Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Critical perspectives (history and theory, research methods) reading list. Here you will find the resources to support you throughout this module
Architecture Theory by Architecture Theory is a comprehensive and groundbreaking one volume overview of, and introduction to, contemporary critical discourse in architecture. In bringing critical theory and Continental philosophy to bear upon architecture, it provides a solid framework for a fully up-to-date theory of architecture, one that reflects the latest developments and concerns. The book is divided into four sections-groundwork; constructing the "individual"; pluralities; instrumentality-each covering a core theme in contemporary architecture theory. In each section an introductory essay by Andrew Ballantyne provides valuable context, exposition, and analysis. This is followed by a selection of writings on architecture and other related cultural concerns from major contemporary thinkers, including Zvizvek, Irigaray, Lefebvre, Lyotard, Kristeva, Nancy, Virilio, Deleuze, and Negri.
Call Number: 720.1 BAL
Publication Date: 2005
The Dissertation by The Dissertation is one of the most demanding yet potentially most stimulating components of an architectural course. This classic text provides a complete guide to what to do, how to do it, when to do it, and what the major pitfalls are. This is a comprehensive guide to all that an architecture student might need to know about undertaking the dissertation. The book provides a plain guide through the whole process of starting, writing, preparing and submitting a dissertation with minimum stress and frustration. The third edition has been revised throughout to bring the text completely up-to-date for a new generation of students. Crucially, five new and complete dissertations demonstrate and exemplify all the advice and issues raised in the main text. These dissertations are on subjects from the UK, USA, Europe and Asia and offer remarkable insights into how to get it just right.
Call Number: 808.06672 BOR + eBook
Publication Date: 2014
The SAGE Handbook of Architectural Theory by The SAGE Handbook of Architectural Theory documents and builds upon some of the most innovative developments in architectural theory over the last two decades. Bringing into dialogue a range of geographically, institutionally and historically competing positions, the book examines and explores parallel debates in related fields. The book is divided into eight sections: Power/Difference/Embodiment Aesthetics/Pleasure/ExcessNation/Spectacle/ModernityHistory/Memory/TraditionDesign/Practice/ProductionTechnology/Science/VirtualityNature/Landscape/SustainabilityCity/Metropolis/TerritoryCreating openings for future lines of inquiry and establishing the basis for new directions for education, research and practice, the book organizes itself around specific case studies to provide a critical, interpretive and speculative enquiry into the relevant debates in architectural theory. A methodical, authoritative and comprehensive addition to the literature, the Handbook is suitable for academics, researchers and practitioners in architecture, urban geography, cultural studies, sociology and geography.
Call Number: 720.1 CRY
Publication Date: 2013
Rethinking Architecture by Brought together for the first time - the seminal writing on architecture by key philosophers and cultural theorist of the twentieth century. Issues around the built environment are increasingly central to the study of the social sciences and humanities. The essays offer a refreshing take on the question of architecture and provocatively rethink many of the accepted tenets of architecture theory from a broader cultural perspective. The book represents a careful selection of the very best theoretical writings on the ideas which have shaped our cities and our experiences of architecture. As such,nbsp;Rethinkingnbsp;Architecture provides invaluable core source material for students on a range of courses.
Call Number: 721.1 LEA
Publication Date: 1997
Research Methods for Architecture by While fundamentally a design discipline, architectural education requires an element of history and theory, grouped under the term "research." However, many students struggle with this part of their course. This practical handbook provides the necessary grounding in this subject, addressing essential questions about what research in architecture can be. The first part of the book is a general guide to the fundamentals of how to do research, from assembling a literature review to conducting an interview. The second section presents a selection of case studies dealing with such topics as environmental psychology, the politics of space, ethnographic research, and mapping. The range of methods explored illustrates the variety of possible approaches, with authoritative guidance on how best to deploy a research framework.
