Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Ethics, Law and Politics reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Law and Ethics in Nursing and Healthcare by Now in its second edition, Law and Ethics in Nursing and Healthcare: An Introduction continues to provide all the information nursing and healthcare students need to know about 'what is legal' and 'how to decide what is right' in order to practise safely and ethically. Graham Avery focuses directly on the vital areas - such as negligence, consent, confidentiality, and professional conduct - with a practical and accessible approach aimed at healthcare students as well as practitioners. Key features include: a new chapter on Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards. Up-to-date information related to the Health and Social Care Act 2012 and the Francis Report. Real life case studies to help students think critically about difficult clinical situations. End-of-chapter scenarios activities with suggested answers to reinforce knowledge. Qualified as a Registered Nurse and holding an MA in Medical Law and Ethics, Graham Avery is a Lecturer at the University of Essex.
Call Number: 344.420414 AVE
Publication Date: 2017
Ethics and Issues in Contemporary Nursing by Students and professionals alike have utilized this dynamic resource to apply legal and ethical decision making to the complex issues affecting their practice. Now, this highly praised text has been updated to include the latest trends, principles, theories, and models that serve as guides for ethically sound behavior in contemporary nursing care. With real world examples like Hurricane Katrina and the Schiavo case, chapter concepts are naturally applied to the practice setting. Critical thinking examples and exercises challenge you through self-reflection. Considering the complexities created by scientific and technological advances, client diversity, and various practice settings, this text emphasizes the importance of moral action in personal and professional situations.
Call Number: 174.2 BUR
Publication Date: 2007
Fundamental Aspects of Nursing by This popular title from the Fundamental Aspects of Nursing series has been revised and updated to reflect the advances in the field. Vital reading for all student nurses to help them develop an understanding of the myriad of dilemmas in professional practice and ensure they meet professional standards. This book will outline the implications and application of the relevant recent legislation that relates to nursing practice. Professionally, this book will look at the demands and requirements...
Call Number: 610.73069 CAR
Publication Date: 2017
Diamond's legal aspects of nursing: a definitive guide to law for nurses by The definitive guide to the law that all nurses need to know. Written specifically for student nurses as well as those already in practice, Dimond's Legal Aspects of Nursing is your essential practical guide to the legal principles you need to be aware of in your everyday nursing practice. Building on previous editions of the book by Bridgit Dimond, this 8th edition has been significantly reworked by a new author team with extensive experience in teaching nursing law. It has also been fully updated and revised in line with recent legal developments and the new Nursing standards to ensure it continues to meet the requirements of nursing law modules.
Call Number: 344.420414 GRI + eBook
Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Ethics for Nursing Students by From the start of their nursing programme it is essential that nursing students understand the significance of ethics and how it will impact the decisions they make on a daily basis. This book explains ethical ideas, theories and concepts in simple to understand terms and focuses on day-to-day nursing situations that apply principles to practice. The book challenges the reader to consider their own values and where ethics fits into who they are and how they behave and carefully unlocks this fascinating and important subject. Key features A practical guide that explores how ethics applies to nursing and where the key theories fit in Each chapter contains real world case studies and scenarios with an emphasis on ethical decision making Activities throughout challenge the reader to reflect on their views and experiences and apply what they have learnt to their own practice Each chapter is linked to the latest NMC standards relating to ethical issues.
Call Number: 174.2 ELL
Publication Date: 2017
Ethics, Law and Professional Issues by This practice-based textbook explores the ethical, legal and professional issues that characterise the field of healthcare. From seeking consent to upholding patient confidentiality, it examines a broad range of professional dilemmas from everyday practice. Detailed scenarios and engaging discussions help the reader understand how best to balance ethics, the law and professional codes of conduct in order to provide the best standards of care. Whether studying on an undergraduate nursing, midwifery or healthcare related programme or an experienced practitioner, this is essential resource for people working in healthcare looking to develop an ethically, legally and professionally sound approach to practice.
