Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning and Clinical Judgment by
What''s behind every healed patient? Critical thinking! And what book best equips you to master the critical thinking skills needed for success on the NCLEX examination and in professional nursing practice? Alfaro''s Critical Thinking, Clinical Reasoning, and Clinical Judgment, 6th Edition! With a motivational style and insightful "how-to" approach, this unique textbook draws upon real-life scenarios and evidence-based strategies as it guides you in learning to think critically in clinically meaningful ways. The new edition features a more streamlined, full-color design, and expanded coverage on some of key trends, including: interdisciplinary care teams, competency-based education, the IOM''s Leading Health Indicators, legal considerations, the effects of the Affordable Care Act, and much more. If you want to truly succeed in nursing practice today and be thinking-oriented rather than task-oriented, then look no further than this one-of-a-kind textbook. Simple approach and motivational writing style include vivid examples, memorable anecdotes, and real case scenarios to make content come alive. Practical strategies to promote critical thinking, clinical reasoning, and clinical judgment are incorporated along with supporting evidence as to why the strategies work. Focus on application (or "how to") and inclusion of supporting rationales (theory) make difficult concepts easy to learn. Critical thinking indicators feature evidence-based descriptions from the author of behaviors that promote critical thinking in nursing practice. Highlighted features and sections - such as Chapter at a Glance, Pre-Chapter Self-Tests, Guiding Principles, Critical Moments, Other Perspectives, Think-Pair-Share, Help Me Out cartoons, real-life clinical scenarios, key points, critical thinking exercises, and more - promote independent learning. UNIQUE! Brain-based learning principles utilize strategies that challenge the mind and are incorporated throughout the text. Timely coverage includes topical issues, such as: problem-focused versus outcome-focused thinking, prioritizing, developing a culture of safety, healthy work environments, expanding roles related to diagnosis and management, applying delegation principles, evidence-based practice, improving grades and passing tests the first time, NCLEX preparation, ensuring documentation reflects critical thinking, communication and interpersonal skills, strategies for common workplace challenges, and more. Inclusion of ethics- and standards-based professional practice reflects today''s professional climate which demands increasing accountability. Incorporation of cultural, spiritual, and lifespan content along with the nurse''s role in hospitals, communities, and long-term care settings presents a broad approach to critical thinking. Discussion of Tanner and Benner''s most recent work on what the research says about critical thinking and clinical judgment in nursing keeps readers up to date on the evidence-based side of practice. Coverage of IOM, QSEN, and other patient safety standards also keeps readers up to date on safe and effective nursing care. NEW! Full-color, eye-catching design facilitates learning. NEW! Additional coverage of key trends in nursing education and practice, discuss important topics such as interdisciplinary care teams, competency-based education, clinical residencies, leadership at the bedside, and implications of the Affordable Care Act. NEW! Updated coverage of the Institute of Medicine''s (IOM) Leading Health Indicators addresses the latest Healthy People 2020 goals. NEW! Carefully improved pedagogy throughout the text features streamlined headings, learning features, and content to help readers focus on what''s most important to know. NEW! Inclusion of key concepts from Jean Giddens'' work are now listed in the chapter openers. NEW! Expanded coverage of legal considerations brings this increasingly important subject area to the forefront of consideration. NEW! Interactive NCLEX practice questions are now available on the Evolve companion website to better simulate the NCLEX test-taking experience. NEW! Shorter chapter organization gives readers more manageable reading assignments.
Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions by
Clinical reasoning lies at the core of health care practice and education. Clinical Reasoning in the Health Professions, therefore, occupies a central place in the education of health professionals, the enhancement of professional decision making of individuals and groups of practitioners with their clients, and research into optimal practice reasoning. Key themes presented: Clinical reasoning as a composite of encultured capabilities Clinical reasoning embedded within situated practice including the wider socio-economic and political contexts, the practitioner's and the client's contexts, and shared goals such as promoting health communities The importance of narratives, language and culture in clinical decision making Changing reasoning practices linked to increasing autonomy of practitioners working without the requirement of medical referrals Clinical reasoning as an increasingly team-based practice, including shared decision making with clients The need for sound strategies and tools to facilitate the expanding collaborations in health care across disciplines and with clients and carers Advanced education approaches promoting expansion and enhancement of reasoning strategies The importance of building good practices for learning clinical reasoning into curricula and into students' own practice development approaches Strengthening links between orthodox and complementary medicine reasoning practices New to this edition: All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators. This is a book for teachers and learners, practitioners, practice leaders, researchers and curriculum managers. Indeed, it is a valuable resource for educators seeking to ground their teaching practices in educational theory, sound knowledge of clinical reasoning and practice-based evidence, and researchers seeking to expand their research horizons. All chapters updated and 20 new chapters added Concrete examples, cases and vignettes were added to bring discussions to life for the reader Reflection points strategically placed to assist readers to extend their insights and build learning from their own practical experiences and theoretical knowledge Devices of particular value to reflective practitioners and educators.
Bates' guide to physical examination and history taking by 
Advanced health assessment & clinical diagnosis in primary care by 
Advanced Health Assessment & Clinical Diagnosis in Primary Care by 
Clinical Investigations at a Glance by
Clinical Investigations at a Glance provides an up-to-date, evidence-based overview of diagnostic investigations, looking at their choice, importance and interpretation for commonly presenting symptoms and conditions. Designed to help develop the evidence-based use of investigations and interpret results properly, the book provides a unique perspective on many critical issues in medical testing, with the aim of improving diagnostic accuracy and reducing unnecessary tests or harm. Clinical Investigations at a Glance is structured in three parts: an overview of tests; common presentations (such as chest pain, nausea and vomiting, weight loss and anaemia,); and conditions organized by body system, such as cardiovascular disease, respiratory disease and nephrology. Key features include: * How to interpret investigations, using high quality illustrations to compare 'normal' and 'diseased' results * Evidence-based, including references * How to select the most appropriate investigation, the accuracy of tests and how to manage incidental findings
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology by
Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology continues to be an accessible and comprehensive introductory text to pathophysiology, written specifically for nursing and healthcare students to assist in the understanding of human anatomy, and the complex disease patterns that affect normal physiology. Thoroughly updated, and with full-colour illustrations throughout, this new edition incorporates additional learning features including reflective questions at the end of each chapter, investigation boxes, medication alerts, red flags to indicate essential information to be aware of when providing care, vital signs boxes relating to physiological measurements as well as inclusion of the National Early Warning Score. With emphasis placed on a multidisciplinary approach, Fundamentals of Applied Pathophysiology highlights the importance of contemporary, safe, and effective practice in an environment in which the delivery of care is constantly evolving.
Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine by
Well over two million medical students, doctors and other health professionals around the globe have owned a copy of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine since it was first published over 70 years ago. Now in its 24th Edition, this thoroughly updated textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine, and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them. Taking its origins from Sir Stanley Davidson's much-admired lecture notes, Davidson's has endured because it keeps pace with how modern medicine is taught and provides a wealth of trusted information in an easy-to-read, concise and beautifully illustrated format. Key features: Part 1 'Fundamentals of Medicine' - provides an account of the principles of genetics, immunology, infectious diseases, population health, oncology and pain management, along with a discussion of the core principles behind clinical decision-making and good prescribing. Part 2 'Emergency and Critical Care Medicine' - covers medical emergencies in poisoning, envenomation and medicine in austere environments, as well as common presentations in acute medicine and the recognition and management of the critically ill. Part 3 'Clinical Medicine'- covers the major medical specialties, each thoroughly revised and brought fully up to date. A new section on COVID-19 has been added and the impact of this infection is described throughout the book. Clinical Examination overviews - extended and updated to summarise the main elements for each system. Presenting Problems sections - provide a clear pathway for the assessment of