Call Number: 720.72 LUC + eBook
Publication Date: 2016
Do Robots Make Love? by Through 12 thought-provoking questions, a philosopher and a scientist explore the real-world ramifications of transhumanism - the tech movement that seeks to improve the human condition through science. Should we enhance the human condition with technology? Does anyone really want to live for a thousand years? Could AI end up destroying mankind? Discover the incredible potential of mankind's near future as a Doctor and a Philosopher debate the big questions surrounding the incredible potential of transhumanism. This movement - that seeks to improve the human condition through science - has fast become one of the most controversial the scientific community have ever faced. As scientists in California make great strides in using advanced technology to enhance human intellect and physiology, the ethical and moral questions surrounding its possibilities have never been more pressing. Should we change the way we reproduce? Could we enhance the human body with technology to the point where we are all technically cyborgs? Is it possible to make love to a robot? Doctor and entrepreneur Laurent Alexandre and tech-philosopher Jean Michel Besnier go head to head on the big questions in an entertaining and thought-provoking debate on the fundamental principles of transhumanism.
Call Number: 144 ALE
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Cities by This book develops a fresh and challenging perspective on the city. Drawing on a wide and diverse range of material and texts, it argues that too much contemporary urban theory is based on nostalgia for a humane, face-to-face and bounded city. Amin and Thrift maintain that the traditional divide between the city and the rest of the world has been perforated through urban encroachment, the thickening of the links between the two, and urbanization as a way of life. They outline an innovative sociology of the city that scatters urban life along a series of sites and circulations, reinstating previously suppressed areas of contemporary urban life: from the presence of non-human activity to the centrality of distant connections. The implications of this viewpoint are traced through a series of chapters on power, economy and democracy. This concise and accessible book will be of interest to students and scholars in sociology, geography, urban studies, cultural studies and politics. .
Call Number: 307.76 AMI
Publication Date: 2002
Essays on Architecture and City Planning by Very few architects are equally prolific in theory and design, and Austrian Hermann Czech is one of those few. Over the course of six decades, he has created a widely recognized body of built work while also developing a unique architectural theory based on his knowledge of philosophy and architectural history. Essays on Architecture and City Planning makes his influential ideas finally available to an English-language audience. In these essays, collected from throughout Czech's career, he analyzes mannerism and calls attention to underestimated works of architecture. He also delves into his own ambivalent relationship to modernism. Of particular significance are the essays focused on Czech's appeal to embrace reason over style. In addition, Czech reveals his engagement with the work of Hegel, Kant, Wittgenstein, and Adorno as applied to architectural topics. Throughout, Czech showcases his commitment to developing precise terminology to advance architectural dialogues while rooting these dialogues in the larger history of ideas.
Call Number: 720 CZE
Publication Date: 2019
A thousand plateaus by A Thousand Plateaus is the second part of Deleuze and Guattari's landmark philosophical project, Capitalism and Schizophrenia - a project that still sets the terms of contemporary philosophical debate. Written over a seven year period, A Thousand Plateaus provides a compelling analysis of social phenomena and offers fresh alternatives for thinking about philosophy and culture. Its radical perspective provides a toolbox for 'nomadic thought' and has had a galvanizing influence on today's anti-capitalist movement.
Call Number: 194 DEL
Publication Date: 2013
Ghosts of My Life by This collection of writings by Mark Fisher, author of the acclaimed Capitalist Realism, argues that we are haunted by futures that failed to happen. Fisher searches for the traces of these lost futures in the work of David Peace, John Le Carré, Christopher Nolan, Joy Division, Burial and many others.
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014
Design Research in Architecture by What is the role of design research in the types of insight and knowledge that architects create? That is the central question raised by this book. It acts as the introductory overview for Ashgate's major new series, 'Design Research in Architecture' which has been created in order to establish a firm basis for this emerging field of investigation within architecture. While there have been numerous architects-scholars since the Renaissance who have relied upon the interplay of drawings, models, textual analysis, intellectual ideas and cultural insights to scrutinise the discipline, nonetheless, until recently, there has been a reluctance within architectural culture to acknowledge and accept the role of design research as part of the discourse. However, in many countries around the world, one of the key changes in architecture and architectural education over the last decade has been the acceptance of design as a legitimate research area in its own right and this new series provides a forum where the best proponents of architectural design research can publish their work. This volume provides a broad overview on design research that supports and amplifies the different volumes coming out in the book series. It brings together leading architects and academics to discuss the more general issues involved in design research. At the end, there is an Indicative Bibliography which alludes to a long history of architectural books which can be seen as being in the spirit of design research.
