Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Service Improvement project reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module.
Making Sense of Change Management by This definitive, bestselling text in the field of change management provides comprehensive guidance of everything needed to successfully navigate times of change. Making Sense of Change Management provides a thorough and accessible overview for students and practitioners alike. Without relying on assumed knowledge, it comprehensively covers the theories and models of change management and connects them to workable approaches and techniques that organizations of all types and sizes can use to adapt to tough market conditions and succeed by changing their strategies, structures, mindsets, leadership behaviours and expectations of staff and managers. This completely revised and updated fifth edition contains new chapters on digital transformation and becoming a sustainable business, new material on resilience, well-being and effective leadership, and new examples from organizations including Google, Burberry and Volvo. Supported by "food for thought" and "stop and think" features to aid critical thinking and understanding, as well as checklists, tips and helpful summaries, Making Sense of Change Management remains essential reading for anyone who is currently part of, or leading, a change initiative. New and updated accompanying online resources include international case study question packs for lecturers and lecture slides with reflective questions.
Call Number: 658.406 CAM
Publication Date: 2019
Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing 9th edn. by For courses in nursing leadership and management in programs, including baccalaureate degrees in generic and BSN completion, and graduate-level nursing programs. The essential information and key skills nurses need to become effective managers and leaders More than ever before, today's rapidly changing, volatile healthcare environment demands highly developed management skills and superb leadership. Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing will help both practicing and student nurses manage successfully today, as well as into the future. This book combines practicality with conceptual understanding, tapping expertise of contributors from many relevant disciplines, especially healthcare management professionals. Updated to reflect the current state of healthcare, the 9th edition offers new or expanded coverage of the Affordable Care Act; evolving models of healthcare; cultural and gender diversity; quality management; emotional leadership; social media; harassing, bullying, and lack of civility in healthcare; emergency preparedness for terrorism, disasters, and mass shootings; and prevention of workplace violence. Two new chapters round out this award-winning text: "Understanding Legal and Ethical Issues" and "Imagining the Future." Also available packaged with MyLab(tm) Nursing or via Pearson eText. MyLab is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools and a flexible platform, MyLab personalizes the learning experience and improves results for each student. MyLab Nursing helps students master key concepts, prepare for success on the NCLEX-RN® exam, and develop clinical reasoning skills. Pearson eText offers a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students - right in their eTextbook. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab, or via Pearson eText, ask your instructor to confirm the correct ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab, search for: 0134848640 / 9780134848648 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing Plus MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 9/e Package consists of: 0134153111 / 9780134153117 Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e 013476093X / 9780134760933 MyNursingLab with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing, 9/e If you would like to purchase the Pearson eText version, search for: 0134873564 / 9780134873565 Pearson eText Effective Leadership and Management in Nursing -- Access Card, 9/e
Call Number: 362.173068 SUL
Publication Date: 2018
Doing a literature review in health and social care : a practical guide by This best-selling book is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review for students in all areas of health and social care. It is vital reading for all those doing their undergraduate dissertation or any study which involves doing a literature review.
This book provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish. This fourth edition includes:
* A broad range of real life examples of how to overcome challenges in the process
* How to get your question right
* Updated guidance on following a clear search strategy for relevant literature using the appropriate technology
* Expanded guide to using a range of critical appraisal tools
* Increased emphasis on presenting your findings or using them in practice
* Tips and coverage on how to write up your review
Doing a literature review in health and social care is essential reading for anyone new to reviewing and presenting evidence in a review.
Call Number: 610.72 AVE + eBook
Publication Date: 2018
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence Based Practice by Have you heard of 'evidence-based practice' but don't know what it means?
Are you struggling with relating evidence to your practice?
Do you want a straight forward, clearly written and practical guide to evidence-based practice?
This is the book for anyone who has ever wondered what evidence-based practice is, how to relate it to practice or use it in academic work. Fully updated in this brand new edition, this book uses simple and easy to understand language to help those new to the topic. It provides a step by step guide to what we mean by evidence-based practice and how to apply this concept to your practice and learning.
