between the Windows and Mac versions of Write-N-Cite seamlessly.

Information on getting started with Write-N-Cite is listed below and the functionality applies to both online and offline usage.

Write-N-Cite Compatibility and System Requirements

Windows Operating System
  • Windows XP or later (including Vista, Windows 7,8 and 10)
  • 256 MB of RAM
  • 20 MB of available hard-disk space
  • Internet connectivity (for downloading of tool and periodic database synchronization)
Mac Operating System
  • OS X 10.6, 10.7, 10.8, 10.9 & 10.10 (Snow Leopard, Lion, Mountain Lion, Mavericks, Yosemite and El Capitan)
  • Mac OX 10.9 and 10.10 users must download Java 6 from Apple's support site replacing any previously installed versions:   http://support.apple.com/kb/dl1572

Compatibility


Write-N-Cite is compatible with Microsoft® Word for Windows 2007, 2010 and 2013 (locally installed versions only) or later and Microsoft Word 2008 and 2011 for Mac.

Working with Write-N-Cite

You can get started with Write-N-Cite easily and view the formatting of your in-text citations, footnotes and bibliography – all while you are writing your paper.

To get started

  • Click "RefWorks” in your MS Word ribbon to launch Write-N-Cite
  • Select an output style
  • Insert in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography
  • Save your paper


 Step 1. Launch Write-N-Cite

Note:  The first time you launch Write-N-Cite, you must be connected to the internet in order to log in to your RefWorks library and sync it with Write-N-Cite.

Tip:  In most cases, there is no need to log out of Write-N-Cite when you are not using it.  If you are using Write-N-Cite on a public computer without a personal login, you should log out of Write-N-Cite when you complete your work.  If someone does gain access to a system with your RefWorks library logged in to Write-N-Cite, they will not be able to change anything in your account since Write-N-Cite doesn’t have any features to edit your items.

Logging In To Write-N-Cite:

1. Click RefWorks from the Microsoft Word ribbon. 

A screenshot of the Microsoft Word ribbon, with a box highlighting RefWorks.

2. Click Log In.
A screenshot of the RefWorks menu in Word, with a box highlighting the Log In button.

 3. Click "Flow" and then enter your email address and Flow password and click "Login".
A screenshot of the Login dialogue box.

The first time you log in to Write-N-Cite, it will automatically “sync” with your RefWorks library.  This may take a few seconds. It is downloading your references and collections.  Any time you make changes to your RefWorks items you can click Sync my Database your new and edited items will be added to Write-N-Cite.

During this period, you can still access all of Word’s functionality, but the Write-N-Cite functions will not become active until syncing has finished.

Step 2.  Selecting Your Output Style

The first thing you will want to do is select an output style for your document.  Any in-text citations or footnotes and your bibliography will be displayed in your document while you write your paper – in the output style you have selected.  You can always change the style later if you need to.

1. Click the Style drop down. You will see a list of RefWorks' recent styles.

2. Click on the style name.

3. You can change your output style and the formatting of your paper at any time by clicking on another Style in the list and selecting a new output style. Access to other Styles can be gained by using Select Other Style at the bottom of the list.
A screenshot of the RefWorks menu with an arrow highlighting the Style drop-down menu.


Step 3.  Write Your Paper and Inserting Citations or Footnotes and Your Bibliography

Note:  You may want to sync your RefWorks library with Write-N-Cite if you have recently added items you want to use in your paper.  Click the Sync my database icon to download new or updated items.

When you are ready to insert an in-text citation or footnote into your paper:

1.  Click the Insert Citation and Insert New option to launch the insert/edit citation box.  If you have previously used Write-N-Cite, you may see some recently selected citations listed above the Insert New option.   You can select citations displayed from this list or access all your references from the Insert New option. 
A screenshot of the RefWorks menu in Word with an arrow highlighting the Insert Citation: Insert New option.

2. Once the Insert/Edit Citation box displays, you can access your items by Collection or by searching.  The Search box will search every field. You can use “AND” and “OR” when using the search box.     
A screenshot of the Insert/Edit Citation box with an arrow highlighting a folder and box highlighting the search bar.


Tip: Use the horizontal scroll bar to see the full title.  Right-click on the item and select Show Full Reference Detail to display all fields of information (file attachments are not displayed).
A screenshot of the Insert/Edit Citation window with an arrow highlighting the Show Full Reference Detail option.

 
Full Reference View:
A screenshot of the Full Reference Data window.

3.  Click on the item you wish to insert into your paper.  You will see a preview of the formatted citation in your current Output Style.
A screenshot of the Insert/Edit Citation window with a square highlighting Preview Citation.

Tip:  Add more references to the citation using the plus icon, remove them by using the minus icon, or reorder the references with the up and down arrows in the Compose Citation area.
A screenshot of the Compose Citation area with an arrow highlighting buttons for adding more citations and arrows for reordering citations.

4. Click OK to insert your formatted citation into your paper.

5. To insert a footnote instead of an in-text citation, click the Make Footnote checkbox in the Edit References area.  Once you make a footnote and finish editing the citation, you will not be able to undo this action.  However, you can always add a new in-text citation.
A screenshot of the Insert/Edit Citation window with an arrow highlighting the ticked Make Footnote option and a square highlighting the Preview Citation area.

6. You can insert your bibliography anywhere in your paper while you are writing.  Click Bibliography Options, Insert Bibliography.  Note: the bibliography will be inserted wherever the cursor is in your paper. 
A screenshot of the RefWorks menu in Word with an arrow highlighting the Bibliography Options: Insert Bibliography menu.

A screenshot of a bibliography inserted into a word document.

You can click Remove Bibliography and re-insert if it you need to change the location.
A screenshot of the RefWorks menu in Word with an arrow highlighting the Bibliography Options: Remove Bibliography menu.

Step 4. Save your formatted paper (you should really save it periodically while you are writing!).