Call Number: 720.72 FRA
Publication Date: 2013
Dirty Theory by Dirty theory follows the dirt of material and conceptual relations from the midst of complex milieus. It messes with mixed disciplines, showing up in ethnography, in geography, in philosophy, and discovering a suitable habitat in architecture, design and the creative arts. Dirty theory disrupts a comfortable status quo, including our everyday modes of inhabitation and our habits of thinking. This small book argues that we must work with the dirt to develop an ethics of care and maintenance for our precarious environment-worlds.
Call Number: 720.1 FRI
Publication Date: 2019
2000+ by Has architectural theory become a historical phenomenon to be anthologized and studied as another passing phase in the history of the discipline? Do the current commonplace watchwords of "practice" and "research" mark the end of theory's place in architectural discourse? This edited volume posits the contrary--that theory remains urgent and even unavoidable, so ingrained in architectural practice and pedagogy that it remains a vital if sometimes latent influence. Architectural theory is not confined to its supposed heyday in the decades leading up to the year 2000; it has persisted and expanded as the stakes of theoretical discussions have transformed. 2000+: The Urgencies of Architectural Theory collects new essays from a range of the most compelling architectural historians and theorists of the moment, including Lucia Allais, Beatriz Colomina, Mark Cousins, Arindam Dutta, John Harwood, Catherine Ingraham, Mark Jarzombek, Mari Lending, Spyros Papapetros, Felicity Scott, Pelin Tan, Bernard Tschumi, Eyal Weizman, Mark Wigley, and Mabel Wilson. Brought together for a conference marking the end of Wigley's tenure as dean of Columbia University's Graduate School of Architecture, Planning and Preservation, these thinkers chart new directions and points of critical importance for theory in architecture.
Call Number: 720.1 GRA
Publication Date: 2015
The Hidden Dimension by People like to keep certain distances between themselves and other people or thigns. And this invisible bubble of space that constitutes each person's "territory" is one of the key dimensions of modern society. Edward T. Hall, author of The Silent Language, introduced the science of proxemics to demonstrate how man's use of space can affect personal and business reltions, cross-cultural interactions, architecture, city planning, and urban renewal. "One of the few extraordinary books about mankind's future which should be read by every thoughtful person." --Chicago Tribune "This is a book of impressive genius, replete with unusually sharp observations." --Richard J. Neutra, Landscape Architecture
Call Number: 304.23 HAL
Publication Date: 1990
Building Critique by For much of the 20th century, critique played an important part in what was considered "modern" architecture; the canon of modern architecture considered itself dedicated to both formal progress and social critique. But as the 1960s spurred a rereading of modern architecture from a perspective informed by Marxism and the decade's new social movements, many concluded that a building practice could not be critical, owing to its interdependent relationship with power and business. With recent economic crises hitting the building and property sectors, and research playing an increasingly large role in architectural practice, we are witnessing a renewed interest in critique in contemporary architecture, especially from postcolonial and feminist positions. The essays contained in this book, authored by a variety of international architects and thinkers, address this revived moment of critique, arguing that, far from being dead, architectural critique is now indispensable.
Call Number: 720.1 HEI
Publication Date: 2020
Signal. Image. Architecture by Architecture is immersed in an immense cultural experiment called imaging. Yet the technical status and nature of that imaging must be reevaluated. What happens to the architectural mind when it stops pretending that electronic images of drawings made by computers are drawings? When it finally admits that imaging is not drawing, but is instead something that has already obliterated drawing? These are questions that, in general, architecture has scarcely begun to pose, imagining that somehow its ideas and practices can resist the culture of imaging in which the rest of life now either swims or drowns. To patiently describe the world to oneself is to prepare the ground for an as yet unavailable politics. New descriptions can, under the right circumstances, be made to serve as the raw substrate for political impulses that cannot yet be expressed or lived, because their preconditions have not been arranged and articulated. Signal. Image. Architecture. aims to clarify the status of computational images in contemporary architectural thought and practice by showing what happens if the technical basis of architecture is examined very closely, if its technical terms and concepts are taken very seriously, at times even literally. It is not a theory of architectural images, but rather a brief philosophical description of architecture after imaging.
