Introduction
Welcome to your subject guide for Art.
Here you will find a list of library resources relevant to your subject area and further information about finding resources and referencing.
This subject guide could be useful to you if you are studying a course in one of the following subject areas:
- Architecture
- Digital Film Production
- Graphic Design
- Graphic Illustration
- Fine Art
- Photography
- Screenwriting
Library resources
Below is a list of resources available for your subject area. If you want to access further resources, take a look at our full A-Z of eResources here. You can filter the A-Z by subject, resource type and vendor or search for a specific resource.
Web resources for Art
- Archinformcomprehensive database of architectural projects and planners with a focus on the 20th century. Useful for students researching historical and contemporary architectural projects and trends.
- Building CentreOffers detailed information on building products, materials, and specifications. Beneficial for students needing to understand practical aspects of construction and material selection.
- Building Research Establishment (BRE)Provides extensive research and information on the built environment, focusing on sustainability and innovation. Useful for students interested in cutting-edge building technologies and environmental performance.
- Department for Energy Security and Net ZeroResponsible for maintaining energy supply, identifying cleaner energy sources, and meeting net zero targets.
- Department for Science, Innovation and TechnologyResponsible for driving scientific and technological advancement, prioritising UK public services.
- Department for TransportOversees transport networks and infrastructure. Relevant for students looking into transportation planning and its impact on urban design.
- Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local GovernmentResponsible for housing, communities, and local government. Valuable for students studying urban planning, housing policies, and community development.
- Office for National StatisticsThe UK's largest independent producer of official statistics and the recognized national statistical institute. Useful for students requiring demographic, economic, and social data for research and planning.
- Royal Institute of British Architecture (RIBA)The leading professional body for architects in the UK, offering resources like the RIBA Library and RIBAPIX image library. Essential for students seeking professional guidance, historical context, and visual references.
- UK Government LegislationProvides access to UK legislation, including building regulations and planning laws. Critical for students needing to understand legal frameworks and compliance in architecture.
- Arts Council EnglandThe Arts Council England website is the official platform for the national agency responsible for promoting and supporting the arts in England. It provides information on funding opportunities, grants, and initiatives aimed at nurturing artistic talent, enhancing cultural participation, and supporting arts organizations across the country.
- BBC WritersProvides resources for writers, including script submissions, writing tips, and opportunities for new writers. It's particularly useful for students interested in writing for TV and radio.
- British Film CouncilThe British Council Film website is a platform that promotes British films and filmmakers internationally. It features a diverse range of British films, documentaries, and short films available for viewing and distribution worldwide. The website provides information on funding opportunities, film festivals, screenings, and events supported by the British Council, aimed at fostering cultural exchange and collaboration in the global film industry.
- British Film InstituteThe British Film Institute (BFI) website is the official platform for the leading organization promoting film and television in the UK. It offers a wealth of resources including information on BFI film festivals, screenings, and events, along with access to a vast collection of films and television programs.
- British Universities Film and Video CouncilThe British Universities Film & Video Council (BUFVC) website serves as a resource hub for academic institutions, researchers, and educators interested in film, television, and related media. It offers access to a wide range of audiovisual resources, including archives, databases, and learning materials.
- Department for Culture, Media and SportThe Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS) website is the official platform for the UK government department responsible for policies and initiatives relating to culture, the arts, media, sport, and digital technologies. It provides information on government priorities, strategies, and programs aimed at promoting and supporting cultural and creative industries, enhancing sporting opportunities, and advancing digital innovation.
- Go Into the StoryThe official screenwriting blog of The Black List, offering daily articles on screenwriting techniques, interviews, and industry insights. It's a valuable resource for learning and staying updated on trends.
- IMDb (Internet Movie Database)Offers comprehensive information on films, TV shows, actors, directors, and industry professionals. It's a great resource for research on film history, credits, and reviews.
- StudioBinder BlogOffers comprehensive guides, articles, and tutorials on various aspects of filmmaking and screenwriting. It's useful for both creative and technical aspects of the craft.
- Arts Council EnglandThe Arts Council England website is the official platform for the national agency responsible for promoting and supporting the arts in England. It provides information on funding opportunities, grants, and initiatives aimed at nurturing artistic talent, enhancing cultural participation, and supporting arts organizations across the country.
- Association of PhotographersThe Association of Photographers (AOP) website serves as a hub for photographers in the UK, providing resources, support, and advocacy for professional photographers. It offers information on membership benefits, including legal advice, business guidance, and networking opportunities. The website also features galleries showcasing members' work, industry news, events, and educational resources aimed at promoting excellence and professionalism in photography.
- Department for Culture, Media and SportThe Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport (DCMS) website is the official platform for the UK government department responsible for policies and initiatives relating to culture, the arts, media, sport, and digital technologies. It provides information on government priorities, strategies, and programs aimed at promoting and supporting cultural and creative industries, enhancing sporting opportunities, and advancing digital innovation.
- EuropeanaEuropeana is a digital platform that provides access to millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives, and galleries. It aims to promote European cultural heritage by offering free and open access to a diverse collection of artworks, books, manuscripts, photographs, and more.
- Museum of Modern ArtThe Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) website offers a comprehensive digital experience featuring its renowned collection, exhibitions, and educational resources. Visitors can explore artworks spanning various mediums including painting, sculpture, photography, film, design, and performance art. The site provides information on current and upcoming exhibitions, virtual tours, events, membership opportunities, and ways to support the museum's mission.
- The National ArchiveThe National Archives website is the official digital archive of the UK government, providing access to historical documents and records dating back over 1,000 years. It offers resources for genealogical research, academic study, and public interest, including online exhibits, guides for accessing archival materials, educational resources for teachers and students, and information about visiting their physical location in Kew, London.
- The National GalleryThe National Gallery website is the digital platform for the National Gallery in London, one of the world's foremost art museums. It provides virtual access to their extensive collection of Western European paintings from the 13th to the 19th centuries.
- The Sainsbury Centre for Visual ArtThe Sainsbury Centre for Visual Arts website serves as an online platform for the renowned art gallery and museum located at the University of East Anglia in Norwich, UK. It showcases a diverse collection of art spanning from antiquity to the present day, including works from cultures around the world. The website provides information about current and upcoming exhibitions, events, educational programs, and research initiatives hosted by the Sainsbury Centre, emphasizing its role in promoting understanding and appreciation of visual arts and culture.
- TateThe Tate website serves as an online portal to explore the Tate galleries, which include Tate Britain, Tate Modern, Tate Liverpool, and Tate St Ives. It offers virtual tours of exhibitions, access to their extensive art collections, educational resources, and information about upcoming events and programs. The website also features articles, videos, and podcasts that provide insights into art history, contemporary art practices, and the cultural impact of Tate's exhibitions and collections.
- Victoria and Albert MuseumV&A website is an online gateway to one of the world's leading museums dedicated to art and design. It offers virtual access to extensive collections spanning over 5,000 years of human creativity, including art, fashion, textiles, photography, and more.
More information and help guides
Our Academic Skills Hub has guidance on how to find and make the most of the library resources in this guide as well as referencing, academic writing and more.
So that you can make the most of the wide range of resources listed in this subject guide, we have also created a quick quiz to help you assess your skill level for finding information, with tailored guidance for your level. To take the quiz and find out more, go to our Finding Information guide.