Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Medicine Optimisation reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
An Introduction to Pharmacovigilance by Pharmacovigilance is the science and activities relating to the detection, assessment, understanding and prevention of adverse effects or any other drug-related problems. This introductory guide is designed to aid the rapid understanding of the key principles of pharmacovigilance. Packed full of examples illustrating drug safety issues it not only covers the processes involved, but the regulatory aspects and ethical and societal considerations of pharmacovigilance. Covering the basics step-by-step, this book is perfect for beginners and is essential reading for those new to drug safety departments and pharmaceutical medicine students. The second edition is thoroughly revised and updated throughout and includes a new chapter on clinical aspects of pharmacovigilance.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Medicine Management for Nurses by Medicine management is an important and demanding aspect of nursing practice. It requires both clinical knowledge and the use of professional judgement. This accessible book is designed to help both practising and student nurses prepare to deal with the challenges of medicine management. It covers the principles and skills involved in a range of common medicine management scenarios and will help nursing students integrate their knowledge of physiology, pathophysiology, pharmacology and nursing care. This handy book: Is based on 21 practical case studies, which help you learn about effective medicine management and test your understanding of essential drug groups. Helps you gain confidence in your knowledge of pharmacology Highlights the nurse's role in identifying the therapeutic and adverse effects of medicines on a patient Part of the Case Book series, Medicine Management for Nurses Case Book offers a unique way of relating theory to practice. The cases are ideal for preparing for exams, tests and working in practice, as each one includes self-test questions and answers. Whether you are preparing to qualify or studying medicine management after qualification, this case book is the ideal practical tool for you. Contributors: Diane Blundell, Abe Ginourie, Joy Parkes, Ruth Sadik, Pat Talbot, Janine Upton, Traci Whitfield, Christine Whitney-Cooper, Debbie Wyatt. "The book offers a unique and engaging approach to an important subject that most students find daunting. Realistic case scenarios are used as a catalyst to introduce information and concepts that underpin practice. The presentation style supports the active participation of the student with the inclusion of questions at the beginning of each topic offering a platform to explore key areas whilst referring to the scenario. I highly recommend it to pre-registered student nurses." Kris Paget, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Health, Social Work and Education, Kingston University, UK "This collection of case studies provides a unique and user friendly guide to commonly seen pharmacological therapies and treatment options across the lifespan. The case studies have been carefully selected to provide the diverse care needs of complex disease processes in a person centred way. Each case study is relevant to the role of the Nurse and will provide essential and core information whether nurses are working in either a medical or surgical clinical setting. Government Health Care Directives provide the essential clinical evidence based theory necessary to promote medicine adherence and each chapter provides the relevant pathophysiology which is essential to underpin the safe administration of medication therapies. The role of the nurse in medicine management with respect to patient education and the professional responsibilities of monitoring and evaluating complex medication therapies is presented in each case study. This provides an holistic approach to the care of patients receiving complex medication therapies." Barry Ricketts, Senior Lecturer, Adult Nursing, Oxford Brookes University, UK
Call Number: 615.1 BAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2013
Reflective Practice by Reflecting thoughtfully on your work is vital for improving your own self-awareness, effectiveness, and professional development. This newly updated Fifth Edition explores reflective writing as a creative and dynamic process for this critical inquiry. This bestselling book has been used worldwide in various disciplines including: education, social work, business & management, medicine, and healthcare. It is essential reading for students and professionals seeking to enhance their reflective writing skills and to examine their own practice in greater critical depth.
Call Number: STSK 808.06661 BOL
Publication Date: 2018
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14th Edition by The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Call Number: 615.1 KAT
Publication Date: 2017
Medical Pharmacology at a Glance by Medical Pharmacology at a Glance is recognised as an excellent starting point for pharmacology study. This international best-seller is the perfect companion for all medical and health students, providing an accessible, visual overview of pharmacology. This 8th edition has been extensively updated, especially in the areas of anaesthetics, drugs used in AIDs, cardiovascular drugs, drugs used in anxiety, depression and schizophrenia, urological drugs, drug metabolism, as well as practical concerns such as drug indications and side effects. Ideal for USMLE and pharmacology exam revision, Medical Pharmacology at a Glance features: * The basic principles of drug action, interaction, absorption and excretion * Chapters based on diseases or syndrome, for efficient clinical learning * An emphasis on drug mechanisms * References to the pathophysiology of disease, to aid understanding of drug choice and action * Case studies with questions and full explanation of answers * A companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/pharmacology featuring online cases and flashcards
Call Number: 615.1 NEA + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by Comprehensive yet easy to use, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has been providing core basic and clinical science information to students and healthcare practitioners worldwide for more than 25 years. The fully revised 9th Edition keeps you up to date with all that's new in the field, including new and emerging drugs and recent studies. From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs. Keeps you up-to-date with new information in this fast-changing field, including significantly revised coverage of CNS drugs, cognitive enhancers, anti-infectives, biologicals/biopharmaceuticals, lifestyle drugs, and more. Includes access to unique features online, including more than 100 brand new chapter-specific multiple-choice questions and 6 new cases for immediate self-assessment. Features a color-coded layout for faster navigation and cross-referencing. Clarifies complex concepts with Key Points boxes, Clinical Uses boxes and full-color illustrations throughout. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Call Number: 615.1 RIT
Publication Date: 2019
The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing by The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an authoritative and accessible overview of the vital skills, contemporary issues and essential knowledge relevant to both students and healthcare practitioners. Written as a response to the growing emphasis placed on prescribing in the modern health service, this text provides up-to-date information on safe and effective prescribing. This wide-ranging book helps students and trainees develop foundational knowledge of the key areas and prescribing competencies and provides healthcare professionals with a continued source of current information. Now in its third edition, this text has been fully updated and revised to reflect changes in legislation, current practices and new guidelines. New and updated topics include independent prescribing for therapeutic radiologists, supplementary prescribing for dietitians, paramedics working in advanced roles to independently prescribe and the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers. Provides up-to-date information essential to safe and effective prescribing in a clear, easy-to-understand style Discusses current issues and practices in pharmacology, prescribing and therapeutics and medicine management Links to the Royal Pharmaceutical Society's Competency Framework for all Prescribers for non-medical prescribers Presents learning objectives, key theme summaries, activities and numerous case studies Offers access to additional online resources including interactive exercises, quizzes, self-assessment tests and web links The Textbook of Non-Medical Prescribing is an essential resource for students, nurses, dieticians, pharmacists, and allied health practitioners pursuing a prescribing qualification or looking for an updated refresher on the subject.
Call Number: 615.1 NUT + eBook
Publication Date: 2019