Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Learning in the Primary Context and Assignment 1 reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Understanding Child Development 0-8 Years by Ensure your students link theory with practice with this updated version of the authoritative and accessible series from Jennie Lindon. Linking Theory and Practice has helped thousands of students make the right connections between their lectures and the real settings that they go on to work in. This latest edition of Reflective Practice and Early Years Professonalism provides a useful overview of the subject in straightforward language that allows novices to access the more complicated concepts. Jennie Lindon's trademark approach provides a trusted and authoritative voice for a wide range of courses, including undergraduate and foundation degrees in Early Years and Early Childhood, PGCEs and BEd programmes. #65533; Provides detailed references for further reading with descriptions of 'key texts' for each chapter #65533; 'Pause for reflection' feature provides numerous opportunities to think about the impact of their own role. #65533; Covers the latest thinking on child development, including topics such as neuroscience.
Call Number: 305.231 LIN
Publication Date: 2016
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Primary Teacher Training, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom, 3rd Edition by "To respect the many differences between people"--this is what Howard Gardner says is the purpose of learning about multiple intelligences (MI) theory, which holds that the human mind is composed of eight intelligences--linguistic, logical-mathematical, spatial, bodily-kinesthetic, musical, interpersonal, intrapersonal, and naturalistic--plus a possible ninth (existential). This updated 3rd edition of Multiple Intelligences in the Classroom, Thomas Armstrong's bestselling practical guide for educators, includes two new chapters that address the worldwide reach of MI and rebut some common criticisms of the theory. This new edition includes updated information and resources throughout the text to help educators at all levels apply MI theory to curriculum development, lesson planning, assessment, special education, cognitive skills, educational technology, career development, educational policy, and more. The book includes dozens of practical tips, strategies, and examples from real schools and districts. Armstrong provides tools, resources, and ideas that educators can immediately use to help students of all ages achieve their fullest potential in life.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Early Childhood Education by Suitable for a wide range of Early Years and Childcare qualifications, this new edition of Tina Bruce's classic text will help build students' practical skills by drawing on the history of Early Years and the most recent educational theories. Now in its 5th edition, this trusted resource written by experienced and respected childcare author Tina Bruce has been updated to include the most recent theories and research, including new studies on language acquisition, attachment theory and self-regulation. Early Childhood Education 5th Edition is the perfect textbook for a wide range of Early Years and Childcare qualifications including BA Hons in Early Years Education and Early Childhood Studies, PGCEs and Foundation Degrees. - Gives a detailed overview of education principles in early childhood, all outlined in Tina Bruce's clear writing style. - Uses case studies to help learners understand how theories apply in real-world settings. - Supported by highly illustrative photographs showing the key aspects of practice
Call Number: 372.21 BRU + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
The Hundred Languages of Children by The city-run early childhood program of Reggio Emilia, Italy, has become recognized and acclaimed as one of the best systems of education in the world. Over the past forty years, educators there have evolved a distinctive innovative approach that supports children's well-being and fosters their intellectual development through a systematic focus on symbolic representation. Young children (from birth to age six) are encouraged to explore their environment and express themselves through many languages, or modes of expression, including words, movement, drawing, painting, sculpture, shadow play, collage, and music. Leading children to surprising levels of symbolic skill and creativity, the system is not private and elite but rather involves full-day child care open to all, including children with disabilities. This new Second Edition reflects the growing interest and deepening reflection upon the Reggio approach, as well as increasing sophistication in adaptation to the American context. Included are many entirely new chapters and an updated list of resources, along with original chapters revised and extended. The book represents a dialogue between Italian educators who founded and developed the system and North Americans who have considered its implications for their own settings and issues. The book is a comprehensive introduction covering history and philosophy, the parent perspective, curriculum and methods of teaching, school and system organization, the use of space and physical environments, and adult professional roles including special education. The final section describes implications for American policy and professional development and adaptations in United States primary, preschool, and child care classrooms.