Call Number: 720.1 MAY
Publication Date: 2019
Gordon Matta-Clark by Bringing a poet's perspective to an artist's archive, this highly original book examines wordplay in the art and thought of American artist Gordon Matta-Clark (1943-1978). A pivotal figure in the postminimalist generation who was also the son of a prominent Surrealist, Matta-Clark was a leader in the downtown artists' community in New York in the 1970s, and is widely seen as a pioneer of what has come to be known as social practice art. He is celebrated for his "anarchitectural" environments and performances, and the films, photographs, drawings, and sculptural fragments with which his site-specific work was documented. In studies of his career, the artist's provocative and vivid language is referenced constantly. Yet the verbal aspect of his practice has not previously been examined in its own right. Blending close readings of Matta-Clark's visual and verbal creations with reception history and critical biography, this extensively researched study engages with the linguistic and semiotic forms in Matta-Clark's art, forms that activate what he called the "poetics of psycho-locus" and "total (semiotic) system." Examining notes, statements, titles, letters, and interviews in light of what they reveal about his work at large, Frances Richard unearths archival, biographical, and historical information, linking Matta-Clark to Conceptualist peers and Surrealist and Dada forebears. Gordon Matta-Clark: Physical Poetics explores the paradoxical durability of Matta-Clark's language, and its role in an aggressively physical oeuvre whose major works have been destroyed.
Call Number: 700.92 MAT RIC
Publication Date: 2019
A Real Living Contact with the Things Themselves by Contemporary architectural criticism tends to focus on the theories and concepts behind buildings. Yet there is much to be learned by venturing beyond the library walls to contemplate the real buildings--the things themselves. This urge for "real living contact" is the impetus behind this new and exhilarating collection of essays by renowned British architectural critic and scholar Irénée Scalbert. A Real Living Contact with theThings Themselves selects nine essays written throughout the Scalbert's career from the early 1990s to the present. Four of the essays are detailed studies of major buildings, including both critiques written at the time the buildings were made and comments on extant buildings that contributed to their rediscovery. Other pieces represent broader studies of historical movements and ideas, interpreting their significance within the context of contemporary architecture. All of the essays are based on direct experience, whether through quiet contemplation or candid interviews with architects, builders, or inhabitants. An architect by training, Scalbert writes with the purpose of illuminating the design efforts made and enriching the form of the architectures he describes, and his essays thus contribute to many key moments in the architectural history of the past three decades. Scalbert's incisive and boldly original criticism--together with a wealth of illustrations--make this a book an enlightening read for architects and architectural students or anyone with an appreciation of this important voice in architectural criticism.
Call Number: 720 SCA
Publication Date: 2019
Not Interesting by Not Interesting proposes another set of terms and structures to talk about architecture, without requiring that it be interesting. This book explores a set of alternatives to the interesting and imagines how architecture might be positioned more broadly in the world using other terms: boring, confusing, and comforting. Along with interesting, these three terms make up the four chapters of the book. Each chapter introduces its topic through an analysis of a different image, which serves to unpack the specific character of each term and its relationship to architecture. In addition to text, the book contains over 50 case studies using 100 drawings and images. These are presented in parallel to the text and show what architecture may look like through the lens of these other terms.
