Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Ethics of Research with Children and Young People by Ethical questions are at the centre of research with children and young people. This clear and practical text informs students and researchers about the relevant laws and guidelines and current debates in research ethics. Priscilla Alderson and Virginia Morrow cover ethics at every stage of research, and with all kinds of young research participants, particularly those who are vulnerable or neglected. They break down the process of research into ten stages, each with its own set of related questions and problems, and they show how these need to be addressed. This practical book is essential reading for anyone who conducts or reviews research with children or young people. Priscilla Alderson is Emerita Professor of Childhood Studies at the Institute of Education University of London. Virginia Morrow is Senior Research Officer in the Department of International Development, University of Oxford.
Call Number: 305.23 ALD + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Action Research in Education by Action Research in Education is an essential guide for any lecturer, teacher or student-teacher interested in doing research. This exciting new edition of a popular text is an important resource for any education professional interested in investigating learning and teaching. Building on the success of Action Research in the Classroom, the authors have revised, updated and extended this book to include examples from further and higher education. It maps out easy-to-follow steps for usefully applying an action research approach and is full of practical tips and examples of real practitioner research projects from a range of schools, colleges and universities. This book will help teachers to: - understand and apply practitioner inquiry - enhance their problem-solving skills - locate their own activity in a wider context - maximise opportunities to develop practice - evaluate the needs of their learners Clear, pragmatic and timely, this is a must-have text for all teachers and students of education. Vivienne Baumfield is Professor of Pedagogy, Policy and Innovation in the School of Education, University of Glasgow Elaine Hall is Lecturer in Research Methods, School of Education, Communication and Language Sciences, Newcastle University Kate Wall is Senior Lecturer in the School of Education, Durham University
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2013-01-30
Research Methods in Education by This thoroughly updated and extended eighth edition of the long-running bestseller Research Methods in Education covers the whole range of methods employed by educational research at all stages. Its five main parts cover: the context of educational research; research design; methodologies for educational research; methods of data collection; and data analysis and reporting. It continues to be the go-to text for students, academics and researchers who are undertaking, understanding and using educational research, and has been translated into several languages. It offers plentiful and rich practical advice, underpinned by clear theoretical foundations, research evidence and up-to-date references, and it raises key issues and questions for researchers planning, conducting, reporting and evaluating research. This edition contains new chapters on: Mixed methods research The role of theory in educational research Ethics in Internet research Research questions and hypotheses Internet surveys Virtual worlds, social network software and netography in educational research Using secondary data in educational research Statistical significance, effect size and statistical power Beyond mixed methods: using Qualitative Comparative Analysis (QCA) to integrate cross-case and within-case analyses. Research Methods in Education is essential reading for both the professional researcher and anyone involved in educational and social research. The book is supported by a wealth of online materials, including PowerPoint slides, useful weblinks, practice data sets, downloadable tables and figures from the book, and a virtual, interactive, self-paced training programme in research methods. These resources can be found at: www.routledge.com/cw/cohen.
Call Number: 370.78 COH + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Doing Your Research Project 6th edn. by Step-by-step advice on completing an outstanding research project.
This is the market-leading book for anyone doing a research project for the first time. Clear, concise and extremely readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept through to completion of your final written research report.
Thoroughly updated but retaining its well-loved style, this 6th edition provides:
A brand new chapter describing the benefits of using social media in research, including how to use blogs, sharing ideas on research community sites, crowdsourcing, LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook
Tips on using online tools such as Delicious, Mendeley, Dropbox, EndNote and RefWorks to manage and organize your research
Guidance on searching efficiently and effectively online using Google Scholar, Google Books and library databases and on correctly citing online sources
Advice on creating online surveys for your research project, plus new material on using Skype and Google Hangouts for online interviewing
To support your learning, each chapter contains introductory key points, "Dead End" boxes to warn of pitfalls, "Success" checklists and further reading sections.
This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study in any discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health.
Call Number: STSK 001.42 BEL + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Secondary SCITT, have a look at your Subject Guide.
