The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs by
Fully revised with the requirements of the 2014 new SEN Code of Practice, this second edition of The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs shows teachers, SENCOs and students in teacher training how to respond to the rapidly changing context of special education. This highly practical and accessible text unlocks the often confusing field of special education provision in schools today by: Summarising and clarifying new policy directions as they emerge, in light of the new SEN Code of Practice Suggesting clear, practical activities to bring the theory to life, helping practitioners to review and reflect upon their work; Encouraging critical reflection about existing systems within the school context, considering whether these will remain appropriate and ¿fit for purpose¿; Giving opportunities for teachers, SENCOs and senior leaders to contextualise the new changes in terms of the implications for practice in their own school. Including a new chapter on Using Technologies to Support the Development of Inclusive Practices, this text is packed with activities, case studies and points for reflection. It will help the teacher, SENCO, senior leader or advisor to make sense of the rapid pace of change of policy and terminology related to SEN and supports readers in a positive way, emphasising the exciting opportunities that these changes will provide for developing new, innovative and creative working practices. This book will also be essential reading for all SENCOs completing the National Award for SEN Coordination.
The SEN Handbook for Trainee Teachers, NQTs and Teaching Assistants by
Accessibly written with the needs of trainee teachers and Higher Level Teaching Assistants in mind, this new edition of Wendy Spooner's popular SEN Handbookprovides an up-to-the-minute introduction to key issues. Student teachers and teaching assistants will find the case studies and vignettes invaluable as they bring these issues to life, and present important opportunities for reflection on how these issues relate to practice. Core standards for teachers, QTS and HLTA qualifications are highlighted enabling the reader to understand exactly what is expected of them - and how to achieve it. Coverage includes: self-assessment of your own attitudes towards SEN issues legal definitions and current legislation and guidance identification, assessment and support for children with SENs across the Key Stages issues of inclusion and exclusion a range of teaching approaches and strategies school-based training and SEN issues that may arise further reading, websites and resources lists. Practical and comprehensive, this is an invaluable resource for all teaching professionals working towards providing inclusive learning environments.
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Primary SCITT, have a look at your Subject Guide.
British Educational Research Association BERA encompasses a range of subject disciplines with a strong contingent of educationists with special interests in curriculum, pedagogy, assessment, or management; and those taking either a theoretical, or evaluative or action-research perspective on education. The BERA website offers publications, including ethical guidelines for conducting educational research, good practice guidelines in educational research writing and good conduct charters for educational researchers.
SEND code of practice: 0 to 25 years
TDA (2006) Special educational needs in mainstream schools: A guide for the beginner teacher.
Asperger's Syndrome by
Tony Attwood's guide will assist parents and professionals with the identification, treatment and care of both children and adults with Asperger's Syndrome. The book provides a description and analysis of the unusual characteristics of the syndrome and practical strategies to reduce those that are most conspicuous or debilitating. Beginning with a chapter on diagnosis, including an assessment test, the book covers all aspects of the syndrome from language to social behaviour and motor clumsiness, concluding with a chapter based on the questions most frequently asked by those who come into contact with individuals with this syndrome. Covering the available literature in full, this guide brings together the most relevant and useful information on Asperger's Syndrome, incorporating case studies from the author's own practical experience as a Clinical Psychologist, with examples of, and numerous quotations from people with Asperger's Syndrome.
Special Educational Needs for Newly Qualified Teachers and Teaching Assistants by
This completely revised and updated edition addresses the most recent developments in Special Educational Needs. Essential reading for newly qualified teachers and teaching assistants, Rita Cheminais's classic text now relates to current initiatives including Every Child Matters (ECM) and using personalised learning approaches. Many aspects vital to effective classroom practice are explored, including: the latest Qualified Teacher Status Standards and the Occupational Standards for Supporting Teaching and Learning in Schools recent legislation and key official reports and documents relating to SEN and ECM the effective partnership working with multi-agency practitioners up-to-date tips on how to meet OFSTEDs inspection requirements in relation to pupils well being, attainment and achievement how to evaluate the impact of SEN/additional provision. The book reflects the DCSF/National Strategies Inclusion Development Programme (IDP), and practical tips and strategies are given on how to meet the needs of a diverse range of pupils with additional educational needs (AEN), including: Speech, Language and Communication Needs, Moderate Learning Difficulties, Social Emotional and Behavioural Difficulties, sensory impairments and physical disabilities. Featuring helpful checklists, templates and photocopiable resources to support professional development, this practical resource contains a wealth of valuable advice, as well as signposting to further information. This authoritative text will provide fascinating reading for trainee and newly qualified teachers as well as experienced teachers and teaching assistants. Lecturers in higher education and consultants and advisors in Local Authority Children's Services will also find this book a useful resource.
