Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Nursing theory 4: Evidence Based Contemporary Practice reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Leadership in Health Care by The Fourth Edition of Leadership in Healthcare responds to the ever-growing importance of leadership to a healthcare professional′s role today and includes updated content to reflect the new guidelines set out in the 2018 Nursing and Midwifery Council Standards. The need for leadership in an everyday context is highlighted throughout the book with reference to both theory and practice. There are case studies, practical examples, reflective questions and even anecdotes from the authors′ own experience, showing students the potential and application of leadership. There are also activities that enable students to engage with every facet of leadership, as it connects to topics such as team-work, communication, problem-solving, emotional intelligence, critical self-reflection and quality of care. New to the Fourth Edition: A new chapter on Ethical, Legal and Professional Aspects in Leadership Content updates in-line with the 2018 NMC Standards, the new NMC code, and Revalidation. The book is supported by online resources for both students and lecturers, including videos, journal articles, web links, and multiple-choice questions.
Call Number: 362.1068 BAR
Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Research for Nursing Students by If you're learning about research for the first time, or grappling with an essay or final year project, this is the nursing research book you're looking for. Using plain language and case studies that relate research directly to every-day nursing situations, the author guides you through the central concepts you need to know to truly understand research in nursing. Key features Each chapter is linked to the new NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses Seven concise chapters that quickly answer the most common questions about research Activities, scenarios and case studies bring the theory to life and show why research is so important to nursing Nine podcasts to bring topics from the book to life
Call Number: 610.73072 ELL
Publication Date: 2018
Law and Professional Issues in Nursing by Provides nurses of all levels with a crash course in law, helping them to better understand the legal obligations they face, and leaving them better prepared for safe and effective practice. Written in clear and straightforward language, the book covers issues such as equality and human rights, confidentiality, negligence, disability, children's rights and mental health. It is also supported by insightful case studies and thought-provoking activities that demonstrate the relevance of law to nursing and how it underpins practice. New to this edition: · Fully mapped to the latest NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses (2018) · New chapter covering death, dying and organ donation · Updated to take account of the Deprivation of Liberty Act · New content covering GDPR, Social Media and Safeguarding of Adults and Children
Call Number: 344.410414 GRI
Publication Date: 2020
Nursing Research and Evidence-Based Practice Skills by To deliver safe and effective patient care student nurses need to find, critique, and use evidence in every day nursing decisions and academic work, Consequently they need a new textbook that goes further than simply explaining research methods. Nursing Evidence based practice has been developed as a one stop shop for research theory and evidence based practice skills for all aspects of the pre-registration nursing course - in both the classroom and on clinical placement. Taking a logical approach, the authors introduce the role of evidence based practice in nursing before explaining how research is produced and how students can find, read and critique it in order to make informed care decisions. Theory is applied to both academic and clinical work so readers can easily see how to weigh up the evidence before applying it to a nursing decision. Useful for the entire undergraduate course, the content is mapped against the skills required of registered nurses and includes practical advice for completing final year academic assignments. Written in an easy to read, student friendly manner the authors have brought together trustworthy and reliable advice in a way that's easy to dip into any time you need it- from writing an assignment, devising a nursing plan, documenting your placement learning outcomes, or finding advice on disseminating evidence for practice. This book has been truly designed to help student nurses become evidence based practitioners and to develop their nursing practice. Online Resource Centre The Online Resource Centre to accompany Nursing Evidence based practice features: DT Practical tools such as checklists and notes will help students to really put the theory into practice DT Web links to authoritative sources of research will quickly direct students to the best evidence DT Hyperlinked bibliographies mean readers can easily access the referenced articles in the book DT Audio interviews will put the subject in to context DT Our interactive glossary will help newcomers to the subject to understand the language of research
Call Number: 610.73072 HOL
Publication Date: 2010
Clinical Judgement and Decision Making for Nursing Students by Clinical decision-making is an indispensable facet of professional nursing care. In order to become a registered nurse it is essential that the student develops sound decision-making skills in order to deal with the challenges ahead. This book enables pre-registration nursing students to understand, develop and apply these skills in order to practise safely and effectively. The structure of the book helps students to progress in effective decision-making right from the first to the final year of their programme. The book links theory to realistic experiences and clinical scenarios to show student nurses how to use these skills in practice. Key features: -provides practical ways designed to help student nurses reach sound and safe decisions-uses active learning features and activities that promote the use of evidence, critical enquiry, reflection and patient-centred care -linked to the latest NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters
Call Number: 610.73 STA
Publication Date: 2014
Clinical Governance by Clinical Governance: A Guide to Implementation for HealthcareProfessionals provides a comprehensive overview of what ismeant by clinical governance and how it can be implemented inpractice. It explores the evolution of clinical governance, its keycomponents, legal implications, the barriers to implementing it,and its impact. Clinical Governance provides step-by-step practicaladvice, facilitating better understanding of the key principles ofclinical governance. This third edition has been fully updatedthroughout to incorporate a more integrated approach to achievingclinical governance, with an additional chapter on education andtraining. Each chapter includes reflective questions, activitiesand case studies taken from clinical practice as well as a fulllist of references and further reading.
Call Number: 362.1068 MCS + eBook
Publication Date: 2010
Nursing Research by Learning about research can be a daunting task. This best-selling core text book offers a comprehensive introduction to important research concepts, processes and issues. The author guides readers who are new to research but also introduces new debates and perspectives to those with some experience wanting to develop their skills further. This popular book equips students with the information and skills they need to read, comprehend and critique research. Whether an undergraduate taking an introductory research module, a postgraduate nursing student embarking on a project, or an experienced practitioner wanting to sharpen your skills, Parahoo's accessible writing style will ensure readers are able to utilise research throughout their study and in everyday practice.
Call Number: 610.73072 PAR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014