Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Subject Studies and Research - Secondary (Inspiration Teacher Training) reading list! Here you will find the resources to support you throughout your module.
Meaning Making in Secondary Science Classrooms by This book focuses on the talk of science classrooms and in particular on the ways in which the different kinds of interactions between teachers and students contribute to meaning making and learning. Central to the text is a new analytical framework for characterising the key features of the talk of school science classrooms. This framework is based on sociocultural principles and links the work of theorists such as Vygotsky and Bakhtin to the day-to-day interactions of contemporary science classrooms. *presents a framework, based on sociocultural theory, for analysing the language of teaching and learning interactions in science classrooms *provides detailed examples and illustrations of insights gained from applying the framework to real science lessons in Brazil and the UK. *demonstrates how these ways of thinking about classroom talk can be drawn upon to inform the professional development of science teachers. *offers an innovative research methodology, based on sociocultural theory, for analysing classroom talk. *expands upon the ways in which sociocultural theory has been systematically applied to analysing classroom contexts. This book offers a powerful set of tools for thinking and talking about the day-to-day practices of contemporary science classrooms. It contains messages of fundamental importance and insight for all of those who are interested in reflecting on the interactions of science teaching and learning, whether in the context of teaching, higher degree study, or research.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2003
Dialogue and the Development of Children's Thinking by This book draws on extensive research to provide a ground-breaking new account of the relationship between dialogue and children's learning development. It closely relates the research findings to real-life classrooms, so that it is of practical value to teachers and students concerned that their children are offered the best possible learning opportunities. The authors provide a clear, accessible and well-illustrated case for the importance of dialogue in children's intellectual development and support this with a new and more educationally relevant version of socio-cultural theory, which explains the fascinating relationship between dialogues and learning. In educational terms, a sociocultural theory that relates social, cultural and historical processes, interpersonal communication and applied linguistics, is an ideal way of explaining how school experience helps children learn and develop. By using evidence of how the collective construction of knowledge is achieved and how engagement in dialogues shapes children's educational progress and intellectual development, the authors provide a text whichnbsp;is essential for educational researchers, postgraduate students of education and teachers, and isnbsp;also of interest to many psychologists and applied linguists.
Call Number: 371.1023 MER
Publication Date: 2007
Making Sense of Secondary Science by What ideas do children hold about the natural world? How do these ideas affect their learning of science? Young learners bring to the classroom knowledge and ideas about many aspects of the natural world constructed from their experiences of education and from outside school. These ideas contribute to subsequent learning, and research has shown that teaching of science is unlikely to be effective unless it takes learners' perspectives into account. Making Sense of Secondary Scienceprovides a concise, accessible summary of international research into learners' ideas about science, presenting evidence-based insight into the conceptions that learners hold, before and even despite teaching. With expert summaries from across the science domains, it covers research findings from life and living processes, materials and their properties and physical processes This classic text is essential reading for all trainee secondary, elementary and primary school science teachers, as well as those researching the science curriculum and science methods, who want to deepen their understanding of how learners think and to use these insights to inform teaching strategies. It also provides a baseline for researchers wishing to investigate contemporary influences on children's ideas and to study the persistence of these conceptions. Both components of Making Sense of Secondary Science- this book and the accompanying teacher's resource file, Making Sense of Secondary Science: Support materials for teachers- were developed as a result of a collaborative project between Leeds City Council Department of Education and the Children's Learning in Science Research Group at the University of Leeds, UK.
Call Number: 507.120941 DRI
Publication Date: 2014
Language and Literacy in Science Education by Science in secondary schools has tended to be viewed mainly as a 'practical subject', and language and literacy in science education have been neglected. But learning the language of science is a major part of science education: every science lesson is a language lesson, and language is a major barrier to most school students in learning science. This accessible book explores the main difficulties in the language of science and examines practical ways to aid students in retaining, understanding, reading, speaking and writing scientific language. Jerry Wellington and Jonathan Osborne draw together and synthesize current good practice, thinking and research in this field. They use many practical examples, illustrations and tried-and-tested materials to exemplify principles and to provide guidelines in developing language and literacy in the learning of science. They also consider the impact that the growing use of information and communications technology has had, and will have, on writing, reading and information handling in science lessons. The authors argue that paying more attention to language in science classrooms is one of the most important acts in improving the quality of science education. This is a significant and very readable book for all student and practising secondary school science teachers, for science advisers and school mentors.