Practitioner Research for Teachers by `This is a really useful book. It is full of helpful ideas and examples and discusses the importance of research for teachers. While addressing both the why and the how of practitioner research in school settings the authors have kept closely in touch with the practical concerns of busy professionals' - Professor Anne Edwards, School of Education, University of Birmingham This is a book about how to do your research. It's aimed at teachers involved in classroom-based research projects such as Best Practice Research Scholarships and Networked Learning Communities. This book is a significant text for teachers involved in practitioner research. It will discuss how the notion of classroom research has evolved from previous movements based upon school effectiveness and action research. It will show how being able to conduct and understand research is vital for the professional development of teachers. The text will then consider the practical issues of the design and carrying out of classroom-based research. The book contains practical examples to illustrate points where appropriate. Each chapter includes recommended further reading and practical tasks.
Call Number: 370.72 BUR + eBook
Publication Date: 2004-10-06
Doing Classroom Research by Are you worried about doing your classroom-based research project? Do you feel daunted at the prospect of carrying out a literature review? Does the thought of collecting and analyzing data make you panic? If you answer 'yes' to any of these questions, then this is the book for you! Written in an informal style, this is the essential, practical and accessible step-by-step guide for all teacher-training students, who in addition to facing the enormous challenge of training to become a teacher, also have to conduct their own classroom-based research. It contains three sections that mirror the process of doing classroom research. From getting started and choosing appropriate research strategies, to making your findings public, the book covers the whole range of issues to help you succeed with what can seem like a daunting task. Each of the chapters offers gentle guidance and support at every stage of the research process. Topics covered include: The purpose of school-based research Guidance on how to carry out a literature review Research ethics The impacts of research on children's and students' learning Methods of data collection and analysis Ways of sharing research with a wider audience Opportunities for continued professional development Doing Classroom Research is a must for every teacher-training student.
Call Number: 370.7 ELT + eBook
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Action Research for Teachers by Assuming no prior knowledge of research methods and techniques, this book is the perfect companion for teachers at all levels undergoing professional development who need to enhance their formal reflection skills. Providing a detailed explanation of what action research is and its importance in terms of whole school development, this book invites the teachers to try out educational research for themselves and adopt an investigative attitude that will help improve and evaluate practice. It includes: * Support and guidance that help you tackle key issues * "Real-life" practical case studies that underline what action research is and how it can be effectively used.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Real World Research by Real World Research provides a clear route-map of the various steps needed to carry out a piece of applied research to a high professional standard. It is accessible to those without a social science background while providing rigorous and fully up-to-date coverage of contemporary issues and debates. It brings together materials and approaches from different social science disciplines, seeing value in both quantitative and qualitative approaches, as well as their combination in mixed-method designs.
Call Number: 300.72 ROB
Publication Date: 2016
Assessment for Learning by "This is a surprising and welcome book... a heartening read that shows the power of assessment for learning and the potential for academics and teachers jointly to put into practice ideas that can improve classroom learning and teaching." TES The starting point of this book was the realisation that research studies worldwide provide hard evidence that development of formative assessment raises students' test scores. The significant improvement in the achievements of the students in this project confirms this research, while providing teachers, teacher trainers, school heads and others leaders with ideas and advice for improving formative assessment in the classroom. Assessment for Learning is based on a two-year project involving thirty-six teachers in schools in Medway and Oxfordshire. After a brief review of the research background and of the project itself, successive chapters describe the specific practices which teachers found fruitful and the underlying ideas about learning that these developments illustrate. Later chapters discuss the problems that teachers encountered when implementing the new practices in their classroom and give guidance for school management and LEAs about promoting and supporting the changes. This book offers valuable insights into assessment for learning as teachers describe in their own words how they turned the ideas into practical action in their schools.
Call Number: 371.26 BLA + E book
Publication Date: 2003
Assessment for Learning by What are the most cost-effective ways of ensuring that today's students have the skills they need for an uncertain and unpredictable future? In this lecture, Dylan William argues that if we are serious about raising student achievement, the only way to do this is by investing in the professional development of teachers. Not all investments are equally effective, and some, such as helping teachers make greater use of assessment for learning, are more effective than others, such as increasing teacher content knowledge. If we are to be successful, however, as well as being clear about what we want teachers to do differently, we have to understand why changing teachers' practice is so difficult. This will require radical changes in the way we treat teacher professional development.
Call Number: 371.2609 WIL
Publication Date: 2009
Assessment as Learning by This book will provide teachers and school administrators with: an understanding of the reasons behind their confusion and discomfort by detailing the way that the changing role of schooling and our increasing knowledge about the nature of learning have made classroom assessment much more complex, with a range of different purposes that require differentiated assessment practices.
