Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to your Haematology and Blood Transfusion reading list. Here you will find resources selected by your course team to support you throughout this module.
Haematology by Biomedical Scientists are the foundation of modern healthcare, from cancer screening to diagnosing HIV, from blood transfusion for surgery to food poisoning and infection control. Without Biomedical Scientists, the diagnosis of disease, the evaluation of the effectiveness of treatment, and research into the causes and cures of disease would not be possible. The Fundamentals of Biomedical Science series has been written to reflect the challenges of practicing Biomedical Science today. It draws together essential basic science with insights into laboratory practice to show how an understanding of the biology of disease is coupled to the analytical approaches that lead to diagnosis. Assuming only a minimum of prior knowledge, the series reviews the full range of disciplines to which a Biomedical Scientist may be exposed - from microbiology to cytopathology to transfusion science. Haematology provides a broad-ranging overview of the study of blood, the dynamic fluid that interfaces with all organs and tissues to meditate essential transport and regulatory functions. Written with the needs of the Biomedical Scientist centre-stage, it provides a firm grounding in the physiology of blood, and the key pathophysiological states that can arise. It demonstrates throughout how an understanding of physiology underpins the key investigations carried out by a Biomedical Scientist to forge a clear link between science and practice. The third edition has been thoroughly revised to remain up to date with the latest scientific research, with new sections and case studies added to support your learning. The online resources to accompany Haematology have also been updated and include multiple choice questions to test understanding, a Journal Club which provides discussion questions for relevant research papers, and answers to case study and self-check questions. Students and lecturers will also have access to the FBMS series online resources, which feature video interviews with practicing biomedical scientists and 'in the lab' footage showing biomedical techniques. Also available as an ebook with functionality, navigation features, and links that offer extra learning support.
Call Number: 616.15 MOO
Publication Date: 2021
Molecular Biology of the Cell by As the amount of information in biology expands dramatically, it becomes increasingly important for textbooks to distill the vast amount of scientific knowledge into concise principles and enduring concepts. As with previous editions, Molecular Biology of the Cell, Sixth Edition accomplishes this goal with clear writing and beautiful illustrations. The Sixth Edition has been extensively revised and updated with the latest research in the field of cell biology, and it provides an exceptional framework for teaching and learning. The entire illustration program has been greatly enhanced. Protein structures better illustrate structure-function relationships, icons are simpler and more consistent within and between chapters, and micrographs have been refreshed and updated with newer, clearer, or better images. As a new feature, each chapter now contains intriguing open-ended questions highlighting "What We Don't Know," introducing students to challenging areas of future research. Updated end-of-chapter problems reflect new research discussed in the text. Thought-provoking end-of-chapter questions have been expanded to all chapters, including questions on developmental biology, tissues and stem cells, the immune system, and pathogens.
Call Number: 571.6 ALB + eBook
Publication Date: 2015
Essential Haematology by This is a major revision of the standard textbook of haematology for medical students. The book outlines the basic principles of clinical and laboratory haematology and shows how manifestations of blood diseases can be explained by new knowledge of the disease process. Essential Haematology describes how advances in molecular biology, immunology, biochemistry and physiology have increased our understanding of normal blood formation and function, and how they are disturbed in different diseases. The impact of molecular biology is apparent, especially in the inherited diseases of thalassaemia, haemophilia and haemostatic defects, and in the sections dealing with growth factors and leukaemogenesis. The range of treatment available for patients continues to expand and is covered in individual chapters as well as in an expanded section on bone marrow transplantation and the management of bone marrow failure. Colour is used for clarity in line diagrams, and all blood and bone marrow appearances are now illustrated by colour photographs. The book is suitable not only for medical students preparing for final examinations but also for post-graduates preparing for examinations in general medicine and haematology. It will also be a useful resource for nurses and other professionals involved in the care of patients with blood disease. A major revision to text. Full colour illustrations introduced throughout, including clinical pictures, ultrasound pictures, x-rays, CT scans and photomicrographs. New young Professor as co-author (Moss). New design & artwork throughout. Updated for clinical relevance.
Call Number: 612.11
Publication Date: 2001
Immunology by Covering all the basic and clinical concepts you need to know for your coursework and USMLEs, Immunology, 9th Edition, offers a well-illustrated, carefully structured approach to this complex and fast-changing field. Carefully edited and authored by experts in both teaching and research, it provides cutting-edge, consistent coverage that links the laboratory and clinical practice. A user-friendly, color-coded format, including key concept boxes, explanatory diagrams, and nearly 200 photos to help you visually grasp and retain challenging concepts. Explains the building blocks of the immune system - cells, organs, and major receptor molecules - as well as initiation and actions of the immune response, especially in a clinical context. Includes extensive updates to clinical information, including recent clinical approaches in cancer immunology, transplantation, autoimmunity, hypersensitivity, and more. Features a reorganized format that presents immunology in the order in which is typically taught and learned, better integrating basic and clinical immunology. Covers new topics such as innate lymphoid cells, antibody-based therapies and antibody engineering, innate immunity and its components, the genetics of immunologically-based diseases and personalized medicine, and immunotherapeutic agents for the treatment of cancer. Provides Critical Thinking boxes, chapter-opening summaries, and case-based and USMLE-style questions that provide effective review and quick practice for exams - plus more learning opportunities online, including USMLE-style questions and clinical cases. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. It also features full color 3-D animations to deliver a dynamic visual overview of immunological concepts. Includes extensive updates to clinical information, including recent clinical approaches in cancer immunology, transplantation, autoimmunity, hypersensitivity, and more. Covers new topics such as innate lymphoid cells, antibody-based therapies and antibody engineering, innate immunity and its components, the genetics of immunologically-based diseases and personalized medicine, and immunotherapeutic agents for the treatment of cancer.
Call Number: 616.079 MAL
Publication Date: 2020
Haematology by This fully-revised edition of Haematologyis written in an approachable style that focuses on improving understanding and encourages students to think around the subject. The numerous illustrations and defined learning objectives are designed to aid effective learning, while the many 'fast facts' boxes broaden the interest and perspective of the material. Further reading lists and website information guide students to more detailed coverage if required. This book will be useful for undergraduate and postgraduate students of haematology, as well as medical students and those embarking on higher professional qualifications. From reviews: '...This haematology textbook seems to achieve the impossible: it is short in length, broad in scope and yet does not restrict itself to basic facts. Its other great strength is an extremely readable, clear and consistent prose. This makes it stand out from textbooks compiled by editors but where different authors contribute each chapter...' Royal College of Pathologists Bulletinnumber 157, January 2012
Call Number: 616.15 PAL
Publication Date: 2010