Call Number: 372.21 EDW + eBook
Publication Date: 1998
Starting from the Child by Starting from the Child supports early years practitioners to be advocates for young children and their learning needs. In the fourth edition of this highly influential and inspirational book, Julie Fisher outlines the important theories and research which should underpin best early years practice. She takes a robust and principled stand against downward pressure to formalise young children’s learning too soon, and offers practical and meaningful ways to develop high quality learning and teaching in the early years. Starting from the Child challenges all early years practitioners to consider: How to build on children’s innate desire to learn and their competence and autonomy as effective early learners How to plan environments indoors and out that make learning irresistible How to plan for high quality child-initiated learning to take place seamlessly alongside learning that is adult-initiated The role of the adult in supporting and extending young children’s learning How daily observation of children informs and underpins planning for their individual and unique learning needs Revised and updated throughout, this fourth edition includes the latest research on early brain development and reference to recent government initiatives including the revised Early Years Foundation Stage. Starting from the Child is essential reading, not only for early years practitioners, but for all those who manage and make decisions about early learning. “In the fourth edition of this book, Julie Fisher once again demonstrates a comprehensive understanding of the history of early childhood education, and the enduring principles that continue to underpin practice. She has skilfully blended these principles with contemporary research and theory in order to provide readers with deep understanding of young children as capable, competent and eager learners. Julie draws on her extensive work with practitioners to present the everyday realities and complexities of their practice, and to sound welcome notes of caution about the ways in which policy frameworks are used. She offers vignettes to illustrate key issues, provocations and challenges to stimulate thinking, and questions to engage readers with contemporary issues and dilemmas. The book also reflects deeply held convictions about the moral and ethical responsibilities we have to teach young children in ways that respect their extraordinary enthusiasm for learning. This book will be invaluable for students of early childhood education, especially those on professional development programmes such as Early Childhood Studies, Early Years Professional Status, and Post Graduate Certificate of Education.” Professor Elizabeth Wood, University of Sheffield, UK “The fourth edition of this classic text has been updated with recent research. This is very helpful in supporting readers but it’s the underpinning philosophy that makes this a continuing classic. The title says it all. Julie takes the reader by the hand and says ‘Look and listen, give these children your full and respectful attention and they will teach you how to be with them.’ All the practical ideas in the book support practitioners in using their skills and knowledge to recognise early childhood as valuable in its own right - to be relished and enjoyed, not to be rushed through or seen merely as preparation for the next stage. We owe it to our children to take heed.” Helen Moylett, Early Years Consultant and writer “Julie Fisher’s work has been a staple of Early Childhood Education since the first edition of Starting from the Child in 1996. Her fourth edition does not disappoint, and is a welcome development of her thinking. She delves in more detail, for example, into brain development, and leads her readers further into the latest scientific thinking on how children learn. She is, as ever, insightful about how adults work with children, with helpful advice about how to observe (and record) children’s learning, and how to plan effectively. Her inclusion of her own latest field work ensures that Julie’s advice on early years practice remains rooted in the everyday, while making accessible a range of theoretical and scientific perspectives. This is a book for students, teachers and other early years workers seeking to find their way through the conflicting needs of a rapidly changing area of work.” Nick Swarbrick, Programme Lead for the Undergraduate Modular Programme in the School of Education, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Call Number: 372.21 FIS + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Teaching Thinking by This fully updated fourth edition of the highly successful guide, Teaching Thinking, explores how to use discussion in the classroom to develop children's thinking, learning and literacy skills. This new edition includes material on the latest trends in teaching thinking, including philosophy for children, dialogic teaching and education for citizenship. The book will help readers from different cultural traditions to critically engage with teaching thinking in schools and other educational contexts. Teaching Thinking is essential reading for anyone seeking to develop children's thinking, build their self-esteem and improve the quality of teaching and learning.
Call Number: 370.152 FIS
Publication Date: 2013
Understanding Early Years Policy by Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Request your e-inspection copy today! 'Baldock et al is a core text for undergraduates and postgraduates interested in the complex and broad implications of Early Years policy and policy-making. This new edition offers insights into domestic and international perspectives on Early Years, and opportunities to increase understandings of how policy is shaped and applied through case studies and reflective exercises.' - Dr. Richard Race, Department of Education, University of Roehampton Fully updated to include all the latest developments in early years policy such as the revised Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), this book explores how policy is made, implemented, analysed and developed over time. There is a complete overview of early years policy, and an evaluation of its ongoing impact on practice. Case studies, points for reflection and activities encourage discussion and critical thinking. This Third Edition has been significantly updated to include: - a new chapter on international early years policy - discussion of the impact of the recession and the Coalition Government's policies - material on how ordinary practitioners can influence policy - a revised timeline of early years legislation. This text is an essential read for early years students at all levels, and early years practitioners. Peter Baldock worked extensively in Early Years education and was chair of the executive committees of two children's chartities based in Sheffield. Damien Fitzgerald and Janet Kay are both Principal Lecturers in Childhood Studies at Sheffield Hallam University.
