Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Learning Theories Simplified by Are you struggling to get your head around John Dewey's educational pragmatism? What exactly is Jean Piaget saying about cognitive development? Maybe you're running out of time and patience making sense of Carol Dweck's mindsets? Have you reached breaking point reading Daniel T. Willingham on educational neuroscience? Written for busy teachers, trainers, managers and students, this dip-in dip-out guide makes theories of learning accessible and practical. It explores over 100 classic and contemporary learning theorists in an easy-to-use, bite-sized format with clear relevant illustrations on how each theory will benefit your teaching and learning. Each model or theory is explained in less than 350 words, many with accompanying diagrams, and the 'how to use it' sections, in less than 500 words. Every entry includes: Do it steps in order to apply the theory or model Reflection points & challenges to develop your understanding of how to apply it Analogies & metaphors from which understanding and meaning can be drawn Tips for the classroom Further reading if you want to explore a theory in greater depth.
Call Number: 370.1523 BAT
Publication Date: 2015
Contemporary Theories of Learning by In this definitive collection of today's most influential learning theorists, sixteen world-renowned experts present their understanding of what learning is and how human learning takes place. Professor Knud Illeris has collected chapters that explain both the complex frameworks in which learning takes place and the specific facets of learning, such as the acquisition of learning content, personal development, and the cultural and social nature of learning processes. Each international expert provides either a seminal text or an entirely new précis of the conceptual framework they have developed over a lifetime of study. Elucidating the key concepts of learning, Contemporary Theories of Learning provides both the perfect desk reference and an ideal introduction for students. It will prove an authoritative guide for researchers and academics involved in the study of learning, and an invaluable resource for all those dealing with learning in daily life and work. It provides a detailed synthesis of current learning theories... all in the words of the theorists themselves. nbsp;nbsp; The theories of Knud Illeris Peter Jarvis Robert Kegan Yrjö Engeström Bente Elkjaer Jack Mezirow Howard Gardner Peter Alheit John Heron Mark Tennant Jerome Bruner Robin Usher Thomas Ziehe Jean Lave Etienne Wenger Danny Wildemeersch & Veerle Stroobants In their own words
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009-01-22
Approaches to Learning by Gathers together the theoretical approaches informing the modern principles and practices of western education. This book provides an overview of some major theoretical approaches and considers their implications for policy and practice. It is useful as an introductory course text for university education and teacher training programmes.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2008
Perspectives on Learning by Rather than simply outlining the classical and modern theories of learning, this widely adopted text brings the material to life through case studies that engage students in debates about what really happens in classrooms. Students are encouraged to test the strengths and weaknesses of each theory so that, ultimately, they will learn to formulate their own philosophies of teaching and learning. The new Fifth Edition of Perspectives on Learning features: A discussion of common sense and learning theories. A new chapter on Transfer of Learning. Consideration of recent developments in brain science. A thoroughly updated list of Recommendations for Further Reading. Perspectives on Learning is one of the five books in the highly regarded Teachers College Press Thinking About Education Series, now in its Fifth Edition. All of the books in this series are designed to help pre- and in-service teachers bridge the gap between theory and practice. Table of Contents: Acknowledgements A Note to the Instructor Chapter 1 INTRODUCTION Learning The Teacher''s Responsibility The Variety of Theories An Objection: We Don''t Need Theories, Just Common Sense The Plan of the Book Chapter 2 CLASSICAL THEORIES Plato''s Theory of Learning Case One The Lockean Atomistic Model Case 2 A Critique Case Three Chapter 3 BEHAVIORISM Classical Conditioning Operant Conditioning Case One B. F. Skinner Strengths and Weaknesses Case Two Chapter 4 PROBLEM SOLVING, INSIGHT, AND ACTIVITY The Gestalt Approach Case One The Inquiring Organism The Mind of the Learner Chapter 5 PIAGETIAN STRUCTURES AND PSYCHOLOGICAL CONSTRUCTIVISM Development of Cognitive Structures The Principles of Construction Case One Some Critical Issues Guidelines for Educators Constructivist Approaches to Learning After Piaget Chapter 6 SOCIAL ASPECTS OF LEARNING Social Influences on the "Piagetian Child" John Dewey Case One Vygotsky and Others Case Two Case Three Situated Cognition and Legitimate Peripheral Participation in Communities of Practice Culture and Learning Chapter 7 COGNITIVE STRUCTURES AND DISCIPLINARY STRUCTURES Maps and Organizers An Exercise The Structure of Disciplines Bruner, Schwab, and Hirst An Evaluation Chapter 8 TRANSFER OF LEARNING Case One Related Notions: Mental and Formal Discipline Case Two Further Clarification and Examples Case Three Case Four: An Early Empirical Study Where Do We Stand Today Chapter 9 THE COGNITIVE SCIENCE APPROACH Models: Pros and Cons The Heuristic Value for Researchers