Call Number: 720.1 ATW
Publication Date: 2018
Non-Places by An ever-increasing proportion of our lives is spent in supermarkets, airports and hotels, on motorways or in front of TVs, computer and cash machines. This invasion of the world by what Marc Auge calls non-space results in a profound alteration of awareness- something we perceive, but only in a partial and incoherent manner. Auge uses the concept of supermodernity to describe the logic of these late-capitalist phenomena a logic of excessive information and excessive space. In this fascinating and lucid essay he seeks to establish and intellectual armature for an anthropology of supermodernity. Starting with an attempt to disentangle anthropology from history, Auge goes on to map the distinction between place, encrusted with historical monuments and creative social life, and non-place, to which individuals are connected in a uniform manner and where no organic social life is possible. Unlike Baudelairean modernity, where old and new are interwoven, supermodernity is self-contained- from the motorway or aircraft, local or exotic particularities are presented two-dimensionally as a sort of theme-park spectacle. Auge does not suggest that supermodernity is all-encompassing- place still exist outside non-place and tend to reconstitute themselves inside it. But he argues powerfully that we are in transit through non-place for more and more of our time, as if between immense parentheses, and concludes that this new form of solitude should become the subject of an anthropology of its own.
Call Number: 306 AUG
Publication Date: 1995
Earth Moves by Earth Moves, Bernard Cache's first major work, conceptualizes a series of architectural images as vehicles for two important developments. First, he offers a new understanding of the architectural image itself. Following Gilles Deleuze and Henri Bergson, he develops an account of the image that is nonrepresentational and constructive-images as constituents of a primary, image world, of which subjectivity itself is a special kind of image. Second, Cache redefines architecture beyond building proper to include cinematic, pictoral, and other framings.Complementary to this classification, Cache offers what is to date the only Deleuzean architectural development of the "fold," a form and concept that has become important over the last few years. For Cache, as for Deleuze, what is significant about the fold is that it provides a way to rethink the relationship between interior and exterior, between past and present, and between architecture and the urban.
Call Number: 720.1 CAC
Publication Date: 1995
Are We Human? Notes on an Archaeology of Design by 'Are We Human?' rethinks the philosophy of design in a multi-dimensional exploration from the very first tools and ornaments to the constant buzz of social media. The average day involves the experience of thousands of layers of design that reach to outside space but also reach deep into our bodies and brains. Even the planet itself has been completely encrusted by design as a geological layer. There is no longer an outside to the world of design. Design has become the world. Design is what makes the human. It is the very basis of social life. But design also engineers inequalities and new forms of neglect, such as lawlessness, poverty, and the climate at the same time as the human genome and the weather are being actively redesigned. We can no longer reassure ourselves with the idea of "good design." Design itself needs to be redesigned. AUTHOR: Beatriz Colomina is Professor of Architecture and Founding Director of the Program in Media and Modernity at Princeton University. She is the editor of "Sexuality and Space, " which was awarded the International Book Award by the American Institute of Architects. She is the coeditor of "Cold War Hot Houses: Inventing Postwar Culture from Cockpit to Playboy." Her most recent book is "Doble exposicion: Arquitectura a traves del arte." Mark Wigley is Professor of Architecture at Columbia University. SELLING POINTS: * Extensive historical exploration of the design system * Multi-dimensional redraft of our understanding of design Illustrations throughout
Call Number: 745.4 COL
Publication Date: 2017
The Society of the Spectacle by Few works of political and cultural theory have been as enduringly provocative as Guy Debord's Society of the Spectacle. From its publication amid the social upheavals of the 1960s to the present, the volatile theses of this book have decisively transformed debates on the shape of modernity, capitalism, and everyday life in the late twentieth century. Now finally available in a superb English translation approved by the author, Debord's text remains as crucial as ever for understanding the contemporary effects of power, which are increasingly inseparable from the new virtual worlds of our rapidly changing image / information culture. "In all that has happened in the last twenty years, the most important change lies in the very continuity of the spectacle. Quite simply, the spectacle's domination has succeeded in raising a whole generation moulded to its laws. The extraordinary new conditions in which this entire generation has lived constitute a comprehensive summary of all that, henceforth, the spectacle will forbid; and also all that it will permit."-- Guy Debord (1988)
Call Number: 302.01 DEB
Publication Date: 1995
The Art-Architecture Complex by Hal Foster, author of the acclaimed Design and Crime, argues that a fusion of architecture and art has become a defining feature of contemporary culture. While architects such as Zaha Hadid and Herzog and de Meuron draw on art to reanimate design, architecture has inspired fundamental transformations in painting, sculpture and film, which are also explored here. The book includes an extensive conversation with Richard Serra. At the same time Foster points to a 'global style' of architecture, as practiced by Norman Foster, Richard Rogers and Renzo Piano, that is analogous to the 'international style' of Le Corbusier, Gropius and Mies-a global style that, more than any art, conveys the look of modernity today, both its dreams and its delusions. In these ways Foster demonstrates that the 'art-architecture complex' is a key indicator of broader social and economic trajectories, and in urgent need of analysis and debate.