Call Number: 372.21 BAL
Publication Date: 2013
Theories of Childhood by Understand theories of childhood to make your days with children smoother, your job easier, and your program stronger. This best-selling resource provides clear, straightforward introductions to the foundational theories of John Dewey, Maria Montessori, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget, and Lev Vygotsky. Each chapter highlights a theorist’s work and includes insight on how the theory impacts teaching young children today. Discussion questions and suggested readings are included to help you gain an understanding of what it means to apply each theory to your work with children. Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: Builds the bridge between theory and best practices in early childhood education Supports your genuine enjoyment with children by helping you understand more about the ways they grow and learn Includes new understandings of Vygotsky’s work Applies the five theories to the realities of the twenty-first century Carol Garhart Mooney has been an early childhood educator for more than forty years. She is also the author of Theories of Attachment, Use Your Words, and Swinging Pendulums.
Call Number: 372.21 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Emotional Intelligence; why it can matter more than IQ by Everyone knows that high IQ is no guarantee of success, happiness, or virtue, but until Emotional Intelligence, we could only guess why. Daniel Goleman's brilliant report from the frontiers of psychology and neuroscience offers startling new insight into our "two minds"—the rational and the emotional—and how they together shape our destiny. Through vivid examples, Goleman delineates the five crucial skills of emotional intelligence, and shows how they determine our success in relationships, work, and even our physical well-being. What emerges is an entirely new way to talk about being smart. The best news is that "emotional literacy" is not fixed early in life. Every parent, every teacher, every business leader, and everyone interested in a more civil society, has a stake in this compelling vision of human possibility.
Call Number: 658.314 GOL
Publication Date: 2005
Focus: the hidden drive of Excellence by In Focus, psychologist and journalist Daniel Goleman delves into the science of attention in all its varieties, presenting a long-overdue discussion of this little-noticed and underrated mental asset that matters enormously for how we navigate life. Attention works much like a muscle: use it poorly and it can wither; work it well and it grows. In an era of unstoppable distractions, Goleman persuasively argues that now more than ever we must learn to sharpen focus if we are to contend with, let alone thrive in, a complex world. Goleman analyzes attention research as a threesome: inner, other, and outer focus. He shows why high-performers need all three kinds of focus, as demonstrated by rich case studies from fields as diverse as competitive sports, education, the arts, and business. Those who excel rely on what Goleman calls smart practice that helps them improve habits, add new skills, and sustain excellence. Combining cutting-edge research with practical findings, Focus reveals what distinguishes experts from amateurs and stars from average performers.
Call Number: 153.733 GOL
Publication Date: 2015
Learning Theories in Childhood by Focusing on the early philosophies of learning and key behavioural, cognitive, and social theorists, including Locke, Rousseau, Montessori, Piaget, Vygotsky, Bandura, Bronfenbrenner & Bruner, this popular book provides a comprehensive overview of children's learning. The authors highlight the strengths and weaknesses of each theoretical perspective, and encourage reflection on how different approaches impact on the learning environment. The discussion finishes with an exploration of the new sociology of childhood. New to this Second Edition are: #65533; a new chapter on 'What is theory and what is learning? #65533; a new chapter on 'The Changing nature of learning' There is also a new companion website which features: #65533; journal articles to read alongside each chapter #65533; podcasts from the authors explaining the key points on each topic #65533; links to video material discussing key theories and methods. You can access the books online materials at study.sagepub.com/grayandmacblain2e Accessibly written, with key questions and recommended reading included, this book is essential for all those studying on child development, early childhood and childhood studies courses, and for anyone interested in understanding more about how children learn and think. Colette Gray is Head of Research Development and Principal Lecturer in Childhood Studies at Stanmillis University College, Belfast, and Sean MacBlain is Reader in Child Development and Disability at the University of St. Mark & St. John, Plymouth. For access to the website
Call Number: 370.1523 GRA
Publication Date: 2015
The Psychology of Education by Written in an accessible and engaging style, this second edition of The Psychology of Educationaddresses key concepts from psychology which relate to education. Throughout the text the author team emphasise an evidence-based approach, providing practical suggestions to improve learning outcomes, while fictional case studies are used in this new edition to provide students with a sense of what psychological issues can look like in the classroom. Activities around these case studies give students the chance to think about how to apply their theoretical knowledge to these real-world contexts. 'Key implications' are drawn out at appropriate points, and throughout the book students are provided with strategies for interrogating evidence. Key terms are glossed throughout the book and chapters are summarised and followed by suggestions for further reading. A chapter on Learning interactions and social worlds is new to this edition. The following chapters have all been extensively updated: Learning Assessment Individual differences and achievement Student engagement and motivation The educational context Society and culture Language Literacy Inclusive education and special educational needs Behaviour problems Dealing with behaviour problems. This book is essential reading for undergraduate students of Education Studies and Psychology as well as trainee teachers on BA, BEd and PGCE courses. It will also be of use to postgraduates training to be educational psychologists.
