Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Professional Practice - Primary SCITT (Billericay) reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Essential Reading (to purchase)
Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn by On publication in 2009 John Hattie's Visible Learningpresented the biggest ever collection of research into what actually work in schools to improve children's learning. Not what was fashionable, not what political and educational vested interests wanted to champion, but what actually produced the best results in terms of improving learning and educational outcomes. It became an instant bestseller and was described by the TES as revealing education's 'holy grail'. Now in this latest book, John Hattie has joined forces with cognitive psychologist Greg Yates to build on the original data and legacy of the Visible Learning project, showing how it's underlying ideas and the cutting edge of cognitive science can form a powerful and complimentary framework for shaping learning in the classroom and beyond. Visible Learning and the Science of How We Learn explains the major principles and strategies of learning, outlining why it can be so hard sometimes, and yet easy on other occasions. Aimed at teachers and students, it is written in an accessible and engaging style and can be read cover to cover, or used on a chapter-by-chapter basis for essay writing or staff development. The bookis structured in three parts - 'learning within classrooms', 'learning foundations', which explains the cognitive building blocks of knowledge acquisition and 'know thyself' which explores, confidence and self-knowledge. It also features extensive interactive appendices containing study guide questions to encourage critical thinking, annotated bibliographic entries with recommendations for further reading, links to relevant websites and YouTube clips. Throughout, the authors draw upon the latest international research into how the learning process works and how to maximise impact on students, covering such topics as: teacher personality; expertise and teacher-student relationships; how knowledge is stored and the impact of cognitive load; thinking fast and thinking slow; the psychology of self-control; the role of conversation at school and at home; invisible gorillas and the IKEA effect; digital native theory; myths and fallacies about how people learn. This fascinating book is aimed at any student, teacher or parent requiring an up-to-date commentary on how research into human learning processes can inform our teaching and what goes on in our schools. It takes a broad sweep through findings stemming mainly from social and cognitive psychology and presents them in a useable format for students and teachers at all levels, from preschool to tertiary training institutes.
Call Number: 370.1523 HAT
Publication Date: 2013
Teaching and Learning - Pedagogy, Curriculum and Culture by Teaching and Learning: Pedagogy, Curriculum and Cultureis designed to share important theory with readers in an accessible but sophisticated way. It offers an overview of the key issues and dominant theories of teaching and learning as they impact upon the practice of education professionals in the classroom. This second edition has been updated to take account of significant changes in the field; young people's use of digital technologies, the increasing involvement of world of business in state education, and ongoing high-profile debates about assessment, to name but a few. It examines the global move from traditional subject-and-knowledge based curricula towards skills and problem-solving and discusses how the emphasis on education for citizenship has forced us to reconsider the social functions of education. Central topics also covered include: an assessment of the most influential theorists of learning and teaching the ways in which public educational policy impinges on local practice the nature and role of language and culture in formal educational settings an assessment of different models of 'good teaching' alternative models of curriculum and pedagogy. With questions, points for consideration and ideas for further reading and research throughout, this book delivers discussion and analysis designed to support understanding of classroom interactions and to contribute to improved practice. It will be essential reading for all student teachers, those engaged in professional development, and Education Studies students.