Call Number: 371.26 EAR
Publication Date: 2003
Formative Assessment in the Secondary Classroom by This highly practical guide focuses on learning objectives, effective questioning and feedback as the key elements of formative assessment - assessment for learning - in the secondary classroom. Taking forward core themes developed in Unlocking Formative Assessment, Shirley Clarke shows how marking and feedback complete the 'learning loop' which starts with learning intentions and success criteria. The ways in which pupils are told what is expected of them, how well they are doing, and how their efforts are appraised, lie at the heart of effective assessment for learning. Shirley Clarke explains first how to formulate, and communicate, clear learning intentions and the types of success criteria to which pupils can relate. She then explores the use of questioning as a tool for effective teaching, before looking at classroom interaction and how pupils respond to written, oral and 'incidental' feedback. Different approaches to marking, including self- and paired marking, are then considered as one aspect of feedback, which in turn can underpin pupil self-evaluation and target setting. Down to earth and direct, and with examples from across the secondary curriculum, this book shows how formative assessment can bring a dramatic culture shift to teaching and learning in your own classroom.
Call Number: 373.127 CLA
Publication Date: 2005
Assessment for Learning and Teaching in Secondary Schools by Assessment is central to teaching and learning, yet is one of the most difficult areas of professional practice. This book guides trainee secondary teachers through its complexities and provides practical strategies, exemplified by case studies. It examines issues such as diagnosing problems, sharing learning objectives, assessment as a tool for motivation, effective planning, using evidence to adapt teaching, peer and self assessment, learning through dialogue and understanding formative assessment. Targeted specifically at trainees, this text links explicitly to the new QTS Standards, and its tasks provide opportunities for reflection and for practising the range of skills involved in assessing pupils.
Call Number: 373 FAU + E book
Publication Date: 2012
Preparing to Teach in Secondary Schools by "This book is written with the 'beginning' teacher in mind: a PGCE student, a Teach First or other employment-based route participant, but it will also be of value to school mentors and university tutors. It is an expertly crafted book which may be read cover-to-cover or dipped into at time of need. Key professional issues are comprehensively covered in stand-alone chapters that clearly set out learning outcomes for the reader. I recommend purchase of this book as a 'course companion' that can be referred to many times during the early years of one's teaching career." Dr Jacek Brant, Institute of Education, University of London, UK "Preparing to Teach in Secondary Schools is a thoroughly useful guide to the professional aspects of teachers' work. The book is well organised and easy to use for reference purposes. The chapters are readable, well-informed and thought-provoking; they take up key issues about professional competences, curriculum, inclusion and the role and identity of teachers - issues that every new teacher needs to think through." Professor Christine Hall, Head of the School of Education, University of Nottingham, UK "This is a book that does exactly what it says on the tin, i.e. prepare new entrants for the profession of teaching. It provides insightful introductions to those key areas that new entrants are most fearful of which are behaviour management and lesson planning, without losing sight of the wider context of teaching and education. As a 14-19 specialist I am particularly pleased to see a chapter devoted to the current status of 14-19 curriculum reform." Helena Knapton, Course Leader in Business Education, Edge Hill University,UK This informative, accessible and intellectually engaging text provides a definitive guide for trainee and newly qualified secondary school teachers. The book covers a range of core professional skills and concepts that new teachers need to acquire, irrespective of their subject specialism or training route. Updated to reflect the many changes taking place in policy and practice, the latest edition covers core topics such as how pupils learn, planning and positive approaches to supporting pupil behaviour. New chapters deal with raising attainment, safeguarding and child protection. Key features of the text are designed to encourage reader engagement with the text and include: Examples and illustrations drawn from real practice Details of current research, fresh thinking and initiatives End of chapter objectives Reference to web-based information and resources Activities, case studies and scenarios Preparing to Teach in Secondary Schools, third edition is essential reading for all students preparing to become secondary school teachers. Contributors: Liz Bills, Fay Baldry, Cheryl Cane, Paul Elliott, Judith Everington, John Gordon, Chris Hallett, Mick Hammond, Terry Haydn, Sean Hayes, Sandra Howard, Prue Huddleston, Chris Husbands, Jenni Ingram, Alison Kitson, Daniel Muijs, Faith Muir, Lynn Reynolds, Kate Shilvock, Jan Warner, Nick Zafar
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2012-07-01