Call Number: 701.05 FOS
Publication Date: 2011
Space Reader by The Space Reader provides a highly pertinent and contemporaryunderstanding of space for a new generation of students andarchitects. It espouses a definition of space that is heterogeneous(an object or system consisting of a diverse range of differentitems). An example of heterogeneous space, for instance, isManhattan where complex and multiple social and technologicalconditions are overlaid. (This is to be contrasted with highlycentralised and ordered Modernist cities.) With the onset ofglobalisation and the Web, heterogeneneous space, with its emphasison differentiation, is more relevant to the contemporary condition,which encourages the mixing of space, than a much more staticconception of Modernist space. This book foregrounds spatial issues and the potential ofheterogeneous space through a threefold strategy: 1) Its compilation of seminal essays on the discourse ofheterogeneous space. These are to include previously published keytexts by Reyner Banham, Andrew Benjamin, Robin Evans, Jeff Kipnisand Henri Lefebvre, as well as new texts by important contemporarycommentators, such as Mark Cousins, Werner Durth and AnthonyVidler. 2) By commenting on these seminal texts and drawing linksbetween them. 3) By distilling from the first two efforts a contemporaryoutlook on a discourse of heterogeneous space that is of futuresignificance.
Call Number: 711.4 HEN
Publication Date: 2009
Postmodernism, or, the cultural logic of late capitalism by He seeks here to crystallize a definition of a term which has taken on so many meanings that it has virtually lost all historical significance. He presents an extensive discussion on the cultural landscape - both 'high' and 'low' of postmodernity, evaluating the political fortunes of the new term and surveying postmodern developments in a range of different fields from market ideology to architecture, from painting and instalment art to contemporary punk film, from video art and high literature to deconstruction.
Finally, Jameson revaluates the concept of postmodernism in light of postmodern critiques of totalization and historical narratives from the notion of decadence to the dynamics of small groups, from religious fundamentalism to hi-tech science fiction while touching on the nature of contemporary cultural critique and the possibilities of cognitive mapping in the present multinational world system. This provocative book will be fundamental to all future discussions of postmodernism.
Call Number: 306 JAM
Publication Date: 1999
Ideologies of Theory by Ideologies of Theory, updated and available for the first time in a single volume, brings together theoretical essays that span Fredric Jameson's long career as a critic. They chart a body of work suspended by the twin poles of literary scholarship and political history, occupying a space vibrant with the tension between critical exegesis and the Marxist intellectual tradition. Jameson's work pushes out the boundaries of the text, making evident the interaction between literature and the disciplines of psychoanalysis, philosophy and cultural theory, all of which are shown to be inseparable from their ideological milieu. The essays in this volume track a shift from ideological analysis to the phenomenology of everyday life, and constitute a rigorous and passionate argument for the necessity of theory as the simultaneous critique of empiricism and idealist philosophy.