The Heuristic Value for Teachers Some Deficiencies of the Computer Model Understanding, Meaning, and the "Chinese Room" An Exercise Case One: Benny''s Mathematics Plato and the Mind Chapter 10 ARGUMENTS AND ISSUES The Relation of Learning Theory to Teaching Different Kinds of Learning? A Starting Place for Learning Learning and Behavior Change The Scientific Status of Gestalt and Behaviorist Theories Different Teaching-Learning Strategies Teaching, Learning, and Stages of Development Learning to Read Learning Facts and Structures Learning Responsibility Learning Theory and Artificial Intelligence Learning to Balance Chemical Equations The Evaluation of Verbal and Skill Learning Learning the Meaning of Adding Learning Shakespeare Culture and Learning Individualized Learning A Problem with Multiple Theories of Learning References, Notes, and Further Reading Annotated Bibliography
Call Number: 370.15 PHI + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Ways of Learning by While most teachers are skilled in providing opportunities for the progression of children¿s learning, it is sometimes without fully understanding the theory behind it. With greater insight into what is currently known about the processes of learning and about individual learners, teachers are better equipped to provide experiences and situations that are more likely to lead to effective acquisition of knowledge, concepts and skills. Ways of Learning has been widely used and now, fully updated, it seeks to provide further insight into the ways in which learning takes place, which teachers can make use of in their planning and teaching, including: ¿ an overview of learning ¿ behaviourism and the beginning of theory ¿ cognitive and constructivist learning ¿ multiple intelligences and learning styles ¿ difficulties with learning ¿ the influence of neuropsychology ¿ other theories, philosophies and names ¿ relating theory to practice. The fourth edition of this book includes developments in areas covered in the preceding editions, as well as expanding on certain topics to bring about a wider perspective; most notably, a new consideration of learning styles and a new chapter detailing important thinkers and writers from the history of education and their continuing influence along with other theories, ideas and thoughts not included in the rest of the book. The book also reflects changes in government policy and is closely related to new developments in practice. Written for trainee teachers, serving teachers and others interested in learning for various reasons, Ways of Learning serves as a valuable introduction for students setting out on higher degree work who are in need of an introduction to the topic.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-09-19
Can't find what you're looking for?
If you can't find the resource that you're looking for, why not refer to your Library at your SCITT Training Centre?
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Primary SCITT, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Understanding and Using Educational Theories by " I expect that this book will equip and inspire students to engage first-hand with the texts of these creative and influential educational writers."-David Aldridge, Programme Lead: Professional Education, Oxford Brookes University If you're training to teach or studying education a clear understanding of major educational theories and the thinkers behind them is essential in order to appreciate how different practices impact on learning. This textbook gives you a clear overview of the most influential twentieth and twenty-first century thinkers on education, including established names (including Vygotsky, Bruner, Dewey), more recent writers (such as Freire, Kolb, Claxton) and many other important theorists whose writings have helped shaped our views on teaching and learning. Each chapter includes: Practical examples showing how theories can be used to inform classroom teaching Critiques of each theorist exploring opposing viewpoints and the strengths and weaknesses of different ideas Reflective tasks inviting you to apply what you've read to your own educational experiences
Call Number: 370.1 AUB
Publication Date: 2015
The Acquisition and Retention of Knowledge: A cognitive view by In 1963 an initial attempt was made in my The Psychology of Meaningful Verbal Learning to present a cognitive theory of meaningful as opposed to rote verbal learning. It was based on the proposition that the acquisition and retention of knowl#65533; edge (particularly of verbal knowledge as, for example, in school, or subject-matter learning) is the product of an active, integrative, interactional process between instructional material (subject matter) and relevant ideas in the leamer's cognitive structure to which the new ideas are relatable in particular ways. This book is a full-scale revision of my 1963 monograph, The Psychology of Meaningful Verbal Learning, in the sense that it addresses the major aforementioned and hitherto unmet goals by providing for an expansion, clarification, differentiation, and sharper focusing of the principal psychological variables and processes involved in meaningful learning and retention, i.e., for their interrelationships and interactions leading to the generation of new meanings in the individual learner. The preparation of this new monograph was largely necessitated by the virtual collapse of the neobe#65533; havioristic theoretical orientation to learning during the previous forty years; and by the meteoric rise in the seventies and beyond of constructivist approaches to learning theory.