This new edition features:
- Additional explanations with examples from health and social care practice, using a wider range of reviews and research
- Inclusion of contemporary issues such as predatory journals, use of social media and rapid reviews
- Practical solutions to the challenges of using more and better evidence in busy practice settings and in academic work
- Revised and expanded useful web links highlighted throughout the book
- Clearer explanations of difficult research terms and an updated glossary
- New end-of-chapter quizzes to help assess how much you have learned
A Beginner's Guide to Evidence-Based Practice in Health and Social Care, 3rd Edition is key reading for both students and professionals who need to search for, appraise and apply evidence in nursing, allied health care or social care.
Call Number: 361.3 AVE + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Leadership, Management and Team Working in Nursing by To download an e-inspection copy click here or for more information contact your local sales representative.With all nurses expected to demonstrate leadership, management and team working skills it is vital that students engage with this aspect of their training as early as possible. As well as covering all of the core theory and knowledge, the authors encourage the reader to explore their own values and experiences when it comes to leadership that will help to develop emotional intelligence and a solid understanding of what good leadership and management practice looks like and why it matters to them. Key features: · Written with the needs of student nurses firmly in mind with activities and case studies that bring theory to life · Linked to the 2018 NMC standards of proficiency for registered nurses · Provides practical guidance on the immediate challenges that the new nurse will face
Call Number: 362.173068 BAC
Publication Date: 2018
Nursing Research in Action by Written by highly experienced researchers and authors, this practical workbook demystifies the research process for nursing students and practitioners. Fully updated to incorporate recent technological developments, this new edition features a range of exercises to both challenge and support the budding nurse researcher.
Call Number: 610.73072 BUR + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Critical thinking skills by Written by internationally renowned author Stella Cottrell, this is an essential resource for students looking to refine their thinking, reading and writing skills. Stella Cottrell's student-centred approach demystifies critical thinking and breaks down a complex subject into manageable chunks. With clear explanations, relevant examples and plenty of exercises throughout, this book helps students to develop their analytical reasoning skills and apply them to a range of tasks including reading, note-making and writing. This text will turn even the most hesitant student into a proficient critical thinker. This is an ideal companion for students of study skills, humanities, social sciences, business and arts programmes, where assessment includes essay and report writing. It is suitable for students of all levels.
Call Number: STSK 370.152 COT + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Qualitative Inquiry and Research Design by Winner of the 2018 Textbook & Academic Authors Association's The McGuffey Longevity Award In the revised Fourth Edition of the best-selling text, John W. Creswell and new co-author Cheryl N. Poth explore the philosophical underpinnings, history, and key elements of five qualitative inquiry approaches: narrative research, phenomenology, grounded theory, ethnography, and case study. Preserving Creswell's signature writing style, the authors compare the approaches and relate research designs to each of the traditions of inquiry in a highly accessible manner. Featuring new content, articles, pedagogy, references, and expanded coverage of ethics throughout, the Fourth Edition is an ideal introduction to the theories, strategies, and practices of qualitative inquiry. Learn more about John W. Creswell's qualitative research and mixed methods research titles as well as his 2017 spring/summer mixed methods research workshops! Available with Perusall--an eBook that makes it easier to prepare for class Perusall is an award-winning eBook platform featuring social annotation tools that allow students and instructors to collaboratively mark up and discuss their SAGE textbook. Backed by research and supported by technological innovations developed at Harvard University, this process of learning through collaborative annotation keeps your students engaged and makes teaching easier and more effective. Learn more.
Call Number: STSK 300.72 CRE
Publication Date: 2017
Leadership and Management in Healthcare. 3rd edn. by The Third Edition of this best-selling text supports readers on their journey from emerging registered healthcare professional to competent care manager. Action points, case studies, and strong practice guidelines enable readers to understand how leadership and management theory applies to the care delivered in a wide range of care settings. Leadership and Management in Healthcare is essential for nursing, health, and social care students taking modules on leadership, management, and transition to practice in their final year, as well as for newly qualified professionals or those seeking to refresh their skills.