Call Number: 371.102 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Primary SCITT, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Reflective Practice by Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness and professional development. This newly updated fifth edition of Gillie Bolton's bestselling book explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical enquiry. New to this edition: An expanded range of exercises and activities A new emphasis on using e-portfolios Further guidance on reflective writing assignments Enhanced discussion of reflection as a key employability skill Additional online resources This popular book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including education, social work, business and management, medicine and healthcare and is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Call Number: 808.06661 BOL
Publication Date: 2018
Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools by Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools provides a portable library of over a hundred readings to support teacher education and professional development. Extensively updated since earlier editions, new readings concisely introduce much of the best of classic and contemporary international research on teaching and learning. The selection reflects current issues and concerns in education and has been designed to support school-led teacher education and a wide range of school-university partnership arrangements. This collection of readings is edited by Andrew Pollard, former Director of the UK's Teaching and Learning Research Programme, with the advice of primary and secondary specialists from the University of Cambridge. Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools is part of a set of professional resources. It links directly to the textbook, Reflective Teaching in Schools, and to the website, reflectiveteaching.co.uk. A fully integrated and complementary range of resources is thus offered for both primary and secondary schools. Reflective Teaching in Schools focuses on how to achieve high-quality teaching and learning. It presents key issues and research insights, suggests reflective activities for classroom enquiry, and offers guidance on further study. By design, it offers both practical support for effective classroom practice and routes towards deeper forms of expertise. It has supported teachers' professional development in the UK and beyond for over 25 years. The website, reflectiveteaching.co.uk, offers supplementary resources including reflective activities, research briefings, advice on further reading and additional chapters. It also features a glossary of educational terms, links to useful websites, and a conceptual framework for deepening expertise. This book is one of the Reflective Teaching Series - inspiring education through innovation in early years, schools, further, higher and adult education.
Call Number: 371.102 POL
Publication Date: 2014
Learning Theories Simplified by This guide explores over 100 learning theories in an easy-to-use, bite-sized format with clear relevant illustrations on how each theory will benefit your teaching and learning.
Call Number: 370.1523 BAT
Publication Date: 2015
Visible Learning for Teachers by In November 2008, John Hattie's ground-breaking book Visible Learningsynthesised the results of more than fifteen years research involving millions of students and represented the biggest ever collection of evidence-based research into what actually works in schools to improve learning. Visible Learning for Teacherstakes the next step and brings those ground breaking concepts to a completely new audience. Written for students, pre-service and in-service teachers, it explains how to apply the principles of Visible Learningto any classroom anywhere in the world. The author offers concise and user-friendly summaries of the most successful interventions and offers practical step-by-step guidance to the successful implementation of visible learning and visible teaching in the classroom. This book: links the biggest ever research project on teaching strategies to practical classroom implementation champions both teacher and student perspectives and contains step by step guidance including lesson preparation, interpreting learning and feedback during the lesson and post lesson follow up offers checklists, exercises, case studies and best practice scenarios to assist in raising achievement includes whole school checklists and advice for school leaders on facilitating visible learning in their institution now includes additional meta-analyses bringing the total cited within the research to over 900 comprehensively covers numerous areas of learning activity including pupil motivation, curriculum, meta-cognitive strategies, behaviour, teaching strategies, and classroom management. Visible Learning for Teachersis a must read for any student or teacher who wants an evidence based answer to the question; 'how do we maximise achievement in our schools?'
Call Number: 370.1523 HAT
Publication Date: 2011
Theories of Childhood by Understand theories of childhood to make your days with children smoother, your job easier, and your program stronger. This best-selling resource provides clear, straightforward introductions to the foundational theories of John Dewey, Maria Montessori, Erik Erikson, Jean Piaget, and Lev Vygotsky. Each chapter highlights a theorist’s work and includes insight on how the theory impacts teaching young children today. Discussion questions and suggested readings are included to help you gain an understanding of what it means to apply each theory to your work with children. Theories of Childhood, Second Edition: Builds the bridge between theory and best practices in early childhood education Supports your genuine enjoyment with children by helping you understand more about the ways they grow and learn Includes new understandings of Vygotsky’s work Applies the five theories to the realities of the twenty-first century Carol Garhart Mooney has been an early childhood educator for more than forty years. She is also the author of Theories of Attachment, Use Your Words, and Swinging Pendulums.
Call Number: 372.21 MOO
Publication Date: 2013
Effective Teaching by Lecturers, why waste time waiting for the post to arrive? Click on the above icon and receive your e-inspection copy today! This new edition updates the successful 2005 edition with the latest research on effective teaching and learning. Appropriate for primary and secondary, the authors continue to provide a broad and comprehensive overview of what is now a large body of knowledge on effective teaching. The authors maintain their user-friendly style and the structure which takes in generic teaching skills; teaching for specific goals; subject specific strategies and other classroom issues. New to this edition: - updated research evidence - a greater cultural breadth including international research - diversity in the classroom; values and beliefs - assessment for learning Points for reflection and further reading have also been included to help encourage readers to become reflective practitioners. This book is essential reading for education students, including all PGCE and BA courses, as well as teachers and educational researchers. Daniel Muijs is Professor of Education at University of Southampton. David Reynolds is Professor of Education at University of Plymouth.