Call Number: 370.1523 PRI
Publication Date: 2010
Learning Theories in Childhood by Focusing on the early philosophies of learning and key behavioural, cognitive, and social theorists, including Locke, Rousseau, Montessori, Piaget, Vygotsky, Bandura, Bronfenbrenner & Bruner, this popular book provides a comprehensive overview of children's learning. The authors highlight the strengths and weaknesses of each theoretical perspective, and encourage reflection on how different approaches impact on the learning environment. The discussion finishes with an exploration of the new sociology of childhood. New to this Second Edition are: #65533; a new chapter on 'What is theory and what is learning? #65533; a new chapter on 'The Changing nature of learning' There is also a new companion website which features: #65533; journal articles to read alongside each chapter #65533; podcasts from the authors explaining the key points on each topic #65533; links to video material discussing key theories and methods. You can access the books online materials at study.sagepub.com/grayandmacblain2e Accessibly written, with key questions and recommended reading included, this book is essential for all those studying on child development, early childhood and childhood studies courses, and for anyone interested in understanding more about how children learn and think. Colette Gray is Head of Research Development and Principal Lecturer in Childhood Studies at Stanmillis University College, Belfast, and Sean MacBlain is Reader in Child Development and Disability at the University of St. Mark & St. John, Plymouth. For access to the website
Call Number: 370.1523 GRA
Publication Date: 2015
Vygotsky and Pedagogy by The Routledge Classic Edition of Daniels' influential 2001 text Vygotsky and Pedagogy explores the growing interest in Vygotsky and the pedagogic implications of the body of work that is developing under the influence of his theories. With a new preface from Harry Daniels this book explores the growing interest in Vygotsky and the pedagogic implications of the body of work that is developing under the influence of his theories. It provides an overview of the ways in which the original writing has been extended and identifies areas for future development. The author considers how these developments are creating new and important possibilities for the practices of teaching and learning in school and beyond, and illustrates how Vygotskian theory can be applied in the classroom. The book is intended for students and academics in education and the social sciences and will be of interest to all those who wish to develop an analysis of pedagogic practice within and beyond the field of education.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2016-03-02
Theories of Childhood by Understand theories of childhood to make your days with children smoother, your job easier, and your program stronger. This best-selling resource provides clear, straightforward introductions to the foundational theories of John Dewey, Maria Montessori, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget, and Lev Vygotsky. Each chapter highlights a theorist’s work and includes insight on how the theory impacts teaching young children today. Discussion questions and suggested readings are included to help you gain an understanding of what it means to apply each theory to your work with children. Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: Builds the bridge between theory and best practices in early childhood education Supports your genuine enjoyment with children by helping you understand more about the ways they grow and learn Includes new understandings of Vygotsky’s work Applies the five theories to the realities of the twenty-first century Carol Garhart Mooney has been an early childhood educator for more than forty years. She is also the author of Theories of Attachment, Use Your Words, and Swinging Pendulums.
Call Number: 372.21 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
Mind in Society by The great Russian psychologist L. S. Vygotsky has long been recognized as a pioneer in developmental psychology. But somewhat ironically, his theory of development has never been well understood in the West. Mind in Society should correct much of this misunderstanding. Carefully edited by a group of outstanding Vygotsky scholars, the book presents a unique selection of Vygotsky's important essays, most of which have previously been unavailable in English.The Vygotsky who emerges from these pages can no longer be glibly included among the neobehaviorists. In these essays he outlines a dialectical-materialist theory of cognitive development that anticipates much recent work in American social science. The mind, Vygotsky argues, cannot be understood in isolation from the surrounding society. Man is the only animal who uses tools to alter his own inner world as well as the world around him. From the handkerchief knotted as a simple mnemonic device to the complexities of symbolic language, society provides the individual with technology that can be used to shape the private processes of mind. In Mind in Society Vygotsky applies this theoretical framework to the development of perception, attention, memory, language, and play, and he examines its implications for education. The result is a remarkably interesting book that is bound to renew Vygotsky's relevance to modem psychological thought.