Call Number: 362.10684 GOP
Publication Date: 2017
Leadership and Nursing Care Management 6th edn. by Develop your management and leadership skills. Leadership and Nursing Care Management, 6th Edition maintains its AONE competencies, and features the most up-to-date, evidence-based blend of practice and theory related to the issues that impact nursing management and leadership today. A fresh, conversational writing style provides you with an easy-to-understand, in-depth look at these prevalent issues. Key topics include the nursing professional's role in law and ethics, staffing and scheduling, delegation, cultural considerations, care management, human resources, outcomes management, safe work environments, preventing employee injury, and time and stress management. UNIQUE! Chapters divided according to AONE competencies for nurse leaders, managers, and executives. Research Notes in each chapter summarize relevant nursing leadership and management studies and highlight the practical applications of research findings. Case Studies at the end of each chapter present real-world leadership and management situations and illustrate how key concepts can be applied to actual practice. Critical Thinking Questions at the end of each chapter present clinical situations followed by critical thinking questions that allow you to reflect on chapter content, critically analyze the information, and apply it to the situation. Full-color design and photos makes content more vivid. Updated! Chapter on the Prevention of Workplace Violence emphasizes the AONE, Joint Commission's, and OSHA's leadership regarding ethical issues with disruptive behaviors of incivility, bullying, and other workplace violence. Updated! Chapter on Workplace Diversity includes the latest information on how hospitals and other healthcare facilities address and enhance awareness of diversity. Updated! Chapter on Data Management and Clinical Informatics covers how new technology helps patients be informed, connected, and activated through social networks; and how care providers access information through mobile devices, data dashboards, and virtual learning systems.
Call Number: 362.173068 HUB + eBook
Publication Date: 2017
Visualising Health Care Practice Improvement by Why is it that in spite of all the health policy reforms, clinical practice innovations, increasing intersectoral interdependencies and new medical and information technologies, so little has changed in the way we research and evaluate health care? Don't these changes cry out for new ways of being studied and appraised? And don't our approaches to clinical practice innovation cry out for being reinvented too? Surely, we cannot continue to wheel out research and evaluation paradigms, improvement approaches and methods that were designed for 20th century problems and 20th century health care, and assume they will be able to make sense of the problems we experience and the care we provide in the 21st century? These changes necessitate a new paradigm of health service research, evaluation and improvement and this new model adopts approaches and methods that embrace complexity. The approaches and methods can account for the vicissitudes of front-line care, the activities of front-line staff and the experiences of patients and families - where care happens. Visualising Health Care Practice Improvement draws on years of video feedback research shaping an approach that enables not only a retrospective understanding but also a view into the future, of what might be possible. It presents the argument that change is not principally about adopting solutions from elsewhere but that it is conditional on people exploring whether proposed solutions suit existing habituations. It involves a process of exploration, discovery, secession and renewal. Health care managers, policy makers and shapers will find this book enlightening. It will also be empowering to all health care professionals and front-line staff.
Call Number: 362.1 IED
Publication Date: 2013
Leading Healthcare Transformation by A succinct and practical primer on healthcare transformation, Leading Healthcare Transformation is a key resource for all clinicians in leadership positions. It summarizes high-profile healthcare topics and includes a synopsis of the evidence, examples, lessons learned, and key action steps for each topic covered. Providing cutting-edge insights from the quality and physician perspectives, the book focuses on the most critical topics in the field today, including the issues of quality, cost, value, and new models of care. The book includes discussions on various quality improvement processes including Lean and Six Sigma. Detailing specific strategies and tools to help you achieve and sustain improvement, it explains how to build a culture of safety and identifies proven principles and practices for creating a high reliability organization. Blending the perspectives of administrators, nurses, and physicians, this insightful and practical resource provides the understanding you need to leverage health information technology for clinical improvement and to improve care coordination to reduce readmissions. The book includes a Foreword by Jonathan B. Perlin, MD, PhD, MSHA, FACP, FACMI.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Nursing Research by This book answers all your students′ questions on the nursing research process. Restructured to follow their progress from being a novice nurse researcher to an experienced one, it gives them the knowledge to understand evidence-based practice and critical appraisal and to succeed in their own projects. Key features of the book are: Updated practical coverage of key methods such as conducting a survey and a section on the Research Excellence Framework International research examples in action Reflective exercises A companion website including access to journal articles and flashcards. It is essential reading for nursing undergraduates, postgraduates and all new researchers.
