An Introduction to Biomedical Science in Professional and Clinical Practice by
Biomedical Science in Professional and Clinical Practice isessential reading for all trainee biomedical scientists looking foran introduction to the biomedical science profession whether theyare undergraduates following an accredited biomedical sciences BSc,graduate trainees or experienced staff with overseasqualifications. This book guides trainees through the subjects,which they need to understand to meet the standards required by theHealth Professions Council for state registration. These includeprofessional topics, laws and guidelines governing clinicalpathology, basic laboratory techniques and an overview of eachpathology discipline. It helps trainees at any stage of trainingand in any pathology discipline(s) to think creatively about how togather evidence of their understanding and professional competence.By referring to specialist sources of information in each area, ithelps students to explore particular topics in more depth and tokeep up to date with professional and legalchanges. It is also of value to any Training Officers whoare looking for ideas while planning a programme of training for atrainee biomedical scientist. The book includes basic principles of working in the pathologylaboratory including laws and regulations, which must be observed,such as health and safety, data protection and equal opportunitieslaws and guidelines. Practical exercises are included throughoutthe book with examples of coursework, suggestions for furtherexercises and self -assessment. Summary boxes of key facts areclearly set out in each chapter and ideas for group/tutorialdiscussions are also provided to enhance studentunderstanding.
Essential Mathematics and Statistics for Science by
This book is a completely revised and updated version ofthis invaluable text which allows science students to extendnecessary skills and techniques, with the topics being developedthrough examples in science which are easily understood by studentsfrom a range of disciplines. The introductory approach easesstudents into the subject, progressing to cover topics relevant tofirst and second year study and support data analysis for finalyear projects. The revision of the material in the book has been matched, onthe accompanying website, with the extensive use of video,providing worked answers to over 200 questions in the book plusadditional tutorial support. The second edition has also improvedthe learning approach for key topic areas to make it even moreaccessible and user-friendly, making it a perfect resource forstudents of all abilities. The expanding website provides a widerange of support material, providing a study environment withinwhich students can develop their independent learning skills, inaddition to providing resources that can be used by tutors forintegration into other science-based programmes.
Communication Skills for Biosciences by
This text is comprehensive, user-friendly handbook that will guide students through the full range of written and spoken communication skills that are demanded by today's biosciences courses. The book also offers a valuable refresher for postgraduate students who wish to review or expand their proficiency in these areas. This book will provide the student with practical advice on how best to communicate scientific material to different audiences including their peers, their tutors and to non-scientists. Key Features: Highly accessible, confidence-building, student-friendly guide Provides comprehensive coverage of the complete range of presentation skills needed by students Covers essay writing, practical reports, dissertations, projects and presenting in individual, group and poster presentation settings Offers advice on how to avoid common errors including plagiarism using 'what not to do' boxes throughout the text Includes practical advice on how best to communicate scientific material to different audiences e.g. undergraduates, tutors and non-scientists
Biomedical science practice : experimental and professional skills by
Biomedical scientists are the foundation of modern healthcare, from cancer screening to diagnosing HIV, from blood transfusion for surgery to food poisoning and infection control. Without biomedical scientists, the diagnosis of disease, the evaluation of the effectiveness of treatment, andresearch into the causes and cures of disease would not be possible.The Fundamentals of Biomedical Science series is written to reflect the challenges of practicing biomedical science today. It draws together essential basic science with insights into laboratory practice to show how an understanding of the biology of disease is coupled to the analytical approachesthat lead to diagnosis.Assuming only a minimum of prior knowledge, the series reviews the full range of disciplines to which a Biomedical Scientist may be exposed - from microbiology to cytopathology to transfusion science. Alongside volumes exploring specific biomedical themes and related laboratory diagnosis, anoverarching Biomedical Science Practice volume gives a grounding in the professional and experimental skills with which any Biomedical Scientist must be equipped.The series* Understands the complex roles of Biomedical Scientists in the modern practice of medicine.* Understands the development needs of employers and the Profession.* Addresses the need for understanding of a range of fundamental sciences in the context of Biomedicine.* Places the theoretical aspects of Biomedical Science in their practical context.Biomedical Science Practice presents the essential practical and professional skills that every biomedical scientist should master, making it the perfect foundation for the study of each of the key subject specialisms that maybe encountered in the biomedical lab.The book reviews a broad range of professional skills and concepts, including health and safety considerations, personal development, and communication, and also introduces the key experimental and analytical approaches that form the basis of the investigation and diagnosis of clinical conditions.Drawing on the wealth of experience of a range of biomedical science practitioners and educators, Biomedical Science Practice is the ideal companion throughout your biomedical science education and training.Online Resource CentreThe Online Resource Centre to accompany Biomedical Science Practice features:For registered adopters of the book:* Figures from the book, available to downloadFor students:* An interactive Digital Microscope, encouraging the exploration of tissue samples* Self-assessment modules to help you to check and reinforce understanding of the basic science introduced in each volume* Video podcasts including interviews with practicing biomedical scientists, and 'in the lab' footage showing biomedical science in practice
Biomedical Science Practice, Experimental and Professional Skills by
Biomedical Science Practice' presents the essential practical and professional skills that every biomedical scientist should master, making it the perfect foundation for the study of each of the key subject specialisms that may be encountered in the biomedical lab.
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology by
Goal is to provide students with a practical, readable resource for communicating their scientific knowledge according to the conventions in biology.
Essential Laboratory Skills for Biosciences by
Essential Laboratory Skills for Biosciences is an essentialcompanion during laboratory sessions. It is designed to be simpleand give clear step by step instructions on essential techniques,supported by relevant diagrams. The book includes the use ofparticular equipment and how to do simple calculations thatstudents come across regularly in laboratory practicals. Written by experienced lecturers this handy pocket bookprovides: Simple to follow laboratory techniques Clear use of diagrams and illustrations to explain techniques,procedures and equipment Step by step worked out examples of calculations includingconcentrations, dilutions and molarity Suitable for all first year university students, the techniquesin the book will also be useful for postgraduate and final yearproject students and enhance the practical and theoreticalknowledge of all those studying bioscience related subjects.