Call Number: 370.15 LON + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Motivation and Personality by A statement on self-actualisation and data. Applications are made to the theories and science of personality, psychotherapy, personal growth and general psychology.
Call Number: 153.8 MAS
Publication Date: 1997
How Children Learn by Understanding How Children Learn is a vital part of working with children. Every child is unique and understanding differences in learning helps all to benefit. This book goes beyond simply understanding the work of key theorists and the various theories of learning to recognise what learning actually looks like and how it is best facilitated in any setting. Each chapter includes: Exercises to help you evaluate your understanding and practice Examples taken from real experiences to illustrate concepts beyond the theory Summaries to help you take the key messages from each chapter Suggestions for further reading to help push your own learning further. Looking at key topics such as brain development, technology in childhood and barriers to learning, this book will explain what learning really is. Why not also have a look at the companion title Learning Theories in Childhood to explore the key learning theories? Sean MacBlain is Reader in Child Development and Disability at the University of St. Mark & St. John, Plymouth.
Call Number: 370.1523 MAC
Publication Date: 2014
Theories and Approaches to Learning in the Early Years by By focusing on key figures in early years education and care, this book considers the influential thinkers and ground-breaking approaches that have revolutionized practice. With contributions from leading authorities in the field, chapters provide an explanation of the approach, an analysis of the theoretical background, case studies, questions and discussion points to facilitate critical thinking. Included are chapters on: - Froebel - Psychoanalytical theories - Maria Montessori - Steiner Waldorf education - High/Scope - Post-modern and post-structuralist perspectives - Forest Schools - Vivian Gussin Paley - Te Whatilderiki Written in an accessible style and relevant to all levels of early years courses, the book has staggered levels of Further Reading that encourage reflection and promotes progression. Linda Miller is Professor Emeritus of Early Years, The Open University Linda Pound is a consultant and author, renowned for her work in early years education and care.
Call Number: 372.21 MIL
Publication Date: 2010
Teaching and Learning - Pedagogy, Curriculum and Culture by Teaching and Learning: Pedagogy, Curriculum and Culture is designed to share important theory with readers in an accessible but sophisticated way. It offers an overview of the key issues and dominant theories of teaching and learning as they impact upon the practice of education professionals in the classroom. This second edition has been updated to take account of significant changes in the field; young people's use of digital technologies, the increasing involvement of world of business in state education, and ongoing high-profile debates about assessment, to name but a few. It examines the global move from traditional subject-and-knowledge based curricula towards skills and problem-solving and discusses how the emphasis on education for citizenship has forced us to reconsider the social functions of education. Central topics also covered include: an assessment of the most influential theorists of learning and teaching the ways in which public educational policy impinges on local practice the nature and role of language and culture in formal educational settings an assessment of different models of 'good teaching' alternative models of curriculum and pedagogy. With questions, points for consideration and ideas for further reading and research throughout, this book delivers discussion and analysis designed to support understanding of classroom interactions and to contribute to improved practice. It will be essential reading for all student teachers, those engaged in professional development, and Education Studies students.
Call Number: 371.102 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Threads of Thinking by In her new edition of this popular book, Cathy Nutbrown presents evidence of continuity and progression in young children's thinking. She shows, with detailed observation, that they are able and active learners. She considers aspects of children's patterns of learning and thinking - or schemas - and demonstrates clearly how children learn in an active, dynamic and creative way. This book makes schema theory explicit in practice. Supported by numerous detailed examples and the discussion of difficult theoretical issues, it illustrates children's learning in areas such as literacy, maths and science. This new edition includes: - discussion on the need for professional development - changes in early years pedagogy - more discussion of theories of learning in relation to curriculum and teaching practices - new examples of children's drawings - new suggestions for using stories to support schemas. Threads of Thinking is for early years practitioners who wish to support and develop children's learning. Professor Cathy Nutbrown is Director of Studies in Early Childhood Education at the University of Sheffield.
Call Number: 372.21 NUT
Publication Date: 2011
Perspectives on Learning by Rather than simply outlining the classical and modern theories of learning, this widely adopted text brings the material to life through case studies that engage students in debates about what really happens in classrooms. Students are encouraged to test the strengths and weaknesses of each theory so that, ultimately, they will learn to formulate their own philosophies of teaching and learning.