Call Number: 507.1 WEL
Publication Date: 2001
How Children Fail by First published in the mid 1960s, How Children Fail began an education reform movement that continues today. In his 1982 edition, John Holt added new insights into how children investigate the world, into the perennial problems of classroom learning, grading, testing, and into the role of the trust and authority in every learning situation. His understanding of children, the clarity of his thought, and his deep affection for children have made both How Children Fail and its companion volume, How Children Learn, enduring classics.
Call Number: 371.28 HOL
Publication Date: 1995
Primary Mathematics: Knowledge and Understanding by Secure subject knowledge and understanding is the foundation of confident, creative and effective teaching. To help your students master this, the 8th edition of this established text now comes with a range of online resources: Interactive Maths subject knowledge audit: to assess your students′ overall performance and ensure they have an accurate picture of their ability. Reflective self-assessment questions; to help consolidate students' understanding of each chapter topic and monitor their learning as they work through the book. Glossary: building students′ knowledge of tricky terminology. Covering the whole primary curriculum, this edition also includes updated interactive activities throughout the book to engage students in their learning and enable discussion. Using this book in conjunction with the free online resources really makes this the complete package for developing Mathematics subject knowledge.
Call Number: 372.7044 MOO
Publication Date: 2018
School-Based Research by Focused on the needs of the new classroom researcher, and those studying education on Masters-level courses, this is a thorough and thoughtful guide to the research process, covering qualitative, quantitative and mixed research methods. It guides you through research design, data collection and analysis and how to write up your research findings. This third edition has been updated to provide further coverage on the best ways to approach, construct and carry out educational research within the classroom including: a new chapter on disseminating research knowledge expanded coverage of formulating research questions a reworked chapter structure better reflecting the research process This is essential reading for students on education degree programmes including a research methods component, including education studies, undergraduate (BEd, BA with QTS) and postgraduate (PGCE, School Direct, Teach First, SCITT) initial teacher education courses, MEd and professional development courses. Online resources expanding on and complementing the contents of the book can be found at: study.sagepub.com/wilsonsbr3e
Call Number: 370.72 WIL
Publication Date: 2017
What Every Teacher Should Know about Student Motivation by In this new and updated edition of What Every Teacher Should Know About Student Motivation, Donna Walker Tileston offers teachers brain-friendly strategies for motivating and challenging even the most at-risk or reluctant students. Informed by current research on the plasticity of the brain, and new insights on the relationship between culture and student motivation, Tileston′s model provides teachers with the information and strategies they need to get to the root of motivation problems and facilitate increased engagement and student achievement in their classrooms.
Call Number: 370.154 TIL
Publication Date: 2010
Chemical Misconceptions by Chemistry is a conceptual subject and, in order to explain many of the concepts, teachers use models to describe the microscopic world and relate it to the macroscopic properties of matter. This can lead to problems, as a student's every-day experiences of the world and use of language can contradict the ideas put forward in chemical science. These titles have been designed to help tackle this issue of misconceptions. Part 1 deals with the theory, by including information on some of the key alternative conceptions that have been uncovered by research; ideas about a variety of teaching approaches that may prevent students acquiring some common alternative conceptions; and general ideas for assisting students with the development of appropriate scientific conceptions. Part 2 provides strategies for dealing with some of the misconceptions that students have, by including ready to use classroom resources including copies of probes that can be used to identify ideas held by students; some specific exercises aimed at challenging some of the alternative ideas; and classroom activities that will help students to construct the chemical concepts required by the curriculum. Used together, these two books will provide a good theoretical underpinning of the fundamentals of chemistry. Trialled in schools throughout the UK, they are suitable for teaching ages 11-18.
Call Number: 40.71241 TAB
Publication Date: 2002
This page provides information specific to your module.
For more information and resources for Secondary Teacher Training have a look at your Subject Guide.