Call Number: 801.95 JAM
Publication Date: 2009
A Question of Qualities by Essays on contemporary architecture that are less about making critical judgments than about explication, exegesis, and provocation. Jeffrey Kipnis's writing, thinking, and teaching casts architecture as both an intellectual discourse and a lived, affective experience. His essays on contemporary architects are less about making critical judgments than about explication, exegesis, and provocation. In these eleven essays, written between 1990 and 2008, he considers projects, concepts, and buildings by some of the most recognized architects working today, with special attention to the productions of affect. He explores "intuition" in the work of Morphosis, "exhilaration" in Coop Himmelb(l)au, "freedom" in the work of Rem Koolhaas and OMA, "magic" in Steven Holl's buildings, and "anxiety" in Rafael Moneo's writing about contemporary architecture. Kipnis's deft integration of art, critical theory, philosophy, pop culture, classical music, and science--what the volume's editor Alexander Maymind calls "ancillary material"--into a rigorous architectural theory and criticism makes A Question of Qualities an exemplar of a new way to write about architecture. It is also a distinct pleasure to read. Kipnis transcends the fractious intellectual climate in architecture, stepping outside the boundaries mandated by the vast specialized criteria that the discipline now claims to address. The essays in this volume demonstrate a style of writing that is not so much about architecture as it is an affect of architecture itself.
Call Number: 724 KIP
Publication Date: 2013
Kissing Architecture by Kissing Architecture explores the mutual attraction between architecture and other forms of contemporary art. In this fresh, insightful, and beautifully illustrated book, renowned architectural critic and scholar Sylvia Lavin develops the concept of "kissing" to describe the growing intimacy between architecture and new types of art--particularly multimedia installations that take place in and on the surfaces of buildings--and to capture the sensual charge that is being designed and built into architectural surfaces and interior spaces today. Initiating readers into the guilty pleasures of architecture that abandons the narrow focus on function, Lavin looks at recent work by Pipilotti Rist, Doug Aitken, the firm Diller Scofidio + Renfro, and others who choose instead to embrace the viewer in powerful affects and visual and sensory atmospheres. Kissing Architecture is the first book in a cutting-edge new series of short, focused arguments written by leading critics, historians, theorists, and practitioners from the world of urban development and contemporary architecture and design. These books are intended to spark vigorous debate. They stake out the positions that will help shape the architecture and urbanism of tomorrow. Addressing one of the most spectacular and significant developments in the current cultural scene, Kissing Architecture is an entertainingly irreverent and disarmingly incisive book that offers an entirely new way of seeing--and experiencing--architecture in the age after representation.
Call Number: 724.7 LAV + eBook
Publication Date: 2011
Parables for the Virtual by Although the body has been the focus of much contemporary cultural theory, the models that are typically applied neglect the most salient characteristics of embodied existence--movement, affect, and sensation--in favor of concepts derived from linguistic theory. In Parables for the Virtual Brian Massumi views the body and media such as television, film, and the Internet, as cultural formations that operate on multiple registers of sensation beyond the reach of the reading techniques founded on the standard rhetorical and semiotic models. Renewing and assessing William James's radical empiricism and Henri Bergson's philosophy of perception through the filter of the post-war French philosophy of Deleuze, Guattari, and Foucault, Massumi links a cultural logic of variation to questions of movement, affect, and sensation. If such concepts are as fundamental as signs and significations, he argues, then a new set of theoretical issues appear, and with them potential new paths for the wedding of scientific and cultural theory. Replacing the traditional opposition of literal and figural with new distinctions between stasis and motion and between actual and virtual, Parables for the Virtual tackles related theoretical issues by applying them to cultural mediums as diverse as architecture, body art, the digital art of Stelarc, and Ronald Reagan's acting career. The result is an intriguing combination of cultural theory, science, and philosophy that asserts itself in a crystalline and multi-faceted argument.
Call Number: 128.6 MAS
Publication Date: 2002
Gender Space Architecture by This significant reader brings together for the first time the most important essays concerning the intersecting subjects of gender, space and architecture. Carefully structured and with numerous introductory essays, it guides the reader through theoretical and multi-disciplinary texts to direct considerations of gender in relation to particular architectural sites, projects and ideas. This collection marks a seminal point in gender and architecture, both summarizing core debates and pointing toward new directions and discussions for the future.