Dyslexia in the Secondary School by
This book explains why dyslexic students frequently underachieve and demonstrates that adjustments in teaching and learning methods can make all the difference, provided that underlying problems are identified. After reading 'Dyslexia in Secondary School,' teachers will be able to identify children with specific learning problems and know better how to help them with their school work. Examples are based on the curriculum and used to show how to advise students on essay-writing, note taking, memorising vocabulary and reading to remember. Parents and specialist teachers will find that the book helps them translate educational psychologists' theory into practical action. The students themselves will be encouraged to look carefully at how they learn, and, using their strengths rather than their weaknesses, try out alternative strategies. This book contains diagrams, mind maps,and worksheets as well as many ideas for teachers.Focusing as it does on the way we learn, 'Dyslexia in Secondary School' will interest all teachers and students - not just those with specific learning difficulties.
The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs by
Fully revised with the requirements of the 2014 new SEN Code of Practice, this second edition of The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs shows teachers, SENCOs and students in teacher training how to respond to the rapidly changing context of special education. This highly practical and accessible text unlocks the often confusing field of special education provision in schools today by: Summarising and clarifying new policy directions as they emerge, in light of the new SEN Code of Practice Suggesting clear, practical activities to bring the theory to life, helping practitioners to review and reflect upon their work; Encouraging critical reflection about existing systems within the school context, considering whether these will remain appropriate and ¿fit for purpose¿; Giving opportunities for teachers, SENCOs and senior leaders to contextualise the new changes in terms of the implications for practice in their own school. Including a new chapter on Using Technologies to Support the Development of Inclusive Practices, this text is packed with activities, case studies and points for reflection. It will help the teacher, SENCO, senior leader or advisor to make sense of the rapid pace of change of policy and terminology related to SEN and supports readers in a positive way, emphasising the exciting opportunities that these changes will provide for developing new, innovative and creative working practices. This book will also be essential reading for all SENCOs completing the National Award for SEN Coordination.
Special educational needs, inclusion and diversity 3rd ed. by 
Key Issues in Special Educational Needs and Inclusion by
This is probably one of the most accessible books I have read lately in relation to SEN and Inclusion, and I intend to make it an essential core text for my inclusion module. It would be very accessible to students who are relatively new to the theoretical aspects behind the idea or concept of inclusion′ - EsCalate Complex and diverse, special educational needs and inclusion can be a difficult area of study to approach for undergraduate students. Understanding the current context of SEN and inclusion means getting to grips with an often perplexing mix of social, political, ideological, educational and personal perspectives. This book explores and critically examines the field, providing a detailed introduction to the topic for students - helping them to develop understanding, without assuming any prior knowledge. Part One defines the concepts of SEN and disability and how the concepts have been defined through ideological models that have developed over time. It examines provision for SEN across the UK, and looks at how attitudes of teachers, parents and children have affected inclusion. Part Two explores the historical development of SEN internationally, including a comparative look at legislation and practice in England and a number of other countries. The third part details how SEN practice in England works, including the Every Child Matters agenda and the roles and responsibilities of education, health and social care professionals. Each chapter includes short case studies, points for reflection, student activities and suggestions for further reading.
Special Teaching for Special Children? by
"I recommend this book as an important contribution to the debate on pedagogy in special education. It is largely well written and informative and rich with ideas and opinions." Educational Review What, if anything, is 'special' about teaching children with special or exceptional learning needs? This book addresses this question, looking at pupils' special learning needs including low attainment, learning difficulties, language difficulties, emotional and behavioural problems and sensory needs. Some special needs groups (for example dyslexia) have argued strongly for the need for particular specialist approaches. In contrast, many proponents of inclusion have argued that 'good teaching is good teaching for all' and that all children benefit from similar approaches. Both positions fail to scrutinise this issue rigorously and coherently, and it is this aspect which distinguishes this book. Leading researchers in each special needs field defend and critique a conceptual analysis of teaching strategies used with particular learner groups with special educational needs. Summaries by the editors after each chapter link pedagogic strategies, knowledge and curriculum to key points from the chapter and pave the way for discussion. This book is indispensable reading for students, policy makers, researchers and professionals in the field of special educational needs and inclusion. Shortlisted for the TES / NASEN Book Awards 2005
Teaching Children and Young People with Special Educational Needs and Disabilities by
All teachers are expected to have a clear understanding of the needs of all pupils and be able to use and evaluate distinctive teaching approaches to engage and support their entire class. But how do you actually teach and work with young people in an inclusive way?This book is your ultimate guide with chapters on: Your first day in a specialist provision Teaching, Planning and Assessment Working in partnership As well as material on specific conditions which covers all areas of exceptionality. This book gives you the knowledge and practical advice you really need to help you teach children from 0-25 with special educational needs and disabilities.
The SEND Code of Practice 0-25 Years by
Considering it for your course reading list? Lecturers can order their e-inspection copy herenbsp;today! How have you found the changes brought about by the new SEND Code of Practice: 0-25 years (2014)? This book is the ultimate guide to making sure that you are not only meeting the requirements, but are improving outcomes for children and young people as well. Written for all professionals working in the field, it covers: · The broader Children and Families Act (2014) · The role of the local authority · Guidance on all the key changes that school leaders, SENCO′s, and staff are concerned about · Case studies of settings across the 0-25 age range, including maintained schools, academies, free schools, and specialist and alternative provision. Whether you work in education, health, or social care, or are training to do so, this book will genuinely improve your provision and practice for children and young people with SEND.