Call Number: 155.413 VYG
Publication Date: 1980-10-15
Teaching Primary English by Teaching Primary English is a comprehensive, evidence-informed introduction designed to support and inspire teaching and learning in the primary school. Written in a clear and accessible way, it draws on the very latest research and theory to describe and exemplify a full and rich English curriculum. It offers those on teacher training courses, as well as qualified teachers who are looking to develop their practice, subject knowledge and guidance for effective, enjoyable classroom practice. Advice and ideas are supported by explicit examples of good teaching linked to video clips filmed in real schools, reflective activities, observational tasks and online resources. Each chapter includes suggestions for great children#65533;s literature, considers assessment throughout and offers support planning for diversity and special educational needs. Key topics covered include: spoken language for teaching and learning storytelling, drama and role play reading for pleasure early reading, including phonics poetry writing composition spelling and handwriting grammar and punctuation responding to and assessing writing multimodal, multimedia and digital texts. With a focus on connecting all modes of English, the global and the local, and home and school experience, this detailed, uplifting book will support you in developing a curious, critical approach to teaching and learning English. Additional content can be found on the fantastic supporting website. Features include: video clips from within the classroom to demonstrate English teaching techniques audio resources, including an interactive quiz, to check understanding and provide real-life examples and case studies downloadable resources to support teaching and incorporate into lesson plans.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017-12-05
The Theory and Practice of Learning by Learning is among the most basic of human activities. The study of learning, and research into learning is becoming a central part of educational studies. This is a comprehensive introduction to contemporary theories and modern practices of learning. Updated and expanded, this second edition should be of interest to teachers, facilitators, human resource developers and students of education. The contents cover: lifelong learning; the social background to learning; cognitivist theory; types of learning; learning using ICT; and philosophical reflections on learning.
Call Number: 371.3 JAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Behaviour for Learning by Behaviour for Learning offers teachers a clear conceptual framework for making sense of the many behaviour management strategies on offer, allowing them to make a critical assessment about their appropriateness and effectiveness in the classroom. Teachers need to be asking themselves the question "How can I improve a child#65533;s learning?" rather than "How can I get them to behave?" The authors present a unique focus on the relationships which underpin learning, placing an emphasis on the development of #65533;learning behaviours#65533;, and endorses OFSTED#65533;s view that it is essential to evaluate the efficacy of behaviour management against progress in learning. Essentially, this book will help teachers: decide what strategy is best for individuals in their classroom be aware of the evidence / theoretical base that underpins that strategy use be able to evaluate the effectiveness of that strategy. Located within emerging agendas for improved individual holistic outcomes and increased partnership working, this book seeks to synthesise the practical with the theoretical. Authoritative and timely, Behaviour for Learning is compelling reading for all trainees and practicing teachers, CPD coordinators and other professionals working with challenging pupils.
Call Number: 370.1528 ELL
Publication Date: 2009
Managing Pupil Behaviour by Why are some teachers and student teachers better at managing pupil behaviour than others? What are the factors which make a difference to classroom climate? Can any teacher or student teacher become accomplished at managing pupil behaviour? Managing Pupil Behaviour provides routes through the classroom management maze to help practising and aspiring teachers learn to manage behaviour effectively in their classrooms. Using a unique 10-point scale, it encourages teachers to think about the degree to which they are relaxed and in assured control of their classrooms and can enjoy their teaching. Drawing on the views of over 140 teachers and 700 pupils, it provides insights into the factors which enable teachers to manage learning effectively in their classrooms, so that pupils can learn and achieve, and teachers can enjoy their work. Key issues explored include the factors that influence the working atmosphere in the classroom, the impact of that atmosphere on teaching and learning, and tensions around inclusive practice and situations where some pupils may be spoiling the learning of others. This new edition has been fully updated to take account of recent research and inspection findings and includes a new chapter exploring the wide range of sophisticated skills that expert teachers deploy in order to get pupils to want to learn, and to enable teachers to work in classrooms where the climate is perfect for learning. Managing Pupil Behaviour will help all teachers ensure 'the right to learn' for all the pupils in their care and to think about different ways to approach this vitally important aspect of their working lives.