and approach to the most common complaints in each specialty. Practice Point summaries - detail the practical skills that medical students and junior doctors must acquire. Emergency boxes - emphasise the core knowledge needed to manage acutely ill patients. In Old Age, In Pregnancy and In Adolescence boxes - highlight differences in the practice of medicine in these patient groups, and illustrate the interfaces between medical, obstetric and paediatric services. The text is extensively illustrated - with over 1000 diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiology and pathology images. The global perspective is enhanced by an International Advisory Board of experts from 11 countries and by leading authors from around the world. The complete, downloadable eBook version is included with your (print copy) purchase - for easy access on your portable device, anytime, anywhere! Now enhanced with: NEW interactive self-assessment material - over 150 Questions and Answers test your understanding of chapter key points and aid efficient exam preparation Davidson's will serve readers everywhere as a core text that integrates medical science with clinical medicine, conveying key knowledge and practical advice in a highly accessible and readable format. REVIEWS Beautifully constructed with superb clarity of style - Davidson's continues to provide for students, doctors and other health professionals a sound basis for the practice of medicine. Royal Society of Medicine and Society of Authors Medical Book Awards This book comes through where others fail: an excellent textbook, easy to read and superb value. British Medical Journal
Churchill's Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis by
Making a correct diagnosis is one of the key aspects of every medical student's and junior doctor's clinical training, and problem-based learning is now widely used to focus on the causes behind the presentation of a clinical feature. The Fourth Edition of this best-selling book is packed full of information to help the reader move from a presenting problem to an accurate diagnosis. This Fourth Edition covers 127 common presenting problems in both medicine and surgery in a consistent format. Each topic includes a list of all potential causes of the condition, colour coded to indicate common, occasional or rare causes. Important geographical variations are also highlighted. Two sections cover the differential diagnosis of biochemical and haematological disorders which provide a ready check when reviewing abnormal results The text includes a targeted guide to the relevant general and specific follow-up investigations which should be carried out as appropriate. At the end of each topic a box highlights important learning points, or indicates symptom and signs suggestive of significant pathology which require urgent action. Eighty colour photographs of key clinical presentations have been added to assist symptom recognition. Two new chapters on Hypotension and Photophobia.
Pocketbook of Differential Diagnosis by
This handy guide is packed full of information to support medical students, junior doctors and other health professionals in making an accurate diagnosis in relation to different presenting complaints. Now in its fifth edition, the Pocketbook takes the reader through the key steps of narrowing a differential diagnosis, including history, examination and investigation findings. It has been fully updated to cover the full range of common presenting problems facing clinicians today. This book is easy-to-read and logical, making it useful for all clinicians within a variety of settings, from the classroom to emergency department and primary care. This Fifth Edition covers 125 common presenting problems in both medicine and surgery in a consistent format. Each topic includes a list of all potential causes of the condition, colour coded to indicate common, occasional or rare causes. Important geographical variations are also highlighted. Two sections cover the differential diagnosis of biochemical and haematological disorders which provide a ready check when reviewing abnormal results The text includes a targeted guide to the relevant general and specific follow-up investigations which should be carried out as appropriate. Each topic ends with a box highlighting important learning points, or indicating symptom and signs suggestive of significant pathology which require urgent action. A new authorial team have thoroughly revised the contents and ensured the coverage is entirely appropriate for the book's readership.
Clinical Judgement and Decision Making in Nursing by
Clinical decision-making is an indispensable facet of professional nursing care. It is essential that students develop sound decision-making skills in order to deal with the challenges they will encounter as registered nurses. This book enables pre-registration nursing students to understand, develop and apply these skills in order to practise safely and effectively. The structure of the book helps the student progress in effective decision-making right from the first to final year of their programme. The book links theory to previous students' experiences and clinical scenarios to show how to use these skills in practice.Transforming Nursing Practice is a series tailor made for pre-registration student nurses. Each book in the series is: Affordable Mapped to the NMC Standards and Essential Skills Clusters Focused on applying theory to practice Full of active learning features
Clinical Judgement and Decision Making in Nursing by
Clinical judgement and decision making are terms that are frequently used in nursing. But what do they mean and how can they be effectively applied in practice? In straightforward language, this book helps you to develop the necessary skills to make and apply sound clinical decisions. It breaks down the factors involved in decision making and shows you how to use evidence, critical enquiry and reflection to do so with confidence. Key features: - Each chapter is mapped to the 2018 NMC Standards - Thought-provoking case studies and scenarios illustrate decision making in practice - Activities enable you to practise your skills and build confidence in your ability to make effective decisions
