Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Essential Reading (to purchase)
There are no essential readings for this module.
Can't find what you're looking for?
If you can't find the resource that you're looking for, why not refer to your Library at your SCITT Training Centre?
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Primary SCITT, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Literacy and Social Inclusion by Although social inclusion has been high on government agendas for some years, there have been few attempts at policy level to examine the issues relating to literacy education. Many social and cultural groups feel alienated from traditional models of literacy education and some learners continue to underachieve. This book develops insights into how to address these challenges. Terms such as "social inclusion" and "social exclusion" are defined, explored, and related to literacy education by contributors who are renowned in the field. They deal with issues of literacy and social class, race, gender, language, and sexuality. They offer insights into current concerns in these areas, and they outline curricula and pedagogical approaches which address underachievement and disaffection. The book challenges traditional deficit notions of "at risk" communities and argues that the onus for change needs instead to be at policy level. The book is essential reading for all those concerned with ensuring that literacy education, as inscribed in institutions, meets the needs and interests of all learners and closes the gaps between home, community, and school. The contributors are Viv Bird, Victoria Carrington, Barbara Comber, Julia Davies, Eve Gregory, Gemma Moss, Kate Pahl, Brian Street and Mark Vicars.
Call Number: 302.224 BEA
Publication Date: 2007-02-16
Literacy and Learning Through Talk by This book focuses on the inter-relationship between reading, writing and speaking and listening. Psychologists and educationalists, influenced by the work of Vygotsky, have emphasised the importance of social interaction in learning, and the National Writing, Oracy and LINC Projects highlighted the need for quality interactive pupil discourse and effective teacher-pupil interaction. However, although the DfEE claims that the successful teaching of literacy is characterised by good quality oral work, speaking and listening is not included in the National Literacy Strategy Framework and the Literacy Training Pack does not address the issue. Literacy and Learning through Talk blends theory, research and practice to show how an integrated programme of work can be developed to ensure that literacy is taught in a vibrant and stimulating way. Strategies for developing successful group work and whole class, interactive discourse are examined and effective teaching roles and questioning techniques are explored. Transcripts of group discussions and examples of children's work illustrate various points and work plans and practical classroom activities are described.
Call Number: 372.6 COR
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Call Number: 372.465 LEW + E book
Publication Date: 2006
Primary English by
Call Number: 372.6 WRA + E book
Publication Date: 2008
Teaching English, Language and Literacy by 'This book is comprehensive, up-to-date, critical and authoritative. It is also, above all, well written. It will undoubtedly become standard reading for the next generation of teachers in training and practising teachers will also learn a great deal from dipping into its contents.' - David Wray, Professor of Literacy Education, University of Warwick '[A] well organised and comprehensive guide to the teaching of English and the teaching of language' Margaret Mallett - Emeritus Fellow of The English Association Are you looking for one book that covers every aspect of the teaching of English at primary level? Now fully updated, this third edition of Teaching English, Language and Literacyincludes brand new chapters on children's literature and reading comprehension. Rooted in research evidence and multidisciplinary theory, this book is an essential introduction for anyone learning to teach English from the early years to primary school level. The authors draw on their research, scholarship and practice to offer advice on: developing reading, including choosing texts, and phonics teaching improving writing, including grammar and punctuation language and speaking and listening planning and assessing working effectively with multilingual pupils understanding historical developments in the subject the latest thinking in educational policy and practice the use of multimedia maintaining good home-school links gender and the teaching of English language and literacy All the chapters include clear examples of practice, coverage of key issues, analysis of research, and reflections on national policy to encourage the best possible response to the demands of national curricula. Each chapter also has a glossary to explain terms and gives suggestions for further reading. This book is for all who want to improve teaching English, language and literacy. Designed to help inform the practice of students on teacher training courses, but also of great use to those teachers wanting to keep pace with the latest developments in their specialist subject, this book covers the theory and practice of teaching English, language and literacy.
Call Number: 372.60440941 WYS
Publication Date: 2013-02-20
Primary English by The Sixth Edition of this popular core text provides the essential teaching theory and practice for primary English. It promotes effective teaching through secure pedagogical knowledge, covering the key skills of planning, monitoring and assessment and class management, and relating these specifically to primary English. This Sixth Edition is linked to the 2012 Teachers' Standards. With full coverage of the theory and practice required for effective and creative English teaching, this text is an essential guide for all trainees working towards QTS. Throuhgout, practical guidance and features support trainees to translate this learning to the classroom, embed ICT in their lessons and to understand the wider context of their teaching. Trainees will find it helpful to use this book alongside Primary English Knowledge and Understanding. About the Achieving QTS series All the books in this successful series support trainees through their initial teacher training and guide them in the acquisition of their subject knowledge, understanding and classroom practice. All new titles within the series link to the 2012 Teachers' Standards and take into accont recent changes in Initial Teacher Training. Jane Medwell is an Associate Professor of Education at the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. David Wray is Professor of Literacy Education at the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. Hilary Minns co-ordinates primary English courses in the Institute of Education, University of Warwick. Elizabeth Coates works in the Institute of Education, University of Warwick, where she co-ordinate Early Years courses. Vivienne Griffiths is Professor of Education at Canterbury Christ Church University.
Call Number: 372.60440941
Publication Date: 2012-07-06
Primary English for Trainee Teachers by With chapter sequencing following the new Curriculum, this book supports you to make use of the opportunities presented in the National Curriculum for effective and engaging Primary English teaching. Covering all areas of the new National Curriculum for primary English and offering insight into effective teaching, it helps you connect what you need to teach, to how it can be taught. It opens up the opportunities in the new curriculum for creative and imaginative teaching and covers all areas of children's literacy from poetry and literature to SPAG. Throughout the text, case studies of teaching are used as a starting point for learning and guidance on practical teaching strategies is included in all chapters. A comprehensive guide to the teaching of primary English that will help you secure your subject knowledge and transform your teaching. Includes the full National Curriculum Programme of Study for English, key stages 1 and 2 as a useful reference for trainee teachers. Other books in this series include: Primary Science for Trainee Teachers and Primary Mathematics for Trainee Teachers
Call Number: 372.6044 WAU
Publication Date: 2014-10-11
Primary English: Knowledge and Understanding by The Sixth Edition of this popular core text is the essential subject knowledge book for primary English. Helping trainees to establish and consolidate a secure subject knowledge and understanding of primary English, it promotes the development of confident, creative and effective teachers. This Sixth Edition is linked to the 2012 Teachers' Standards. Providing full coverage of the required subject knowledge for primary English, this is a core text for primary trainees working towards QTS. Self assessment questions enable readers to understand their own level of knowledge and an M level extension feature in all chapters suggests avenues for further study at Masters level. Research summaries include the latest works in primary English and throughout intereactive tasks engage the reader with the text, helping them to link theor and practice. Trainees will find it helpful to use this book alongside Primary English Teaching Theory and Practice. About the Achieving QTS series All the books in this successful series support trainees through their initial teacher training and guide them in the acquisiton of their subject knowledge, understanding and classroom practice. All new titles within the series link to the 2012 Teachers' Standards and take into account recent changes in Initial Teacher Training.
Call Number: 372.60440941 MED
Publication Date: 2012-07-06
, Accounting & Finance
, Business Management
, Childhood & Youth Studies
, Computer Games & Programming
, Early Childhood Studies
, Early Years
, Education/Teacher Training
, Events Management
, Leadership & Custodial Environments
, Leisure and Tourism
, Network Communication Technologies
, PhD Social Sciences
, Professional Studies
, Social Work
, Youth Studies