Call Number: 371.1024 HAY
Publication Date: 2012
The Behaviour Guru by Teaching isn't all about teaching; new teachers quickly realise that they need to be lion tamers too. Controlling a class isn't something that comes naturally to everyone - but it can be learned. This no-nonsense guide tells teachers what the teacher training didn't, and offers instant strategies for dealing with the most common, and extreme, classroom scenarios. Using his experiences of teaching in inner-city schools, as Behaviour Guru on the TES advice forum and working as a nightclub bouncer, Tom Bennett helps teachers, old and new, to assert their authority in the classroom.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2010
What If It Happens in My Classroom? by Why can#65533;t I stop my students from being noisy as they leave my classroom? What can I do when a student is texting on their phone in my lesson? How can I stop a student from constantly tapping their pen while I am talking? Sound familiar? Chewing gum, dropping litter, swearing, late homework and disruptive behaviour in class are just a few of the issues that teachers have to face every day in the classroom. How you choose to respond to these incidents, however minor they may first seem, can have a dramatic impact on the overall quality of your lessons. There is no one answer to behaviour and classroom management as different approaches have to be taken depending on the lesson, the groups of students and even the time of day. This highly practical book guides you through the choices that you need to make when confronted with the sorts of issues that you might face in your classroom. Dealing with the nitty gritty reality of behaviour management, it covers the common problems teachers encounter on a day to day basis and provides a series of realistic and practical solutions and their likely outcomes. Placing you at the centre of the decision making process, it allows you to experiment with a range of options in a reflective and engaging manner to see which of your choices may work and why others may not. This scenario based approach not only lets you explore the various options available to you, but also enables you to see the consequence of your actions. Written by an experienced teacher, this fun and interactive book is essential reading for all trainee and qualified teachers who want a fresh approach to behaviour management in their classrooms.
Call Number: 371.1024 SID + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Actual Minds, Possible Worlds by In this characteristically graceful and provocative book, Jerome Bruner, one of the principal architects of the cognitive revolution, sets forth nothing less than a new agenda for the study of mind. According to Professor Bruner, cognitive science has set its sights too narrowly on the logical, systematic aspects of mental life--those thought processes we use to solve puzzles, test hypotheses, and advance explanations. There is obviously another side to the mind--a side devoted to the irrepressibly human acts of imagination that allow us to make experience meaningful. This is the side of the mind that leads to good stories, gripping drama, primitive myths and rituals, and plausible historical accounts. Bruner calls it the "narrative mode," and his book makes important advances in the effort to unravel its nature. Drawing on recent work in literary theory, linguistics, and symbolic anthropology, as well as cognitive and developmental psychology Professor Bruner examines the mental acts that enter into the imaginative creation of possible worlds, and he shows how the activity of imaginary world making undergirds human science, literature, and philosophy, as well as everyday thinking, and even our sense of self. Over twenty years ago, Jerome Bruner first sketched his ideas about the mind's other side in his justly admired book On Knowing: Essays for the Left Hand. Actual Minds, Possible Worlds can be read as a sequel to this earlier work, but it is a sequel that goes well beyond its predecessor by providing rich examples of just how the mind's narrative mode can be successfully studied. The collective force of these examples points the way toward a more humane and subtle approach to the investigation of how the mind works.
Call Number: 153.3 BRU + eBook
Publication Date: 1987
An Introduction to Vygotsky by Lev Vygotsky provided the twentieth century with an enticing mix of intellectual traditions within an attempt to provide an account of the social formation of the mind. His legacy is an exciting, but at times chaotic fusion of ideas. An Introduction to Vygotsky, Second Edition provides students with an accessible overview of his work, combining reprints of key journal and text articles with editorial commentary and helpful suggestions for further reading. Harry Daniels considers the evolution of Vygotsky's work against a backdrop of political turmoil in the developing USSR. Major elements discussed include the use of the "culture" concept in social development theory and the implications of Vygotsky's theories for teaching, learning and assessment. This second edition is revised and up-dated to provide a refreshing introduction to Vygotsky's work and the multi-disciplinary contribution he has made to twentieth century intellectual life. Academics and students at all levels will find this an essential key source of information.
Call Number: 150.92 DAN + eBook
Publication Date: 2005
Psychology for the Classroom by Psychology for the Classroom: Constructivism and Social Learning provides a lively introduction to the much debated topics of talk and group collaboration in classrooms, and the development of interactive approaches to teaching. The authors provide a background to research in constructivist and social learning theory, offering a broad and practical analysis which focuses on contemporary issues and strategies, including the use of e-learning and multimedia. Throughout the book theory is linked with its practical implications for everyday teaching and learning and chapters incorporate: the history of constructivist and social learning theory and key thinkers pedagogical implications practical strategies for the classroom constructivist theory and e-learning. Case studies and vignettes demonstrating best practice are used throughout the text, illustrating how monitored collaboration between learners can result in an effective learning environment where targets are met. Essential reading for practising teachers and students, this book is a valuable guide for those looking to provide effective teaching and learning within a constructivist framework.
Call Number: 370.1523 PRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
, Accounting & Finance
, Business Management
, Childhood & Youth Studies
, Computer Games & Programming
, Early Childhood Studies
, Early Years
, Education/Teacher Training
, Events Management
, Leadership & Custodial Environments
, Leisure and Tourism
, Network Communication Technologies
, PhD Social Sciences
, Professional Studies
, Social Work
, Youth Studies