Learning to Teach in the Secondary School by Learning to teach involves hard work and careful preparation. To become an effective teacher requires pedagogical and subject knowledge, an understanding of your pupils and how they learn, and the confidence to respond to dynamic classroom situations. Learning to Teach in the Secondary Schoolis the market leading text for all undergraduate, postgraduate and school-based routes to qualified teacher status. It offers an in-depth and practical introduction to the knowledge, skills and understanding needed to become a confident and effective teacher. With a focus on evidence-based practice, the book includes a wealth of examples to demonstrate how to successfully apply theory to practice, and how to critically analyse your practice to maximise pupil learning. This 7thedition is fully updated in light of the latest initiatives, evidence and research in the field, offering comprehensive coverage, unit by unit, of the key concepts and skills addressed on initial teacher education courses in preparation for work in schools. The wide range of pedagogical features support both university based work - including that up to Masters Level - and school-based initial teacher education, and are designed to help you develop those qualities that lead to good practice and a successful future in education. Written by expert practitioners, thirty-six essential units include: * adopting a positive approach to managing behaviour to support learning * ways pupils learn * planning lessons, units of work and schemes of work * motivating pupils * assessment * inclusion and special educational needs * using ICT and digital technologies * pupil grouping, progression and differentiation * managing time, workload and stress * getting your first teaching post. Learning to Teach in the Secondary Schoolprovides practical help and guidance for many of the situations and potential challenges you are faced with in school. Supported by the Learning to Teach Subjects in the Secondary School Series, it is an essential purchase for every aspiring secondary school teacher.
Call Number: 373.1102 CAP + eBook
Publication Date: 2016-03-18
A Guide to Teaching Practice by A Guide to Teaching Practiceis the major standard text for all students on initial teacher training courses in the UK. Authoritative yet accessible, it covers the important basic skills and issues that students need to consider during their practice, such as planning, classroom organization, behaviour management and assessment. The book's focus on the quality of teaching and learning and consideration of the latest regulations and guidelines ensures that it fits comfortably within TTA and OfSTED frameworks. In addition, comprehensively revised and fully updated, this fifth edition features brand new chapters on the foundation stage, legal issues, learning and teaching and using ICT in the classroom, as well as new material on numeracy, literacy, children's rights, progress files and gifted and talented children. This book is the most respected and widely used textbook for initial teacher training courses and will be an essential resource for any student teacher.
Call Number: 370.71 COH + E Book
Publication Date: 2010
Learning and Teaching in Secondary Schools by Linked to the new Teachers′ Standards, this is an essential text for all secondary trainees and PGCE students, training at an ITT institution or in a school. The text covers all fundamental issues for learning and teaching in secondary schools. It guides trainee teachers through the professional attributes, skills and knowledge they need, focusing on a range of key topics and summarising important educational research. It examines the curriculum, planning, assessing and SEN and explores EAL, equality and diversity and pastoral care. A chapter is included to help support students in their Masters level work at PGCE and throughout, interactive activities make essential links between theory and practice. In all chapters, practical examples demonstrates how all aspects relate to the classroom. About the Achieving QTS Series All the books in this successful series support trainees through their initial teacher training and guide them in the acquisition of their subject knowledge, understanding and classroom practice. All new titles within the series are linked to the 2012 Teachers′ Standards adn consider the impact of key government initiatives. Viv Ellis is Professor of Head of Education at Brunel University in London, UK, and a Visiting Professor at Bergen University College in Norway.
Call Number: 373.1102 ELL
Publication Date: 2016
Learning without Limits by "The style and language used by the authors make the book readable and therefore a book that practising teachers can actively use as a guide to improve their practice ...it is amply demonstrated that teaching can and should be an activity whose primary focus is to enhance students' learning capacity and not limit it." Journal of Inservice Education Why do some teachers insist on teaching without recourse to judgements about ability? What are the key principles on which they draw as they organize and provide for learning? What is the significance of their alternative approach for classrooms in the 21st century? This book explores ways of teaching that are free from determinist beliefs about ability. In a detailed critique of the practices of ability labelling and ability-focussed teaching, Learning without Limits examines the damage these practices can do to young people, teachers and the curriculum. Drawing on a research project at the University of Cambridge, the book features nine vivid case studies (from Year 1 to Year 11) that describe how teachers have developed alternative practices despite considerable pressure on them and on their schools and classrooms. The authors analyze these case studies and identify the key concept of transformability as a distinguishing feature of these teachers' approach. They construct a model of pedagogy based on transformability: the mind-set that children's futures as learners are not pre-determined, and that teachers can help to strengthen and ultimately transform young people's capacity to learn through the choices they make. The book shows how transformability-based teaching can play a central role in constructing an alternative improvement agenda. This book will inspire teachers, student teachers, lecturers and policy makers, as well as everyone who has a stake in how contemporary education and practice affect children's future lives and life chances.