Call Number: 370.7 MUI
Publication Date: 2010
Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education by Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education looks at fifty of the twentieth century's most significant contributors to the debate on education. Among those included are: * Pierre Bourdieu * Elliot Eisner * Hans J. Eysenck * Michel Focault * Henry Giroux * Jurgen Habermas * Susan Isaacs * A.S. Neill * Herbert Read * Simone Weill. Together with Fifty Major Thinkers on Education this book provides a unique history of educational thinking. Each essay gives key biographical information, an outline of the individual's principal achievements and activities, an assessment of his or her impact and influence and a list of their major writings and suggested further reading.
Call Number: 370.1 PAL
Publication Date: 2001
Reflective Teaching in Schools by Building on best-selling texts over three decades, this thoroughly revised new edition is essential reading for both primary and secondary school teachers in training and in practice, supporting both initial school-based training and extended career-long professionalism. Considering a wide range of professionally relevant topics, Reflective Teaching in Schools presents key issues and research insights, suggests 'Reflective Activities' for classroom work and offers guidance on selected 'Key Readings'. Uniquely, two levels of support are offered: · Practical advice and comprehensive, evidence-based guidance on key issues in classroom practice - including relationships, behaviour, curriculum planning, learning and teaching strategies, assessment processes and evaluation. · Routes to deeper forms of expertise, introducing evidence-informed 'principles' and 'concepts' to support more in-depth understanding of teacher expertise, as trialled with primary and secondary practitioners in the UK and beyond. Andrew Pollard, former Director of the UK's Teaching and Learning Research Programme, coordinated development and is responsible for the final text, with the advice of primary and secondary specialists from the University of Cambridge. Reflective Teaching in Schools is part of a set of professional resources. It links directly to the companion text, Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools, and to the website, reflectiveteaching.co.uk. A fully integrated and complementary range of resources is thus offered for both primary and secondary schools. Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools, offering further support for reflective practice in schools, directly complements and extends the chapters in this book. It has been designed to provide convenient access to key texts. It is of particular help as a compact and portable library in school-led teacher education. The website, reflectiveteaching.co.uk, offers supplementary resources including reflective activities, research briefings, advice on further reading and additional chapters. It also features a glossary of educational terms, links to useful websites, and a conceptual framework for deepening expertise. This book is one of the Reflective Teaching Series - inspiring education through innovation in early years, schools, further, higher and adult education.
Call Number: 371.102 POL
Publication Date: 2014
Classroom Behaviour by In this Third Edition of his bestselling book, Bill Rogers looks at the issues facing teachers working in today's classrooms. Describing real situations and dilemmas, he offers advice on dealing with the challenges of the job, and how building up a rapport with both students and colleagues can support good practice. Bill Rogers understands the demanding nature of the job, and offers wise words and inspirational encouragement to all those involved in educating our children and young people.
Call Number: 371.1024 ROG
Publication Date: 2011
Classrooms as Learning Communities by In classrooms that operate as learning communities, the social and learning purposes advance together through all participants being involved and engaged in building knowledge. This book demonstrates a new way of seeing and managing classrooms through: an integration of what's best in learning and what's best in the social life of classrooms a vision of the role of the teacher that is more creative and more related to the commitments of teachers a more connected view of schools in contrast to the mechanistic view that currently dominates an answer to the short-term performance pressures of politicians - better performance. The practice and vision of classrooms that operate as learning communities is presented clearly and encourages teachers to take steps towards building a more effective classroom with the aspects of learning communities they choose.
Call Number: 371.1024 WAT
Publication Date: 2005