Call Number: 370.15 PHI + eBook
Publication Date: 2009
Psychology for the Classroom by Psychology for the Classroom: Constructivism and Social Learning provides a lively introduction to the much debated topics of talk and group collaboration in classrooms, and the development of interactive approaches to teaching. The authors provide a background to research in constructivist and social learning theory, offering a broad and practical analysis which focuses on contemporary issues and strategies, including the use of e-learning and multimedia. Throughout the book theory is linked with its practical implications for everyday teaching and learning and chapters incorporate: the history of constructivist and social learning theory and key thinkers pedagogical implications practical strategies for the classroom constructivist theory and e-learning. Case studies and vignettes demonstrating best practice are used throughout the text, illustrating how monitored collaboration between learners can result in an effective learning environment where targets are met. Essential reading for practising teachers and students, this book is a valuable guide for those looking to provide effective teaching and learning within a constructivist framework.
Call Number: 370.1523 PRI
Publication Date: 2010
Supporting Identity, Diversity and Language in the Early Years by This book provides the main ingredients for professional development in working with young children in a diverse society. It fills the gap that most early years training neglects, that is, how to work with children in developing a positive disposition towards themselves regardless of their differences. By helping children to develop a strong self-identity and good self-esteem we set the foundations for positive attitudes towards others and towards learning. Practical advice, real examples and staff activities bring the book to life. The book provides clear evidence and practical guidance on how to develop young children's emerging language, especially those children who have English as an additional language, and how to generate, activate and assess curriculum for diversity. The book focuses on all children's learning for cultural diversity. Culture is used as a broad term to include language, ethnicity, social class and gender. Each chapter offers a clear combination of theory and practice and ends with excellent staff development activities and further readings. The book will be important reading for all students and practitioners working with young children.
Call Number: 372.21 SIR
Publication Date: 2000
Mind in Society by The great Russian psychologist L. S. Vygotsky has long been recognized as a pioneer in developmental psychology. But somewhat ironically, his theory of development has never been well understood in the West. Mind in Society should correct much of this misunderstanding. Carefully edited by a group of outstanding Vygotsky scholars, the book presents a unique selection of Vygotsky's important essays, most of which have previously been unavailable in English.The Vygotsky who emerges from these pages can no longer be glibly included among the neobehaviorists. In these essays he outlines a dialectical-materialist theory of cognitive development that anticipates much recent work in American social science. The mind, Vygotsky argues, cannot be understood in isolation from the surrounding society. Man is the only animal who uses tools to alter his own inner world as well as the world around him. From the handkerchief knotted as a simple mnemonic device to the complexities of symbolic language, society provides the individual with technology that can be used to shape the private processes of mind. In Mind in Society Vygotsky applies this theoretical framework to the development of perception, attention, memory, language, and play, and he examines its implications for education. The result is a remarkably interesting book that is bound to renew Vygotsky's relevance to modem psychological thought.
Call Number: 155.413 VYG + eBook
Publication Date: 1980
Thought and Language by Since it was introduced to the English-speaking world in 1962, Lev Vygotsky's highly original exploration of human mental development has become recognized as a classic foundational work of cognitive science. Vygotsky analyzes the relationship between words and consciousness, arguing that speech is social in its origins and that only as children develop does it become internalized verbal thought. Now Alex Kozulin has created a new edition of the original MIT Press translation by Eugenia Hanfmann and Gertrude Vakar that restores the work's complete text and adds materials that will help readers better understand Vygotsky's meaning and intentions. Kozulin has also contributed an introductory essay that offers new insight into the author's life, intellectual milieu, and research methods. Lev S. Vygotsky (1896-1934) studied at Moscow University and acquired in his brief lifespan a nearly encyclopedic knowledge of the social sciences, psychology, philosophy, linguistics, literature, and the arts. He began his systematic work in psychology at the age of 28, and within a few years formulated his theory of the development of specifically human higher mental functions. He died of tuberculosis ten years later, and Thought and Languagewas published posthumously in 1934. Alex Kozulin studied at the Moscow Institute of Medicine and the Moscow Institute of Psychology, where he began his investigation of Vygotsky and the history of Soviet psychology. He emigrated in 1979 and is now Associate Professor of Psychiatry (Psychology) at Boston University. He is the author of Psychology in Utopia: Toward a Social History of Soviet Psychology(MIT Press 1984).
Call Number: 401.9 VYG
Publication Date: 1986