Call Number: 371.102 HAR + E book
Publication Date: 2004
Managing Pupil Behaviour by Why are some teachers and student teachers better at managing pupil behaviour than others? What are the factors which make a difference to classroom climate? Can any teacher or student teacher become accomplished at managing pupil behaviour? Managing Pupil Behaviourprovides routes through the classroom management maze to help practising and aspiring teachers learn to manage behaviour effectively in their classrooms. Using a unique 10-point scale, it encourages teachers to think about the degree to which they are relaxed and in assured control of their classrooms and can enjoy their teaching. Drawing on the views of over 140 teachers and 700 pupils, it provides insights into the factors which enable teachers to manage learning effectively in their classrooms, so that pupils can learn and achieve, and teachers can enjoy their work. Key issues explored include the factors that influence the working atmosphere in the classroom, the impact of that atmosphere on teaching and learning, and tensions around inclusive practice and situations where some pupils may be spoiling the learning of others. This new edition has been fully updated to take account of recent research and inspection findings and includes a new chapter exploring the wide range of sophisticated skills that expert teachers deploy in order to get pupils to want to learn, and to enable teachers to work in classrooms where the climate is perfect for learning. Managing Pupil Behaviourwill help all teachers ensure 'the right to learn' for all the pupils in their care and to think about different ways to approach this vitally important aspect of their working lives.
Call Number: 371.1024 HAY + eBook
Publication Date: 2012-06-13
Ways of Learning by Teachers are very good at providing excellent opportunities for children s learning to progress. Often, without fully understanding the reasons why, teachers encourage learning in their charges which works very well, and is a very good approach at a particular time with a particular child or group of children. With greater insight into what is currently known about the processes of learning and about individual learning preferences, teachers are able to provide even better learning situations which are even more likely to lead to effective learning. This book seeks to provide the detail which teachers can make use of in their planning and teaching in order to provide even better opportunities for effective and lasting learning. The first edition of this book has been used widely and has now been revised to include updated information in the existing chapters as well as a new chapter which covers the area of learning difficulties and special educational needs."
Call Number: 370.1523 PRI + E book
Publication Date: 2008
Teaching and Learning in the Secondary School by Research and writing on secondary education is often a specialised treatment of isolated themes. This reader draws together the most significant work of recent years across a whole range of themes to give students and new teachers an overview of some of the most important issues and challenges that faced secondary teachers in the 1990s. It looks at the central players - the children and the teachers - at the classrooms in which they work together; at the curriculum, both implicit and overt; and at the wider community and political context of secondary education. Divided into sections to allow easy access to material of interest, the book covers: * learners * teachers * classrooms * curriculum * schools. Throughout, the reader addresses the crucial issues of effectiveness, quality and achievement and how these will influence the work of the secondary teacher in the coming years.
Call Number: 373.1102 MOO + eBook
Publication Date: 1995
What If It Happens in My Classroom? by Why can#65533;t I stop my students from being noisy as they leave my classroom? What can I do when a student is texting on their phone in my lesson? How can I stop a student from constantly tapping their pen while I am talking? Sound familiar? Chewing gum, dropping litter, swearing, late homework and disruptive behaviour in class are just a few of the issues that teachers have to face every day in the classroom. How you choose to respond to these incidents, however minor they may first seem, can have a dramatic impact on the overall quality of your lessons. There is no one answer to behaviour and classroom management as different approaches have to be taken depending on the lesson, the groups of students and even the time of day. This highly practical book guides you through the choices that you need to make when confronted with the sorts of issues that you might face in your classroom. Dealing with the nitty gritty reality of behaviour management, it covers the common problems teachers encounter on a day to day basis and provides a series of realistic and practical solutions and their likely outcomes. Placing you at the centre of the decision making process, it allows you to experiment with a range of options in a reflective and engaging manner to see which of your choices may work and why others may not. This scenario based approach not only lets you explore the various options available to you, but also enables you to see the consequence of your actions. Written by an experienced teacher, this fun and interactive book is essential reading for all trainee and qualified teachers who want a fresh approach to behaviour management in their classrooms.