Call Number: 362.1 GAL + eBook
Publication Date: 2012
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by Provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law, helping them to better understand the legal obligations they face, and leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. Written in clear and straightforward language, the book covers issues such as equality and human rights, confidentiality, negligence, disability, children's rights and mental health. It is also supported by insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law to nursing and how it underpins practice. New to this edition: · Fully mapped to the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · New chapter covering death, dying and organ donation · Updated to take account of the Deprivation of Liberty Act · New content covering GDPR, Social Media and Safeguarding of Adults and Children
Call Number: 344.410414 GRI
Publication Date: 2020
The New Politics of the NHS, Seventh Edition by The New Politics of the NHS has become established over 30 years as the key overview of the NHS, its processes and paths of influence. The seventh edition remains a clear, easy-to-read guide to often complex debates. It encompasses both the background of the evolution of the NHS since its foundation, and a completely up-to-date picture of its present and future in a more pluralistic - and possibly more financially austere - era in which deference to medical expertise is eroding and information on health and care is far more widely available. It includes entirely new material on events since the turn of the millennium, the Blair administration, the 2010 General Election, the impact of the Coalition Government and strategies for coping with a new, much harsher economic environment. Assuming no prior knowledge of NHS politics and systems, The New Politics of the NHS focuses on management, structure, centralisation, funding, economic performance, challenges, current party political debates, interest groups and rationing, and also on the NHS's institutional and cultural continuity as a tax-funded service providing comprehensive, universal health care free at the point of delivery. It is a vital update for all health care professionals, NHS managers, policy-makers and shapers, and those in special interest groups including patient advocacy organisations. It is essential reading for anyone interested in understanding current controversies. 'Edition-by-edition, the perspective shaping the analysis has shifted somewhat as new questions have come to the surface. However, the book remains structured around themes and preoccupations that have organised the text from the beginning and continue to do so. It is shaped, above all, by the assumption that the NHS (and the wider health care policy arena) can be seen as a laboratory for a whole range of social, institutional and organisational experiments with implications for other areas of policy and perhaps other countries as well.' Rudolf Klein, in the Preface
Call Number: 362.10941 KLE
Publication Date: 2013
Becoming a Nurse by The guidelines and skills required to become a nurse are always changing and it can be difficult to stay up-to-date with the current standards. This book has been specifically designed to address the main skills you need to meet NMC requirements. Becoming a Nurse will demystify what you need to know while preparing you to meet NMC standards and become a confident, practising professional. The book introduces the many subjects outside the biological which are none the less essential for both pre-registration and practising nurses. This new edition has been thoroughly updated throughout, and includes four new chapters on psychosocial concepts for nursing; sociological concepts for nursing; spiritual care; and preceptorship and transition. Like the previous edition the book also covers: Law, ethics and policy Management and leadership Communication, interpersonal skills and interprofessional working Evidence based practice Medicines management Public health and professional development Each chapter is packed full of case studies, discussion question and further readings to encourage critical thinking and reflection. It is an excellent resource to prepare you for your programme or to refresh your knowledge of NMC standards.
Call Number: 610.73 SNE + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing Law and Ethics by Nursing Law and Ethics explores a variety of key legal and ethical issues in nursing practice using a thought-provoking and holistic approach. It addresses both what the law requires and what is right, and explores whether these two are always the same. The book provides an overview of the legal, ethical and professional dimensions of nursing, followed by exploration of key issues in greater depth. This edition features updated legislation and new material on patient safety. Key topics are accompanied by both a legal and an ethical perspective, covering both law and ethics Case examples throughout place concepts in a real-life context Written by experts in the field and includes contributions from leading nurses, lawyers and ethicists Accessible, relevant, and comprehensive, this title is ideal for pre- and post-registration nurses.
Call Number: 344.041 TIN + eBook
Publication Date: 2013