Call Number: 610.730721 MOU
Publication Date: 2017
Essentials of Nursing research: appraising evidence for nursing practice by Give your students everything they need to actively learn how to apply research to nursing practice.
Updated to reflect the latest innovations in research methods, this worldwide bestseller helps students learn how to read and critique research reports, speak the language of nursing research, and develop an appreciation of research to enhance nursing practice. AJN award-winning authors Denise Polit and Cheryl Beck present research essentials, dig into the research steps, and explore quantitative and qualitative research, igniting student curiosity and encouraging them to pursue a professional pathway that incorporates thoughtful appraisals of evidence.
Highlights of the Ninth Edition
Enhanced accessibility. The presentation of complex topics is simplified and streamlined, incorporating more straightforward language.
New content. The book's coverage of state-of-the-art research concepts and approaches includes new discussions of quality improvement projects as well as clinical significance, a seldom-mentioned but important topic that has recently gained prominence among nurse researchers.
Reorganized coverage. The book's new structure is organized by methodologic content to offer greater continuity and facilitate better understanding of key methodologic differences between quantitative and qualitative research.
Critiquing guidelines and support. Each chapter provides questions that walk students through a study, drawing attention to aspects of the study that can be critiqued by research consumers. In addition, full-length research articles and sample critiques at the end of the book provide opportunities for further critiquing practice.
Research examples. One or two actual research examples at the end of each chapter sharpen readers' critical thinking skills, and research examples throughout the text illustrate key points and stimulate students' thinking about areas of research inquiry.
Practical guidance . Translation of the abstract notions of research methods into more concrete applications includes tips that explain confusing issues in actual research articles.
New test generator . Hundreds of multiple-choice questions, which are completely new and written by the book's authors, help instructors assess their students' understanding of the chapter content.
Call Number: 610.73072 POL
Publication Date: 2017
Innovation Leadership by Innovation Leadership: Creating the Landscape of Healthcare focuses on the unique skills related to leading the innovation process in healthcare. This unique text relates leadership skills and attributes necessary to guide organizations and people through the process of innovation in a way that ensures successful innovation outcomes. This contributed text provides a variety of iewpoints on leadership in light of the various formats and tool-sets necessary to assure successful innovation.
Call Number: 362.1068 POR
Publication Date: 2010
Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research by Evidence-Based Practice for Nurses: Appraisal and Application of Research, Fourth Edition is an essential resource for teaching students how to translate research into practice. The text is based on the five step IDP process (knowledge, persuasion, decision, implementation, and confirmation). The authors employ a fresh and updated approach to teaching nursing research using evidence-based practice. The Fourth Edition features more real-world examples, expanded coverage of qualitative methods, discussion of various types of research questions and explores the hierarchy of evidence.New to the Fourth Edition:Updated Apply What You Have Learned evolving case study Real-life evidence-based practice examplesExploration of the Hierarchy Model featuring all types of evidence for each levelExpanded content on the qualitative method Updated references and new diagrams summarizing statistical analysis and designs Navigate 2 Premier AccessInstructor ResourcesInstructor's ManualTime-on-task analysisInteractive lecturesCompetency mapping documentPowerPoint slidesTest bankPractice activitiesEvolving case study
Call Number: 610.73072 SCH
Publication Date: 2019
Succeeding in Literature Reviews and Research Project Plans for Nursing Students by Now in it′s fourth edition and thoroughly updated to ensure all content is mapped to the new 2018 NMC standards, this book is a practical and readable guide to undertaking a research project plan or a literature review for final year assessment.The book guides readers from start to finish, beginning with choosing a nursing topic and developing questions about it, then accessing and critically reviewing research literature, considering ethical issues, proposing research where applicable, and finally, writing up and completing the literature review or research proposal. The authors also explore how to translate evidence into practice and how this can improve day to day decision-making, as well as feeding into assessments.
Call Number: 610.73072 WIL
Publication Date: 2019