Call Number: 371.1024 SID + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Call Number: 153.8 DWE
Publication Date: 2017
Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools by Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools provides a portable library of over a hundred readings to support teacher education and professional development. Extensively updated since earlier editions, the book concisely introduces both classic and contemporary research and understanding on teaching and learning. The selection reflects current issues and concerns in education and has been designed to support school-led teacher education as well as a wide range of school-university partnership arrangements.Uniquely, two types of reading are provided:- summaries enabling easy access to evidence on key classroom issues - including relationships, behaviour, curriculum planning, teaching strategies and assessment processes;- analyses of deeper forms of understanding about teaching and learning processes, to support the development of expertise throughout a teaching career.This collection of readings is edited by Andrew Pollard, former Director of the UK's Teaching and Learning Research Programme, with the advice of primary and secondary specialists from the University of Cambridge.Readings for Reflective Teaching in Schools is part of a fully integrated set of resources for primary and secondary education.Reflective Teaching in Schools focuses on how to achieve high-quality teaching and learning. By design, it offers both practical support for effective practice and routes towards deeper expertise.The website, reflectiveteaching.co.uk, offers supplementary resources including reflective activities, research briefings, advice on further reading and additional chapters. It also features a glossary, links to useful websites, and a conceptual framework for deepening expertise. This book is one of the Reflective Teaching Series - inspiring education through innovation in early years, schools, further, higher and adult education.
Call Number: 371.102 POL
Publication Date: 2014
The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs by Fully revised with the requirements of the 2014 new SEN Code of Practice, this second edition of The Changing Face of Special Educational Needs shows teachers, SENCOs and students in teacher training how to respond to the rapidly changing context of special education. This highly practical and accessible text unlocks the often confusing field of special education provision in schools today by: Summarising and clarifying new policy directions as they emerge, in light of the new SEN Code of Practice Suggesting clear, practical activities to bring the theory to life, helping practitioners to review and reflect upon their work; Encouraging critical reflection about existing systems within the school context, considering whether these will remain appropriate and #65533;fit for purpose#65533;; Giving opportunities for teachers, SENCOs and senior leaders to contextualise the new changes in terms of the implications for practice in their own school. Including a new chapter on Using Technologies to Support the Development of Inclusive Practices, this text is packed with activities, case studies and points for reflection. It will help the teacher, SENCO, senior leader or advisor to make sense of the rapid pace of change of policy and terminology related to SEN and supports readers in a positive way, emphasising the exciting opportunities that these changes will provide for developing new, innovative and creative working practices. This book will also be essential reading for all SENCOs completing the National Award for SEN Coordination.
Call Number: 371.90941 EKI + E book
Publication Date: 2015
Special Educational Needs and Disability: the Basics by Special Educational Needs and Disability: The Basics has been fully updated in light of the 2014 Children and Families Act in England and now also includes a focus and discussion of legislation across the whole UK. Providing an engaging and complete overview, it examines the fundamental principles of the subject from policy to practice. This book covers the historical development of special provision and key legislation, policy-making, the identification and assessment of young people#65533;s special or additional learning and behaviour needs, and ways to address barriers to learning associated with various kinds of difficulty. Essential revisions to this second edition include: discussion of the implications of the 2014 Special Educational Needs and Disability Code of Practice: 0 to 25 years for Heads, governors, SENCos, staff, students and families in schools in England, a focus on the law relating to special or additional support needs in Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, and its implications, an update on statutory assessment requirements and advice on compiling them, including the new Education Health and Care Plans in England. This book is an ideal starting point for all those with questions about what constitutes special educational needs and disability and how individuals can be supported in practice. It is essential reading for policy-makers, trainees, teachers and all those working with young people who experience difficulties and their families.
Call Number: 371.90941 WEA + E book
Publication Date: 2015
, Accounting & Finance
, Business Management
, Childhood & Youth Studies
, Computer Games & Programming
, Early Childhood Studies
, Early Years
, Education/Teacher Training
, Events Management
, Leadership & Custodial Environments
, Leisure and Tourism
, Network Communication Technologies
, PhD Social Sciences
, Professional Studies
, Social Work
, Youth Studies