Call Number: 720.82 REN
Publication Date: 1999
Constructions by In this series of overlapping essays on architecture and art, JohnRajchman attempts to do theory in a new way that takes off from the philosophy of the late Gilles Deleuze. foreword by Paul Virilio. In this series of overlapping essays on architecture and art, John Rajchman attempts to do theory in a new way that takes off from the philosophy of the late Gilles Deleuze. Starting from notions of folding, lightness, ground, abstraction, and future cities, he embarks on a conceptual voyage whose aim is to help "construct" a new space of connections, to "build" a new idiom, perhaps even to suggest a new architecture. Along the way, he addresses questions of the new abstraction, operative form, other geometries, new technologies, global cities, ideas of the virtual and the formless, and possibilities for critical theory after utopia and transgression.
Call Number: 724.6 RAJ
Publication Date: 1998
Postmodern Geographies by Postmodern Geographies stands as the cardinal broadcast and defence of theory's "spatial turn." From the suppression of space in modern social science and the disciplinary aloofness of geography to the spatial returns of Foucault and Lefebvre and the construction of Marxist geographies alert to urbanization and global development, renowned geographer Edward W. Soja details the trajectory of this turn and lays out its key debates. An expanded critique of historicism and a refined grasp of materialist dialectics bolster Soja's attempt to introduce geography to postmodernity, animating a series of engagements with Heidegger, Giddens, Castells, and others. Two exploratory essays on the postfordist landscapes of Los Angeles complete the book, offering a glimpse of Soja's new geography carried into its highest register.
Call Number: 910.01 SOJ
Publication Date: 2011
Warped Space by How psychological ideas of space have profoundly affected architectural and artistic expression in the twentieth century. Beginning with agoraphobia and claustrophobia in the late nineteenth century, followed by shell shock and panic fear after World War I, phobias and anxiety came to be seen as the mental condition of modern life. They became incorporated into the media and arts, in particular the spatial arts of architecture, urbanism, and film. This "spatial warping" is now being reshaped by digitalization and virtual reality. Anthony Vidler is concerned with two forms of warped space. The first, a psychological space, is the repository of neuroses and phobias. This space is not empty but full of disturbing forms, including those of architecture and the city. The second kind of warping is produced when artists break the boundaries of genre to depict space in new ways. Vidler traces the emergence of a psychological idea of space from Pascal and Freud to the identification of agoraphobia and claustrophobia in the nineteenth century to twentieth-century theories of spatial alienation and estrangement in the writings of Georg Simmel, Siegfried Kracauer, and Walter Benjamin. Focusing on current conditions of displacement and placelessness, he examines ways in which contemporary artists and architects have produced new forms of spatial warping. The discussion ranges from theorists such as Jacques Lacan and Gilles Deleuze to artists such as Vito Acconci, Mike Kelley, Martha Rosler, and Rachel Whiteread. Finally, Vidler looks at the architectural experiments of Frank Gehry, Coop Himmelblau, Daniel Libeskind, Greg Lynn, Morphosis, and Eric Owen Moss in the light of new digital techniques that, while relying on traditional perspective, have radically transformed the composition, production, and experience--perhaps even the subject itself--of architecture.
Call Number: 701.8 VID
Publication Date: 2002
Interrogating the Real by Interrogating the Real is the first volume of the collected writings of Slavoj Žižek - undoubtedly one of the world's leading contemporary cultural commentators, and one of the most inspiring, provocative and entertaining cultural critics at work today. Drawing upon the full range of his prolific output, the articles here cover psychoanalysis, philosophy and popular culture, reflecting the remarkable breadth and depth of Žižek's interest in politics, culture and philosophy, and also showcasing his entertaining style. A full and clear sense of Žižekian philosophy emerges, derived from Hegelian dialectics, Marxist politics and Lacanian psychoanalysis. At the same time, Žižek's witty and accessible approach to his subject and his choice of exemplars from pop culture ensure that this is a consistently fresh and surprising body of work. The book includes a new preface by Žižek himself, as well as an introduction by the editors and a helpful glossary for those coming to Žižek's work for the first time.
Call Number: 199.4973 ZIZ
Publication Date: 2013